OSFI Structure and Operations

Table of Contents

About us

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent federal government agency that regulates and supervises some 400 federally regulated financial institutions and 1,200 pension plans to determine whether they are in sound financial condition and meeting their requirements.

Mandate

Fostering sound risk management and governance practices

  • OSFI advances a regulatory framework designed to control and manage risk.

Supervision and early intervention

  • OSFI supervises federally regulated financial institutions and pension plans to determine whether they are in sound financial condition and meeting regulatory and supervisory requirements.
  • OSFI promptly advises financial institutions and pension plans if there are material deficiencies, and takes corrective measures or requires that they be taken to expeditiously address the situation.

Environmental scanning linked to safety and soundness of financial institutions

  • OSFI monitors and evaluates system-wide or sectoral developments that may have a negative impact on the financial condition of federally regulated financial institutions.

Taking a balanced approach

  • OSFI acts to protect the rights and interests of depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan beneficiaries while having due regard for the need to allow financial institutions to compete effectively and take reasonable risks.

In fulfilling its mandate, OSFI supports the government’s objective of contributing to public confidence in the Canadian financial system.

Accountability and Governance

Various formal and informal processes enable OSFI to execute its mandate. For example, the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee, which the Superintendent chairs, meets on a quarterly basis to facilitate the exchange of information relating to the supervision of federally regulated financial institutions. Members include OSFI, the Department of Finance, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. While the Department of Finance reports directly to the minister, OSFI and the others are arm’s-length agencies or Crown corporations, reporting to Parliament through the minister.

OSFI's accountability framework includes:

  • issuing an annual report and departmental plan
  • submitting financial statements and related control processes to an annual external audit
  • an external audit committee and internal audit group and audit reports
  • conflict of interest and code of ethics policies
  • consultations with the following before new rules are finalized:
    • financial institutions/industry
    • other relevant government agencies
    • subject matter experts 
  • appearing before Parliamentary committees to provide information on:
    • topics of interest
    • OSFI’s annual report and departmental plan
    • important assessments
  • conducting confidential surveys and consultations with key stakeholders to assess OSFI’s performance as a supervisor and regulator of federally regulated financial institutions
  • participating in reviews to determine whether OSFI is meeting internationally established standards for prudential regulators.

Governing Legislation

OSFI was established in 1987 by an Act of Parliament: the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act (OSFI Act).
OSFI derives its powers from, and is responsible for administering, the following legislation:

  • Bank Act
  • Trust and Loan Companies Act
  • Cooperative Credit Associations Act
  • Insurance Companies Act
  • Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985, and
  • all related regulations

These acts and regulations set out the rules for the structure and operation of federally regulated financial institutions and the standards for federally regulated private pension plans. The various acts address the unique aspects of the sectors each governs, and are designed to be consistent with each other.

Ministerial authority

OSFI reports to Parliament through the minister of Finance. Although the minister of Finance is responsible for OSFI, the Superintendent is solely responsible for exercising the authorities provided by the financial and pension legislation, and must report to the minister from time to time on the administration of legislation governing financial institutions and pension plans.

Who OSFI regulates and supervises

OSFI regulates and supervises some 400 financial institutions and some 1200 pension plans in Canada, including the following:

Deposit-taking institutions:

  • banks, including:
    • domestic banks
    • foreign banks
    • full-service foreign bank branches, and
    • foreign bank branches that provide only lending services
  • trust companies
  • loan companies
  • cooperative credit associations
  • cooperative retail associations

Insurance companies:

  • life insurance companies
  • fraternal benefit societies
  • property and casualty insurance companies
  • mortgage insurance companies

Private pension plans:

  • federally regulated private pension plans organized and administered primarily for the benefit of employees and former employees of organizations under federal jurisdiction, such as banking, inter-provincial transportation and telecommunications.

For a full list of institutions and pension plans, visit: Who We Regulate.

How OSFI regulates and supervises

OSFI regulates by developing rules, interpreting legislation and regulations and providing regulatory approvals for certain types of transactions. It also contributes to new accounting, auditing and actuarial standards. All of this must balance the goals of safety and soundness with the need for institutions to operate within a competitive marketplace.

