OSFI issues Revised Minimum Capital Test Guideline for 2015

OTTAWA – September 24, 2014 ─ Ottawa, Ontario ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released a revised Minimum Capital Test Guideline (the Guideline) for property and casualty insurers. The purpose of the revision was to create a more robust risk based capital framework that better aligns capital requirements to the risks faced by property and casualty insurers.

Quick Facts

  • The Guideline introduces new and updated risk factors and margins plus a revised definition of available capital. They have been revised through public consultations, industry input, and robust testing and analysis.
  • The Guideline comes into force on January 1, 2015. Federally regulated property and casualty insurers are well positioned to implement the Guideline, which provides for a three (3) year phase-in period.
  • The new risk-based capital framework results in a slight 2.8 percentage point decline in the capital ratio (MCT/BAAT combined ratio) on average across the entire industry. Although the decline in the overall capital ratio is not material, the impact may vary by individual company as the new framework better aligns each insurer’s capital requirements with its risk profile.
  • OSFI will continue to monitor emerging issues and developments in the property and casualty insurance industry and will periodically revise the Guideline so that it continues to accurately reflect risks.

Quote

“This new version of the guideline represents a more robust risk-based test that more accurately aligns capital requirements to the risks faced by the property and casualty insurance industry. This guideline would not have been possible without the industry’s significant cooperation over the past few years,” said Deputy Superintendent Mark Zelmer.    

Associated Links

Contacts

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Created in 1987 by an Act of Parliament, OSFI is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies, and federally regulated private pension plans. OSFI's mandate is to advance and administer a regulatory framework that contributes to public confidence in a strong, stable and competitive financial system.

Le BSIF publie la nouvelle version de la ligne directrice Test du capital minimal pour 2015

OTTAWA – Le 24  septembre 2014 ─ Ottawa (Ontario) ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a publié aujourd’hui la nouvelle version de la ligne directrice intitulée Test du capital minimal (la « ligne directrice ») à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances multirisques. Il a modifié ce document afin de renforcer le cadre de capital axé sur les risques et d’assurer une meilleure concordance entre les exigences de capital et les risques auxquels sont exposés les assureurs multirisques.

Fiche-éclair

  • La ligne directrice présente des marges et des facteurs de risque nouveaux ou modifiés de même qu’une définition révisée du capital disponible. Les changements font suite à la consultation du public, aux commentaires du secteur et à des analyses et des essais rigoureux.
  • La ligne directrice entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2015 et sera mise en application progressivement en trois ans. Les assureurs multirisques fédéraux sont en bonne posture pour l’appliquer.
  • Le nouveau cadre de capital axé sur les risques se traduit par une légère diminution de 2,8 points de pourcentage du ratio de capital moyen (le ratio mixte TCM/TSAS) dans l’ensemble du secteur. Malgré le faible recul du ratio, la variation sera différente d’une société à l’autre, car le nouveau cadre harmonise mieux les exigences de capital de chaque assureur et son profil de risque.
  • Le BSIF continuera à surveiller les questions émergentes et les faits nouveaux dans le secteur des assurances multirisques et révisera périodiquement la ligne directrice en conséquence pour qu’elle reflète toujours fidèlement les risques.

Citation

« La nouvelle version de la ligne directrice présente un test axé sur les risques d’une plus grande rigueur et ayant pour effet de mieux apparier les exigences de capital et les risques auxquels est exposé le secteur des assurances multirisques. Elle n’aurait jamais vu le jour sans la grande collaboration du secteur ces dernières années », selon le surintendant adjoint Mark Zelmer.

Liens connexes

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Constitué en 1987 en vertu d’une loi du Parlement, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est le principal organisme de réglementation et de surveillance des institutions de dépôts, des sociétés d’assurances et des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux. Il a pour mandat de promouvoir et d’administrer un cadre de réglementation qui contribue à la confiance du public à l’égard d’un système financier solide, stable et propice à la concurrence.