OSFI at 30: Learning from the past; looking to the future — Remarks by Superintendent Jeremy Rudin to the Economic Club of Canada, Toronto, Ontario, October 3, 2017

Quote

Parliament has charged us with a well-designed mandate, and OSFI has built an enviable record of fulfilling that responsibility.

By remaining focused on that mandate, by having the will to act, by staying disciplined about confidentiality, and by constantly learning and improving, I believe that OSFI will continue to build a record of success well into the future.

Introduction

I would like to thank the Economic Club of Canada for once again providing me an opportunity to speak to the financial services community.

Three years ago, I delivered my maiden speech as Superintendent to this very forum. I had been on the job for a mere three months. Today, I will speak to you as a more seasoned and — I hope — wiser Superintendent.

A time to reflect on our past

The financial services sector plays a critical role in our national life. Financial institutions help power our economy and so contribute to our collective prosperity. When our financial institutions are sound, efficient and competitive, we all benefit. 

Proactive and expert regulation and supervision of financial institutions are essential to securing those benefits for all Canadians.

That is why the Government of Canada created OSFI in 1987.

As this year marks OSFI’s thirtieth anniversary, it is an appropriate time to reflect on our past, and how we are positioned for the future.

So today, I am going to share with you a very selective history of OSFI’s first thirty years. In particular, I will describe what I see as the four most important chapters in OSFI’s history, underlining how each of those episodes had a positive impact on how OSFI performed in the past, and how we will perform in the future.

They are:

  1. Our proactive approach to regulation and supervision, which arose from the events that led to the creation of OSFI in 1987;
  2. Our balanced mandate, which we were given in the mid-1990s;
  3. Our disciplined approach to confidential information, which received crucial reinforcement in the early 2000s; and
  4. Our constant battle against complacency, best exemplified by our reaction to the 2008 Global Financial Crisis.

How OSFI came to be

Having existed for only thirty years, OSFI is a relative newcomer to the Canadian financial services scene. By contrast, almost all of Canada’s largest financial institutions can trace their roots back to before Confederation.

It was not until 1875 that the Government of Canada established the Department of Insurance, and it was nearly fifty years later, in 1924, that the Office of the Inspector General of Banks was created.

Much like the Superintendent of Insurance, the initial role of the Inspector General of Banks was largely limited to reviewing the financial statements of the institutions. As late as 1977, the Office of the Inspector General of Banks had only seven employees.

As you know, that did not last.

Two developments in the mid-1980s sparked the creation of OSFI.

The first was growing competitive pressures within the financial services industry. The long established space between the traditional “four pillars” of the industry: banks, trust and loan companies, insurance companies, and securities dealers, was closing and that put pressure on the regulatory barriers that had been in place up until then.

The second development was the failure of two banks based in western Canada: Canadian Commercial Bank and Northland Bank. Although these two banks represented less than one per cent of the assets of the Canadian banking industry, important questions arose about the circumstances surrounding the failures.

That prompted the government to launch a commission of inquiry into the failures, led by the Honourable Willard Z. Estey.

In late 1986, the government announced its intention to merge the Office of the Inspector General of Banks and the Department of Insurance into one entity: the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions.

OSFI came into being on July 2, 1987.

The will to act

OSFI’s creation was more than a symbolic gesture, and more than a simple merger of two distinct organizations. It was about establishing a new and more empowered approach to regulation and supervision.

Above all, it was about creating a regulator and supervisor that would have the characteristic that Justice Estey valued above all: “the will to act.”Footnote 1

Let me give you an early example.

In the wake of the oil price shocks of the 1970s, many of the world’s major banks developed a new line of business: taking deposits from cash-rich oil producers and using them to make loans to what were then called “less developed countries” or LDCs.

Tempted by the initial profitability of this business, many banks turned a blind eye to their high exposure to a small group of borrowers, and to the very limited security that they had on loans to sovereign countries. By the time OSFI was set up in 1987, the large loans that many Canadian and foreign banks had made to Latin American countries had already begun to turn sour.

