OSFI issues guideline supporting sound residential mortgage insurance underwriting

November 6, 2014 ─ Ottawa, Ontario ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released Guideline B-21 Residential Mortgage Insurance Underwriting Practices and Procedures following public consultation. The guideline outlines principles to support sound mortgage insurance underwriting and guide interactions between mortgage insurers and mortgage lenders.

Quote

“Guideline B-21 reinforces sound mortgage underwriting by introducing expectations for mortgage insurers that complement those applicable to mortgage lenders, and by requiring mortgage insurers to conduct adequate due diligence on the lenders with which they do business. Implementing these principles, along with OSFI’s on-going supervisory work in this area, will contribute to the continued stability of the Canadian financial system,” said Superintendent Jeremy Rudin.  

Quick Facts

  • Guideline B-21 outlines OSFI’s expectations concerning mortgage insurers’ governance and internal risk management practices.
  • The guideline outlines principles for mortgage insurers’ own internal underwriting operations, including setting prudent requirements for lenders and applying appropriate due diligence to lenders’ practices.
  • The guideline enhances disclosure requirements, which will support greater transparency, clarity and public confidence in mortgage insurers’ residential mortgage insurance underwriting practices.
  • The public consultation process resulted in 15 submissions, which were helpful in refining the guideline. The comments have been summarized and addressed in an annex to the cover letter.
  • Federally regulated mortgage insurers are well positioned to meet the principles set out in Guideline B-21 by the implementation deadline of June 30, 2015.
  • For clarity and consistency, OSFI has made a small number of consequential changes to Guideline B-20, which is also being released today. The changes, which relate to income verification, incentive and rebate payments, and the role of the Board (specifically, the mortgage underwriting declaration), are explained in the Annex to the cover letter. The implementation deadline for revised Guideline B-20 is the same as for Guideline B-21.

Associated Links

  • A copy of Guideline B-21, the cover letter and other supporting documents are available at the following link.
  • A copy of Guideline B-20 is available at the following link.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Created in 1987 by an Act of Parliament, OSFI is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies, and federally regulated private pension plans. OSFI's mandate is to advance and administer a regulatory framework that contributes to public confidence in a strong, stable and competitive financial system.

Le BSIF publie une ligne directrice à l’intention des assureurs hypothécaires qui complète les règles applicables aux prêteurs hypothécaires

Le 6 novembre 2014 ─ Ottawa (Ontario) ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

À la suite d’une consultation publique, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a fait paraître aujourd’hui la ligne directrice B‑21, Pratiques et procédures de souscription d’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle. Ce document présente des principes qui favorisent la souscription rigoureuse de l’assurance hypothécaire et guident l’interaction des assureurs hypothécaires et des prêteurs hypothécaires.

Citation

« La ligne directrice B‑21 accroît la rigueur de la souscription de prêts hypothécaires en établissant des attentes auxquelles doivent satisfaire les assureurs hypothécaire en complément de celles qui s’adressent aux prêteurs hypothécaires, car elle exige des assureurs qu’ils appliquent des principes de diligence raisonnable aux prêteurs avec qui ils ont des relations d’affaires. Ces principes et la surveillance que le BSIF exerce sans cesse dans ce domaine concourront à assurer la stabilité continue du système financier canadien », estime le surintendant Jeremy Rudin.

Fiche-éclair

  • La ligne directrice B‑21 énonce les attentes du BSIF relatives aux pratiques de gouvernance et de gestion des risques internes des assureurs hypothécaires.
  • Elle décrit des principes que les assureurs hypothécaires doivent appliquer à leurs activités internes de souscription, notamment l’établissement d’exigences prudentes auxquelles les prêteurs doivent répondre et l’application de principes de diligence raisonnable aux pratiques des prêteurs.
  • Elle prescrit la communication accrue d’informations, laquelle se traduira par une plus grande transparence, plus de clarté et une plus grande confiance du public dans les pratiques de souscription de l’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle.
  • Le BSIF a reçu 15 mémoires au cours de la période de consultation publique, lesquels l’ont aidé à peaufiner la ligne directrice. Les commentaires soumis ont été résumés et traités dans un document annexé à la lettre d’accompagnement.
  • Les assureurs hypothécaires fédéraux sont en bonne posture pour respecter les principes énoncés dans la ligne directrice B‑21 d’ici la date limite du 30 juin 2015.
  • Par souci de clarté et de cohérence, le BSIF a apporté quelques changements corrélatifs à la ligne directrice B‑20, qu’il diffuse également aujourd’hui. Il explique ces changements, qui concernent la vérification du revenu, les paiements incitatifs et les ristournes, de même que le rôle du conseil (plus particulièrement, en ce qu’il a trait à la déclaration de souscription), dans le document annexé à la lettre d’accompagnement. La version révisée de la ligne directrice B‑20 entrera en vigueur à la même date que la ligne directrice B‑21.

Liens utiles

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613‑949‑8401

Constitué en 1987 en vertu d'une loi du Parlement, le BSIF est le principal organisme de réglementation et de surveillance des institutions de dépôts, des sociétés d'assurances et des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux. Il a pour mandat de promouvoir et d’administrer un cadre de réglementation qui contribue à la confiance du public à l’égard d’un système financier solide, stable et propice à la concurrence.