Remarks by Superintendent Jeremy Rudin to the 2015 Property and Casualty Insurance Industry Forum, Cambridge, Ontario, June 4, 2015

Quote

...So as we work on the international capital standard for insurance, as we move through the next round of ORSAs, and as we consider the prudential implications of new uses of reinsurance, we will continue to consult the industry, and keep the dialogue going.

I am pleased to be here to speak with you this evening about some of the issues currently facing the property and casualty insurance industry in Canada.

Many of these issues have their origin in technological change both past and future. Cyber security issues create, at the same time, both a threat to individual P&C insurers and a potential new business line. The growing ability to collect detailed data about policyholders and their behavior creates new options for pricing risk and new ways to incent policyholders to reduce risk. Distribution channels are evolving as new technology is developed and adopted and as customers get used to using new channels.

Turning to natural disasters, we know that severe weather events have been on the rise, and we have to presume that it will not get any easier to predict both the occurrence of these events and how they will translate into claims. And the spectre of earthquakes looms over eastern Ontario and the Saint Lawrence Valley in Quebec, and in the B.C. lower mainland and Vancouver island.

Most of you know these issues as well, in not far better than I do.

So, I will devote the rest of my remarks to regulatory and supervisory issues that are relevant to the P&C industry.

I will highlight three topics:

  • The ongoing effort to create an international standard for minimum capital requirements for internationally active insurance companies;
  • The implementation of the Own Risk and Solvency Assessment initiative in the Canadian P&C industry; and
  • The supervisory implications of the growing use of unregistered reinsurance by some parts of the Canadian P&C industry.

International Capital Standards for Insurance

Let’s begin with the international insurance capital standards currently being developed at the IAIS.

We at OSFI strongly support this project. We look for two potential benefits for Canada.

First, it would be very useful to have a common yardstick for comparing insurance capital requirements across jurisdictions. This would better position us to assess any concerns that our capital standards were unjustifiably impeding the competitiveness of Canadian firms. Moreover, there is probably useful information in any major differences across countries in capital requirements that this exercise may turn up. It is too much to expect that the international framework will allow us to make very accurate “apples-to-apples” comparisons of our capital standards to others, at least in its first iteration. But it promises to be an important step forward.

The second potential benefit is to promote a level playing field for internationally active insurers. International agreements on minimum standards help all countries to impose appropriate prudential standards without having to be concerned about unwittingly degrading the competitiveness of their own firms.

We have been quite active in the development of the proposed standard. While we are pursuing a standard that will work for all countries, we are also focused on getting to one that will work for Canada. To that end, we have consistently promoted the need for flexible implementation that considers each jurisdiction’s legal and regulatory frameworks

Many of the pieces that are currently being discussed at the international level are already in place in Canada. So the work we have already accomplished positions our industry well for the eventual introduction of an international insurance standard.

I imagine that you would like to know what the impact will be on the Canadian P&C industry if and when OSFI adopts the new international capital standard. And I would like to tell you. But I can’t. The work on the new standard is far from complete, and calibration exercises have not yet begun. However, we currently believe that the international discussions are going in the right direction.

What I can do is to sketch out some possible scenarios regarding Canadian implementation. If we at OSFI find that the eventual international capital standard for insurance companies is too low for Canadian purposes, we will not relax our own domestic requirements. My predecessors did not race to the bottom when the first agreement on bank capital was completed, and all Canadians have benefitted from those decisions.

Moreover, if we feel that the international standard is not suited to Canada’s needs for some other reason, then we will simply continue with our existing approach. It is our responsibility to set what we see as prudent and workable regulations for Canada, and that responsibility will not be extinguished if there is an international standard for insurance capital.

Own Risk and Solvency Assessments

Let’s turn now to the introduction of the concept of ORSA in Canada.

Through the ORSA process, each insurer is expected to come to its own assessment of its risks, its capital needs, and its solvency position. ORSA is a tool to set out the links between an insurer’s risk profile and its capital needs, and so come to its own internal target for capital.

A robust ORSA is one where the company has comprehensively assessed the potential impacts of the risks it faces, and uses that assessment to make prudent decisions.

I cannot emphasize enough that the key word in “Own Solvency and Risk Assessment” is “Own”.

We expect all insurers to conduct a robust ORSA. Part of that expectation is for each company to apply the process in a way that is tailored to its own business. Otherwise, the ORSA process will not be effective, and the effort will be wasted.

I understand that many companies are interested in our feedback on the assessments that they have shared with us. Having seen the broad range of ORSAs, we at OSFI are well positioned to provide you with recommendations for improvement, and to compare your practices with those we see as the best in the industry.