Within two months of taking office, Michael McKenzie, the first Superintendent, instructed the Canadian banks to proactively increase their provisions on these loans to quite conservative levels. He also obliged the banks to charge those increased provisions against income immediately, rather than spreading the charge over five years, as had been the previous practice.

Not long after, he instructed the major Canadian banks to exceed the newly developed international standards for the quality of the capital that they were required to hold.

These were bold and unpopular moves in the banking industry.

In what would become a familiar scenario, OSFI was criticized for being too conservative.

But looking back, even the former head of the Canadian Bankers Association, Robert MacIntosh, conceded the point. “In retrospect, Mackenzie was right,” he wrote. “By pursuing a rigorous policy, he helped force the Canadian banks to take drastic action to strengthen their balance sheets.”Footnote 2

Thirty years later, this proactive approach — this “will to act” — remains one of the keys to our success.

A balanced mandate

Let us turn now to the mid-1990s and to the second chapter in our story — when OSFI received its balanced mandate.

The second Superintendent of Financial Institutions, John Palmer, took the helm of the organization as the severe recession of the early 1990s left its mark on the Canadian financial system.

In his first speech as Superintendent, John reported that over 100 federally-supervised financial institutions had gone out of business on OSFI’s watch. Most of those went quietly, through merger or windup, with little or no losses for depositors, policyholders, or other creditors.

But not all.

For example, what was, and remains, the largest financial institution failure in Canadian history took place in 1994: the demise of Confederation Life.

This experience — as well as the other failures and near-failures — motivated the government of the day to consider what OSFI’s mandate should be.

The existing legislation already tasked OSFI with regulating and supervising financial institutions, but it was largely silent about the goals and objectives that should guide OSFI in those tasks.

The revisions to the OSFI Act in 1995 enshrined a clear mandate for the organization, one with two major elements.

First, OSFI is to regulate and supervise financial institutions so as to protect the interests of depositors, policyholders and other creditors.

Second, and simultaneously, OSFI is to be mindful of the importance of allowing financial institutions to compete effectively and take reasonable risks.

Our Act makes it very clear that it is not simply a suggestion that OSFI balance these two aspects of its mandate. It is a requirement.

“Regulation and supervision must be carried out…”Footnote 3 says the Act, with regard for the fact that the provision of financial services requires risk taking, and that risk taking can lead to failures.

At the same time, Parliament gave OSFI two roles to play.

The first is to reduce the likelihood that financial institutions will fail — that is the role to which we devote most of our time.

The second is to be ready to step in promptly to minimize the impact of failures on depositors and other creditors when failure cannot be avoided.

This means that when there are no failures, we are doing our job, as long as we have been effectively promoting the safety and soundness of the institutions. It also means that when there are failures, we are also doing our job, as long as we intervene promptly to prevent further deterioration of the position of the depositors, policyholders and other creditors.

The confidentiality clause

Let me now say a few words about confidentiality, as this is a cornerstone of how we do our job and a key part of what makes us effective.

From the beginning, OSFI has had broad powers to compel financial institutions to give us information. And, under the OSFI Act, we are bound by legislation to keep that information confidential.

This brings me to the third chapter in our history that I will highlight today — the crucial reinforcement of OSFI’s approach to confidential information through legislation and regulation.

In the year 2000, late in John Palmer’s term as Superintendent, a new issue arose.

The Office had recently completed a new risk-rating scheme for financial institutions. To get the maximum benefit from the new system, John wanted to be able to share each institution’s risk rating with the institution itself. Before doing that, however, he wanted to ensure the ratings would remain confidential.

OSFI had two main reasons for this.

First, it would allow us to move a troubled institution through our stages of intervention — a process which aims to improve the soundness of an institution — without having the perverse effect of undermining public confidence in the institution and destabilizing it.