OSFI supervises by analyzing financial and economic trends to identify emerging issues that could adversely affect institutions. It assesses an institution’s financial condition, material risks and the quality of its governance, risk management and compliance. When weaknesses are identified, OSFI intervenes early and works with executive management, boards and pension plan administrators to correct matters.

OSFI’s scope of regulation and supervision does not include consumer-related or market conduct issues, nor the investment/securities sector. These are the responsibility of other regulatory bodies or agencies, both federal and provincial.

OSFI Partners

OSFI works closely with its federal financial regulatory partners, including the Department of Finance, the Bank of Canada, the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. Together, these agencies collaborate regularly to share information on matters relating to the supervision of federally regulated financial institutions. These partners also meet to discuss financial sector policy issues.

OSFI also works with the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), which is responsible for ensuring compliance with Canada’s Proceeds of Crime (money laundering) and Terrorist financing Act.

Collaboration and consultations with provincial counterparts and industry in Canada and abroad are a regular occurrence and help OSFI to understand and resolve potential issues.

International activities

International organizations such as the Financial Stability Board, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and the International Association of Insurance Supervisors play a key role in the development of regulatory frameworks for banks and insurers that contribute to a strong and stable global financial system. OSFI has earned a strong international reputation through its active participation in such international organizations, which allow it to share Canadian perspectives and help shape international rule setting.

Structure

OSFI employs some 700 people in offices located in Ottawa, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver. It is organized into four main sectors:

  • Regulation
  • Deposit-taking Supervision
  • Insurance Supervision
  • Corporate Services

Regulation

Regulation enhances the safety and soundness of the financial system through the evaluation of system-wide risks, and through the promotion of sound business and financial practices by providing guidelines, policy and recommendations.

Regulation involves the following activities:

  • contributing to the development of legislation and regulations, and interpreting them;
  • issuing guidelines, advisories and rulings;
  • approving regulatory requests from federally regulated institutions; and
  • ensuring compliance of federal pension plans with the legislation.

Structure of the Regulation Sector

Accounting Policy: Develop strategy and policy related to internal, national and international accounting policy and financial reporting; contribute to the development and effective implementation of sound accounting and assurance standards to meet regulatory needs.

Capital: Develop capital standards for domestic financial institutions; contribute to the development of sound international capital standards; and approve capital precedents.

Legal Services: Provide or obtain all legal advice and legal services required.

Legislation and Approvals: Contribute to the development of legislation, regulations and guidance that maintain or strengthen public confidence in Canada’s federally regulated financial sector; prepare recommendations related to applications made by financial institutions for regulatory consent; and assess compliance by financial institutions with their governing legislation.

Research: Identify emerging international issues that may be relevant to OSFI; and provide ongoing research support for projects.

Private Pension Plans: Supervise private pension plans covering employees in federally regulated areas of employment such as banking, inter-provincial transportation and telecommunications. When problems are identified, promptly advise the administrator of a plan and work with them to ensure corrective measures are taken. Provide regulatory approvals to plans for certain types of transactions and promote responsible plan administration and governance. OSFI also takes into account the risk implications for plans, including developments affecting actuarial and accounting standards, innovative new investment products and strategies to optimize returns and match pension liabilities.

Supervision

Supervision involves assessing the safety and soundness of federally regulated financial institutions, and using supervisory powers to intervene in a timely manner when necessary to protect the rights and interests of depositors and policyholders.

OSFI supervises in accordance with its Supervisory Framework and Supervisory Framework Rating Assessment Criteria. Key activities include:

  • developing and executing a risk-based supervisory plan for each institution that includes examining and monitoring its financial condition and the effectiveness of its internal oversight and control functions;
  • making recommendations to financial institutions and taking other intervention actions when irregularities are found;
  • following up on the corrective actions undertaken by those institutions; and
  • analyzing risks and identifying trends within the financial sector.

