Waiting for Basel? Next steps for Canada’s bank capital regime - Remarks by Jeremy Rudin to the C. D. Howe Institute, Toronto, Ontario, April 6, 2017

Quote

Until recently, the Committee had been working to complete the reform agenda, but those negotiations have stalled, and it is not clear when they will resume in earnest.

In our view, there are important issues that still need to be addressed. Our strong preference is for the Committee to get back to work on those issues, and to reach an agreement that all member jurisdictions will support and implement.

At the same time, Canada is preparing to move ahead on its own, with a Canada-specific plan for improving our capital regime. If we conclude that the Basel process is unlikely to restart in the near future, OSFI will put that plan into action in a measured way.

Introduction

My thanks go to the C. D. Howe Institute for organizing today’s event.

Canada has reached a significant juncture in the evolution of our approach to bank regulation. In the years following the global financial crisis, agreements reached by an international body — the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision — have been, by far, the most important influence on our regulatory agenda.

Now, that influence may be waning.

Basel III — A stalled international agreement

Most of you will know that in the wake of the financial crisis, the Basel Committee undertook a program of far-reaching reforms to the international standards for bank capital requirements. The agreement that the Committee reached in 2009 — commonly referred to as Basel III — delivered substantial improvements in the design and calibration of minimum capital requirements; improvements that were felt both globally and here in Canada.

However, that agreement also left some significant unfinished business.

Until recently, the Committee had been working to complete the reform agenda, but those negotiations have stalled, and it is not clear when they will resume in earnest.

In our view, there are important issues that still need to be addressed. Our strong preference is for the Committee to get back to work on those issues, and to reach an agreement that all member jurisdictions will support and implement.

At the same time, Canada is preparing to move ahead on its own, with a Canada-specific plan for improving our capital regime. If we conclude that the Basel process is unlikely to restart in the near future, OSFI will put that plan into action in a measured way.

Moreover, that plan will recognize that an effective capital regime includes much more than the minimum requirements that have been the primary focus of attention at Basel in recent years.

Building a stronger capital regime that responds to lessons learned from the financial crisis

At OSFI, we learned some valuable lessons about the banking system, and the regulations that protect it, from the global experience during the financial crisis.

This experience points to three areas where the previous international bank capital regime — known as Basel II — did not perform well.

First, an effective capital regime must establish minimum requirements for banks’ ability to absorb losses that will protect their solvency if they experience severe stress. Clearly, in many countries this was not achieved under Basel II.

Second, an effective capital regime should support confidence in the banking system. Yet, we saw during the crisis that confidence in the solvency of some major banks dissolved, even when those banks were reporting strong capital ratios as measured under Basel II.

Third, an effective capital regime provides healthy incentives for banks in both good times and bad. In good times, an effective regime discourages banks from taking excessive risk by requiring higher capital for riskier assets. In bad times, an effective regime encourages banks to maintain adequate capital without resorting to fire sales of assets, or drastic reductions in lending.

As it stands today, the international capital regime does a much better job at protecting the solvency of banks than did its predecessor. Under Basel III, the quantity and quality of capital that banks are obliged to hold is much enhanced compared to Basel II. This means that banks are much better protected against major losses than they were before the crisis, improving the overall resilience of the global banking system.

This is no small accomplishment.

More work is needed to improve the incentives that the bank capital regime provides

We have made less progress, however, on improving the incentives that the capital regime provides to banks. We want a system that requires banks to hold more loss absorbing capacity if the assets that it owns are riskier. This both discourages banks from loading up on risk, and ensures that they have enough capacity to absorb the losses that they could plausibly experience.

The tools that we use to achieve these incentives are risk weights. The capital regime requires banks to classify their assets according to defined categories of risk. Each category is then assigned a weight that reflects the risk.

There are two approaches to measuring risk weights in the Basel system.

One is the standardized approach which, as its name implies, prescribes standard asset classes and their associated risk weights.

The other is the internal ratings based (or IRB) approach which allows authorized banks to use their own risk models as input into the risk weights.

In Canada, our small and mid-sized banks use the standardized approach. Our largest banks are authorized to use the internal ratings based approach.

