OSFI issues a revised instruction guide for actuarial reports

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ October 4, 2017 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) today released a revised Instruction Guide for the Preparation of Actuarial Reports for Defined Benefit Pension Plans (Guide). The Guide is updated regularly and sets out the reporting requirements for actuarial reports filed with OSFI for private pension plans with defined benefit provisions.

The revised Guide updates the version published in October 2016, to reflect recent amendments to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations,1985 that changed the maximum allowable amount of letters of credit. The Guide further clarifies OSFI’s disclosure expectations, particularly with respect to plans with a defined contribution component, the mortality assumption, termination expenses, and the calculation of the average solvency ratio.

The revised Guide applies to actuarial reports with a valuation date on or after September 30, 2017. Early adoption is permitted. From time to time, OSFI may require additional information not mentioned in the Guide. Actuarial reports should be prepared in accordance with the federal pension legislation, directives, and the Guide.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact:
Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF présente la nouvelle version d’un guide d’instructions sur la production de rapports actuariels

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA – Le 4 octobre 2017 – Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF) a annoncé aujourd’hui la parution d’une nouvelle version de son guide d’instructions Production du rapport actuariel d’un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées (le Guide). Ce guide est révisé régulièrement afin de rendre compte des exigences reditionnelles auxquelles doivent satisfaire les rapports actuariels que les régimes de retraite privés à prestations déterminées produisent auprès du BSIF.

Cette nouvelle version, qui remplace celle parue en octobre 2016, reflète les plus récentes modifications apportées au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension, qui portaient notamment sur le montant maximal des lettres de crédit admissibles. Elle précise également les attentes en matière de divulgation de l’hypothèse de mortalité, des portefeuilles appariés, des frais de cessation et du calcul du ratio de solvabilité moyen auxquelles doivent souscrire les régimes comportant des dispositions relatives aux cotisations déterminées.

La nouvelle version du Guide s’applique aux rapports actuariels portant sur les évaluations établies le 30 septembre 2017 ou à une date ultérieure. L’adoption anticipée est permise. À noter que le BSIF pourrait exiger des renseignements autres que ceux mentionnés dans le Guide. Les rapports actuariels doivent être établis conformément à l’ensemble des dispositions législatives et des consignes fédérales sur les pensions ainsi qu’au Guide.

Documents connexes

Le BSIF 

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui a été fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants de régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse
Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401