Structure of the Supervision Sectors

Deposit-Taking Supervision: Supervise federally regulated deposit-taking financial institutions (including branches and foreign subsidiaries) and their subsidiaries.

Insurance Supervision: Supervise federally regulated life insurance companies (including branches, foreign subsidiaries, fraternal and mutual companies) and their subsidiaries; federally regulated property and casualty insurance companies (including branches, foreign subsidiaries, and mutual companies) and their subsidiaries; and mortgage insurance companies.

Supervision Support Group: Provide expertise in risk management and cross-sector risk analytics and intelligence to the other supervisory units, and provide OSFI-wide support for emerging risk analysis, aggregation and reporting.

Common Supervisory Services: Provide technology and tools, training, methods, and ensure consistency.

Actuarial: Ensure appropriate actuarial knowledge, advice and standards are applied to OSFI's regulatory and supervisory functions.

OSFI Corporate Services Sector

Corporate Services Sector provides support services to the organization to allow it to perform its functions in an efficient and cost-effective manner.

Structure of the Corporate Services Sector

Communications and Consultations Division: Provide internal and external communications, public relations, linguistic services, event management and conduct surveys and consultations.

Finance and Corporate Planning Division: Provide accounting and financial services, procurement and contracting services, and corporate planning.

Human Resources and Administration Division: Provide policy, guidance and oversight necessary to facilitate a safe, secure, comfortable and productive workplace, while ensuring employees with the required skills are in place to meet OSFI’s business plan and priorities.

Information Management and Information Technology Division: Provide information management and technology services and solutions.

Data Management Division: Provide guidance and technical expertise to achieve effective management of regulated entity and pension data.

Office of the Chief Actuary

Introduction

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) is an independent unit within OSFI that provides a range of actuarial services to the Government of Canada in the form of reports tabled in Parliament and actuarial advice to various government departments.

The OCA conducts statutory actuarial valuations of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), the Old Age Security (OAS) program, the Canada Student Loans Program (CSLP), and federal public sector employee pension and insurance plans. These valuations estimate the financial status of these plans and programs as required by legislation. The OCA submits reports to the ministers of Finance and Families, Children and Social Development, and the president of the Treasury Board.

The OCA also provides the relevant government departments, including the executive arm of provincial and territorial governments, who are co-stewards of the CPP, with actuarial advice on the design, funding and administration of these plans. OCA clients include Employment and Social Development Canada, the Department of Finance Canada, the Treasury Board Secretariat, Public Services and Procurement Canada, National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces, Veterans Affairs Canada, the RCMP and the Department of Justice Canada.

Ministerial authority

The Chief Actuary reports to the Superintendent, but is solely responsible for the content and actuarial opinions contained in OCA reports, and for actuarial advice provided to relevant government departments, including the executive arm of provincial and territorial governments, which are co-stewards of the CPP.

Structure of the OCA

Social Insurance Programs: Assist the Chief Actuary in providing to the minister of Finance or the minister of Families, Children and Social Development, statutory actuarial reports showing the costs, liabilities and long-term financial projections for the CPP, OAS and the CSLP respectively. Other non-statutory actuarial services include actuarial estimates of costs and liabilities and long-term financial projections of any changes to these programs being considered by governments.

Public Sector Insurance and Pension Programs: Assist the Chief Actuary in providing to the president of Treasury Board or the minister of Finance, statutory actuarial reports on the costs, liabilities and long term financial projections in respect of several insurance and pension programs covering the federal public service, the Canadian Armed Forces, the RCMP, federally appointed judges and members of Parliament. This section is also involved in providing actuarial advice and costing to assist various government departments in the design, funding and administration of these programs.

Structure et activités du BSIF

Table des matières

Le Bureau

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente et surveille près de 400 institutions financières et 1 200 régimes de retraite fédéraux pour déterminer s’ils sont en bonne santé financière et s’ils respectent les exigences qui leur sont applicables.

Mandat

Promotion de saines pratiques de gestion du risque et de gouvernance

  • Le BSIF met de l’avant un cadre de réglementation destiné à contrôler et à gérer le risque.