What we see, both globally and domestically, is that neither of these approaches is doing a good enough job of calibrating risk weights in proportion to risk.

The underlying problem in each approach is the mirror image of the problem in the other. In the standardized approach, the problem manifests itself in risk weights that do not vary enough from bank to bank. In the internal ratings based approach, risk weights vary too much from bank to bank.

Weighing in on the issue of unwarranted variability of risk weighted assets

How did we arrive at this situation?

As I noted, the standardized approach groups all assets into a few simple categories, each of which is assigned a single, unique risk weight.

For Canadian purposes, at least, some of those categories are too broad for a single risk weight to accurately reflect the underlying risk. For example, there is a single risk weight for all residential mortgages.

As a result, the standardized approach places the same risk weight — and therefore the same capital requirement — on a bank that specializes in mortgages on investment properties as it does on a bank that specializes in mortgages on owner-occupied properties.

Yet, we know that mortgages on investment properties are riskier than mortgages on owner-occupied properties. In that sense, the standardized risk weights do not vary enough across banks.

If we turn to the internal ratings based approach, we find that risk weights vary too much across banks. This is seen most clearly when banks using the internal ratings based method are asked to determine the risk weight that they would assign to a common, specified portfolio of assets.

The Basel Committee undertook such a study and the results were telling.

In this study, a group of globally active banks using internal ratings were asked to assign risk weights to a model portfolio of assets. One bank assigned a risk weight to the portfolio that was 40 per cent lower than the median risk weight assigned by all other banks in the study. That would mean this bank would hold 40 per cent less capital than the other banks for the same level of risk.

This is the type of outlier result that should not occur.

This degree of variation in risk weights fails against all three objectives of a sound capital regime.

First, the outlier portfolios lack enough protection against loss. Second, this sort of variation undermines confidence in the banking system as the measured capital ratios of the outlier banks are not representative of the true capitalization of those banks. Third, a regime that tolerates this degree of variability does not provide healthy incentives to banks to manage their risks. Rather, it provides an incentive to try to manipulate the system to reduce capital requirements. This is the last thing we want banks to be working on.

When a bank is authorized by its regulator to use a model to calculate risk weights, it must apply that model responsibly. At OSFI, we authorize a bank to use the internal ratings based approach where we believe the outcome will be a more accurate risk weight than the standardized approach. It is also our view that the effort a bank must put into building and maintaining its model creates a degree of discipline and knowledge that should make it a better risk manager.

Allowing a bank to use its own model should not, however, give it free reign. We impose a system of controls on the range of outcomes that the banks' models can produce. This aligns with our overall approach to working with information that we obtain from banks: trust, but verify.

We think that this balanced approach can be the basis of an international consensus that will better discipline the use of internal models. We need to find a set of constraints that will substantially diminish the unwarranted variability in risk weights across banks, without losing the benefits for risk management that can come from the use of internal models.

This is the important work at hand for the Basel Committee.

While we remain hopeful that the Basel Committee will reach an agreement that Canada can support, the possibility remains that negotiations could be stalled for some time. Finding consensus among the 27 jurisdictions represented on the Basel Committee — jurisdictions that differ along legal, economic and cultural lines — is always a challenge. Now that some are questioning the value of multilateralism more generally, the challenge is even greater.

A retreat from international capital work is not a retreat from our domestic agenda

What would we do if we eventually came to the conclusion that the Basel process was stalled indefinitely?

We would not stand still. Rather, we would address the outstanding issues in Basel III in a way that works for Canada. We would do so with an eye to addressing the inappropriate incentives that arise when assets that pose very different risks are given the same risk weight.

And we would examine the variation in risk weights across Canadian banks that use the internal ratings based approach. We would want to make sure that the problem of unwarranted variation in risk weights that we see internationally, does not take root in Canada.

We recognize that moving ahead on our own would not give us a completely free hand. We are mindful of preserving a level playing field domestically, and for our banks that compete internationally. We are prepared to impose higher standards on Canadian banks than the international minimums when it is necessary to bolster safety and soundness. We have done this in the past, we are doing it to some extent in the present, and we are prepared to do so in the future. But these departures from a level playing field need to meet a stringent test.

