Superintendent of Financial Institutions continues intervention actions re Canadian branch of Maple Bank

OTTAWA February 15, 2016 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Today, the Superintendent of Financial Institutions took further steps to protect depositors and creditors of the Canadian branch of Maple Bank GmbH (Maple Bank) by taking permanent control of the assets of the Canadian branch, and requesting the Attorney General of Canada to apply for a winding-up order with respect to these assets under section 10.1 of the Winding-up and Restructuring Act.

On February 10, 2016, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) issued a news release announcing that the Superintendent had taken temporary control of the assets of the Canadian branch of Maple Bank.

The Superintendent took these actions to preserve the value of the assets of the branch.

Quick Facts

  • On February 11, 2016 an insolvency administrator was appointed in Germany to administer the wind-up of Maple Bank GmbH under the supervision of the German Insolvency Court.
  • Maple Bank is headquartered in Germany; it maintains a foreign bank branch in Toronto that is supervised by OSFI.
  • The primary businesses of Maple Bank’s Toronto branch are securitization, securities financing and structured secured wholesale lending.
  • Maple Bank’s Toronto branch has a small number of wholesale deposits. Maple Bank is not a member of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and therefore its deposits are not covered by CDIC deposit insurance.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le surintendant des institutions financières prend de nouvelles mesures à l’égard de la succursale canadienne de la banque Maple

OTTAWA Le 15 février 2016 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Le surintendant des institutions financières annonce aujourd’hui qu’il prend de nouvelles mesures destinées à assurer la protection des déposants et créanciers de la succursale canadienne de la banque Maple Bank GmbH (la banque Maple) en prenant le contrôle permanent de ses éléments d’actifs et en enjoignant la procureure générale du Canada de demander une ordonnance de mise en  liquidation de ces mêmes actifs en vertu du paragraphe 10.1 de la Loi sur les liquidations et les restructurations.

Le 10 février 2016, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a diffusé un communiqué de presse annonçant que le surintendant avait pris temporairement le contrôle des éléments d’actif de la succursale canadienne de la banque Maple.

Ces mesures visent à préserver la valeur des éléments d’actif détenus par la succursale.

Les faits en bref

  • Le 11 février 2016, un administrateur d’insolvabilité a été nommé en Allemagne pour coordonner la liquidation de la banque Maple Bank GmbH sous la surveillance du tribunal de faillite allemand.
  • Le siège social de la banque Maple se trouve en Allemagne; elle exploite une succursale de banque étrangère située à Toronto, qui relève des compétences du BSIF.
  • Les principales activités de la succursale torontoise de la banque Maple sont la titrisation, le financement par titres et le crédit de gros structuré garanti.
  • La succursale torontoise de la banque Maple a quelques dépôts de gros. La banque Maple n’est pas membre de la Société d’assurance‑dépôts du Canada (SADC); par conséquent ses dépôts ne sont pas garantis par l’assurance-dépôts offerte par la SADC.

Documents connexes

Le BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme autonome du gouvernement du Canada qui a été constitué en 1987 dans le but d’assurer la protection des déposants, des souscripteurs de police d’assurance, des créanciers des institutions de crédit et des participants de régimes de retraite tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour ceux-ci, de livrer concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Personne-ressource auprès des médias

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401