Second, this confidentiality would encourage institutions to be open with us about their issues, knowing that if those issues caused us to downgrade our opinion of the institution, that opinion would not be disclosed.

Fortunately, the government of the day agreed with those arguments, and adopted regulations that protected the confidentiality of supervisory information.

In my view, both of the promised advantages of this approach to confidentiality have been realized in Canada.

Building on the legislative requirements, we have long maintained a policy not to comment on individual financial institutions, even when such comments would not violate the confidentiality provisions of the legislation.

Why do we maintain such a strict discipline?

It is because any comment that we might make on a specific institution would immediately be parsed for what it could reveal.

Everything we said would be closely examined for what it might signal about our confidential knowledge: what we chose to say, or chose not to say, how our comments contrasted with what we had said about other institutions, how they contrasted with what we had said about the same institution previously, and so on. 

So you will not hear any institution-specific comments from OSFI.

I hope you will keep this in mind if and when you notice our reticence to speak about what we know, or what we are doing.

At the same time, we are strong proponents of disclosure about financial institutions by the financial institutions themselves. All OSFI-supervised institutions, even those that are privately held, are subject to disclosure requirements that are tailored to the nature and size of the institution.

Moreover, the fact that our domestic systemically important banks are among the world leaders in disclosure is partly due to our strong encouragement.

The Global Financial Crisis

No tour of OSFI’s history, however brief, would be complete if it did not include the 2008 Global Financial Crisis — the fourth chapter in my selective history.

As is well known, our banks and insurers demonstrated remarkable resilience that attracted increased global attention to Canada’s system of financial regulation and supervision.

Many articles have been written about the performance of the Canadian financial sector during the crisis. All of those articles cite, as a crucial factor, the proactive approach taken by the third and fourth Superintendents, Nick LePan and Julie Dickson.

Nick and Julie demonstrated their “will to act” by raising capital standards above the international norms, and by strengthening the hands-on supervisory approach that had been launched by their predecessors.

These, too, were not among OSFI’s more popular initiatives at the time, but they proved their worth during the crisis.

I mention this chapter in OSFI’s history to highlight another feature of our organization: OSFI’s resistance to complacency and its resolve to learn and improve. 

We were fortunate to have had Julie Dickson as Superintendent throughout the crisis period, and for the years following. She might have been expected to think that OSFI’s success during the Global Financial Crisis showed that our regime was already up to the task and needed no further improvement. Instead, she and her colleagues saw the crisis for what it was: a wake-up call that more needed to be done to make the Canadian financial system resilient.

Rather than being complacent, OSFI increased the quantity and quality of capital that institutions were required to have, strengthened liquidity requirements, and developed new or revised guidance in key areas, including corporate governance, regulatory compliance and operational risk, to name but a few.

The road ahead

Each of the four chapters in OSFI’s history that I have spoken about today provides a lesson from the past that OSFI must apply to the future.

The events that led to the creation of OSFI highlighted the need for the “will to act”. You can see this in our current approach to mortgage underwriting standards.

We clearly see the potential risks caused by high household indebtedness across Canada, and by high real estate prices in some markets. We are not waiting to see those risks crystalize in rising arrears and defaults before we act.

Rather, we are adapting our standards to new developments, as set out in our 2016 letter to the industry about mortgage underwriting, and our recently proposed changes to the Residential Mortgage Underwriting guideline, commonly known as B-20. 

To implement our balanced mandate, we need to ensure that the expectations that we set for financial institutions are principles-based and scaled to the size and complexity of the institutions we supervise, wherever possible.

Later this year, we will showcase an example of our commitment to this practice through our revised approach to ensuring the effectiveness of board oversight of financial institutions.

Our policy of protecting confidential information is firmly established and well entrenched in legislation; we will maintain that discipline so as to maximize our effectiveness.

And finally, we will continue to combat complacency by maintaining our commitment to continuous improvement. For example, we recently completed major overhauls of our capital requirements for life insurers and mortgage insurers to take advantage of new data and new risk modelling techniques.