The way forward to ensuring buffers play their intended role in the capital regime

To this point I have spoken mainly about the rules for setting minimum capital requirements for banks. However, there is much more to effective capital regulation than setting the minimum requirements.

We need to consider all of the elements of the capital regime, and to pay attention to how these play out over time.

For example, an effective regime will always encourage, and sometimes require, banks to hold additional capital — or buffers — above the minimum capital requirements.

It is tempting to conclude that any step that increases capital buffers will make the banking system more stable. After all, one of the lessons of the crisis was that banks needed to be better protected from insolvency.

But as I noted earlier, that is not the only lesson for bank capital that emerged from the crisis. We also want the capital regime to foster confidence in the banking system in bad times. That will not be the case if banks cannot allow their capital ratios to dip into the buffer range without triggering a severe loss of confidence.

Of course, a bank that is using up its capital needs to recapitalize. If this goes on long enough, or happens quickly enough, dramatic measures may be required. But for a bank that starts with capital well above its regulatory minimum, we all need to see the idea of using some of the bank’s capital buffer as the normal first step in the process of recapitalization. Otherwise, we will have inadvertently designed a capital regime that does not foster confidence in the system, and potentially undermines it.

This also underlines the importance of having a system for setting risk weights that has integrity; and that is seen to have integrity. Otherwise, a handful of faltering outliers could undermine confidence in all banks.

Not only should the capital regime foster confidence in bad times, it should also provide appropriate incentives to banks in bad times. In particular, the capital regime should avoid adding any artificial incentive for banks to rapidly de-lever during an economic downturn, either by selling assets at fire sale prices or sharply restricting new lending.

A capital regime that avoids this perverse incentive is a regime that establishes buffers that are meant to be used in bad times. As regulators and supervisors, we need to set out the circumstances under which we would allow, if not encourage, banks to let their capital ratios decline into — but not fall below — the buffer range. Having done that, we need to ensure that banks understand those circumstances, and that market participants understand them as well. Failing that, the capital regime could become part of the problem during a downturn, when it needs instead to be part of the solution.

Ideally, we would have an international consensus on the dynamic role of capital buffers; a consensus that was clear to banks and to market participants. This may be too much to ask in the current circumstances. We need to be prepared to build a clear plan for the use of capital buffers by Canadian banks, and to build a new and better understanding about the role of capital buffers in Canada.

Conclusion

As we move ahead to the next steps for Canada's bank capital regime, let us remind ourselves that we have a strong regime that we can be proud of. We have a strong regime that protects the interests of depositors and other creditors to the banks and fosters confidence in our banking system.

One of the reasons that we have a strong regime is that we have not shied away from improving it. As we look ahead, our top priorities for improvement are twofold: better aligning risk weights with underlying risks, and ensuring that capital buffers can be effectively used when they are needed.

We believe these objectives will be mutually reinforcing. Improving the ability of risk weights to capture the risk that a bank holds will not only improve the resilience of individual banks, it will improve confidence in the overall capital regime. That increased confidence will, in turn, improve the likelihood that the capital regime will act as intended in times of stress.

Our preferred approach would be to move forward on both of these priorities in partnership with our international peers on the Basel Committee. At the same time, we are preparing our own plan for improving the capital regime in Canada, while we watch to see if the international community will be willing to re-engage around the Basel table.

Attendre le Comité de Bâle? Les prochaines étapes du régime canadien des fonds propres bancaires - Communication de Jeremy Rudin à l’Institut C. D. Howe, Toronto (Ontario), le 6 avril 2017

Extrait

Récemment encore, le Comité cherchait à parachever le programme de réforme, mais les négociations sont au point mort et l’on ne sait trop quand elles reprendront de façon sérieuse.

À notre avis, il subsiste d’importantes questions à régler. Nous préférerions nettement que le Comité se remette au travail sur ces questions et parvienne à une entente que tous les pays membres appuieront et mettront en œuvre.

Au même moment, le Canada se prépare à aller de l’avant et à mettre en œuvre son propre plan en vue d’améliorer son régime de fonds propres. S’il conclut que le processus du Comité de Bâle ne reprendra pas à court terme, le BSIF exécutera ce plan de façon mesurée.

