Remarks by Superintendent Jeremy Rudin to the Economic Club of Canada, Toronto, September 30, 2014

Quote

A major strength of our approach is that it aims to ensure that regulatory compliance does not become a substitute for risk management. Indeed, financial institutions cannot comply with our expectations unless they actively measure and manage their own risks.

Getting the balance right: Challenges in maintaining financial stability

Let’s start by reminding ourselves why we are here today. Why has a bureaucrat from Ottawa come to speak in the heart of Canada’s financial services industry, and why have so many of you turned out to listen?

It is because, in Canada, the financial services industry and the public are partners. And my job, just like those of all of my colleagues at OSFI, is to look after the public’s interest in our partnership.

The origin of this partnership is easy to find.

When it comes to economic growth, financial services are essential services.

Among their many benefits, financial services link those who want to save with those who want to borrow and invest, and they link those who want to shed risk with those who are ready to bear more risk.

If the provision of these essential financial services were to come under stress and were threatened with disruption, the public, through its government, would be compelled to intervene.

The evidence of this is clearest in the countries that were hit hard by the recent financial crisis.
Conditions forced those countries to undertake extraordinary interventions to support their financial services industries and their major institutions.

How do we, at OSFI, look after the public’s interest in this partnership?

We do this largely by restraining risk-taking that would be excessive from the public’s point of view. Our actions help to prevent disruptions in the provision of financial services and to protect individuals and businesses who have entrusted funds to federal financial institutions. Moreover, we always aim to act well before a situation becomes dire.

This is easy to explain, but hard to do well. Like so many things in life, the key challenge is striking the right balance.

There are many dimensions to this problem. I will have time today to talk about three of them.

  • CHALLENGE ONE: how to restrain excessive risk-taking while encouraging responsible risk-taking.
  • CHALLENGE TWO: how best to apply international agreements on prudential standards, while respecting the particular needs and circumstances of Canada’s financial sector
  • CHALLENGE THREE: how to promote financial stability across the institutions under OSFI’s watch, when they vary greatly in their systemic importance and their capabilities.

We would be missing the point if we tried to stamp out risk-taking in general. We are in this partnership because efficient and effective financial services are essential for economic growth. And these essential services must involve risk-taking by the service provider.

So our first challenge is how to restrain excessive risk-taking while encouraging responsible risk-taking. At OSFI, we believe the best way to achieve this balance is:

  • first, to set expectations for financial institutions; we call this ‘issuing guidance’, and
  • second, to monitor closely how individual financial institutions adhere to our expectations; we call this ‘supervising’.

To the extent possible, we stay away from detailed, prescriptive rules. Rather, we prefer to rely on high-level, broadly stated principles.

To be sure, our guidance does include some ‘bright lines’ that institutions are not allowed to cross — clearly defined rules and requirements — but we try to keep those to a minimum.

In our approach, it is the boards and management of financial institutions, and only they, who are responsible for taking reasonable risks and managing those risks. Indeed, much of our guidance requires institutions to undertake risk management activities and to report on them. For example:

  • We require institutions to develop their own capital targets above the minimums we set.
  • Residential lenders are required to develop their own residential mortgage underwriting policies within principles we establish.
  • And institutions that have sufficient data and systems are allowed to use their own risk models to determine part of their capital requirements.

Now some have asked how we can rely on risk estimates that are provided to us by the institutions. Won’t they understate their risks? Of course, there is some short-term incentive for institutions to do just that. But Canadian institutions understand that their long-term interest is to maintain credibility with their regulator. That way, we can leave responsibility for risk management in their hands.

There is another reason why we generally have confidence in the results we obtain from financial institutions. We do a lot of checking. The incentive to underestimate risk may only be short-term, but it can be quite powerful. So we follow the old Russian proverb famously translated by Ronald Reagan: “Trust, but verify.”

A major strength of our approach is that it aims to ensure that regulatory compliance does not become a substitute for risk management. Indeed, financial institutions cannot comply with our expectations unless they actively measure and manage their own risks.