And while we are well positioned to do all of that, we are not going to.

Why not? Because our overriding goal is to keep the “Own” in ORSA. If we started making specific suggestions to individual companies, we would, inadvertently, start substituting our judgment for yours. Of course we could try to reduce the impact of our comments by noting that they are only suggestions, that you are not obliged to follow our recommendations, that your ideas might well be better than ours, and so on. But I don’t think insurers ever forget, even for a moment, that we are the supervisor. And so comments that would be perceived as suggestions if they were made by anyone else come across as requirements if we make them.

What I can do is to share with you some broad observations about the full set of ORSAs prepared by the companies we supervise.

The ORSA reports from P&C companies generally provide a comprehensive overview of the insurer’s risk management framework. Nearly three-quarters of insurers outlined their risk appetite and linked it to risk. In many cases, risk tolerance and limits were also included and linked within the reports. This is a sound approach.

The reports we have seen generally provide a comprehensive list of risks, some with more than a dozen categories. Some insurers have preferred to segment risks, for example, treating reserving, pricing and catastrophe risks separately rather than bundling them as insurance risk. Others have taken the opposite approach.

We have not set standard definitions for risk categories to be used by the industry. That is deliberate on our part. Each insurer has the prerogative to build and define risks in ways that makes the most sense to them.

ORSAs are in their first year of implementation and there will be room for continuous improvement. Some elements and processes will need to mature before becoming all they can be. For example, some ORSA reports were largely descriptive. These had some value, but they were not necessarily useful for a Board or Chief Agent in understanding the risk profile of the institution. For a few insurers, the ORSA was not used to link the company’s risk assessment to its internal target for capital, as we would have expected.

We’ll have more to say about ORSA as we all get more familiar with the process.

Trends in the use of Reinsurance

Our third supervisory topic arises from recent developments in the use of reinsurance.

P&C insurers have long used reinsurance as an important risk management tool. It can be used to reduce insurance risks, to temper the volatility of financial results, to stabilize solvency, to make more efficient use of capital, to better withstand catastrophic events, to increase underwriting capacity, and to draw on reinsurers’ expertise.

Recently we have noticed that some firms have been shifting toward a business model of insuring commercial risks in Canada and reinsuring a significant portion, or virtually all, of the risk offshore. Often, risks are ceded to unregistered affiliates, with little capital retention in Canada.

This practice has long been used to transfer large catastrophic risks when there is limited reinsurance capacity in Canada. It has also been used by global insurers to service some of their large customers who have risks around the world, including risks in Canada.

What we are seeing more recently seems to fall into a different category. It appears to be being used by insurers to increase policy limits and sizes without changing net risk retention. This means that exposures ceded are quite large. It also means that exposures are going up without a commensurate increase in the capital of the direct writer.

Taken to extremes, this shifting business model introduces a very concentrated credit risk to policyholders. This raises prudential concerns given the possibility of distress in the unregistered reinsurer, whether affiliated or not.

History has shown that over-reliance on reinsurance can be dangerous if it is used as a means to “rent” capital to support rapid growth in insurance premiums. Reinsurance cover can evaporate when an insurer encounters stress, and this is usually happens when the company needs the reinsurance the most. This can leave the company in a struggle to renew its commitments. Ultimately, the company may be forced to quickly raise fresh capital to replace the disappearing reinsurance cover. And if it cannot raise that capital, it may fail.

Our Guideline B-3 provides valuable considerations on reinsurance risk management practices such as the importance of diversification of reinsurers and robust, frequent credit evaluation of reinsurers. Risk management practices should also be applied to reinsurance provided by affiliates.

We are currently assessing the scope and potential impacts that recent changes in reinsurance practices may have on the ability of insurance companies to meet their obligations to policyholders if the insurer were to encounter stress.

We want to ensure that when the use of reinsurance serves as a substitute for capital, it is not used in a manner that leaves policyholders less protected.

Conclusion

Having completed my tour of current regulatory and supervisory issues let me leave you with this.

For our regulatory and supervisory work to be effective, we need continuing input from the industry. We need information about developments in your businesses, we need your perspectives and ideas, and we need to know your concerns. So as we work on the international capital standard for insurance, as we move through the next round of ORSAs, and as we consider the prudential implications of new uses of reinsurance, we will continue to consult the industry, and keep the dialogue going.

I look forward to continuing our work with you as we face whatever challenges are ahead of us.

Thank you.