Introduction

J’aimerais remercier l’Institut C. D. Howe d’avoir organisé l’événement auquel nous participons aujourd’hui.

Le Canada en est à une étape importante de l’évolution de son approche à l’égard de la réglementation bancaire. Au cours des années qui ont suivi la crise financière mondiale, les ententes conclues par une instance internationale – le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire – ont largement été le facteur ayant eu le plus d’incidence sur notre programme de réglementation.

Cette influence est peut-être maintenant en déclin.

Bâle III – Un accord international au point mort

Comme la plupart d’entre vous le savent, dans la foulée de la crise financière, le Comité de Bâle a entrepris de réformer en profondeur les normes internationales régissant les fonds propres bancaires. L’accord conclu par le Comité en 2009 – couramment appelé « Bâle III » – a sensiblement amélioré la conception et le calibrage des exigences minimales de fonds propres, et les effets de ces améliorations se sont fait sentir tant à l’international qu’ici au Canada.

Cet accord laissait toutefois d’importantes questions en suspens.

Récemment encore, le Comité cherchait à parachever le programme de réforme, mais les négociations sont au point mort et l’on ne sait trop quand elles reprendront de façon sérieuse.

À notre avis, il subsiste d’importantes questions à régler. Nous préférerions nettement que le Comité se remette au travail sur ces questions et parvienne à une entente que tous les pays membres appuieront et mettront en œuvre.

Au même moment, le Canada se prépare à aller de l’avant et à mettre en œuvre son propre plan en vue d’améliorer son régime de fonds propres. S’il conclut que le processus du Comité de Bâle ne reprendra pas à court terme, le BSIF exécutera ce plan de façon mesurée.

De plus, ce plan tiendra compte du fait qu’un régime de fonds propres efficace va bien au-delà des exigences minimales qui ont été la cible de prédilection du Comité de Bâle ces dernières années.

Bâtir un régime de fonds propres plus solide qui donne suite aux leçons tirées de la crise financière

Le BSIF a tiré de l’expérience sur la scène internationale lors de la crise financière de précieuses leçons à propos du système bancaire et de la réglementation qui le protège.

Cette expérience met en lumière trois domaines où le rendement de l’ancien régime international des fonds propres bancaires – Bâle II – n’a pas été à la hauteur.

Premièrement, un régime efficace de fonds propres doit établir des exigences minimales d’absorption des pertes afin que les banques demeurent solvables si elles éprouvent de fortes tensions. De toute évidence, dans bon nombre de pays, cela n’a pas été le cas sous le régime de Bâle II.

Deuxièmement, un régime efficace de fonds propres doit contribuer à la confiance dans le système bancaire. Or, nous avons constaté pendant la crise que la confiance dans la solvabilité de certaines grandes banques a fondu alors même que ces banques déclaraient de solides ratios de fonds propres d’après Bâle II.

Troisièmement, un régime efficace de fonds propres fournit aux banques des mesures incitatives saines, tant en période de prospérité que d’austérité. En période de prospérité, un régime efficace décourage les banques de prendre des risques excessifs en les obligeant à affecter davantage de fonds propres aux actifs plus à risque. En situation de crise, un régime efficace encourage les banques à maintenir des fonds propres adéquats sans forcer la vente d’actifs ou sabrer l’octroi de prêts.

Le régime actuel de fonds propres protège beaucoup mieux la solvabilité des banques que le précédent. Sous Bâle III, l’ampleur et la qualité des fonds propres que doivent détenir les banques sont beaucoup plus élevées que sous Bâle II. Cela signifie que les banques sont beaucoup mieux protégées contre les pertes importantes qu’elles ne l’étaient avant la crise, ce qui rehausse la résilience globale du système bancaire mondial.

C’est toute une réalisation.

Il reste du travail à faire pour améliorer les mesures incitatives que fournit le régime de fonds propres bancaires

Nous avons cependant fait moins de progrès en vue d’améliorer les mesures incitatives que le régime de fonds propres fournit aux banques. Nous voulons que le système oblige les banques à accroître leur capacité d’absorption des pertes si les actifs qu’elles détiennent sont plus à risque. Cela permet à la fois de décourager les banques d’accumuler les risques et de veiller à ce qu’elles soient en mesure d’absorber les pertes qu’elles pourraient vraisemblablement subir.