We need to stay focused on this approach as we finish implementing the regulatory initiatives aimed at responding to the global financial crisis. It is a challenge to implement this veritable slew of measures quickly, without slipping into an approach that values regulatory compliance over effective risk management. But regulation and supervision can support responsible risk management only if they don’t displace risk management.

The second challenge I mentioned is to balance attention to international standards with attention to the particulars of Canadian circumstances and experience.

Canada has been, and will continue to be, a strong supporter of international standards in financial sector regulation. International agreements on minimum norms are the best way for us to be able to impose prudent standards on our globally active financial institutions without impeding their ability to compete with foreign institutions. That alone is a strong argument in favour of adhering to these agreements, and being seen to do so.

Of course, this motivation for adhering to international standards depends on the extent of adherence by other countries. So we are watching how other jurisdictions implement international agreements, particularly Basel III.

At OSFI, we look carefully at the Canadian situation and Canadian needs before deciding how, and how closely, to adhere to each international standard. At times, we have chosen to impose standards above the international minimums. In principle, this can put our internationally active institutions at something of a competitive disadvantage. That can be the unintended, yet justifiable consequence of doing what is necessary to protect financial stability in Canada.

For example, my OSFI predecessors decided to go well beyond the Basel I and II capital requirements. Since then, it has become a truism that these decisions helped Canada to skate through the global crisis much better than countries that imposed only the minimum standard, if that.

Moreover, in the post-crisis world, our reputation for rigorous regulation has become a competitive advantage for our financial institutions as it helps them to be well regarded around the world. This pays off for them in better market access for funding, and lower funding costs.

It also has paid off by giving foreign regulators comfort when Canadian financial institutions expand their operations abroad. However, when we judge that there is little or no value in exceeding an international minimum, we stay quite close to our agreements with global counterparts.

Take, for example, the simple leverage limit that forms part of the Basel III package. Unlike regulators in many other countries, OSFI had established a simple leverage limit well before the crisis.

Based on that ample experience, we have decided to set the Canadian leverage limit at the international minimum. This is despite the fact that several high-profile jurisdictions will impose much stricter limits. Moreover, we are sometimes prepared to take a liberal reading of the standards when Canadian circumstances call for it.  

For example, subject to certain conditions, we accept preferred shares as Tier 1 capital, even though this is not consistent with a strict interpretation of the Basel III standard. We know these shares have been a reliable source of capital for Canadian banks, and we think they continue to make sense for Canada.

OSFI’s third challenge is how to promote financial stability across the institutions under OSFI’s watch, when they vary widely in their systemic importance and their capabilities.

At OSFI, we are well aware of the increase in regulatory burden since the global financial crisis. Part of the cost of regulatory compliance is fixed, so it falls more heavily on smaller institutions. Moreover, compared with our large banks, smaller banks using the standardized approach for their capital requirements have fewer options for managing the post-crisis increase in those requirements. We also recognize that Canada’s largest financial institutions clearly pose more risks to overall financial stability than do others.

That is why my predecessor, Julie Dickson, designated six major institutions as domestic systemically important banks, or D-SIBs. These banks are obliged to meet higher standards in some areas, such as capital and public disclosure requirements. They also face more intense supervision. Our D-SIBs are, not coincidentally, our internationally active banks.

So this is where our commitment to adhering to international agreements, like Basel III, most applies. All this means that the regimes for D-SIBs and for other banks have begun to diverge.

To support us in our approach to these two groups, we have created a new role of OSFI ‘small bank advisor’. The advisor, Scott Knight, is consulting with smaller institutions and helping to formulate regulatory guidance and to calibrate supervision so that the regulatory burden on smaller institutions can be more closely fit for purpose.

We recognize that, in the wake of post-crisis regulatory changes, we need to find new and better ways to listen to the perspectives of regulated entities, particularly the smaller institutions.
At the end of the day, we may not agree to everything we are asked to do. But all institutions are looking – quite rightly -- for evidence that, at a minimum, they have been heard and understood.

Conclusion

As I am only three months into the job and have eighty-one months left to go, I have not tried to make these remarks comprehensive. I will have more to say about prudential regulation of insurance companies, about pension regulation, and other topics as I continue.

