Superintendent of Financial Institutions takes temporary control of the assets of the Canadian branch of Maple Bank

OTTAWA ─ February 10, 2016 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Superintendent of Financial Institutions moved today to protect depositors and creditors of the Canadian branch of Maple Bank GmbH by taking temporary control of the assets of the branch. Maple Bank is headquartered in Germany; it maintains a foreign bank branch in Toronto that is supervised by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI).

The Superintendent took this action to preserve the value of the assets held at the branch in light of the decision of the German prudential regulator to close the bank for business with customers.

Quick Facts

  • Maple Bank operates in Canada as a foreign bank branch based in Toronto that is regulated by OSFI.
  • OSFI granted Maple Bank an Order to Commence and Carry on Business as a foreign bank branch on April 30, 2001.
  • The primary businesses of Maple Bank’s Toronto branch are securitization, securities financing and structured secured wholesale lending.
  • Maple Bank’s Toronto branch has a small number of wholesale deposits. Maple Bank is not a member of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and therefore its deposits are not covered by CDIC deposit insurance.

Quote

“We are guided by our mandate, which is to protect the depositors and creditors of the Canadian branch and have taken this step to safeguard their interests,” said Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent of Financial Institutions.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le surintendant des institutions financières prend temporairement le contrôle des éléments d’actif de la succursale canadienne de la banque Maple

OTTAWA ─ Le 10 février 2016 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le surintendant des institutions financières annonce aujourd’hui qu’il prend temporairement le contrôle des éléments d’actif de la succursale canadienne de la banque Maple Bank GmbH (la banque Maple) dans le but d’assurer la protection des déposants et créanciers de cette succursale. Le siège de la banque Maple, qui se trouve en Allemagne, exploite une succursale de banque étrangère à Toronto, dont les activités relèvent des compétences du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Le surintendant prend cette mesure afin de préserver la valeur des éléments d’actif au Canada de la banque Maple dans la foulée de la décision des instances de réglementation prudentielle allemandes forçant la banque Maple à cesser d’exercer des activités.  

Les faits en bref

  • La banque Maple exerce des activités au Canada par l’entremise d’une succursale de banque étrangère située au Canada, laquelle relève des compétences du BSIF.
  • La banque Maple peut exercer des activités au Canada par l’entremise d’une succursale de banque étrangère aux termes de l’ordonnance que le BSIF lui a délivrée le 30 avril 2001.
  • Les principales activités de la succursale torontoise de la banque Maple sont la titrisation, le financement par titres et le crédit de gros structuré garanti.
  • La succursale torontoise de la banque Maple a quelques dépôts de gros. La banque Maple n’est pas membre de la Société d’assurance‑dépôts du Canada (SADC); par conséquent ses dépôts ne sont pas garantis par l’assurance-dépôts offerte par la SADC.

Citation

« Nous sommes guidés par notre mandat, qui consiste à assurer la protection des déposants et des créanciers de la succursale canadienne et prenons ces mesures dans leur intérêt », a déclaré Jeremy Rudin, le surintendant des institutions financières.

Documents connexes

Le BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme autonome du gouvernement du Canada qui a été constitué en 1987 dans le but d’assurer la protection des déposants, des souscripteurs de police d’assurance, des créanciers des institutions de crédit et des participants de régimes de retraite tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour ceux-ci, de livrer concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Personne-ressource auprès des médias

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401