Les outils que nous utilisons pour instaurer ces mesures incitatives sont des coefficients de pondération. Le régime de fonds propres oblige les banques à classer leurs actifs en fonction de catégories définies. Chaque catégorie est ensuite jumelée à un coefficient de pondération qui traduit ce risque.

Le système de Bâle propose deux façons de mesurer les coefficients de pondération des risques.

L’une est l’approche dite « standard » qui, comme son nom l’indique, établit des catégories d’actif normalisées et les coefficients de pondération correspondants.

L’autre est l’approche dite fondée sur les « notations internes », ou NI, qui permet aux banques autorisées d’utiliser leurs propres modèles de risque pour établir les coefficients de pondération des risques.

Au Canada, les petites et moyennes banques utilisent l’approche standard alors que les plus grandes banques peuvent employer l’approche NI.

Or, à l’international comme au Canada, on constate que ni l’une ni l’autre de ces approches ne permet de calibrer suffisamment bien les coefficients de pondération en fonction des risques.

Le problème fondamental de chaque approche est l’inverse du problème qui entache l’autre approche. Alors que, dans l’approche standard, les coefficients ne varient pas suffisamment d’une banque à l’autre, dans l’approche fondée sur les notations internes, au contraire, ils fluctuent trop d’une banque à l’autre.

Réflexions sur la variabilité injustifiée des actifs pondérés en fonction des risques

Comment en sommes-nous arrivés là?

J’ai dit tantôt que l’approche standard regroupe tous les actifs dans quelques catégories simples, chacune se doublant d’un coefficient unique de pondération des risques.

Pour les besoins du Canada, du moins, certaines de ces catégories sont trop vastes pour qu’un seul coefficient traduise précisément le risque sous-jacent. Par exemple, tous les prêts hypothécaires résidentiels sont jumelés au même coefficient de pondération des risques.

Par conséquent, l’approche standard applique le même coefficient de pondération – et donc la même exigence de fonds propres – à une banque qui se spécialise dans les prêts hypothécaires pour les immeubles de placement qu’à une autre qui se spécialise dans les prêts hypothécaires pour les résidences occupées par leur propriétaire.

Pourtant, nous savons que les hypothèques sur les immeubles de placement sont plus risquées que celles sur les résidences occupées par leur propriétaire. Dans cette perspective, les coefficients de pondération de l’approche standard ne varient pas assez d’une banque à l’autre.

Si l’on examine l’approche fondée sur les notations internes, on constate que les coefficients de pondération des risques varient trop d’une banque à l’autre. Cela est des plus évidents lorsque des banques utilisant l’approche NI sont priées d’indiquer les coefficients de pondération des risques qu’elles appliqueraient à un même portefeuille donné d’actifs.

Le Comité de Bâle s’est penché sur cette question et les résultats étaient éloquents.

Pour cette étude, un groupe de multinationales bancaires utilisant l’approche NI ont été invitées à attribuer des coefficients de pondération des risques à un portefeuille fictif d’actifs. L’une des banques a attribué au portefeuille un coefficient de pondération des risques de 40 % inférieur à la moyenne des coefficients déterminés par toutes les autres banques participant à cette étude. Par conséquent, cette banque maintiendrait 40 % de moins de fonds propres que les autres banques pour ce même niveau de risque.

Ce genre de résultat aberrant ne devrait pas survenir.

Pareille variation des coefficients de pondération des risques déroge aux trois objectifs d’un solide régime de fonds propres.

Premièrement, les portefeuilles hors normes ne sont pas suffisamment protégés contre les pertes. Deuxièmement, les variations de ce genre minent la confiance dans le système bancaire puisque les ratios de fonds propres mesurés des banques aberrantes ne traduisent pas la véritable capitalisation de ces dernières. Troisièmement, un régime qui tolère pareille variabilité ne fournit pas aux banques de saines mesures incitatives en vue de gérer leurs risques. Il les incite plutôt à tenter de manipuler le système pour réduire les exigences de fonds propres, et c’est bien la dernière chose que nous voulons que les banques fassent.

