External peer review supports findings of the 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan

OTTAWA – May 1st, 2014 – The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) has released the findings of an external panel commissioned to review the 26th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).

The external peer review panel’s findings confirm that the work performed by the OCA on the Report meets all professional standards of practice and statutory requirements. The panel concluded that the methods used were reasonable and that the assumptions, both individually and in the aggregate, were also reasonable. Since 1999, the Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) has requested external peer reviews as part of its efforts toward continual improvements in actuarial reporting on the CPP. The most recent panel’s report includes eight (8) recommendations dealing with various aspects of the reporting process, including data, methodology, assumptions, and communication of results.

“The external peer review panel’s recommendations will help improve our ongoing valuations of the CPP and the communication of the results, thereby improving public understanding and confidence in the Plan,” said Canada’s Chief Actuary, Jean-Claude Ménard.

To increase further the transparency and independence of the review process, the United Kingdom Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) – renowned for its expertise in social security – selected the external peer review panel members and provided an opinion that affirms the adequacy and reasonableness of the reviewers’ work. The external peer review panel was composed of Robert L. Brown, FCIA, Mark W. Campbell, FCIA, and Thomas D. Levy, FCIA.

Produced every three years, the Actuarial Report on the CPP is considered by the federal and provincial finance ministers when reviewing and making recommendations regarding the Plan.

CPP Actuarial Reports can be found at: http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Eng/oca-bac/ar-ra/cpp-rpc/Pages/default.aspx and independent reviews can be found at: http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Eng/oca-bac/ipr-rip/Pages/default.aspx.

The Office of the Chief Actuary operates independently within the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) and provides actuarial services for various key government plans and programs including the Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security Program, and pension and benefit plans that cover public servants, Members of Parliament, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, among other groups.

-30-

Media Contact:
Annik Faucher
OSFI - Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

L’examen externe par les pairs supporte les résultats du 26e rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada

OTTAWA – Le 1er mai 2014 – Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef du Canada (BAC) a publié les conclusions d’un comité externe de pairs chargé d’examiner le 26e rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC).

Les résultats de l’examen du comité externe confirment que le rapport préparé par le BAC répond à toutes les normes de pratique professionnelle et aux exigences réglementaires. Le comité a jugé que les méthodologies étaient raisonnables et que les hypothèses retenues, considérées individuellement et collectivement, étaient également raisonnables. Mis en place en 1999 par le BAC, le processus d’examen externe par les pairs se situe dans la lignée des efforts déployés pour l’amélioration continuelle de l’évaluation actuarielle du RPC. Le rapport du comité d’examen externe comprend huit (8) recommandations portant sur différents aspects du rapport, notamment les données, la méthodologie, les hypothèses, et la communication des résultats.

« Les recommandations formulées par le comité d’examen externe permettront d’améliorer les évaluations futures du RPC, de même que la communication des résultats, ce qui permettra d’augmenter la compréhension et la confiance du public envers le Régime », a déclaré l’actuaire en chef du Canada, M. Jean-Claude Ménard.

Pour accroître la transparence et l’autonomie du processus, l’examen externe s’est déroulé sous la surveillance d’une tierce partie. Le service de l’actuariat du gouvernement du Royaume-Uni, appelé Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) et réputé pour son savoir-faire en matière de sécurité sociale, a choisi les membres du comité et est d’avis que celui‑ci a effectué un travail adéquat et raisonnable. Le comité d’examen externe était composé de MM. Robert L. Brown, FICA, Mark W. Campbell, FICA, et Thomas D. Levy, FICA.

Les ministres des finances de l’administration fédérale et des gouvernements provinciaux se reportent au rapport actuariel triennal sur le RPC lorsqu’ils examinent le régime et formulent des recommandations à son sujet.

Les rapports actuariels sur le RPC peuvent être consultés à l’adresse : http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Fra/oca-bac/ar-ra/cpp-rpc/Pages/default.aspx et les examens indépendants peuvent être consultés à l’adresse : http://www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca/Fra/oca-bac/ipr-rip/Pages/default.aspx.

Le Bureau de l'actuaire en chef exerce ses activités à titre autonome au sein du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF). Il fournit des services actuariels à l’égard de certains des principaux régimes et programmes gouvernementaux, notamment le Régime de pensions du Canada, la Sécurité de la vieillesse, ainsi que les régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux de divers groupes, dont les fonctionnaires fédéraux, les députés et le personnel de la GRC.

-30-

Personne-ressource
Annik Faucher
Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401