Surveillance et intervention précoce

  • Le BSIF surveille les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite fédéraux pour s’assurer qu’ils sont en bonne santé financière et qu’ils se conforment à la réglementation qui les régit et aux exigences du régime de surveillance.
  • Il avise sans délai les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite des lacunes qu’ils présentent, et il prend des mesures correctives sans attendre ou les oblige à le faire.

Analyse du contexte pour assurer la sûreté et la solidité des institutions financières

  • Le BSIF repère et évalue les faits nouveaux systémiques ou sectoriels qui pourraient nuire à la situation financière des institutions financières fédérales.

Adoption d’une approche équilibrée

  • Le BSIF cherche à protéger les droits et les intérêts des déposants, des souscripteurs, des créanciers des institutions financières, et des bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite en reconnaissant pleinement que les institutions financières doivent pouvoir se mesurer à la concurrence et prendre des risques raisonnables.

En exécutant son mandat, le BSIF aide à la réalisation de l’objectif du gouvernement qui consiste à contribuer à accroître la confiance du public envers le système financier canadien.

Responsabilisation et gouvernance

Divers mécanismes officiels et officieux permettent au BSIF de s’acquitter de son mandat. Par exemple, le Comité de surveillance des institutions financières, que préside le surintendant, se réunit chaque trimestre pour échanger des renseignements au sujet de la surveillance des institutions financières fédérales. Ce comité est constitué de représentants du BSIF, du ministère des Finances, de la Banque du Canada, de la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada et de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. Alors que le ministère des Finances relève directement de son ministre de tutelle, le BSIF et les autres membres du Comité sont des organismes sans lien de dépendance ou des sociétés d’État qui rendent compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre.

Le cadre redditionnel du BSIF comprend :

  • la publication d’un rapport annuel et d’un plan ministériel;
  • l’audit externe annuel de ses états financiers et des processus de contrôle connexes;
  • un comité d’audit externe, un groupe d’audit interne et des rapports d’audit;
  • une politique sur le conflit d’intérêts et un code de déontologie;
  • la consultation des intervenants suivants avant le parachèvement de nouvelles règles :
    • les institutions financières / le secteur des services financiers;
    • d’autres organismes gouvernementaux intéressés;
    • des spécialistes en la matière; 
  • la comparution devant les comités parlementaires pour fournir des renseignements sur :
    • des sujets d’intérêt;
    • le rapport annuel et le plan ministériel du BSIF;
    • d’importantes évaluations;
  • la réalisation de sondages et de consultations confidentiels auprès d’interlocuteurs clés afin d’évaluer le rendement du BSIF en qualité d’organisme de surveillance et de réglementation des institutions financières fédérales;
  • la participation à des examens pour déterminer si le BSIF respecte les normes internationales établies à l’intention des autorités de réglementation prudentielle.

Lois habilitantes

Le BSIF a été constitué en 1987 en vertu d’une loi du Parlement, la Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (la « Loi sur le BSIF »).
Le BSIF tire ses pouvoirs des lois dont l’administration lui incombe, à savoir :

  • la Loi sur les banques;
  • la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt;
  • la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit;
  • la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances;
  • la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension;
  • tous les règlements en découlant.

Ces lois et règlements régissent la structure et le fonctionnement des institutions financières fédérales et encadrent les normes des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux. Ces diverses lois tiennent compte des particularités de chacun des secteurs qu’elles ciblent, tout en étant uniformes.

Pouvoir ministériel

Le BSIF rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Finances. Même si ce dernier est le ministre de tutelle du BSIF, le surintendant exerce seul les pouvoirs que les dispositions législatives à caractère financier confèrent au BSIF, et il lui incombe de faire rapport de temps à autre au ministre des Finances de l’application des lois régissant les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite.