Lorsqu’une banque est autorisée par son autorité de contrôle à utiliser un modèle pour calculer les coefficients de pondération des risques, elle doit appliquer ce modèle de façon responsable. Pour sa part, le BSIF autorise les banques à utiliser l’approche NI s’il estime que cela produira un coefficient de pondération des risques plus exact que celui de l’approche standard. Nous estimons aussi que l’effort déployé par une banque pour construire et maintenir son modèle engendre un niveau de discipline et de connaissance qui devrait permettre à la banque de mieux gérer le risque.

En revanche, le fait qu’une banque soit autorisée à utiliser son propre modèle ne lui donne pas carte blanche. Nous appliquons un système de mesures de contrôle à la fourchette de résultats que les modèles des banques peuvent générer, ce qui rejoint notre principe de base lorsque nous travaillons avec l’information que nous obtenons des banques : faire confiance, mais vérifier.

Nous pensons que cette approche équilibrée peut servir de fondement à un consensus international qui régira mieux l’utilisation des modèles internes. Nous devons établir un ensemble de contraintes qui atténueront sensiblement la variabilité injustifiée des coefficients de pondération des risques d’une banque à l’autre sans perdre les avantages pour la gestion des risques que peut offrir l’utilisation des modèles internes.

Voilà la tâche importante qui attend le Comité de Bâle.

Nous pouvons certes continuer d’espérer que le Comité parvienne à une entente que le Canada pourra appuyer, mais il se pourrait que les négociations demeurent au point mort pendant un certain temps. Il est toujours difficile pour les 27 pays membres du Comité de Bâle – chacun ayant ses particularités juridiques, économiques et culturelles, de faire consensus. Maintenant que certains doutent de la valeur du multilatéralisme de façon plus générale, le défi est encore plus grand.

La suspension des travaux sur les normes internationales de fonds propres ne signifie pas la mise en veilleuse de notre programme intérieur

Que ferions-nous s’il fallait éventuellement conclure que le processus de Bâle est suspendu indéfiniment?

Nous ne resterions pas les bras croisés. Au contraire, nous aborderions les questions en suspens de Bâle III d’une manière convenant au Canada. Nous le ferions en cherchant à corriger les mesures incitatives inappropriées qui se font jour lorsqu’on attribue le même coefficient de pondération des risques à des actifs qui présentent des risques très différents.

Et nous examinerions la variation des coefficients de pondération des risques entre les banques canadiennes qui utilisent l’approche fondée sur les notations internes. Nous voudrions nous assurer que le problème des variations injustifiées des coefficients que nous observons à l’étranger ne prendra pas racine au Canada.

Nous reconnaissons que le fait de faire cavalier seul ne nous donnera pas carte blanche. Nous tenons à préserver l’équité des règles du jeu au pays, et à ce que nos banques puissent être concurrentielles sur la scène internationale. Nous sommes prêts à imposer aux banques canadiennes des normes plus élevées que les exigences minimales internationales lorsque cela s’avère nécessaire pour renforcer la sûreté et la solidité. Nous l’avons déjà fait, nous le faisons présentement dans une certaine mesure, et nous sommes prêts à le faire à l’avenir. Mais ces dérogations à l’application de règles équitables doivent répondre à de strictes exigences.

La marche à suivre pour que les réserves jouent leur rôle au sein du régime de fonds propres

J’ai surtout parlé jusqu’ici des règles sur l’établissement d’exigences minimales de fonds propres pour les banques. Or, la réglementation efficace des fonds propres est loin de se limiter à cela.

Nous devons tenir compte de tous les éléments du régime de fonds propres, et surveiller leur incidence au fil du temps.

Ainsi, un régime efficace doit toujours, tantôt encourager, tantôt obliger, les banques à maintenir des réserves de fonds propres au-delà des exigences minimales qui leur sont applicables.

Il est tentant de conclure que toute mesure haussant les réserves de fonds propres rendra le système bancaire plus stable. Après tout, l’une des leçons de la crise est que les banques doivent être mieux protégées contre l’insolvabilité.

