Remarks by the Chief Actuary of Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard, to the Senate Standing Committee on National Finance, Ottawa, Ontario, June 8, 2016

Introduction

Good morning, Mr. Chairperson, Honourable members of the Committee. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today.

Mandate and activities of the Office of the Chief Actuary

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) is an independent unit within the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) that provides a range of actuarial valuation and advisory services to the Government of Canada. While I report to the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, I am solely responsible for the content and actuarial opinions reflected in the reports prepared by my office. The OCA plays an important role in helping decision-makers’, Parliamentarians’ and the public’s understanding of some of the risks associated with the public pension arrangements by providing checks and balances on the future costs of the different pension plans under its responsibilities.

As part of its mandate, the OCA conducts statutory actuarial valuations of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), Old Age Security (OAS) program, federal public sector employee pension and insurance plans and the Canada Student Loans Program (CSLP). Since 2012, the OCA is also responsible for preparing the statutory actuarial report on the Employment Insurance (EI) premium rate. The purpose of these actuarial valuations is to determine the financial status of the plans and to assist the stakeholders in making informed decisions regarding the financing of these programs.

Access to microdata

In addition to its statutory responsibilities, the OCA also provides sound actuarial advice and estimates to various clients, including federal, provincial and territorial Ministers of Finance and Employment and Social Development Canada. Such estimates include those on considered design changes to the CPP, OAS, and other programs. The OCA is also asked to prepare analyses of interactions between the CPP and OAS, as well as with other components of the Canadian retirement income system.  The rapidly changing Canadian pension landscape has resulted in an increase in the number and complexity of valuation requests received by the OCA with respect to these two programs.

Relevant, complete, and reliable data are a cornerstone of good actuarial work. It is thus of the utmost importance for the OCA to have access to the microdata necessary to develop reliable short-term and long-term assumptions in order to project the financial status of the CPP, OAS, and other programs falling under the OCA’s statutory responsibilities, as well as to assess the impacts of design changes on these programs.

The OCA is fully cognizant of the sensitivity of the information prepared and provided by the Canada Revenue Agency as well as other data providers. Along with the OSFI-wide policies on information security, the OCA has its own procedures. For instance and importantly, access to files containing microdata is restricted.

The OCA follows the principle of minimum data collection by collecting only the information that is necessary to perform its work. Finally, even in the case when the OCA is allowed by law to receive individual information, the OCA policy is never to ask for any personal information such as the Social Insurance Number, name, or address.

Let me conclude by reiterating that the availability of the proper data, including most importantly microdata, is essential for the OCA to be able to fulfill its statutory obligations, provide high quality services to our clients, and ensure that the actuarial reports produced by the office are of the highest professional quality.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before this Committee. I would be pleased to answer any questions that you might have.

Allocution prononcée par l’actuaire en chef du Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard, à l’intention des membres du Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales, Ottawa (Ontario), le 8 juin 2016

Introduction

Bonjour, Monsieur le Président et honorables membres du Comité. Je vous remercie de l’occasion que vous m’offrez de m’adresser à vous aujourd’hui.

Mandat et activités du Bureau de l’actuaire en chef

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) est une unité indépendante du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières qui offre des services d’évaluation et des conseils actuariels au gouvernement du Canada. Bien que je relève du surintendant des institutions financières, j’assume l’entière responsabilité de la teneur des rapports que le BAC prépare et des opinions actuarielles qu’il y exprime. Le BAC joue un rôle de premier plan pour aider les décideurs, les parlementaires et le public à comprendre certains risques associés aux régimes de retraite publics en vérifiant les coûts futurs des différents régimes de retraite relevant de sa compétence.

Dans le cadre de son mandat, le BAC effectue des évaluations actuarielles réglementaires du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), du programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), des régimes de pension et d’assurance des employés du secteur public fédéral et du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants. Depuis 2012, le BAC doit aussi préparer le rapport actuariel législatif sur le taux de cotisation du Régime d’assurance-emploi. Ces évaluations actuarielles sont conçues pour déterminer la situation financière des régimes et pour aider les intervenants à prendre des décisions éclairées à propos du financement de ces programmes.

Accès aux microdonnées

Outre ses responsabilités législatives, le BAC fournit également de solides conseils et estimations actuariels à divers clients, dont les ministres fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux des Finances et Emploi et Développement social Canada. Ces estimations portent notamment sur les modifications proposées du RPC, de la SV et d’autres programmes. Le BAC est également chargé d’analyser l’interaction entre le RPC et la SV ainsi que d’autres composantes du système canadien de revenu de retraite. L’évolution rapide du domaine des pensions au Canada s’est traduite par un accroissement du nombre et de la complexité des demandes d’évaluation soumises au BAC relativement à ces deux programmes.

Des données pertinentes, complètes et fiables sont essentielles pour effectuer des travaux actuariels de qualité. Il est donc primordial que le BAC ait accès aux microdonnées requises pour élaborer des hypothèses à court et à long terme fiables afin qu’il puisse projeter la situation financière du RPC, de la SV et des autres programmes relevant de ses responsabilités législatives, et évaluer l’incidence des changements que l’on songe à apporter à la conception de ces programmes.

Le BSIF est parfaitement conscient de la nature délicate des renseignements que prépare l’Agence du revenu du Canada et d’autres fournisseurs de données. Outre les politiques organisationnelles du BSIF sur la sécurité de l’information, le BAC a ses propres procédures. Par exemple, et cela est important, l’accès aux dossiers contenant des microdonnées est restreint.

Le BAC applique le principe de collecte minimale de données; il ne recueille que l’information nécessaire à l’exécution de ses travaux. Enfin, même lorsque la loi l’autorise à obtenir des renseignements individuels, le BAC a pour politique de ne jamais solliciter de renseignements personnels comme un numéro d’assurance sociale, un nom ou une adresse.

En terminant, je tiens à réitérer que le BAC doit absolument avoir accès aux données appropriées y compris, surtout, les microdonnées, pour être en mesure de s’acquitter de ses obligations législatives, de fournir des services de haute qualité à nos clients et de veiller à ce que les rapports actuariels que nous produisons soient de la plus haute qualité professionnelle.

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invité à m’adresser à vous aujourd’hui. C’est avec plaisir que je répondrai à vos questions.