Communication du surintendant Jeremy Rudin à l’occasion du Forum sectoriel des sociétés d’assurances multirisques 2015, Cambridge (Ontario), le 4 juin 2015

Extrait

... Par conséquent, tandis que nous collaborons à l’établissement d’une norme internationale de capital, conduisons le prochain cycle de rapports sur le dispositif ORSA et réfléchissons aux conséquences pour la surveillance prudentielle du nouvel usage fait de la réassurance, nous continuerons de vous consulter et d’entretenir le dialogue avec vous.

Je suis heureux d’être ici ce soir pour vous parler de certains des enjeux auxquels est actuellement confronté le secteur canadien des assurances multirisques.

Bon nombre d’entre eux ont leur origine dans le changement technologique passé ou à venir. À titre d’exemple, les problèmes de cybersécurité représentent à la fois une menace et l’occasion d’exploiter éventuellement une nouvelle branche d’activité pour les assureurs multirisques. Comme les moyens dont disposent les assureurs pour recueillir des données détaillées sur les souscripteurs et leurs comportements ne cessent de progresser, ils bénéficient de nouvelles options pour gérer le risque de tarification et inciter les souscripteurs à réduire le risque. En outre, les circuits de distribution évoluent au rythme où de nouvelles technologies voient le jour et sont adoptées et où la clientèle se fait à ces nouvelles voies.

Au chapitre des catastrophes naturelles, nous savons que les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes se multiplient, et nous devons présumer qu’il ne sera pas plus facile à l’avenir de les prévoir ni d’estimer les sinistres qu’ils provoqueront. De plus, la menace de tremblements de terre plane sur l’Est de l’Ontario, la vallée du Saint-Laurent au Québec ainsi que les basses-terres continentales de la Colombie-Britannique et l’île de Vancouver.

La plupart d’entre vous connaissent ces questions aussi bien que moi, sinon mieux.

Je vous parlerai donc de réglementation et de surveillance en ce qu’elles ont trait au secteur des assurances multirisques.

Je traiterai de trois sujets :

  • les efforts en cours pour établir une norme internationale de capital minimal des sociétés d’assurances en activité sur le marché international;
  • la mise en œuvre du dispositif interne d’évaluation des risques et de la solvabilité, soit le dispositif ORSA, dans le secteur canadien des assurances multirisques;
  • les conséquences pour l’instance de surveillance du recours accru à la réassurance non agréée par certains éléments du secteur canadien des assurances multirisques.

 

Norme internationale de capital minimal

Examinons d’abord la norme internationale de capital que l’AICA est en train de concevoir.

Au BSIF, nous appuyons sans réserve ce projet, qui offrira deux avantages en puissance au Canada.

Premièrement, l’utilisation de paramètres communs pour comparer les normes de capital des différents pays applicables aux sociétés d’assurances serait très utile. Grâce à eux, nous serions mieux en mesure d’apaiser ceux qui craignent que les normes canadiennes nuisent injustement à la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes. En outre, il y aurait probablement des enseignements utiles à tirer de toutes différences importantes entre les pays que la comparaison pourrait mettre au jour. Nous serions mal avisés d’espérer que le cadre international nous permettra de comparer avec précision et en tous points nos normes de capital à celles des autres pays, du moins dans un premier temps. Cela dit, le cadre marquera un premier pas important.

Le deuxième avantage potentiel du projet est de promouvoir des règles du jeu équitables pour les assureurs en activité sur le marché international. Les conventions internationales qui fixent des normes minimales aident tous les pays à imposer des normes prudentielles sans devoir s’inquiéter d’entraver sans le savoir la compétitivité de leurs propres entreprises.

Nous avons participé énergiquement à l’élaboration de la norme proposée. Si nous souhaitons établir une norme que tous les pays peuvent appliquer avantageusement, nous nous attachons avant tout à en produire une qui donnera de bons résultats au Canada. À cette fin, nous avons systématiquement fait valoir l’importance d’une mise en œuvre souple qui tient compte des cadres juridique et réglementaire de chaque pays.

De nombreux éléments de la norme qui sont l’objet de discussions au niveau international ont déjà été mis en place au Canada. Par conséquent, nos assureurs sont en bonne posture pour se conformer à une nouvelle norme internationale, grâce aux travaux déjà accomplis.

J’imagine que vous vous interrogez sur l’effet qu’aurait sur le secteur canadien des assurances multirisques l’adoption éventuelle par le BSIF de la nouvelle norme internationale de capital, et j’aimerais bien vous offrir une réponse, mais j’en suis incapable. La préparation de la norme est loin d’être terminée et les exercices de calibrage n’ont pas encore débuté. Toutefois, nous sommes d’avis que les pourparlers internationaux sont dans la bonne voie.

