OSFI releases for public consultation updates to the capital requirements for loans secured by residential real estate

OTTAWA ─ April 29, 2016 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) today released for public consultation proposed updates to the regulatory capital requirements for loans secured by residential real estate. These updates will ensure that capital requirements remain prudent in periods where house prices are high relative to household income and/or house prices are increasing rapidly in nominal terms. The proposed updates apply to those federally regulated deposit-taking institutions (DTIs) approved by OSFI to use the internal ratings-based (IRB) approach to credit risk.

Included in the updates is the introduction of a risk-sensitive floor on IRB capital requirements to take into account periods where the value of properties pledged as collateral becomes less certain. The proposed floor would be included in banks’ estimates of loss given default (LGD).

These updates provide a measured and forward looking response to the changing risks occurring in the Canadian mortgage market.

Quick Facts

  • DTIs currently using internal models for loans secured by residential real estate include: Bank of Montreal, Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, HSBC Canada, National Bank of Canada, Royal Bank of Canada, and Toronto-Dominion Bank.
  • These updates are part of the updates to capital requirements for residential mortgages announced by OSFI in December 2015. They will be incorporated into Chapter 6 of the Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) guideline and become effective as of November 1, 2016.
  • OSFI is inviting comments on the proposed updates, which it will consider during development of the final version. The deadline for submitting comments is June 10, 2016.
  • A non-attributed summary of industry comments and OSFI's responses will be posted on the OSFI website with the release of the final guideline later this year.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

-30-

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF présente une nouvelle version de ses normes de fonds propres sur les prêts garantis par un immeuble résidentiel dans le cadre d’un exercice de consultation publique

OTTAWA - Le 29 avril 2016 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a publié aujourd'hui une nouvelle version de ses normes de fonds propres (NFP) réglementaires sur les prêts garantis par un immeuble résidentiel dans le cadre d'un exercice de consultation publique. Les modifications proposées visent à faire en sorte que les normes de fonds propres auxquelles doivent souscrire les institutions financières restent prudentes lorsque le prix des maisons est relativement élevé par rapport au revenu des ménages ou qu'il augmente rapidement en termes nominaux. Ces nouvelles consignes s'adressent aux institutions de dépôts fédérales autorisées par le BSIF à calculer le risque de crédit selon l'approche fondée sur les notations internes (approche NI).

La nouvelle version des normes de fonds propres au titre de l'approche NI vise notamment à les assortir d'un seuil sensible au risque de façon à pouvoir tenir compte d'éventuelles fluctuations de la valeur des biens immobiliers donnés en nantissement. Le seuil proposé serait intégré dans les estimations des pertes en cas de défaut (PCD) de la banque.  

Les mesures que propose le BSIF se veulent une réponse réfléchie et prospective à l'évolution des facteurs de risque du marché des prêts hypothécaires au Canada.

Les faits en bref

  • À l'heure actuelle, sept banques canadiennes appliquent l'approche NI aux prêts garantis par un immeuble résidentiel : la Banque de Montréal, la Banque Scotia, la Banque Canadienne Impériale de Commerce, la Banque HSBC Canada, la Banque Nationale du Canada, la Banque Royale du Canada et la Banque Toronto-Dominion.
  • Cette révision s'inscrit dans l'exercice de remaniement des normes de fonds propres sur les prêts hypothécaires résidentiels que le BSIF avait annoncé en décembre 2015. Elle vise le chapitre 6 de la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres (NFP) et entrera en vigueur le 1er novembre 2016.
  • Le BSIF invite les intéressés à prendre connaissance de la nouvelle version à l'étude de sa ligne directrice et à lui faire part de leurs observations en vue de la rédaction de la version finale. La date limite pour ce faire est fixée au 10 juin 2016.
  • Un condensé des commentaires reçus, sans mention de l'auteur et accompagnés de nos réponses, sera affiché sur le site Web du BSIF dans quelques mois, lorsque de la publication de la version finale de la ligne directrice.

Documents connexes

Le BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral autonome qui a été constitué en 1987 dans le but d'assurer la protection des déposants, des souscripteurs de police d'assurance, des créanciers des institutions financières et des participants de régimes de retraite tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour ceux-ci, de rivaliser avec la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

-30-

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401