We will soon move forward with improvements to our bank capital regime, whether or not the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision can come to a new agreement. 

Conclusion

All of my predecessors have banged the drum against complacency, and with good cause.

The future will be very different than the world of today, and no one knows how the next crisis will emerge.

Parliament has charged us with a well-designed mandate, and OSFI has built an enviable record of fulfilling that responsibility.

By remaining focused on that mandate, by having the will to act, by staying disciplined about confidentiality, and by constantly learning and improving, I believe that OSFI will continue to build a record of success well into the future.

Thank you. I would be happy to answer your questions.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Estey, Willard Z. Report of the inquiry into the collapse of the CCB and Northland Bank, Ottawa, Canada: Minister of Supply and Services Canada, 1986

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

MacIntosh, Robert. Different Drummers: Banking &Politics in Canada. Toronto, Canada: Macmillan Canada, 1991

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. 18 (3rd Supp.), Part I)
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/O-2.7/FullText.html

Return to footnote 3

BSIF : Tirer des leçons des trente dernières années pour façonner l’avenir — Communication de Jeremy Rudin, surintendant, à l’Economic Club of Canada, Toronto (Ontario), le 3 octobre 2017

Extrait

Le Parlement nous a confié un mandat bien conçu, et le BSIF s’est forgé une réputation fort enviable en réussissant à endosser cette responsabilité.

En maintenant le cap sur ce mandat, en ayant la volonté d’agir, en demeurant rigoureux au sujet de la confidentialité et en cherchant à se perfectionner sans cesse, le BSIF demeurera une organisation d’excellence à l’avenir.

Introduction

Je remercie encore une fois l’Economic Club of Canada de me donner l’occasion de m’adresser à la collectivité des services financiers.

Il y a trois ans, j’ai prononcé ma première allocution à titre de surintendant à cette même tribune. À ce moment, j’étais en poste depuis à peine trois mois.

Aujourd’hui, je me présente devant vous comme un surintendant plus chevronné et, j’ose espérer, plus sage.

Évoquer notre passé

Le secteur des services financiers joue un rôle essentiel à l’échelle nationale. Les institutions financières représentent le moteur de notre économie et contribuent donc à notre prospérité collective.

Lorsque nos institutions financières sont efficientes, concurrentielles et en bonne santé, nous en profitons tous.

Une réglementation et une surveillance dynamiques et expertes des institutions financières constituent des éléments essentiels pour mettre à profit ces avantages pour tous les Canadiens.

C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied le BSIF en 1987.

Le BSIF célèbre son trentième anniversaire cette année; le moment est donc très bien choisi pour jeter un regard sur le passé et déterminer notre position pour l’avenir.

Aujourd’hui, je dresserai un tableau historique très sélectif des trente premières années du BSIF.

Je vous décrirai ce que j’estime être les quatre chapitres les plus importants de l’histoire du BSIF jusqu’à maintenant, en soulignant la façon dont chacun a influé de façon positive sur le travail du BSIF par le passé et sur la façon dont il s’acquittera des tâches qui l’attendent à l’avenir.

Voici donc ces chapitres :

  1. Notre démarche active en matière de réglementation et de surveillance, qui découle des événements ayant mené à la création du BSIF en 1987;
  2. Notre mandat équilibré, qui nous a été confié au milieu des années 1990;
  3. Notre approche rigoureuse au chapitre de l’information confidentielle, qui a reçu un renforcement crucial au début des années 2000;
  4. Notre lutte constante contre la complaisance, bien illustrée par notre réaction à la crise financière mondiale de 2008.

Les origines du BSIF

Vu sa jeune trentaine, le BSIF est un membre relativement nouveau sur la scène des services financiers canadiens. En guise de comparaison, les origines de la plupart des plus grandes institutions financières du Canada sont antérieures à la confédération.