Thank you.

Allocution prononcée par Jeremy Rudin, surintendant des institutions financières, devant l’Economic Club of Canada, Toronto (Ontario), le 30 septembre 2014

Extrait

Notre approche comporte un point fort : elle vise à éviter que la conformité à la réglementation remplace la gestion des risques. En effet, les institutions financières ne peuvent répondre à nos attentes que si elles mesurent et gèrent activement leurs propres risques.
 

Établir un juste équilibre : Défis pour le maintien de la stabilité financière

Voyons d’abord pourquoi nous sommes ici aujourd’hui. Pourquoi un bureaucrate d’Ottawa est-il venu prononcer un discours dans le berceau du secteur des services financiers du Canada, et pourquoi êtes-vous venus m’écouter en si grand nombre?

C’est parce que, au Canada, le secteur des services financiers et le public sont des partenaires. Et mon travail, comme celui de tous mes collègues au BSIF, consiste à défendre les intérêts du public au sein de notre partenariat.

Les origines de ce partenariat sont faciles à cerner.

Dans l’optique de la croissance économique, les services financiers sont des services essentiels.

Parmi leurs nombreux avantages, les services financiers réunissent épargnants, emprunteurs et investisseurs, de même que ceux qui souhaitent réduire leurs risques et ceux qui sont disposés à en assumer davantage.

Si la prestation de services financiers essentiels devenait problématique et était menacée de bouleversements graves, le public, par l’intermédiaire des administrations publiques, serait poussé à intervenir.

La preuve en est des plus évidentes dans les pays durement touchés par la récente crise financière.

La situation a obligé ces pays à prendre d’extraordinaires mesures interventionnistes afin de soutenir leur secteur des services financiers et leurs grandes institutions.

Comment le BSIF protège-t-il l’intérêt du public dans le cadre de ce partenariat?

Pour une bonne part, en limitant la prise de risques qui, du point de vue du public, seraient excessifs. Notre action aide à maintenir la prestation des services financiers et à protéger les particuliers et les entreprises qui ont confié leurs avoirs aux institutions financières fédérales. De plus, nous cherchons toujours à intervenir bien avant que la situation ne soit désespérée.

L’explication va de soi, mais elle est difficile à mettre en pratique. Comme dans bien d’autres domaines, le principal défi consiste à trouver le juste équilibre.

Ce problème comporte de nombreuses dimensions; j’en aborderai trois aujourd’hui :

  • PREMIER DÉFI : empêcher les institutions financières de prendre des risques excessifs, tout en encourageant la prise de risques raisonnables.
  • DEUXIÈME DÉFI : trouver la meilleure façon d’appliquer les conventions internationales sur les normes prudentielles tout en respectant la situation et les besoins particuliers du secteur financier canadien.
  • TROISIÈME DÉFI : promouvoir la stabilité financière de l’ensemble des institutions sous la surveillance du BSIF alors que leur importance systémique et leurs capacités varient énormément.

Nous manquerions à notre devoir si nous devions essayer d’enrayer complètement la prise de risques. Nous sommes en partenariat parce que la croissance économique requiert des services financiers efficients et efficaces. Et la prestation de ces services essentiels doit obliger leur fournisseur à prendre des risques.

Le premier défi consiste donc à empêcher les institutions financières de prendre des risques excessifs, tout en encourageant la prise de risques raisonnables. Au BSIF, nous croyons que la meilleure façon d’atteindre cet équilibre consiste :

  • premièrement, à établir des attentes auxquelles doivent répondre les institutions financières, ce que nous appelons « émettre des consignes »;
  • deuxièmement, à surveiller de près la façon dont chaque institution financière répond à nos attentes, ce que nous appelons la « surveillance ».

Dans la mesure possible, nous évitons les règles normatives détaillées. Nous optons plutôt pour des principes de haut niveau exprimés en termes généraux.

Certes, nos consignes comportent certaines « balises » que les institutions financières doivent respecter – des règles et des exigences bien définies –, mais nous tentons de les limiter autant que faire se peut.

