About Us

Our Role

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent federal government agency that regulates and supervises more than 400 federally regulated financial institutions and 1,200 pension plans to determine whether they are in sound financial condition and meeting their requirements.

Federally regulated entities include all banks in Canada, and all federally incorporated or registered trust and loan companies, insurance companies, cooperative credit associations, fraternal benefit societies and private pension plans.  OSFI’s scope of regulation does not include consumer or consumer-related issues or the securities sector, which are the responsibility of other agencies, both federal and provincial.

OSFI regulates by developing rules, interpreting legislation and regulations and providing regulatory approvals for certain types of transactions.  It also contributes to new accounting, auditing and actuarial standards.  All of this must balance the goals of safety and soundness with the need for institutions to operate within a competitive marketplace.

OSFI supervises by analyzing financial and economic trends to identify emerging issues that could adversely affect institutions.  It assesses an institution’s financial condition, material risks and the quality of its governance, risk management and compliance. When weaknesses are identified, OSFI intervenes early and works with executive management, boards and pension plan administrators to correct matters.

Although OSFI plays an important oversight role, it does not manage the operations of institutions or pension plans. Their executive management, boards of directors and trustees are responsible for their success or failure. OSFI’s supervision approach is risk-based to reflect the nature, size, complexity and risk profile of an institution.  Financial institutions must be allowed to take reasonable risks and compete effectively both at home and abroad, while at the same time safeguard the interests of depositors, policyholders, beneficiaries and pension plan members.  OSFI’s goal is to balance competitiveness with financial stability, and international standards with Canadian market realities.

Our Partners in Canada’s federal regulatory system

OSFI reports to Parliament through the minister of Finance.  Various formal and informal processes are used to ensure effective execution of OSFI’s mandate. For example, the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee, whose members are OSFI, the Department of Finance, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, meets at least quarterly to share information on matters relating to the supervision of federally regulated financial institutions.   

OSFI also works with the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), which is responsible for ensuring compliance with Canada’s Proceeds of Crime (money laundering) and Terrorist financing Act.

Collaboration and consultations with provincial counterparts and industry stakeholders in Canada and abroad are a regular occurrence and help OSFI to understand and resolve potential issues.

Our International context

International organizations such as the Financial Stability Board, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, and the International Association of Insurance Supervisors play a key role in the development of regulatory frameworks for banks and insurers that contribute to a strong and stable global financial system. OSFI has earned a strong international reputation through its active participation in such international organizations, which allow it to share Canadian perspectives and help shape international rule setting.

Benefits to Canada:

A properly functioning, efficient financial system in which Canadians can place their trust and confidence is essential to Canada’s economy.  OSFI’s regulation and supervision activities play a key role in contributing to public confidence in the Canadian financial system.

And OSFI doesn’t cost Canadian taxpayers any money.  OSFI is funded from fees charged to regulated entities.

Office of the Chief Actuary:

The Office of the Chief Actuary is an independent unit housed within OSFI that provides a range of actuarial valuation and advisory services to the federal government. This includes actuarial reports on the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), Old Age Security Program and the Canada Student Loans Program.  Although the Chief Actuary reports to the Superintendent, he or she is solely responsible for the content and actuarial opinions in the reports.

Qui nous sommes

Notre rôle

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente et surveille plus de 400 institutions financières et 1 200 régimes de retraite fédéraux pour déterminer s’ils sont en bonne santé financière et s’ils respectent les exigences qui leur sont applicables.

Le terme « institution financière fédérale » s’entend de toutes les banques au Canada, de même que toutes les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, les sociétés d’assurances, les associations coopératives de crédit, les sociétés de secours mutuels et les régimes de retraite privés constitués ou enregistrés sous le régime des lois fédérales. Les activités de réglementation du BSIF n’englobent pas les questions intéressant le consommateur ou liées à la conduite des marchés, ni le secteur des valeurs mobilières. Ces domaines relèvent d’autres organismes fédéraux et provinciaux.