Ce n’est qu’en 1875 que le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied le Département des Assurances, et c’est près de cinquante ans plus tard, en 1924, que le Bureau de l’inspecteur général des banques a été créé.

Tout comme le surintendant des assurances, l’inspecteur général des banques jouait un rôle qui se limitait essentiellement à l’examen des états financiers des institutions. En 1977, le Bureau de l’inspecteur général des banques ne comptait que sept employés.

Comme vous le savez, cela n’a pas duré.

Deux événements qui se sont produits au milieu des années 1980 ont donné lieu à la création du BSIF.

Le premier fut l’intensification de la concurrence au sein du secteur des services financiers. La distance légendaire entre les « quatre piliers » du secteur (les banques, les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, les sociétés d’assurances et les courtiers en valeurs mobilières) rétrécissait, ce qui a exercé des pressions sur les obstacles réglementaires en place.

Le second fut la faillite de deux banques de l’Ouest canadien : la Banque Commerciale du Canada et la Norbanque. Même si ces deux banques représentaient moins de 1 % de l’actif du secteur bancaire canadien, des questions importantes ont été soulevées au sujet des circonstances entourant leur faillite.

La situation a incité le gouvernement à créer une commission d’enquête sur les faillites présidée par l’honorable Willard Z. Estey.

À la fin de 1986, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de fusionner le Bureau de l’inspecteur général des banques et le Département des Assurances en une seule entité : le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Le BSIF a vu le jour le 2 juillet 1987.

La volonté d’agir

La création du BSIF était plus qu’un geste symbolique et plus qu’une simple fusion de deux entités distinctes. Il s’agissait d’établir une nouvelle démarche plus efficace en matière de réglementation et de surveillance.

Avant tout, il s’agissait de créer un organisme de réglementation et de surveillance qui aurait la caractéristique que le juge Estey prisait par-dessus tout : « la volonté d’agir. »Note de bas de page 1

Permettez-moi de vous donner un exemple.

Dans la foulée des chocs du prix du pétrole dans les années 1970, bon nombre des grandes banques mondiales ont créé un nouveau secteur d’activité : l’acceptation des dépôts des producteurs de pétrole riches en liquidités et la conversion de ces dépôts en prêts à des « pays en développement ».

Attirées par la rentabilité initiale de cette activité, de nombreuses banques ont fermé les yeux sur leur exposition élevée à un petit groupe d’emprunteurs, et sur la sécurité très limitée qu’elles exerçaient sur les prêts aux pays souverains. Lorsque le BSIF a été mis sur pied en 1987, les prêts importants que de nombreuses banques canadiennes et étrangères avaient consentis aux pays d’Amérique latine avaient déjà commencé à se dégrader.

Dans les deux mois suivant son entrée en fonction, Michael McKenzie, le premier surintendant, a demandé aux banques canadiennes d’augmenter fermement leurs provisions sur ces prêts à des niveaux très conservateurs. Il a aussi obligé les banques à puiser immédiatement ces provisions dans leurs revenus plutôt que d’en répartir la charge sur cinq ans, comme c’était le cas auparavant.

Peu de temps après, il a ordonné aux grandes banques canadiennes de dépasser les nouvelles normes internationales au titre de la qualité des fonds propres qu’elles devaient détenir.

Il s’agissait de décisions audacieuses et impopulaires dans le secteur bancaire.

Dans ce qui deviendrait un scénario familier, le BSIF a été critiqué parce qu’il était trop prudent.

Mais en rétrospective, même l’ancien chef de l’Association des banquiers canadiens, Robert MacIntosh, a admis ce point. Il a écrit [traduction] « L’histoire prouve que Mackenzie avait raison ». En appliquant une politique rigoureuse, il a obligé les banques canadiennes à prendre des mesures draconiennes pour raffermir leur bilan. »Note de bas de page 2

Trente ans plus tard, cette démarche proactive (c’est-à-dire « la volonté d’agir ») demeure l’une des clés de notre réussite.

