Ben Gully

Profile photo 

Assistant Superintendent
Risk Support Sector

Ben Gully was appointed Assistant Superintendent of OSFI’s Risk Support Sector in October 2017.

As the head of Risk Support Sector, Mr. Gully oversees the assessment of credit, market and operational risks; corporate governance; risk surveillance and analytics; model risk and approvals; anti-money laundering; and regulatory compliance.

Mr. Gully was most recently Chief Risk Officer at the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) where he was responsible for enterprise strategy and risk, performance and quality assurance.

Previously, Mr. Gully spent 15 years at OSFI where he held senior roles with increasing responsibility, including as the head of large bank supervision. He played a lead role in developing OSFI’s supervisory practices in the areas of stress testing, risk management and risk analytics.

Before joining OSFI, he worked at the Bank of England in the area of financial stability.

Mr. Gully holds a Doctorate in economics and a Master of Arts degree (Honours) from the University of St. Andrews, and a Master of Science degree in economics from the University of Glasgow.

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Ben Gully

Photo 

Surintendant auxiliaire
Secteur de soutien du risque

M. Ben Gully a été nommé au poste de surintendant auxiliaire du Secteur de soutien du risque du BSIF en octobre 2017.

En sa qualité de dirigeant du Secteur de soutien du risque, M. Gully supervise l’évaluation des risques de crédit, de marché et opérationnel, de la gouvernance d’entreprise, de la surveillance et de l’analyse des risques, du risque de modélisation, de l’approbation des modèles, des mesures de lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et du respect de la réglementation. 

Le poste le plus récent occupé par M. Gully a été celui de chef de la gestion des risques à l’Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA); il y était responsable de la stratégie et du risque d’entreprise, du rendement et du contrôle de la qualité. 

Avant, il a successivement occupé, pendant 15 ans, des postes aux responsabilités croissantes au BSIF, dont celui de chef de la surveillance des grandes banques. Il a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la préparation des pratiques de surveillance du BSIF dans les domaines de la simulation de crise, de la gestion des risques et de l’analyse du risque. 

Avant son arrivée au BSIF, il a travaillé à la Banque d’Angleterre dans le domaine de la stabilité financière. 

M. Gully est titulaire d’un doctorat en économie et d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université de St. Andrews, ainsi que d’une maîtrise ès sciences en économie de l’Université de Glasgow.

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.