About OSFI

Introduction

OSFI is an independent agency of the Government of Canada. It is responsible for the prudential regulation and supervision of federally regulated financial institutions, as well as private pension plans subject to federal oversight.

OSFI monitors these institutions for solvency, liquidity, and safety and soundness. However, management, boards of directors and plan administrators are ultimately responsible for the day-to-day operations of financial institutions and pension plans.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Q. Please explain to me what a federally regulated financial institution is?

    A. A federally regulated financial institution is any entity in Canada that has been created or allowed to offer financial services under one of the federal financial institution laws. Banks, for example, are incorporated or registered under the Bank Act, while insurance companies — both life companies as well as property and casualty insurers – are incorporated or registered under the Insurance Companies Act. Both laws specify a number of "dos and don'ts" that govern the activities of these institutions in the public interest.

  2. Q. Can you tell me the type of different bodies that OSFI regulates?

    A. OSFI regulates:

    • Banks
    • Trust Companies
    • Loan Companies
    • Cooperative Credit Associations
    • Cooperative Retail Associations
    • Life Insurance Companies
    • Fraternal Benefit Societies
    • Property & Casualty Insurance Companies
    • Foreign Bank Representative Offices

    For the list of organizations regulated by OSFI, see Who We Regulate.

  3. Q. If I am having trouble with my bank, and their credit card charges, may I contact OSFI for your assistance?

    A. No. OSFI's mandate does not include consumer-related issues or the securities industry. For credit card complaints and other issues with regard to banks, there is another agency I suggest you contact, the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. (For more information on OSFI's role, see the OSFI webpage titled About Us.)

  4. Q. How does OSFI fit in the federal system of financial regulation? Are there other federal agencies involved, and, if so, what are they?

    A. In addition to OSFI, there are: the Department of Finance, the Bank of Canada, Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, and the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. They meet on a quarterly basis to exchange information relating to the supervision of federally regulated financial institutions, as members of the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee (FISC), chaired by the Superintendent of OSFI. The organizations that form FISC constitute Canada's federal network of financial regulation and supervision, and together they provide a system of depositor and policyholder protection to you and all other Canadians.

  5. Q. Does that mean OSFI's mandate includes monetary policy?

    A. No, the Bank of Canada is responsible for monetary policy.

  6. Q. Does OSFI oversee stock markets and their behaviour?

    A. No, market conduct is regulated by provincial regulators and security commissions, while bank-related consumer protection is handled by the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.

  7. Q. Since the financial crisis of 2008-2009, I have been hearing about OSFI's international role. What does that mean?

    A. Financial institutions operate within an extensive worldwide business web. Their products and the markets in which they operate are increasingly global, complex and interconnected. Since the crisis of 2008-2009, you have likely heard more about the global financial system. OSFI monitors issues that affect the global system and collaborates extensively with international bodies like the Financial Stability Board, the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, and the International Association of Insurance Supervisors.

  8. Q. What are OSFI's objectives in participating in these international organizations?

    A. Through active participation in such organizations, OSFI is able to share Canadian perspectives and help shape international regulatory and supervisory standards. For more information, see Annual Reports.

  9. Q. Please explain how OSFI is funded.

    A. OSFI recovers its costs through assessments of the financial services industry and the private pension plans OSFI regulates and supervises, and through a user-pay program for selected services. The Government of Canada contributes a small appropriation for actuarial services OSFI provides to public sector pension and benefit plans. For more information, you can consult the Financial Review and Highlights chapter of OSFI Annual Reports.

  10. Q. To whom does OSFI report?

    A. OSFI is an independent agency of the Government of Canada. Under OSFI's governing legislation, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act (OSFI Act), the Superintendent reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

  11. Q. Who appoints the Superintendent of OSFI and for how long?

    A. The Governor General appoints the Superintendent to a seven-year term, on the advice of the federal Cabinet.

  12. Q. May I reproduce OSFI documentation for commercial or non-commercial use?

    A. For information on the use of OSFI documentation, you can consult the Terms and Conditions page of our website, where you will find our copyright/permission to reproduce procedure.

  13. Q. Can I subscribe to email notification of updates /new postings to your website?

    A. You can subscribe by scrolling down to Email Notifications under "Stay Connected" on the bottom right-hand side of the home page of OSFI's website, then following the prompts to click on the notifications that are of interest to you.

Le Bureau

Introduction

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, ou BSIF, est un organisme gouvernemental indépendant. Il est chargé de la réglementation et de la surveillance prudentielles des institutions financières fédérales et des régimes de retraite privés de compétence fédérale.

Il exerce cette surveillance sur le plan de leur solvabilité, de leurs liquidités, de leur sûreté et de leur santé financière. Toutefois, ce sont la direction, les conseils d'administration et les administrateurs de régime de retraite qui sont comptables en dernier ressort des activités quotidiennes des institutions financières et des régimes de retraite.

Foire aux questions

  1. Q. Qu'est-ce qu'une institution financière fédérale?

    R. Une institution financière fédérale est une entité établie au Canada pour offrir des services financiers aux termes de l'une des lois sur les institutions financières promulguées par le gouvernement fédérales. Ainsi, les banques sont constituées ou agréées sous le régime de la Loi sur les banques, tandis que les sociétés d'assurances, qu'il s'agisse des assureurs-vie ou des assureurs multirisques, sont constituées ou agréées sous le régime de la Loi sur les sociétés d'assurances. Ces deux lois prévoient les exigences et contraintes qui régissent les activités des institutions dans l'intérêt du public.

