OSFI issues a revised Minimum Capital Test for Federally Regulated Property and Casualty Insurance Companies

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA – October 19, 2017 – Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

Today the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) released updates to the Minimum Capital Test (MCT) Guideline which sets out capital requirements for federally regulated property and casualty insurance companies. The revisions follow an annual review, including a public consultation period that closed on August 4, 2017.

This year’s amendments to the Guideline are not substantive. They remove transition requirements that are no longer applicable and provide clarifications to a number of provisions where OSFI has received multiple industry inquiries over the past year. 

The revised Guideline is effective January 1, 2018.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact:
Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF publie la nouvelle version du Test du capital minimal à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ Le 19 octobre 2017 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a publié aujourd’hui la version la plus récente de sa ligne directrice sur le test du capital minimal (TCM), dans laquelle il énonce ses exigences au titre du capital que les sociétés d’assurances multirisques fédérales doivent détenir. Les changements apportés au TCM  sont le fruit de l’examen dont il fait l’objet chaque année, lequel comprend un exercice de consultation publique qui s’est terminé le 4 août 2017.

Cette année, les modifications ne sont pas considérables. Nous avons supprimé les exigences ayant trait à la transition, car elles n’ont plus de raison d’être, et remanié certains passages pour les rendre plus clairs en réponse aux nombreuses demandes de précisions que nous avons reçues à leur sujet.

La nouvelle version du Test du capital minimal entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018.

Liens connexes

Le BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse :
Annik Faucher
BSIF– Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401