Financial Institutions

Introduction

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) regulates and supervises all banks and federally incorporated or registered trust and loan companies in Canada, as well as insurance companies, cooperative credit associations and fraternal benefit societies.

Our mandate is to:

  • Ensure that federally regulated financial institutions and pension plans are financially sound and meeting minimum plan funding requirements respectively, and are complying with their governing law and OSFIs requirements;
  • Promptly take action or advise institutions to take prompt corrective action when material deficiencies have been identified;
  • Build and maintain a regulatory framework that promotes the adoption of policies and procedures meant to control and manage risk;
  • Monitor and evaluate system-wide or sectoral issues that may impact institutions negatively.

OSFI's legislation recognizes the need for institutions to compete effectively and take reasonable risks. Our legislation states that management, boards of directors and plan administrators are ultimately responsible and financial institutions and pension plans can fail.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Q. Where can I obtain a listing of federally regulated financial institutions in Canada?

    A. You can obtain a listing of federally regulated financial institutions in Canada by clicking on the "Who We Regulate" section of our website.

  2. Q. Where can I obtain the history/incorporation documents for a federally registered financial institution?

    A. You can obtain the history/incorporation documents for a federally registered financial institution by sending a written request to the attention of the Information Technician, OSFI, 255 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0H2. Telephone: (613) 990-9112. The request should be faxed to (613) 952-8219 or E-mail: eim@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. A fee of $160.00 applies to such requests.

  3. Q. Is my financial institution safe? Can I obtain information from OSFI about its profitability and rating?

    A. The legislation governing OSFI's activities does not allow us to discuss the financial condition of individual financial institutions. You can obtain publicly reported financial data on our website.

  4. Q. How can I file a complaint against my financial institution?

    A. OSFI has no authority to act on consumer complaints against federally regulated financial institutions. For such matters, you can contact the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC), and read the frequently asked questions or the complaint handling process sections of their website.

  5. Q. I have a complaint about my bank's brokerage services — can OSFI help me resolve it?

    A. In Canada securities firms fall within the regulatory domain of the provinces and territories and their respective securities commissions. Links to these organizations are available through the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada website under Provincial and Territorial Regulators. The Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) is a national self-regulatory organization that oversees all investment and securities dealers in Canada.

  6. Q. How can I find out what happened to funds in an old (dormant) bank account?

    A. You can find out what happened to funds in an old (dormant) bank account by contacting the financial institution where the account was held if the account has been inactive less than 10 years. However, under the Bank Act, Canadian financial institutions are required to transfer all Canadian currency accounts that have been inactive or dormant for 10 years to the Bank of Canada, which is responsible for posting information on unclaimed balances. Therefore, you may wish to check its searchable database.

  7. Q. Is OSFI involved in deterring and detecting money laundering?

    A. OSFI works closely with the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC), to share information concerning the policies and procedures that Canadian financial institutions have in place for complying with Part I of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA). Various provisions of the PCMLTFA and the Criminal Code give FINTRAC and OSFI the responsibility for dealing with issues related to the financing of terrorist activities.

  8. Q. What role do FINTRAC and OSFI play in these crime-detecting efforts?

    A. FINTRAC's role includes detecting, preventing and deterring the financing of terrorist activities, while OSFI acts as a central reporting point.

  9. Q. With so many reports of hacking and cyber-attacks in the news these days, can I count on OSFI to work with banks to protect deposit holders against such attacks?

    A. Cyber-risk is an issue of increasing concern for everyone in the financial services industry. OSFI conducts reviews of financial institutions' cyber protection practices as part of its supervision of institutional risk management policies and practices.

  10. Q. I have some concerns about my life, health or property and casualty insurance — can OSFI respond to my concerns?

    A. OSFI's authority in insurance matters is limited to ensuring, to the extent possible, that federally registered insurance companies remain able to meet their obligations to you, as a policyholder or a creditor.

  11. Q. I have a question about the legality of a clause in the contract I have with my insurance company. Can OSFI help me with that?

    A. OSFI cannot help you with matters involving contracts, general business practices and underwriting criteria for insurance companies, which fall exclusively under provincial jurisdiction. Therefore, you may wish to contact your provincial insurance regulator for advice. You can find their contact information through the website of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, listed under Provincial and Territorial Insurance Regulators.