Entités réglementées et surveillées

Le BSIF réglemente et surveille plus de 400 institutions financières et quelque 1 200 régimes de retraite au Canada appartenant aux catégories suivantes :

Institutions de dépôts 

  • Banques
    • Banques canadiennes
    • Banques étrangères
    • Succursales de banques étrangères à service complet
    • Succursales de banques étrangères n’offrant que des services de prêt
  • Sociétés de fiducie
  • Sociétés de prêt
  • Associations coopératives de crédit
  • Associations coopératives de détail

Sociétés d’assurances 

  • Sociétés d’assurance-vie
  • Sociétés de secours mutuels
  • Sociétés d’assurances multirisques
  • Sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire

Régimes de retraite privés  

  • Régimes de retraite privés fédéraux organisés et administrés principalement au profit d’employés, actuels et anciens, d’organisations de secteurs de compétence fédérale comme les banques, le transport interprovincial et les télécommunications.

On trouvera la liste complète des institutions et des régimes de retraite sous Entités réglementées.

Activités de réglementation et de surveillance

Pour exercer ses activités de réglementation, le BSIF élabore des règles, interprète les lois et les règlements et assure l’agrément de certains types de transactions. Il contribue en outre aux nouvelles normes comptables, actuarielles et d’audit. Tout cela doit concilier les objectifs de sûreté et de solidité avec l’obligation qu’ont les institutions d’exercer leurs activités sur un marché concurrentiel.

Pour exercer ses activités de surveillance, le BSIF analyse les tendances financières et économiques pour cerner les questions émergentes qui pourraient avoir une incidence négative sur les institutions. Il évalue la situation financière d’une institution, les risques importants qui pèsent sur elle, de même que la qualité de ses pratiques de gouvernance, de gestion du risque et de conformité. Lorsqu’une faiblesse est mise au jour, le BSIF intervient rapidement et travaille avec les cadres supérieurs, les membres du conseil d’administration et l’administrateur (dans le cas d’un régime de retraite) afin de corriger la situation.

Les activités de réglementation et de surveillance du BSIF n’englobent pas les questions intéressant le consommateur ou liées à la conduite des marchés, ni le secteur des placements ou des valeurs mobilières. Ces domaines relèvent d’autres instances ou organismes de réglementation fédéraux et provinciaux.

Partenaires du BSIF

Le BSIF travaille de près avec ses partenaires fédéraux en matière de réglementation financière, dont le ministère des Finances, la Banque du Canada, la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada et l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. Ces organismes collaborent régulièrement pour échanger des renseignements sur des questions liées à la surveillance des institutions financières fédérales, en plus de se réunir pour discuter de sujets touchant la politique du secteur financier.

Le BSIF travaille également avec le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), qui a pour mandat de veiller à l’observation de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes du Canada.

La collaboration avec les homologues provinciaux et le secteur des services financiers au Canada et à l’étranger et leur consultation périodique sont chose courante et aident le BSIF à comprendre et à résoudre d’éventuels problèmes.

Activités internationales

Les organisations internationales comme le Conseil de stabilité financière, le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire et l’Association internationale des contrôleurs d’assurance jouent un rôle clé dans l’élaboration de cadres de réglementation du secteur bancaire et de celui des assurances qui contribuent à la solidité et à la stabilité du système financier mondial. Le BSIF a acquis une solide réputation à l’échelle internationale grâce à sa participation active aux travaux de ces organisations internationales, ce qui lui permet de faire connaître les points de vue du Canada et de contribuer à l’établissement de règles internationales.

Structure

Le BSIF compte quelque 700 employés répartis entre ses bureaux d’Ottawa, de Montréal, de Toronto et de Vancouver. Il regroupe quatre grands secteurs :

  • Réglementation
  • Surveillance des institutions de dépôts
  • Surveillance des sociétés d’assurances
  • Services intégrés

Réglementation

La réglementation permet de rehausser la sécurité et la santé du système financier grâce à l’évaluation du risque systémique et à la promotion de pratiques commerciales et financières saines en fournissant des lignes directrices, des politiques et des recommandations.

