OSFI issues final guideline on Operational Risk Management following consultation period

OTTAWA ─ June 29, 2016 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released a final version of the Operational Risk Management Guideline (Guideline E-21) following a public consultations process. The guideline outlines OSFI’s expectations for the management of operational risk and is applicable to all federally regulated financial institutions (FRFIs).

OSFI considers effective operational risk management essential to the safety and soundness of an institution and expects all FRFIs to have a framework for operational risk management. The guideline formalizes OSFI’s operational risk management expectations for FRFIs and outlines principles for effective operational risk management. The guideline promotes industry best practices and reflects international standards in operational risk management. It is principles-based so that the expectations can be scaled to reflect the nature and complexity of institutions in the course of supervisory oversight.  

Quick Facts

  • The guideline contains a principles-based approach to regulatory requirements that reflects the nature, and complexity of institutions OSFI supervises.
  • OSFI expects FRFIs to demonstrate effective and comprehensive adherence to four high-level principles outlined in the guideline no later than June 2017.
  • The guideline provides a consolidated piece of guidance that allows institutions flexibility to meet the principles in a manner that suits their businesses.
  • The guideline incorporates several revisions resulting from comments received during the public consultation process, which began in August 2015. 
  • A summary of material comments received from industry stakeholders and an explanation of how they have been addressed is available in a table attached to the cover letter.

Quote

“Federally regulated financial institutions have made significant improvements in their operational risk management practices over the last several years,” said Deputy Superintendent Mark Zelmer. “This guideline supports continual improvement in their operational risk management activities.”

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

-30-

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF publie la version finale de sa ligne directrice Gestion du risque opérationnel au terme d’un exercice de consultation

OTTAWA 29 juin 2016 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) annonce aujourd’hui la publication de la version finale de la ligne directrice E-21, Gestion du risque opérationnel, au terme d’un exercice de consultation publique. La ligne directrice sur la gestion  du risque opérationnel énonce les attentes du BSIF en la matière et elle s’applique à l’ensemble des institutions financières fédérales (IFF).

Le BSIF considère qu’une gestion adéquate du risque opérationnel est essentielle à la sécurité et à la solidité des IFF, c’est pourquoi il s’attend à ce que celles-ci se dotent d’un cadre conçu expressément à cette fin. Cette ligne directrice donne une forme officielle aux attentes du BSIF à l’endroit des IFF en matière de gestion du risque opérationnel et énonce les principes d’une gestion adéquate du risque opérationnel. Elle prône l’adoption des pratiques exemplaires qui ont cours dans ce secteur d’activité et reflètent les normes internationales en la matière. Du fait que cette ligne directrice repose sur des principes, les attentes prudentielles qui ont trait à son observation seront modulées en fonction de la nature et de la complexité des activités de chaque institution financière.

Faits en bref

  • Les exigences de la ligne directrice, qui reposent sur des principes, tiennent compte de la nature et de la complexité des institutions que le BSIF supervise.
  • D’ici à juin 2017, le BSIF s’attend à ce que les IFF appliquent efficacement et dans leur intégralité les quatre principes généraux exposés dans la ligne directrice.
  • La ligne directrice regroupe les consignes en la matière, permettant ainsi aux institutions de suivre les principes de la manière qui leur convient.
  • La ligne directrice comporte plusieurs modifications apportées à la lumière des commentaires reçus par le biais de la consultation publique, qui avait débuté en août dernier. 
  • Un résumé des commentaires importants obtenus des parties prenantes, accompagné des réponses du BSIF, figure dans un tableau joint à la lettre d’accompagnement.

Citation

« Au cours des dernières années, nous avons constaté que les institutions financières fédérales ont considérablement amélioré leurs pratiques en matière de gestion du risque opérationnel », a souligné M. Mark Zelmer, surintendant adjoint. « Et la ligne directrice que nous publions aujourd’hui s’inscrit précisément dans cette démarche d’amélioration continue des activités de gestion du risque opérationnel. »

Documents connexes

Le BSIF

Le BSIF  est un organisme fédéral autonome qui a été constitué en 1987 dans le but d’assurer la protection des déposants, des souscripteurs de police d’assurance, des créanciers des institutions financières et des participants de régimes de retraite tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour ceux-ci, de rivaliser avec la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

-30-

Personne-ressources pour les médias

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401