  12. Q. What about other insurance questions? Where do I turn if I need help with them?

    A. That depends on the nature of your questions. The Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association offers an OmBudService to assist with questions or complaints. The Insurance Bureau of Canada, which represents property and casualty insurers, also provides assistance to consumers with insurance concerns.

  13. Q. How does OSFI respond to whistleblowers – including allegations that a financial institution is engaging in misconduct or illegal business practices?

    A. OSFI takes allegations of potential misconduct seriously. We accept complaints in writing only, either by email or regular mail (see Contact Us). We will forward your information to the appropriate area within OSFI for review and action.

  14. Q. Will OSFI inform me of what is happening with my complaint?

    A. Due to a confidentiality requirement in the OSFI Act, we are not able to report back to you with any information on the progress or outcome of our work

Institutions financières

Introduction

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) réglemente et surveille toutes les banques au Canada de même que toutes les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, les sociétés d'assurances, les associations coopératives de crédit et les sociétés de secours mutuels.

Ses objectifs sont les suivants :

  • veiller à ce que les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite fédéraux soient en bonne santé financière et qu'ils respectent les exigences minimales de capitalisation, et que tous deux se conforment aux lois qui les régissent et aux exigences de surveillance du BSIF;
  • lorsque des lacunes importantes sont constatées, prendre des mesures correctives sans attendre ou obliger les institutions à le faire;
  • mettre en place un cadre de réglementation incitant à l'adoption de politiques et de procédures destinées à contrôler et à gérer le risque et le tenir à jour;
  • surveiller et évaluer les questions systémiques ou sectorielles qui pourraient avoir des répercussions négatives sur les institutions.

Les dispositions législatives visant le BSIF tiennent compte de la nécessité de permettre aux institutions de soutenir la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables. Elles précisent en outre que ce sont la direction et les conseils d'administration des institutions financières, ainsi que les administrateurs des régimes de retraite qui sont comptables en dernier ressort, et que les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite peuvent faire faillite.

Foire aux questions

  1. Q. Où peut-on obtenir la liste des institutions financières fédérales qui exercent des activités au Canada?

    R. Vous trouverez une liste des institutions financières fédérales canadiennes sous la rubrique Entités réglementées de notre site Web.

  2. Q. Où peut-on se procurer les documents d'archives et les documents relatifs à la constitution d'une institution financière fédérale?

    R. Vous pouvez obtenir les documents d'archives et les documents relatifs à la constitution d'une institution financière fédérale en faisant parvenir une demande écrite au technicien de l'information du BSIF à l'adresse que voici : 255, rue Albert, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H2, téléphone : 613-990-9112. La demande peut aussi être envoyée par télécopieur au 613-952-8219 ou par courriel à eim@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Veuillez prendre note que des droits de 160 $ sont exigés pour le traitement de ces demandes.

  3. Q. L'institution financière avec laquelle je fais affaire est-elle sûre? Est-il possible d'obtenir des renseignements sur sa rentabilité et sa cote de solvabilité?

    R. Les lois régissant les activités du BSIF ne nous permettent pas de discuter des détails de la situation financière des institutions financières. Vous trouverez toutefois les données financières rendues publiques sur notre site Web.

  4. Q. Comment procéder pour porter plainte contre une institution financière?

    R. Le BSIF n'est pas habilité à étudier les plaintes des consommateurs contre les institutions financières fédérales. Les plaintes de cette nature doivent être adressées à l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC). Vous trouverez sur le site Web de l'ACFC une foire aux questions à cet effet et une rubrique sur le processus de traitement des plaintes.

  5. Q. Je souhaite porter plainte contre les services de courtage de ma banque. Le BSIF est-il en mesure de m'aider?

    R. Au Canada, les activités des sociétés de valeurs mobilières sont de compétence provinciale et territoriale et relèvent des commissions des provinces et des territoires. Vous trouverez des liens vers les sites de ces organismes à la section Organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de réglementation du site Web de l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. L'Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières est l'organisme d'autoréglementation national qui surveille l'ensemble des courtiers en placements et en valeurs mobilières au Canada.

