External peer review supports findings of the 27th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan

OTTAWA – April 20, 2017Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA)

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) has released the findings of an external panel commissioned to review the 27th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan (CPP).

The external peer review panel’s findings confirm that the methods and assumptions in the 27th CPP Actuarial Report were reasonable. Since 1999, the Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) has requested external peer reviews as part of its efforts toward continual improvements in actuarial reporting on the CPP. The panel’s report includes eleven recommendations dealing with various aspects of the valuation, reporting, and peer review processes.

“We are thankful for the panel’s work and recommendations which will be given thoughtful consideration by the OCA to further strengthen the valuations of the CPP and improve the communication of the results. These and previous panel’s recommendations have been of great benefit to the OCA in delivering high quality reports on the CPP to the Canadian public. Further, as projected in the 27th CPP Actuarial Report, the panel’s findings confirmed that the assumptions supporting the calculation of the minimum contribution rate of 9.79% were all reasonable except the expected rate of return that was felt somewhat low within the reasonable range.  Therefore the legislated contribution rate of 9.9%, which was put in place twenty years ago by the 1997 reforms, is expected to remain sufficient, along with projected investment income, to financially sustain the CPP over the long term and thus pay benefits for generations to come.” said Canada’ Chief Actuary, Jean-Claude Ménard.

The panel also concludes that the work performed by the OCA on the 27th CPP Actuarial Report meets all statutory requirements. The OCA also met all professional standards of practice, except for the actuarial study on the methodology used to calculate the Actuarial Adjustment Factors (AAFs), specified in the report, which should have been published at the same time as the CPP Report. The AAFs methodology study will be published shortly.

To increase further the transparency and independence of the review process, the United Kingdom Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) – renowned for its expertise in social security – selected the external peer review panel members and provided an opinion that affirms the reviewers carried out a sufficiently thorough review and that the work was adequate and reasonable. The external peer review panel was composed of Robert L. Brown, FCIA, Mark W. Campbell, FCIA, and Pierre Plamondon, FCIA.

Produced every three years, the Actuarial Report on the CPP is considered by the federal and provincial finance ministers when reviewing and making recommendations regarding the Plan.

CPP Actuarial Reports and independent reviews are available here.

The Office of the Chief Actuary operates independently within the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) and provides actuarial services for various key government plans and programs including the Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security Program, and pension and benefit plans that cover public servants, Members of Parliament, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, among other groups.

-30-

Media Contact:
Annik Faucher
OSFI - Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

L’examen externe par les pairs appuie les conclusions du 27e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada

OTTAWA – Le 20 avril 2017Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC)

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) a publié les conclusions d’un examen externe du 27e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC).

Les résultats de l’examen du comité externe confirment que les méthodes et les hypothèses employées pour le 27e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada sont raisonnables. Depuis 1999, le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef engage un groupe de pairs externes pour examiner son travail dans l’esprit de l’amélioration continue de ses rapports actuariels sur le RPC. Le rapport du groupe de pairs renferme 11 recommandations ayant trait à divers volets de l’évaluation, de la production de rapports et du processus d’examen par les pairs.

« Nous remercions le comité pour leur travail et recommandations issues de l’examen et nous en tiendrons dûment compte afin de nous aider à renforcer les évaluations du RPC et à améliorer la communication des résultats. Ces recommandations, à l’instar de celles des années précédentes, ont grandement aidé le BAC à produire des rapports de haute qualité sur le RPC à l’intention des Canadiens. De plus, tel qu’indiqué dans le rapport actuariel, les résultats de l’examen du comité confirme que les hypothèses supportant le calcul du taux minimum de cotisation de 9.79% sont toutes raisonnables sauf le taux de rendement espéré qui se situe dans la partie inférieure de la fourchette raisonnable. Ainsi, le taux de cotisation de 9,9 % prévu par la loi qui a été fixé il y a 20 ans au moment de la réforme de 1997 devrait suffire, tout comme les revenus de placement projetés, à maintenir la viabilité financière du RPC à long terme et ainsi verser des prestations aux générations futures.», a dit l’actuaire en chef du Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard.

L’examen par les pairs indique que le 27e Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada préparé par le BAC répond à toutes les exigences législatives. Le travail du BAC rencontre aussi toutes les normes de pratique professionnelle, à l’exception de l’étude actuarielle sur la méthode de calcul des facteurs d’ajustement actuariel (FAA), divulgués dans le rapport, qui aurait dû être publiée au même moment que le rapport sur le RPC. L’étude actuarielle sur la méthode de calcul des FAA sera publiée prochainement.

Pour accroître davantage la transparence et l’indépendance du processus d’examen, le Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni, reconnu à l’échelle internationale pour son expertise dans le domaine de la sécurité sociale, a choisi les membres du groupe de pairs externe chargé de l’examen. L’organisme atteste dans son opinion que le comité a effectué un examen suffisamment approfondi et que le travail est adéquat et raisonnable. Le comité d’examen externe était composé de MM. Robert L. Brown, FICA, Mark W. Campbell, FICA, et Pierre Plamondon, FICA.

Le ministre fédéral des Finances et ses homologues provinciaux tiennent compte du Rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada, un rapport triennal, lorsqu’ils examinent le Régime et formulent des recommandations afférentes.

Vous trouverez les rapports actuariels sur le RPC et les examens indépendants ici.

Le Bureau de l'actuaire en chef exerce ses activités à titre autonome au sein du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF). Il fournit des services actuariels à l’égard de certains des principaux régimes et programmes gouvernementaux, notamment le Régime de pensions du Canada, la Sécurité de la vieillesse, ainsi que les régimes de retraite et d'avantages sociaux de divers groupes, dont les fonctionnaires fédéraux, les députés et le personnel de la GRC.

-30-

Relations de presse :
Annik Faucher
Affaires publiques, BSIF
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401