Un mandat équilibré

Passons maintenant au milieu des années 1990, le deuxième chapitre de notre histoire, moment où le BSIF a reçu son mandat équilibré.

Le deuxième surintendant des institutions financières, John Palmer a pris la relève de la direction de l’organisation lorsque la grave récession du début des années 1990 a laissé son empreinte sur le système financier canadien.

Dans sa première allocution à titre de surintendant, M. Palmer a déclaré que plus d’une centaine d’institutions financières fédérales avaient interrompu leurs activités sous le régime de surveillance appliqué par le BSIF. La plupart d’entre elles ont rendu les armes en douceur, par fusion ou liquidation, en imposant au pire des pertes minimes aux déposants, aux souscripteurs ou aux autres créanciers.

Mais pas toutes.

Remontons par exemple en 1994 alors que survenait la plus importante faillite d’une institution financière dans l’histoire du Canada, soit la débâcle de La Confédération, Compagnie d’Assurance-Vie. 

Cette expérience — ajoutée aux autres faillites et quasi-faillites — a incité le gouvernement de l’époque à examiner le mandat qui devrait être confié au BSIF.

La loi du moment avait déjà chargé le BSIF de réglementer et de surveiller les institutions financières, mais elle était très discrète quant aux buts et objectifs qui devraient guider le BSIF dans l’exécution de ces tâches.

Les modifications apportées à la Loi sur le BSIF en 1995 ont permis d’enchâsser un mandat clair comportant deux éléments principaux.

Premièrement, le BSIF a le mandat de réglementer et de surveiller les institutions financières afin de protéger les intérêts des déposants, des souscripteurs et des autres créanciers.

Deuxièmement et simultanément, le BSIF doit se rappeler qu’il est important de permettre aux institutions financières d’exercer une concurrence efficace et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

La Loi sur le BSIF indique très clairement qu’il n’est pas simplement suggéré que le BSIF garantisse l’équilibre entre ces deux éléments de son mandat. C’est une obligation.

La Loi précise que « …la réglementation et la supervision […] doivent s’effectuer… »Note de bas de page 3 en tenant compte du fait que la prestation de services financiers comporte des risques et que ceux-ci peuvent entraîner des faillites.

En même temps, le Parlement a confié deux rôles au BSIF.

Le premier vise à réduire la probabilité de faillite des institutions financières, c’est-à-dire le rôle auquel nous consacrons la majeure partie de notre temps.

Le deuxième consiste à se préparer à intervenir rapidement pour réduire au minimum l’incidence des faillites sur les déposants et les autres créanciers lorsque la faillite devient inévitable.

Cela signifie que l’absence de faillite témoigne de l’efficacité de notre travail, pourvu que nous ayons promu efficacement la sûreté et la stabilité des institutions. Cela signifie également que dans le cas d’une faillite, nous nous acquittons de notre mandat pourvu que nous intervenions rapidement pour éviter une détérioration accrue de la situation des déposants, souscripteurs et autres créanciers.

La clause de confidentialité

Permettez-moi maintenant de vous entretenir brièvement de la confidentialité, car il s’agit de la pierre angulaire de notre travail et d’un élément clé de notre efficacité.

Dès le départ, le BSIF a été investi de vasts pouvoirs pour obliger les institutions financières à lui fournir de l’information. Et, en vertu de la Loi sur le BSIF, nous sommes tenus de préserver la confidentialité de cette information.

Cela m’amène au troisième chapitre de notre histoire que je soulignerai aujourd’hui — le renforcement essentiel de l’approche du BSIF à l’égard des renseignements confidentiels au moyen des lois et règlements.

En 2000, à la fin du mandat de John Palmer à titre de surintendant, un nouveau défi s’est posé.

