OSFI issues the final advisory on Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA December 15, 2016 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Today the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) released the final version of its advisory, Capital Requirements for Federally Regulated Mortgage Insurers, following a public consultation process. Effective January 1, 2017, this Advisory will replace the Advisory: Interim Capital Requirements for Mortgage Insurance Companies.

The Advisory defines a new approach for the regulatory capital requirements for mortgage insurance risk that is more risk sensitive and incorporates key characteristics such as borrower creditworthiness, outstanding loan balance, loan-to-value ratio, and remaining amortization. It also ensures a level of conservatism in the protection provided to policyholders and other creditors of the mortgage insurers, and is adaptable to future changes.

The final version of the advisory incorporates revisions resulting from the public consultation process. OSFI always appreciates the collaboration, time and support of the industry in helping to refine the regulatory capital framework.

Quote

“The market has evolved considerably since the capital framework for mortgage insurers was last updated.  The new framework places us at the vanguard of understanding and quantifying the risks in mortgage insurance”, noted Superintendent Jeremy Rudin.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

-30-

Media Contact:

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Publication de la version définitive du préavis Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ Le 15 décembre 2016 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

À l’issue d’une consultation publique, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a publié aujourd’hui la version définitive de son préavis Exigences de capital des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire fédérales. À compter du 1er janvier 2017, ce préavis viendra remplacer les Normes de capital provisoires des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire.

Ce préavis définit une nouvelle approche pour les exigences réglementaires de capital s’appliquant au risque d’assurance hypothécaire, qui est plus sensible aux risques et porte sur des facteurs clés tels que la solvabilité de l’emprunteur, l’encours du prêt, le ratio prêt-valeur et l’amortissement résiduel du prêt. Cette approche confère également une certaine mesure de prudence à la protection offerte aux souscripteurs et autres créanciers des sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire, et est suffisamment souple pour s’adapter à d’éventuels changements.

La version finale de ce préavis comporte des modifications apportées à la lumière des commentaires reçus pendant la période de consultation publique. Le BSIF remercie les diverses instances sectorielles qui ont pris part à cet exercice qui lui a permis d’améliorer son cadre de capital réglementaire.

Citation

« Le marché a considérablement évolué depuis la dernière révision du cadre qui régit le capital des assureurs hypothécaires. Ce nouveau cadre pose les premiers jalons en ce qui a trait à l’interprétation et la quantification du risque dans le secteur de l’assurance hypothécaire », a fait remarquer M. Jeremy Rudin, surintendant.

Liens connexes

À propos du BSIF

Constitué en 1987, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui protège les droits des déposants, des souscripteurs, des créanciers d’institutions financières et des participants de régimes de retraite, tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour les institutions financières, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

-30-

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
Affaires publiques, BSIF
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401