Mais, comme je l’ai dit plus tôt, ce n’est pas la seule chose à propos des fonds propres des banques que la crise nous a enseignée. Nous voulons aussi que le régime de fonds propres inspire confiance dans le système bancaire en période d’austérité. Mais ce ne sera pas le cas si les banques ne peuvent laisser leurs ratios de fonds propres glisser jusque dans la fourchette de la réserve sans provoquer une grave perte de confiance.

Évidemment, une banque qui épuise ses fonds propres doit les reconstituer. Si cela se prolonge assez longtemps ou se produit assez rapidement, des mesures draconiennes pourraient s’imposer. Mais dans le cas d’une banque dont les fonds propres sont, au départ, nettement supérieurs à ses exigences réglementaires minimales, nous devons tous constater qu’une partie de la réserve de fonds propres de l’institution utilise normalement en premier une partie de cette réserve pour reconstituer ses fonds propres. Sinon, nous aurons accidentellement conçu un régime de fonds propres qui ne favorise pas la confiance dans le système et peut même la miner.

Cela fait également ressortir l’importance d’un système d’établissement des coefficients de pondération des risques qui soit intègre et qui soit perçu comme tel, sans quoi il suffirait d’une poignée de cas aberrants pour miner la confiance dans l’ensemble des banques.

En période d’austérité, le régime de fonds propres doit à la fois favoriser la confiance et fournir aux banques des mesures incitatives appropriées. Plus particulièrement, il doit éviter d’inciter artificiellement les banques à renverser trop rapidement l’effet de levier lors d’une contraction de l’économie en ayant recours à la vente forcée d’actifs ou en resserrant nettement l’octroi de nouveaux prêts.

Un régime de fonds propres qui évite cette mesure incitative perverse établit des réserves devant servir en période d’austérité. Les autorités de contrôle et de surveillance doivent énoncer les circonstances où elles autoriseraient – voire encourageraient – les banques à laisser leurs ratios de fonds propres tomber dans la fourchette des réserves, mais pas plus bas. Cela étant fait, nous devons veiller à ce que les banques comprennent ces circonstances, tout comme les participants au marché, sans quoi le régime de fonds propres pourrait contribuer au problème en période de contraction alors qu’il est censé être, au contraire, un élément de la solution.

Idéalement, nous aurions un consensus international sur le rôle dynamique des réserves de fonds propres, un consensus qui serait clair tant pour les banques que pour les participants au marché. Dans les circonstances, peut-être est-ce trop demander. Nous devons être prêts à construire un plan clair pour l’utilisation des réserves de fonds propres par les banques canadiennes, et à parvenir à une compréhension à la fois nouvelle et meilleure du rôle des réserves de fonds propres au Canada.

Conclusion

Alors que nous passons aux prochaines étapes du régime canadien des fonds propres des banques, n’oublions pas que nous disposons d’un régime solide dont nous pouvons être fiers. Nous avons un régime solide qui protège les intérêts des déposants et des autres créanciers des banques, et qui suscite la confiance à l’égard de notre système bancaire.

L’une des raisons derrière la force de notre régime est que nous n’avons pas hésité à y apporter des améliorations.

Nos priorités d’amélioration futures sont de deux ordres : mieux harmoniser les coefficients de pondération des risques avec les risques sous-jacents, et veiller à ce que les réserves de fonds propres puissent être utilisées de manière efficace lorsque nous en avons besoin.

Nous croyons que ces objectifs s’appuieront mutuellement. Le fait d’accroître la capacité des coefficients de pondération des risques de saisir le risque qui pèse sur les banques rendra ces dernières plus résilientes et rehaussera la confiance dans l’ensemble du régime de fonds propres. Grâce à ce regain de confiance, il sera plus probable que le régime de fonds propres intervienne comme prévu en période de crise.

Nous préférerions aller de l’avant avec ces deux priorités en partenariat avec nos homologues internationaux du Comité de Bâle. Parallèlement, nous peaufinons notre propre plan en vue d’améliorer le régime de fonds propres au Canada en attendant de voir si la communauté internationale sera disposée à reprendre les discussions à Bâle.