Le Bureau avait récemment mis en place un nouveau mécanisme de cotation du risque pour les institutions financières. Pour tirer le maximum de ce système, M. Palmer voulait être en mesure de communiquer la cote de risque de chaque institution à l’institution elle-même. Mais avant tout, il voulait s’assurer que les cotes demeurent confidentielles.

Ce qu’il justifiait par deux raisons principales.

Tout d’abord, l’exercice nous permettrait d’assujettir une institution en difficulté à nos stades d’intervention — processus visant à accroître la solidité d’une institution — sans avoir l’effet pervers de miner la confiance du public dans l’institution et de la déstabiliser.

Puis, cette confidentialité inciterait les institutions à nous faire part de leurs problèmes, sachant que si ces problèmes nous ont amenés à atténuer notre opinion au sujet de l’institution, cette opinion ne serait pas divulguée.

Heureusement, le gouvernement de l’époque a accepté ces arguments et il a adopté des règlements qui protégeaient la confidentialité des renseignements sur la surveillance.

À mon avis, les deux avantages promis par cette approche en matière de confidentialité ont été obtenus au Canada.

En respect des exigences établies par la loi, nous avons depuis longtemps pour politique de ne pas commenter la situation d’une institution financière en particulier, même lorsque ces renseignements ne contreviendraient pas aux dispositions de la loi portant sur la confidentialité.

Pourquoi maintenir une approche aussi rigoureuse?

Nous agissons ainsi parce que tout commentaire que nous pourrions émettre sur une institution en particulier serait immédiatement analysé pour déterminer ce qu’il pourrait révéler.

Tous nos propos seraient scrutés pour tenter de déceler une indication au sujet des renseignements confidentiels que nous possédons : ce que nous avons choisi de dire ou de ne pas dire, en quoi nos propos diffèrent de ce que nous avions dit au sujet des autres institutions, comment ils s’opposent à ce que nous avions dit au sujet de la même institution, et ainsi de suite.

Vous n’entendrez donc pas de commentaires du BSIF sur des institutions en particulier.

J’espère que vous conserverez cela à l’esprit lorsque vous remarquerez notre réticence à parler de ce que nous savons ou de ce que nous faisons.

Parallèlement, nous sommes d’ardents défenseurs de la divulgation de renseignements sur les institutions financières par les institutions financières elles-mêmes. Toutes les institutions surveillées par le BSIF, même les institutions privées, sont assujetties à des exigences de divulgation adaptées à leur nature et à leur taille.

De plus, le fait que nos banques d’importance systémique intérieure comptent parmi les chefs de file mondiaux de la divulgation est en partie attribuable à notre vif encouragement.

La crise financière mondiale

Aucun survol de l’histoire du BSIF, aussi bref soit-il, ne serait complet s’il n’incluait pas la crise financière mondiale de 2008 — le quatrième chapitre de notre histoire sélective.

Comme nous le savons, nos banques et nos assureurs ont fait preuve d’une résilience remarquable qui a attiré l’attention internationale sur le système canadien de réglementation et de surveillance des institutions financières.]

De nombreux articles ont été rédigés sur le rendement du secteur financier canadien pendant la crise. Tous ces articles citent, comme facteur fondamental, l’approche proactive adoptée par les troisième et quatrième surintendants, Nick LePan et Julie Dickson.

M. LePan et Mme Dickson ont démontré leur « volonté d’agir » en relevant les normes de fonds propres au-delà des normes internationales et en renforçant l’approche de surveillance pratique qu’avaient mise en place leurs prédécesseurs.

Ces initiatives ne comptaient pas non plus parmi les plus populaires du BSIF à l’époque, mais elles ont prouvé leur valeur pendant la crise.

Je souligne ce chapitre de notre histoire en vue de mettre en relief un autre de nos attributs : la résistance du BSIF à la complaisance et sa détermination à apprendre et à s’améliorer.

Nous avons eu la chance de compter sur Mme Dickson comme surintendante pendant toute la crise et les années suivantes.