Dans le cadre de notre démarche, ce sont les conseils d’administration et la haute direction des institutions financières, et eux seuls, qui choisissent de prendre des risques raisonnables et qui les gèrent. En effet, une part importante de nos consignes obligent les institutions financières à entreprendre des activités de gestion des risques et à en faire rapport. Par exemple :

  • Nous demandons aux institutions d’établir leurs propres cibles de fonds propres au-delà du seuil que nous fixons.
  • Les prêteurs hypothécaires résidentiels doivent établir leurs propres politiques de souscription en respectant les principes que nous établissons.
  • De plus, les institutions dont les données et les systèmes sont suffisants peuvent utiliser leurs propres modèles de risque pour calculer une partie de leurs exigences de fonds propres.

Certains se demandent comment nous pouvons nous appuyer sur les estimations de risque que nous fournissent les institutions. Ne sous-estimeront-elles pas leurs risques? Évidemment, elles auraient quelques raisons de le faire à court terme. Mais les institutions canadiennes comprennent qu’à long terme, elles ont intérêt à maintenir leur crédibilité auprès de leur organisme de réglementation. C’est ainsi que nous pouvons leur confier la charge de gérer les risques.

Une autre raison explique de façon générale pourquoi nous avons confiance aux résultats que nous obtenons des institutions financières. Nous ne ménageons pas les vérifications. La tentation de sous-estimer le risque est peut-être de courte durée, mais elle peut également être très puissante. Nous appliquons donc le vieux proverbe russe si bien traduit par Ronald Reagan : Faites confiance, mais vérifiez.

Notre approche comporte un point fort : elle vise à éviter que la conformité à la réglementation remplace la gestion des risques. En effet, les institutions financières ne peuvent répondre à nos attentes que si elles mesurent et gèrent activement leurs propres risques.

Nous devons demeurer fidèles à cette approche au moment où nous achevons la mise en œuvre des initiatives de réglementation visant à répondre à la crise financière mondiale. Ce n’est pas chose facile que de mettre en œuvre rapidement ce large éventail de mesures sans déraper vers une démarche qui prise davantage la conformité à la réglementation que la gestion efficace des risques. Du reste, la réglementation et la surveillance ne peuvent appuyer la gestion responsable des risques que si elles ne s’y substituent pas.

Le deuxième défi que j’ai mentionné porte sur l’équilibre entre l’attention accordée aux normes internationales et l’attention donnée aux particularités de la situation et de l’expérience du Canada.

Le Canada continuera, comme par le passé, d’appuyer sans réserve les normes internationales de réglementation du secteur financier. Les conventions internationales sur les normes minimales représentent le meilleur moyen à notre portée pour imposer des normes de prudence à nos institutions financières actives à l’échelle mondiale sans nuire excessivement à leur capacité de se mesurer à la concurrence des institutions étrangères. À lui seul, cet argument illustre éloquemment l’avantage de souscrire à ces normes et d’être vu comme tel.

Évidemment, cette raison de souscrire aux normes internationales dépend de l’ampleur de l’adhésion des autres pays. Nous surveillons donc la façon dont d’autres instances mettent en œuvre les conventions internationales, plus particulièrement Bâle III.

Le BSIF étudie de près la situation au Canada et les besoins du pays avant de décider des moyens à prendre pour adopter chaque norme internationale et de la rigueur de notre adhésion à chacune. Dans certains cas, nous avons décidé d’imposer des normes supérieures aux seuils internationaux. En principe, cette façon de faire risque de nuire à la compétitivité de nos institutions multinationales. Il peut s’agir d’une conséquence involontaire, quoique justifiable, des mesures nécessaires pour protéger la stabilité financière du Canada.

Par exemple, mes prédécesseurs au BSIF ont décidé de dépasser largement les exigences de fonds propres de Bâle I et II. Depuis, il est devenu évident que leurs décisions ont aidé le Canada à traverser la crise financière beaucoup plus facilement que les pays qui, au mieux, n’ont imposé que la norme minimale.

