OSFI issues two new instruction guides on disclosure requirements for defined contribution pension plans and defined benefit pension plans

OTTAWA – October 6, 2016 – The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) today released an Instruction Guide for Disclosure Requirements for Defined Contribution Pension Plans and an Instruction Guide for Disclosure Requirements for Defined Benefit Pension Plans. These guides outline the requirements of the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 (PBSA) and the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 (PBSR) regarding the disclosure of information to a plan member, former member, an employee eligible to join the plan, and that person’s spouse or common-law partner.

The new instruction guides replace the Guideline titled “Disclosure of Information to Pension Plan Members and Former Members” issued on March 6, 1998 which included guidance related to both defined benefit and defined contribution plans.

The guides incorporate the most recent changes to the disclosure requirements set out in the PBSA and the PBSR. The guides are intended to be more user-friendly and include checklists for the required annual member and former member statements.

If a pension plan includes a defined contribution and a defined benefit component, plan administrators are to follow the applicable requirements outlined in the Instruction Guide for Disclosure Requirements for Defined Benefit Pension Plans as well as any additional applicable requirements described in the Instruction Guide for Disclosure Requirements for Defined Contribution Pension Plans.

Disclosure requirements for plans registered under the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act are not included in these instruction guides.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact:

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF annonce la parution de deux nouveaux guides d’instructions sur les exigences de divulgation auxquelles doivent souscrire les régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées et les régimes de retraite à prestation déterminées

OTTAWA – Le 6 octobre 2016 – Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF) a annnoncé aujourd’hui la parution de son Guide d’instructions portant sur les exigences de divulgation visant les régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées et de son Guide d’instructions portant sur les exigences de divulgation visant les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées. Tous deux reprennent, sous forme condensée, les exigences de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP) et du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (RNPP) en ce qui a trait aux renseignements que les administrateurs doivent fournir aux participants et anciens participants de leur régime de retraite, aux employés en mesure d’y adhérer, ainsi qu’aux conjoints de ceux-ci.

Les nouvelles consignes que l’on trouve dans ces guides remplacent celles de la ligne directrice  Divulgation de renseignements aux participants et aux participants anciens des régimes de retraite, publiée le 6 mars 1998, qui s’adressait à la fois aux administrateurs de régimes à prestations déterminées et de régimes à cotisations déterminées.  

Les deux nouveaux guides ont été actualisés en fonction des plus récentes modifications apportées à la LNPP et au RNPP. Ils se veulent plus faciles d’approche et contiennent des listes de vérification des documents à produire chaque année auprès des participants et anciens participants. 

Les administrateurs de régimes de retraite comportant un volet à cotisations déterminées et un volet à prestations déterminées doivent respecter les exigences du Guide d’instructions portant sur les exigences de divulgation visant les régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées ainsi que toute autre exigence du Guide d’instructions portant sur les exigences de divulgation visant les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées jugée pertinente en l’occurence.  

Enfin, les deux nouveaux guides d’instructions ne traitent pas des exigences de divulgation auxquelles doivent souscrire les régimes de retraite constitués aux termes de la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs.

Documents connexes

À propos du BSIF

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants des régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401