Pour exercer ses activités de réglementation, le BSIF élabore des règles, interprète des lois et des règlements et assure l’agrément de certains types d’opérations. Il contribue en outre aux nouvelles normes comptables, actuarielles et d’audit. Tout cela doit concilier les objectifs de sûreté et de solidité avec l’obligation qu’ont les institutions d’exercer leurs activités sur un marché concurrentiel.

Pour exercer ses activités de surveillance, le BSIF analyse les tendances financières et économiques pour cerner les questions émergentes qui pourraient avoir une incidence négative sur les institutions. Il évalue la situation financière d’une institution, les risques importants qui pèsent sur elle, de même que la qualité de ses pratiques de gouvernance, de gestion du risque et de conformité. Lorsqu’une faiblesse est mise au jour, le BSIF intervient rapidement et travaille avec les cadres supérieurs, les membres du conseil d’administration et l’administrateur (dans le cas d’un régime de retraite) afin de corriger la situation.

Bien que le BSIF joue un rôle de surveillance important, il n’encadre pas la gestion des activités des institutions ou des régimes de retraite. Ce sont les hauts dirigeants, les conseils d’administration et les fiduciaires qui sont responsables de leur réussite ou de leur échec. Sa méthode de surveillance étant fondée sur le risque, le BSIF peut tenir compte de la nature, la taille, la complexité et le profil de risque de l’institution. Il doit permettre aux institutions financières de prendre des risques raisonnables et de soutenir la concurrence, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger, tout en protégeant les intérêts des déposants, des souscripteurs, des participants et des bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite. Il a pour objectif de concilier concurrence et stabilité financière, règles internationales et réalités du marché canadien.

Nos partenaires de la structure de réglementation fédérale canadienne

Le BSIF rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances. Il existe divers mécanismes officiels et officieux lui permettant d’exécuter son mandat de façon efficace, notamment le Comité de surveillance des institutions financières (CSIF), dont les membres – le ministère des Finances, la Banque du Canada, la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC), l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) et le BSIF – se réunissent au moins une fois tous les trois mois pour échanger de l’information portant sur la surveillance des institutions financières fédérales. 

Le BSIF travaille également avec le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), qui a pour mandat de veiller à l’observation de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes du Canada.

La collaboration avec les homologues provinciaux et le secteur des services financiers au Canada et à l’étranger et leur consultation périodique sont chose courante et aident le BSIF à comprendre et à résoudre d’éventuels problèmes.

Le contexte international

Les organisations internationales comme le Conseil de stabilité financière, le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire et l’Association internationale des contrôleurs d’assurance jouent un rôle clé dans l’élaboration de cadres de réglementation du secteur bancaire et de celui des assurances qui contribuent à la solidité et à la stabilité du système financier mondial. Le BSIF a acquis une solide réputation à l’échelle internationale grâce à sa participation active aux travaux de ces organisations internationales, ce qui lui permet de faire connaître les points de vue du Canada et de contribuer à l’établissement de règles internationales.

Avantages pour le Canada

Un système financier qui est efficace, qui fonctionne bien, et auquel les Canadiens peuvent avoir confiance est indispensable à l’économie du Canada. Les activités de surveillance et de réglementation du BSIF sont essentielles et contribuent à inspirer la confiance du public envers le système financier canadien.

Qui plus est, les contribuables ne financent pas les activités du BSIF; ce sont les entités réglementées qui lui versent des cotisations à cette fin.

Bureau de l’actuaire en chef

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) est une unité indépendante au sein du BSIF qui offre un éventail de services d’évaluation et des conseils actuariels au gouvernement du Canada. Par exemple, il rédige des rapports actuariels sur le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), la Sécurité de la vieillesse et le Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants. Bien que l’actuaire en chef relève du surintendant, il est le seul responsable du contenu des rapports préparés par son bureau et des opinions actuarielles qui y sont formulées.