Les activités de réglementation consistent à :

  • participer à l’élaboration des lois et des règlements, et à les interpréter;
  • émettre des lignes directrices, des préavis et des décisions ayant valeur de précédent;
  • approuver les demandes réglementaires soumises par les institutions financières fédérales;
  • veiller à ce que les régimes de retraite fédéraux se conforment à la législation.

Structure du Secteur de la réglementation

Division des politiques comptables : Élaborer des stratégies et des politiques se rapportant à la communication de renseignements financiers et aux politiques comptables au BSIF et au Canada, et à l’échelle internationale; participer à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre efficace de normes comptables et d’assurance saines qui satisfont aux exigences réglementaires.

Division des fonds propres : Élaborer des normes de fonds propres à l’intention des institutions financières canadiennes; participer à l’établissement de normes de fonds propres internationales saines; et approuver des précédents en matière de fonds propres.

Services juridiques : Offrir et obtenir tous les conseils et services juridiques requis.

Division de la législation et des approbations : Contribuer à l’élaboration de lois, de règlements et de consignes visant à maintenir ou à renforcer la confiance du public à l’égard du secteur des institutions financières fédérales du Canada; formuler des recommandations au sujet des demandes d’agrément réglementaire soumises par des institutions financières; et évaluer la conformité des institutions financières que réglemente le BSIF avec les lois qui s’y appliquent.

Division de la recherche : Recenser les nouvelles questions qui surgissent à l’échelle internationale auxquelles s’intéresse le BSIF et effectuer des activités de recherche pour appuyer de façon constante les projets.

Division des régimes de retraite privés : Surveiller les régimes de retraite privés des employés des secteurs de compétence fédérale comme les banques, le transport interprovincial et les télécommunications. Lorsque des problèmes surviennent, aviser sans délai l’administrateur du régime en cause et travailler avec lui pour assurer la mise en œuvre de correctifs. Donner les agréments réglementaires nécessaires aux régimes de retraite qui souhaitent effectuer certains types de transactions, et promouvoir l’administration et la gouvernance responsables des régimes de retraite. Le BSIF tient également compte des répercussions que peuvent avoir certains facteurs sur les risques auxquels sont confrontés les régimes de retraite, notamment les nouveautés ayant une incidence sur les normes actuarielles et comptables, de même que les nouveaux produits et stratégies de placement novateurs destinés à optimiser le rendement et à permettre d’honorer les engagements financiers des régimes de retraite.

Surveillance

La surveillance consiste à évaluer la sécurité et la santé des institutions financières fédérales et à exercer les pouvoirs de surveillance pour intervenir rapidement, s’il y a lieu, afin de protéger les droits et les intérêts des déposants et des souscripteurs.

Le BSIF exerce ses activités de surveillance conformément à son Cadre de surveillance et aux critères d’évaluation en vue de l’attribution des cotes de surveillance. Les principales activités consistent à :

  • élaborer et à exécuter un plan institutionnel de surveillance fondé sur le risque qui prévoit l’examen et le suivi de la situation financière de l’institution et de l’efficacité de ses fonctions internes de supervision et de contrôle;
  • faire des recommandations aux institutions financières et à prendre d’autres mesures d’intervention lorsque des irrégularités sont décelées;
  • faire un suivi des correctifs que prend l’institution;
  • analyser le risque et à cerner les tendances au sein du secteur financier.

Structure des secteurs de la Surveillance

Surveillance des institutions de dépôts : Surveiller les institutions de dépôts fédérales (y compris leurs succursales et leurs filiales étrangères), ainsi que leurs filiales.

Surveillance des sociétés d’assurances : Surveiller les sociétés d’assurance‑vie fédérales (y compris les succursales, les filiales étrangères, les sociétés de secours et les sociétés mutuelles) et leurs filiales; les sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales (y compris les succursales, les filiales étrangères et les sociétés mutuelles) et leurs filiales; de même que les sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire.

Groupe de soutien de la surveillance : Fournir une expertise en gestion du risque et en analyse du risque sectoriel et des renseignements aux autres équipes de la surveillance, et appuyer, à l’échelle du BSIF, l’analyse, l’agrégation et la communication des risques.