  6. Q. Comment faire pour savoir ce que sont devenus les fonds placés dans un vieux compte bancaire inactif?

    R. Pour savoir ce que sont devenus les fonds placés dans un vieux compte bancaire (compte dormant), il faut communiquer avec l'institution financière détentrice du compte s'il est inactif depuis moins de dix ans. Toutefois, la Loi sur les banques oblige les institutions financières à transférer à la Banque du Canada tous les soldes des comptes bancaires qui sont inactifs ou dormants depuis au moins dix ans, et la Banque du Canada est chargée de publier l'information sur les soldes non réclamés. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter sa banque de données.

  7. Q. De quelle manière le BSIF participe-t-il aux efforts visant à déceler et à dissuader le recyclage des produits de la criminalité?

    R. Le BSIF travaille en étroite collaboration avec le Centre d'analyse des opérations et des déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) dans le but d'échanger des renseignements sur l'efficacité des politiques et procédures mises en place par les institutions financières canadiennes pour se conformer à la partie I de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (LFRPCFAT). Diverses dispositions de la LFRPCFAT et du Code criminel habilitent le CANAFE et le BSIF à traiter des questions liées au financement des activités terroristes.

  8. Q. Quels rôles jouent le CANAFE et le BSIF dans ces efforts visant à déceler et à dissuader le recyclage des produits de la criminalité?

    R. Le mandat du CANAFE inclut notamment la détection, la prévention et la dissuasion du financement des activités terroristes, tandis que le BSIF tient le rôle de centre de déclaration.

  9. Q. On entend de plus en plus parler de cas de piratage et de cyberattaques dans les manchettes. Peut-on se fier au travail qu'effectue le BSIF avec les banques pour protéger les déposants contre de telles attaques?

    R. Le cyber-risque préoccupe de plus en plus les acteurs du domaine financier. Le BSIF procède à des examens des pratiques des institutions en matière de protection contre le cyber-risque dans le cadre de sa surveillance des politiques et des pratiques de gestion du risque d'ordre institutionnel.

  10. Q. Je suis préoccupé par mon assurance-vie, mon assurance maladie ou mon assurance multirisque. Le BSIF peut-il m'aider?

    R. En matière d'assurances, les pouvoirs du BSIF se limitent à veiller à ce que, dans la mesure du possible, les sociétés à charte fédérale soient en bonne santé financière pour pouvoir s'acquitter de leurs obligations envers leurs souscripteurs (vous) et leurs créanciers.

  11. Q. J'ai une question sur la légalité d'une des clauses du contrat que j'ai signé avec ma société d'assurances. Le BSIF peut-il m'aider?

    R. Le BSIF n'est pas habilité à intervenir pour des questions relatives aux contrats, aux pratiques commerciales générales et aux critères de sélection des risques, qui sont du ressort exclusif des autorités provinciales. Nous vous invitons donc à demander conseil à l'autorité provinciale compétente. Vous trouverez ses coordonnées sous la rubrique Organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de réglementation sur le site Web de l'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada.

  12. Q. Qu'en est-il des autres questions concernant l'assurance? Qui est habilité à intervenir?

    R. Tout dépend de la nature de la question. L'Association canadienne des compagnies d'assurances de personnes offre un service d'ombudsman chargé de répondre aux questions et aux plaintes. Le Bureau d'assurance du Canada, qui représente les assureurs multirisques, est lui aussi en mesure d'aider les consommateurs en matière d'assurances.

  13. Q. Comment le BSIF réagit-il aux allégations de dénonciateurs voulant qu'une institution financière soit coupable d'inconduite ou ait recours à des pratiques illégales?

    R. Le BSIF prend les allégations d'inconduite très au sérieux. Il accepte uniquement les plaintes par écrit, soit par courriel ou par la poste (voir Contactez-nous), puis les transmet aux employés compétents pour qu'ils les examinent et y donnent suite.

  14. Q. Le BSIF me tiendra-t-il au courant du traitement de ma plainte?

    R. Pour des raisons de confidentialité prévues dans la Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, nous ne sommes pas en mesure de rendre compte de l'état d'avancement ou du résultat de nos démarches.