OSFI issues final version of the 2018 Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test Guideline

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ November 24, 2017 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

Today the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) released the final version of its 2018 Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test Guideline (LICAT) for federally regulated life insurers.

The LICAT is an important evolution in OSFI’s regulatory capital expectations. It represents a more advanced and risk-sensitive approach to capital that reflects lessons learned from the financial crisis, significant changes in the nature and management of risk within the life insurance industry, and international advancements in solvency frameworks.

The LICAT was developed in consultation with life insurers and other industry stakeholders, and its release marks the culmination of over a decade of work.

Changes to the final LICAT from the draft used for the public consultation are modest. The LICAT implementation date is January 1, 2018.

Quote

"Capital requirements not only protect policyholders and creditors, they promote confidence in the financial condition of life insurers,” said Assistant Superintendent Carolyn Rogers. “The LICAT strikes the appropriate balance between protecting policyholders, while still allowing insurance companies to take risks and compete effectively."

Quick Facts

  • The LICAT replaces the current life insurance capital test, the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements Guideline (MCCSR), in place since 1992.
  • The LICAT is not expected to significantly change the overall amount of capital required to be held by the industry when compared to the current MCCSR.
  • OSFI will regularly review the effectiveness of the LICAT and take into consideration developments in the life insurance industry and evolving risk management practices.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact:
Annik Faucher
OSFI −Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF annonce la parution de la version finale de sa ligne directrice sur le Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie de 2018

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ Le 24 novembre 2017 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières a annoncé aujourd’hui la parution de la version 2018 de sa ligne directrice intitulée Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV) à l’intention des assureurs-vie fédéraux.

Le TSAV constitue une évolution importante des exigences du BSIF en matière de capital réglementaire. Il traduit une approche de pointe plus sensible au risque qui reflète les leçons que nous avons tirées de la crise financière, l’évolution considérable de la nature et de la gestion du risque dans le secteur de l’assurance-vie et les percées dans l’élaboration des cadres de solvabilité internationaux.

Le TSAV a été élaboré en collaboration avec les assureurs-vie et d’autres professionnels du domaine. Sa parution marque la fin de plus d’une dizaine d’années d’effort.

Somme toute, les modifications apportées à la version à l’étude au terme d’un exercice de consultation plus tôt cette année, pour obtenir la version finale, sont relativement modestes. La ligne directrice sur le TSAV entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018.

Citation

« Non seulement les normes de capital protègent-elles les souscripteurs et les créanciers, mais elles donnent confiance en la situation financière des assureurs-vie, dit la surintendante auxiliaire Carolyn Rogers. Le TSAV propose une approche équilibrée qui tient compte de la nécessité de protéger les souscripteurs tout en permettant aux sociétés d’assurances de prendre des risques et de se mesurer à la concurrence. »

Quelques faits

  • Le TSAV remplace le test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurances en place depuis 1992, le Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l'excédent (MMPRCE).
  • Le montant du capital requis dans le secteur de l’assurance-vie en vertu du TSAV ne devrait pas subir de grandes variations par rapport au MMPRCE.
  • Le BSIF passera régulièrement en revue le TSAV à la lumière des nouveautés dans le secteur de l’assurance-vie et de l’évolution des pratiques en matière de gestion du risque.

Documents connexes

Le Bureau

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse :
Annik Faucher
BSIF −Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401