Je peux quand même vous esquisser quelques scénarios possibles. Si le BSIF estime que la norme internationale future de capital pour les sociétés d’assurances n’est pas assez élevée aux fins du Canada, il n’assouplira pas les exigences en vigueur. Mes prédécesseurs ne se sont pas empressés de réduire les limites au minimum lorsque le premier accord sur les fonds propres des banques a été conclu, et leurs décisions ont été profitables à tous les Canadiens.

Par ailleurs, si nous croyons que la norme internationale ne répond pas aux besoins du Canada pour une autre raison, nous continuerons simplement d’appliquer l’approche en vigueur. Il nous incombe d’établir une réglementation que nous considérons comme prudente et praticable au Canada, et notre responsabilité ne s’éteindra pas parce qu’il existe une norme internationale de capital à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances.

Évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité

Parlons maintenant de l’adoption du concept de l’évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité, c’est-à-dire le dispositif ORSA, au Canada.

En appliquant le processus ORSA, chaque assureur est censé évaluer lui-même ses risques, ses besoins en capital et sa solvabilité. Le dispositif ORSA rattache le profil de risque de l’assureur à ses besoins en capital et l’amène ainsi à fixer sa propre cible interne de capital.

Un dispositif ORSA est jugé robuste si la société a évalué à fond l’incidence possible de ses risques et qu’elle s’est fondée sur les résultats de son évaluation pour prendre des décisions prudentes.

Je ne peux trop insister sur l’importance du mot « interne » dans l’expression « évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité ».

Nous nous attendons à ce que tous les assureurs appliquent un processus ORSA robuste, c’est-à-dire un processus adapté à leurs propres activités, sans quoi il sera inefficace et n’en vaudra pas l’effort.

De nombreuses sociétés souhaitent obtenir nos observations sur les résultats de l’application du dispositif ORSA qu’elles nous ont communiqués. Comme nous avons connaissance de l’éventail complet de dispositifs, nous sommes bien placés pour recommander des améliorations et comparer les pratiques observées aux méthodes exemplaires appliquées dans le secteur.

Bien que nous soyons bien placés pour vous adresser des recommandations, nous ne le ferons pas.

Pourquoi? Justement parce que notre objectif premier est de préserver le caractère personnel des dispositifs. Si nous nous mettons à proposer des mesures précises à des sociétés particulières, nous substituerons par inadvertance notre jugement au vôtre. Nous pourrions évidemment insister pour dire que nos commentaires ne sont que des suggestions et que les sociétés ne sont pas obligées de s’y conformer, que leurs idées sont peut-être bien supérieures aux nôtres. Cependant, je ne pense pas que les assureurs oublient, même pour un instant, que le BSIF est l’autorité de surveillance. Par conséquent, les commentaires qui seraient interprétés comme des suggestions s’ils venaient d’une autre source deviennent des directives lorsque nous les formulons.

Je peux néanmoins vous faire part de certaines observations générales à propos de l’ensemble complet de rapports produits à la suite de l’exécution du processus ORSA par les sociétés d’assurances que nous surveillons.

En règle générale, les rapports sur les dispositifs ORSA produits par les sociétés d’assurances multirisques donnent une vue d’ensemble exhaustive de leur cadre de gestion du risque. Près des trois quarts des assureurs ont défini leur propension à prendre des risques et y ont comparé leurs risques effectifs. Dans de nombreux cas, la tolérance au risque et les limites de risque ont également été inclus et mis en relation avec les risques réels dans les rapports. C’est là une saine façon de faire.

Les rapports que nous avons examinés présentent généralement une liste complète des risques, qui dans certains cas sont répartis dans plus d’une douzaine de catégories. Certains assureurs ont choisi de segmenter les risques, par exemple en traitant séparément les risques liés à l’établissement de provisions, à la tarification et aux catastrophes, plutôt que de les réunir dans la grande catégorie du risque d’assurance. D’autres ont choisi de faire le contraire.

Nous n’avons pas établi de définitions normalisées des catégories de risque que les sociétés d’assurances doivent utiliser. C’est voulu. Nous laissons à chaque assureur la prérogative de classer et de définir les risques de la façon la plus sensée pour lui.

C’est la première année que les dispositifs ORSA sont en place, et ils seront susceptibles d’amélioration constante. Certains éléments et processus doivent mûrir un peu avant d’être pleinement efficaces. Par exemple, certains rapports sur le dispositif ORSA étaient principalement descriptifs. Ils avaient une certaine valeur, mais ils n’étaient pas nécessairement utiles au conseil d’administration ou à l’agent principal qui souhaitait comprendre le profil de risque de l’institution. Par ailleurs, certains assureurs n’ont pas utilisé le dispositif ORSA pour établir un rapport entre l’évaluation des risques et leur cible interne de capital, contrairement à nos attentes.

