OSFI issues for public consultation a draft advisory updating its capital requirements for residential mortgage insurance risk

OTTAWA – September 23, 2016 – The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) today released for comment a draft advisory updating the capital requirements for residential mortgage insurance risk.

The draft advisoryCapital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers, provides a new standard approach for residential mortgage insurance that is more risk sensitive, and incorporates new key drivers of risk and loss including creditworthiness, remaining amortization, and outstanding loan balance.  The planned changes to the regulatory capital framework for mortgage insurers will ensure that capital requirements keep pace with market conditions and more accurately reflect the underlying risks.

“When house prices are high relative to borrower incomes, the new framework will require that more capital be set aside,” said Superintendent Jeremy Rudin. “Ultimately this will continue to provide a level of protection to both policyholders and unsecured creditors.”

Along with OSFI’s Minimum Capital Test Guideline, the draft advisory will provide the framework within which the Superintendent will assess whether a mortgage insurer is maintaining adequate capital.

As mentioned in its December 2015 letter to industry, OSFI is taking this initiative to improve the measurement of capital held by mortgage insurers to better position them to withstand severe but plausible losses stemming from their mortgage insurance operations.

The proposed advisory will come into force on January 1, 2017 and will replace OSFI’s current advisory: Interim Capital Requirements for Mortgage Insurance Companies, released in January 2015.

Quick Facts

  • OSFI is inviting comments on the draft advisory, which it will consider in developing the final advisory. The deadline for receipt of comments is October 21, 2016.
  • The draft advisory was developed with feedback from directed stakeholder consultations and impact analyses focused on specific aspects of the capital requirements for residential mortgage insurance risk.
  • A non-attributed summary of industry comments received, along with OSFI’s responses, will be posted on OSFI’s website when the final advisory is released in December 2016.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

-30-

Media Contact:

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF soumet à consultation publique un projet de préavis actualisant ses exigences de capital pour risque d’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle

OTTAWA – Le 23 septembre 2016 – Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada

Aujourd’hui, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a diffusé aux fins de commentaires un projet de préavis pour actualiser les exigences de capital pour risque d’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle.

Le projet de préavis, Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales, explique une nouvelle approche standard à l’égard de l’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle qui est davantage sensible au risque et qui tient compte de nouveaux vecteurs des risques et de pertes principaux, dont la solvabilité de l’emprunteur, l’amortissement résiduel et l’encours du prêt. Les modifications proposées au cadre du capital réglementaire des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire permettront de garantir que les exigences de capital suivent le rythme des conditions du marché et tiennent plus fidèlement compte des risques sous‑jacents.

« Quand le prix des maisons est élevé par rapport au revenu des emprunteurs, le nouveau cadre exigera de mettre plus de capital de côté », a déclaré le surintendant Jeremy Rudin. « En bout de ligne, ces mesures vont continuer à offrir un niveau de protection aux souscripteurs et aux créanciers non garantis. »

La ligne directrice du BSIF, Test du capital minimal, et le projet de préavis établiront le cadre à l’aide duquel le surintendant déterminera si un assureur hypothécaire maintient un niveau de capital suffisant.

Tel qu’il l’a mentionné dans sa lettre de décembre 2015 aux instances sectorielles, le BSIF prend cette mesure pour mieux mesurer le capital détenu par les assureurs hypothécaires afin qu’ils soient mieux placés pour affronter des pertes graves, mais plausibles générées par leurs activités d’assurance hypothécaire.

Le projet de préavis prendra effet le 1er janvier 2017 et remplacera le préavis actuel du BSIF, Exigences de capital provisoires des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire, paru en janvier 2015.

Les faits en bref

  • Le BSIF invite les intéressés à lui faire part de leurs observations à propos de ce projet de préavis en vue de la rédaction de la version définitive du préavis. La date limite pour ce faire est fixée au 21 octobre 2016.
  • Le projet de préavis a été préparé en tenant compte des commentaires formulés pendant plusieurs rondes de consultations dirigées auprès des intéressés et de diverses études d’impact portant sur des aspects précis des exigences de capital pour risque d’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle.
  • Un résumé anonyme des commentaires obtenus des instances sectorielles, accompagné des réponses du BSIF, sera publié sur le site Web du BSIF dès la sortie de la version définitive du préavis en décembre 2016.

Liens connexes

À propos du BSIF

Constitué en 1987, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (OSFI) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui protège les droits des déposants, souscripteurs, créanciers d’institutions financières et participants de régimes de retraite tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour les institutions financières, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

-30-

Relations de presse

Mme Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401