De plus, la crise mondiale étant chose du passé, notre réputation pour la réglementation rigoureuse s’est transformée en avantage concurrentiel pour nos institutions financières, puisque cette rigueur contribue à leur excellente réputation partout dans le monde. Notre régime se traduit par un meilleur accès aux marchés des capitaux et à un coût de financement moindre.

Par ailleurs, les organismes de réglementation étrangers ont davantage confiance lorsque les institutions financières canadiennes étendent leurs activités à l’étranger. Toutefois, lorsque nous estimons que le dépassement d’un seuil offre peu d’avantages sinon aucun, nous respectons étroitement les conventions conclues avec nos homologues mondiaux.

Prenons l’exemple de la limite simple du ratio de levier qui fait partie du dispositif de Bâle III. Contrairement aux organismes de réglementation de nombreux autres pays, le BSIF avait établi une limite simple bien avant la crise.

Forts de notre vaste expérience, nous avons décidé de fixer la limite canadienne au seuil international, et ce, malgré que plusieurs instances très en vue imposeront des limites beaucoup plus rigoureuses. En outre, nous sommes parfois disposés à interpréter librement les normes lorsque la réalité canadienne l’exige.

Par exemple, sous réserve de certaines conditions, nous acceptons des actions privilégiées à titre de fonds propres de catégorie 1, même si cette autorisation n’est pas conforme à une interprétation stricte de la norme de Bâle III. Nous savons que ces actions ont constitué une source sûre de fonds propres pour les banques canadiennes et, à notre avis, elles demeurent sensées pour le Canada.

Le troisième défi pour le BSIF consiste à promouvoir la stabilité financière de l’ensemble des institutions qu’il surveille alors que leur importance systémique et leurs capacités varient énormément.

Au BSIF, nous sommes bien conscients de l’alourdissement du fardeau de la réglementation depuis la crise financière mondiale. Le coût de conformité à la réglementation est en partie fixe, et il frappe davantage les petites institutions.

En outre, au contraire de nos grandes banques, les petites banques qui appliquent l’approche standard pour calculer les exigences de fonds propres disposent d’un moins grand nombre d’options pour gérer le relèvement de ces exigences depuis la fin de la crise. Nous reconnaissons aussi que les plus grandes institutions financières du Canada présentent manifestement plus de risques que les autres institutions pour la stabilité financière globale.

C’est pourquoi ma prédécesseure, Julie Dickson, a désigné six grandes institutions comme étant des banques d’importance systémique intérieure, ou BISi. Ces banques doivent se conformer à des normes plus rigoureuses dans certains domaines, notamment en ce qui concerne les fonds propres et la communication d’informations au public. Elles sont également soumises à une surveillance plus étroite. Ce n’est pas une coïncidence si nos BISi sont nos banques actives sur les marchés internationaux.

C’est ici que notre engagement de respecter les ententes internationales comme Bâle III prend tout son sens. Cela signifie que le régime appliqué aux BISi et celui dont sont l’objet les autres banques ont commencé à diverger.

Pour faciliter l’application de nos approches de ces deux groupes, nous avons dont créé un nouveau rôle de conseiller du BSIF auprès des petites banques. Le conseiller, Scott Knight, consulte les institutions de plus petite taille et participe à l’élaboration de consignes de réglementation et à l’étalonnage de la surveillance pour nous permettre de mieux adapter le fardeau de la réglementation imposé aux petites institutions aux fins visées.

Nous reconnaissons que, dans la foulée des changements apportés à la réglementation après la crise, nous devons revoir notre façon de prendre acte des points de vue des entités réglementées, plus particulièrement les petites institutions.

Au bout du compte, il se peut que nous n’acceptions pas de faire tout ce qui nous est demandé. Mais toutes les institutions recherchent – à juste titre – des preuves que, à tout le moins, elles ont été entendues et comprises.

Conclusion

Comme je ne suis en poste que depuis trois mois et qu’il m’en reste quatre-vingt-un, je n’ai pas voulu toucher à tous les sujets. Au fil de mon mandat, je vous en dirai davantage sur la réglementation prudentielle des sociétés d’assurances, sur la réglementation des régimes de retraite et sur d’autres questions.

Je vous remercie.