Nous vous communiquerons plus de renseignements sur le dispositif ORSA à mesure que le processus nous devient plus familier.

Tendances du recours à la réassurance

Le troisième sujet en matière de surveillance dont j’aimerais vous entretenir découle des nouveaux développements concernant le recours à la réassurance.

Les assureurs multirisques font usage depuis longtemps de la réassurance comme moyen important de gérer le risque. La réassurance peut servir à réduire le risque d’assurance, à modérer la volatilité des résultats financiers, à stabiliser la solvabilité, à faire un usage plus judicieux du capital, à mieux résister aux catastrophes, à accroître la capacité de souscription et à tirer profit de l’expertise des réassureurs.
Nous avons constaté récemment que certaines sociétés adoptent peu à peu un modèle d’affaires qui consiste à assurer des risques commerciaux au Canada et à en réassurer une part importante ou la totalité à l’étranger. Souvent, les risques sont cédés à des sociétés affiliées non agréées, et le capital conservé au Canada est mince.

Les sociétés pratiquent cette stratégie depuis longtemps pour transférer des risques de catastrophe d’envergure lorsqu’il existe une capacité de réassurance limitée au Canada. Des assureurs ayant une activité mondiale l’ont utilisée également pour répondre aux besoins de certains clients qui étaient exposés à des risques dans de nombreux pays, notamment au Canada.

Or, ce que nous avons observé récemment semble appartenir à une autre catégorie. Les assureurs feraient appel à la réassurance pour augmenter les limites et l’importance des polices sans changement de la rétention nette des risques. Cela signifie que les expositions cédées sont considérables. Il en ressort également que les expositions augmentent sans accroissement correspondant du capital du souscripteur direct.

Dans son expression la plus extrême, ce modèle d’affaires en mutation introduit un risque de crédit très concentré pour les souscripteurs. Cette situation suscite des préoccupations d’ordre prudentiel, notamment le risque que le réassureur non agréé, qu’il soit ou non affilié, éprouve des difficultés.

L’histoire nous a appris qu’il est parfois périlleux de miser excessivement sur la réassurance pour « prendre en location » du capital pour soutenir la hausse rapide des primes d’assurance. La protection qu’offre la réassurance peut s’envoler lorsqu’un assureur subit des tensions, ce qui se produit normalement lorsqu’il a le plus besoin de réassurance. Dans ces circonstances, il peut avoir peine à renouveler ses engagements. Au bout du compte, la société peut se trouver dans l’obligation d’obtenir de nouveaux capitaux pour remplacer la garantie de réassurance qui se volatilise. Si elle n’y parvient pas, elle encourt la faillite.

Notre ligne directrice B-3 présente des points importants à prendre en considération à l’égard des pratiques de gestion du risque de réassurance, par exemple l’importance de la diversification des réassureurs et de l’évaluation fréquente selon une méthode robuste du risque de crédit qu’ils présentent. Les pratiques de gestion du risque s’appliquent également à la réassurance accordée par des sociétés affiliées.

Nous évaluons actuellement l’ampleur et la nature des répercussions que ces changements récents dans les pratiques de réassurance pourraient avoir sur la capacité des sociétés d’assurances à s’acquitter de leurs obligations envers les souscripteurs en cas de difficultés.

Nous voulons nous assurer que, là où la réassurance sert de substitut de capital, elle n’est pas utilisée d’une manière qui diminue la protection des souscripteurs.

Conclusion

Ayant terminé mon survol des dossiers de l’heure en surveillance et en réglementation, j’aimerais vous offrir quelques remarques finales.

Pour bien faire notre travail de régulateur et de surveillant, nous devons constamment tâter le pouls du secteur d’activité. Nous devons nous renseigner sur les faits nouveaux dans vos entreprises, connaître votre point de vue et vos idées, et être informés de vos préoccupations. Par conséquent, tandis que nous collaborons à l’établissement d’une norme internationale de capital, conduisons le prochain cycle de rapports sur le dispositif ORSA et réfléchissons aux conséquences pour la surveillance prudentielle du nouvel usage fait de la réassurance, nous continuerons de vous consulter et d’entretenir le dialogue avec vous.

Je me réjouis à l’idée de poursuivre notre collaboration afin de relever les défis qui nous attendent, quels qu’ils soient.

Je vous remercie.