OSFI issues a revised instruction guide for actuarial reports

OTTAWA – October 19, 2016 – The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) today released a revised Instruction Guide for the Preparation of Actuarial Reports for Defined Benefit Pension Plans (Guide). The Guide sets out the reporting requirements of actuarial reports filed with OSFI for private pension plans with defined benefit provisions. The Guide updates the previous version, published in December 2015, to reflect the following:

  • The maximum going concern discount rate is modified to 6.00%.
  • The quality of fixed-income investments to be used in the establishment of a replicating portfolio is defined.
  • Additional disclosure is required with respect to termination expenses.
  • Clarifications on required contributions for funding Designated Plans are provided.

The revised Guide applies to actuarial reports with a valuation date on and after October 31, 2016. Early adoption is permitted. From time to time, OSFI may require additional information not mentioned in the Guide. Actuarial reports should be prepared in accordance with the federal pension legislation, directives, and the Guide.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

- 30 -

Media Contact:

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
Annik.Faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF présente une nouvelle version de son Guide d’instructions pour la production d’un rapport actuariel

OTTAWA – Le 19 octobre 2016 – Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF) a annoncé aujourd’hui la parution d’une nouvelle version de son Guide d’instructions pour la production du rapport actuariel d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées (le guide), qui rend compte des exigences auxquelles doivent satisfaire les rapports actuariels que les régimes de retraite privés comportant des dispositions relatives à des prestations déterminées doivent produire auprès du BSIF. Cette nouvelle version, qui remplace celle parue en décembre 2015, se distingue essentiellement de la précédente comme suit :  

  • Le taux maximal d’actualisation sur une base de continuité est porté à 6,00 %.
  • La qualité des titres à revenu fixe à inclure dans un portefeuille apparié est maintenant définie.
  • Exigences additionnelles de divulgation liées aux dépenses de cessation.
  • Précisions sur les cotisations requises aux fins de la capitalisation des régimes désignés.

La nouvelle version du guide s’applique aux rapports actuariels portant sur les évaluations dont la date est le 31 octobre 2016 ou après. L’adoption anticipée est permise. À noter que le BSIF peut parfois exiger des renseignements autres que ceux mentionnés dans le guide. Les rapports actuariels doivent être établis conformément à l’ensemble des dispositions législatives et des consignes fédérales sur les pensions ainsi qu’au guide.   

Documents connexes

Le Bureau

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

- 30 -

Relations de presse :

Annik Faucher
BSIF Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401