Services communs de surveillance : Fournir de la technologie et des outils, donner de la formation, élaborer des méthodes et assurer l’uniformité. 

Division de l’actuariat : Veiller à l’application de connaissances, de normes et de conseils actuariels pertinents aux fonctions de réglementation et de surveillance du BSIF.

Services intégrés

Le Secteur des services intégrés offre des services de soutien à l’organisation pour lui permettre de s’acquitter de ses fonctions de manière efficace et économique.

Structure du Secteur des services intégrés

Division des communications et des consultations : Fournir des services de communication interne et externe, gérer les relations publiques, fournir des services linguistiques, gérer les événements, et mener des enquêtes et des consultations.

Division des finances et de la planification intégrée : Fournir des services comptables et financiers, d’approvisionnement et de passation des marchés, et faire la planification intégrée.

Division des ressources humaines et de l’administration : Élaborer des politiques, offrir des conseils et exercer un contrôle afin de garantir un milieu de travail sûr, sécuritaire, confortable et propice à la productivité, tout en veillant à ce que le BSIF soit doté d’employés ayant des compétences qui concordent avec son plan d’activités et ses priorités.

Division de la gestion de l’information et de la technologie de l’information : Fournir des services et des solutions de gestion et de technologie de l’information.

Division de la gestion des données : Offrir conseils et expertise technique afin de garantir la gestion efficace des données sur les entités et les régimes de retraite réglementés.

Bureau de l’actuaire en chef

Introduction

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) est une unité indépendante au sein du BSIF. Il offre des services actuariels au gouvernement du Canada, dont il rend compte sous forme de rapports déposés devant le Parlement, et adresse des conseils actuariels à divers ministères et organismes.

Le BAC effectue des évaluations actuarielles réglementaires du Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), du programme de la sécurité de la vieillesse (SV), du Programme canadien de prêts aux étudiants (PCPE) et des régimes de pension et d’assurance des employés du secteur public fédéral. Ces évaluations permettent de déterminer, d’après les exigences de la loi, la situation financière de ces régimes et programmes. Le BAC soumet des rapports au ministre des Finances, au ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social et au président du Conseil du Trésor.

Le BAC fournit aussi aux ministères intéressés, y compris au pouvoir exécutif des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, qui sont les coadministrateurs du RPC, des conseils actuariels sur la conception, la capitalisation et l’administration de ces régimes. Emploi et Développement social Canada, Finances Canada, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, Défense nationale Canada et les Forces armées canadiennes, Anciens Combattants Canada, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et Justice Canada sont au nombre des clients du BAC.

Pouvoir ministériel

Bien qu’il relève du surintendant, l’actuaire en chef est responsable au premier chef du contenu des rapports préparés par le BAC et des opinions actuarielles qui y sont formulées, ainsi que des conseils actuariels que celui-ci adresse aux ministères et organismes intéressés, y compris au pouvoir exécutif des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, qui sont les coadministrateurs du RPC.

Structure du BAC

Programmes d’assurance sociale : Aider l’actuaire en chef à préparer les rapports actuariels réglementaires à l’intention du ministre des Finances ou du ministre de la Famille, des Enfants et du Développement social indiquant les coûts, les obligations et les prévisions financières à long terme du RPC, de la SV et du PCPE, respectivement. Il effectue aussi des évaluations actuarielles qui ne sont pas prévues par la loi et qui portent sur les coûts, les obligations et les répercussions financières à long terme des changements de ces programmes qu’étudient les gouvernements.

Programmes de retraite et d’assurance du secteur public : Aider l’actuaire en chef à fournir au président du Conseil du Trésor ou au ministre des Finances des rapports actuariels réglementaires indiquant les coûts, les obligations et les prévisions financières à long terme concernant plusieurs programmes de retraite et d’assurance de la fonction publique fédérale, des Forces armées canadiennes, de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, des juges de nomination fédérale et des parlementaires. Ce service fournit également aux divers ministères des conseils actuariels et des estimations budgétaires afin de les aider à concevoir, à financer et à administrer ces programmes.