OSFI releases final version of the Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) Guideline following consultation period

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ December 9, 2016 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released revisions to its Capital Adequacy Requirements Guideline (CAR).

OSFI's CAR Guideline provides a framework for assessing the capital adequacy of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions and is updated periodically to ensure that capital requirements continue to reflect underlying risks and developments in the financial industry.

Captured in this set of revisions are clarifications on how the CAR Guideline will apply to federal credit unions, particularly with respect to qualifying capital instruments, deductions from capital and transitioning of non-qualifying instruments.

The CAR Guideline also includes revisions to the treatment of insured residential mortgages. These revisions aim to emphasize that credit risk insurance is a risk mitigant (guarantee) that relies on the due diligence of a mortgage originator with respect to the requirements of a mortgage insurance contract.

In addition, this Guideline incorporates final guidance on the implementation of the downturn loss given default (DLGD) floor which applies to banks using an internal rating-based (IRB) approach for loans secured by residential real estate. These updates provide a measured and forward looking response to the changing risks occurring in the Canadian mortgage market.

OSFI is also clarifying how we will exercise national discretion in the implementation of the countercyclical buffer, including the reciprocity of countercyclical buffers put in place in other jurisdictions.

Finally, the revisions include OSFI’s implementation of the equity investment in funds rules issued by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision.

Quick Facts

  • The implementation date for these changes is set for November 1, 2016 for institutions with an October 31 year end, and January 1, 2017 for institutions with a December 31 year end.
  • The CAR Guideline is based on requirements agreed by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. As a member of the Basel Committee, OSFI supports and applies the global risk-based framework to its regulated institutions through a measured and tailored approach that is suited to the Canadian context.

Quote

“The issuing of this guideline represents an important proactive response to global capital adequacy standards issued by the Basel Committee in the context of changing risks in Canada,” said Assistant Superintendent Carolyn Rogers. “We thank all those who participated in the consultation process vital to ensuring proper stakeholder input.”

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

-30-

Media Contact:

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

À la suite d’une période de consultation, le BSIF publie la version finale de sa ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA le 9 décembre 2016 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) vous invite aujourd’hui à prendre connaissance de la version révisée de sa ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres (NFP).

La ligne directrice NFP du BSIF encadre l’évaluation de la suffisance des fonds propres des institutions de dépôts fédérales; elle est périodiquement mise à jour afin que les exigences de fonds propres continuent de refléter les risques sous-jacents et l’évolution du secteur des services financiers.

La révision précise comment la ligne directrice NFP s’appliquera aux caisses de crédit fédérales, notamment en ce qui concerne les critères d’admissibilité des instruments de fonds propres, les déductions des fonds propres et le retrait progressif des instruments de fonds propres non admissibles.

La ligne directrice NFP modifiera aussi le régime visant les hypothèques résidentielles assurées. Ces changements visent à souligner que l’assurance risque de crédit est un facteur d’atténuation des risques (garantie) qui repose sur la diligence raisonnable du prêteur hypothécaire en ce qui touche les exigences propres à un contrat d’assurance hypothécaire.

La ligne directrice énonce également la version finale des consignes de mise en œuvre du seuil de perte en cas de défaut de ralentissement, qui vise les banques appliquant l’approche de notations internes (NI) aux prêts garantis par des biens immobiliers résidentiels. Les mesures que propose le BSIF se veulent une réponse réfléchie et prospective à l’évolution des facteurs de risque du marché des prêts hypothécaires au Canada.

Le BSIF y précise également la façon dont il exercera son pouvoir discrétionnaire à titre d’autorité de contrôle nationale à l’égard de la mise en œuvre de la réserve anticyclique, y compris au plan de la réciprocité des réserves anticycliques instaurées par d’autres administrations.

Enfin, cet exercice de révision a pour but d’instaurer au Canada les règles du Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (CBCB) en matière de placement en actions dans des fonds d’investissement.

Les faits en bref

  • Ces modifications s’appliqueront à compter du 1er novembre 2016 pour les institutions dont l’exercice prend fin le 31 octobre, et à compter du 1er janvier 2017 pour celles dont l’exercice se termine le 31 décembre.
  • La ligne directrice NFP repose sur les exigences approuvées par le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire. À titre de membre du Comité de Bâle, le BSIF appuie et applique le dispositif international fondé sur les risques aux institutions qu’il réglemente, et ce, au moyen d’une approche mesurée et adaptée qui convient à la réalité canadienne.

Citation

« La publication de cette ligne directrice constitue une réponse réfléchie et proactive aux normes de fonds propres internationales du Comité de Bâle et tient compte de l’évolution du risque au Canada, a dit Carolyn Rogers, surintendante auxiliaire. Nous remercions tous ceux qui ont participé à l’exercice de consultation, car il s’agit d’un processus indispensable permettant d’obtenir l’avis des intervenants. »

Documents connexes

Le Bureau

Constitué en 1987, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui protège les droits des déposants, des souscripteurs, des créanciers d’institutions financières et des participants de régimes de retraite, tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour les institutions financières, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

-30-

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
Affaires publiques, BSIF
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401