Nous aurions pu nous attendre à ce que Mme Dickson croie que le succès du BSIF au cours de la crise financière mondiale a démontré que notre régime était déjà à la hauteur et qu’il n’avait pas besoin d’être amélioré. Mais elle et ses collègues ont plutôt déterminé la vraie valeur de la crise : un coup de semonce qui invitait à faire davantage pour que le système financier canadien soit résilient.

Au lieu de faire preuve de complaisance, le BSIF a accru la quantité et la qualité des fonds propres que les institutions devaient posséder, il a renforcé les exigences de liquidité et il a élaboré des consignes nouvelles ou en a modifié d’autres dans des domaines principaux, notamment la gouvernance d’entreprise, la conformité réglementaire et le risque opérationnel, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

La suite

Chacun des quatre chapitres de l’histoire du BSIF dont j’ai parlé aujourd’hui fournit une leçon du passé que le BSIF doit appliquer à l’avenir.

Les événements qui ont mené à la création du BSIF ont souligné une « volonté d’agir ».

Vous pouvez le constater dans l’approche que nous adoptons en matière de normes de souscription des prêts hypothécaires.

Nous voyons clairement les risques potentiels découlant de l’endettement élevé des ménages à l’échelle du Canada et des prix immobiliers élevés dans certains marchés. Nous n’attendons pas que ces risques se concrétisent en une hausse des arriérés et des défauts avant de prendre des mesures.

Nous adaptons plutôt nos normes à des situations nouvelles, comme l’indique notre lettre de 2016 à l’intention du secteur au sujet de la souscription des prêts hypothécaires, et les changements récemment proposés à la ligne directrice sur la souscription des prêts hypothécaires résidentiels, B-20.

Pour mettre en œuvre notre mandat équilibré, nous devons veiller à ce que les attentes que nous avons établies pour les institutions financières reposent sur des principes et qu’elles soient adaptées à la taille et à la complexité des institutions que nous surveillons, dans la mesure du possible.

Plus tard cette année, nous présenterons un exemple de notre engagement envers cette pratique au moyen de notre approche révisée pour garantir l’efficacité de la surveillance exercée par le conseil d’administration des institutions financières.

Notre politique de protection de l’information confidentielle est solidement établie et bien enchâssée dans la loi; nous maintiendrons cette discipline afin de maximiser notre efficacité.

Enfin, nous continuerons à lutter contre la complaisance en maintenant notre engagement à l’égard de l’amélioration continue. Par exemple, nous avons récemment remanié en profondeur nos exigences de capital des assureurs-vie et des assureurs hypothécaires afin de tirer parti des nouvelles données et des nouvelles techniques de modélisation du risque.

Bientôt, nous améliorerons notre régime de fond propres des banques, que le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire conclue ou non une nouvelle entente.

Conclusion

Tous mes prédécesseurs n’ont cessé, à juste titre, de prôner la lutte contre la complaisance.

L’avenir sera très différent du monde d’aujourd’hui, et nul ne sait ce qui amènera la prochaine crise.

Le Parlement nous a confié un mandat bien conçu, et le BSIF s’est forgé une réputation fort enviable en réussissant à endosser cette responsabilité.

En maintenant le cap sur ce mandat, en ayant la volonté d’agir, en demeurant rigoureux au sujet de la confidentialité et en cherchant à se perfectionner sans cesse, le BSIF demeurera une organisation d’excellence à l’avenir.

Je vous remercie. C'est avec plaisir que je répondrai maintenant à vos questions.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Estey, Willard Z. Report of the inquiry into the collapse of the CCB and Northland Bank, Ottawa, Canada : Ministre des Approvisionnement et services Canada, 1986

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

MacIntosh, Robert. Different Drummers: Banking & Politics in Canada. Toronto, Canada : Macmillan Canada, 1991

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Loi sur le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (L.R.C. (1985), ch. 18 (3e supp.), partie I)
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/O-2.7/TexteComplet.html

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3