  2. Q. Quels types d'entités le BSIF réglemente-t-il?

    R. Le BSIF réglemente :

    • des banques;
    • des sociétés de fiducie;
    • des sociétés de prêt;
    • des associations coopératives de crédit;
    • des associations coopératives de détail;
    • des sociétés d'assurance-vie;
    • des sociétés de secours mutuels;
    • des sociétés d'assurances multirisques;
    • des bureaux de représentation de banques étrangères.

    Vous trouverez une liste des établissements réglementés par le BSIF sous Entités réglementées.

  3. Q. Si un client est insatisfait des services de sa banque et de ses frais de carte de crédit, peut-il demander l'aide du BSIF?

    R. Non. Le mandat du BSIF n'englobe pas les questions touchant les consommateurs ni le secteur des valeurs mobilières. Il faut plutôt adresser une plainte se rapportant à une carte de crédit ou à d'autres problèmes impliquant une banque à l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. Vous trouverez des précisions sur le rôle du BSIF sous Qui nous sommes.

  4. Q. Où se situe le BSIF dans le système fédéral de réglementation en matière financière? Y a-t-il d'autres organismes qui participent à la réglementation?

    R. En plus du BSIF, on compte le ministère des Finances, la Banque du Canada, la Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada et l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. Leurs représentants se réunissent chaque trimestre pour échanger des renseignements sur la surveillance des institutions financières fédérales en qualité de membres du Comité de surveillance des institutions financières (CSIF), dont le surintendant du BSIF assure la présidence. Ces organismes forment le réseau canadien de réglementation et de surveillance du secteur financier et offrent un régime de protection aux déposants et souscripteurs canadiens.

  5. Q. Le mandat du BSIF prévoit-il donc la formulation de la politique monétaire?

    R. Non. La politique monétaire relève plutôt de la Banque du Canada.

  6. Q. Le BSIF surveille-t-il les marchés boursiers et leur évolution?

    R. Non. Les marchés boursiers sont réglementés par les organismes de réglementation provinciaux et les commissions de valeurs mobilières, alors que les questions de protection du consommateur dans le domaine bancaire relèvent de l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada.

  7. Q. Depuis la crise financière de 2008-2009, j'ai souvent entendu parler du rôle international du BSIF. Qu'en est-il?

    R. Les institutions financières exercent leurs activités dans le cadre d'un réseau international aux nombreuses ramifications. Leurs produits et les marchés sur lesquels elles évoluent sont de plus en plus mondialisés, complexes et interdépendants. Depuis la crise financière de 2008-2009, il est probable que le système financier international ait fait l'objet d'une plus grande attention médiatique. Le BSIF suit les enjeux qui touchent le système financier international et collabore de près avec des organismes internationaux tels que le Conseil de stabilité financière, le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire et l'Association internationale des contrôleurs d'assurance (sites en anglais seulement).

  8. Q. Que cherche à accomplir le BSIF en participant à ces organismes internationaux?

    R. Par sa participation active à ces organismes, le BSIF est en mesure de faire valoir les points de vue des Canadiens et de prendre part à l'élaboration de normes internationales de réglementation et de surveillance. Vous trouverez des précisions à ce sujet sous Rapports annuels.

  9. Q. D'où vient le financement du BSIF?

    R. Le BSIF recouvre ses dépenses au moyen des cotisations que lui versent les institutions du secteur des services financiers et les régimes de retraite privés qu'il réglemente et supervise, et d'un programme d'utilisateur-payeur à l'égard de certains services. Le gouvernement du Canada lui accorde un modeste crédit en contrepartie de la prestation de services actuariels au titre de divers régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux du secteur public. Vous trouverez des précisions à ce sujet au chapitre Revue financière et faits saillants des rapports annuels du BSIF.

  10. Q. De qui relève le BSIF?

    R. Le BSIF est un organisme indépendant du gouvernement du Canada. En vertu de sa loi habilitante, la Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (la Loi sur le BSIF), le surintendant rend compte des activités du BSIF au Parlement par l'intermédiaire du ministre des Finances.

  11. Q. Qui nomme le surintendant? Quelle est la durée de son mandat?

    R. Le surintendant est nommé par le gouverneur général pour une durée de sept ans, sur recommandation du cabinet fédéral.

  12. Q. Puis-je reproduire les documents du BSIF à des fins commerciales ou non commerciales?

    R. Vous trouverez de l'information sur les modalités d'utilisation des documents du BSIF et sur les droits d'auteur et la procédure d'autorisation de reproduction sous la rubrique Avis de notre site Web.

  13. Q. Puis-je m'abonner au service de notification par courriel des avis et documents qui sont affichés sur votre site Web?

    R. Pour vous abonner, cliquez sur Avis par courriel, sous Rester branchés, dans le coin inférieur droit de l'écran. Une nouvelle page s'ouvrira et vous pourrez y choisir les sujets qui vous intéressent.