Covered Bonds in Canada – OSFI’s role in supporting the integrity of the framework — Remarks by Superintendent Jeremy Rudin to the European Covered Bond Council, Vancouver, British Columbia, April 18, 2018

Quote

In order to ensure that the financial stability benefits of covered bonds are not dissipated by excessive issuance, OSFI has applied a cap on issuance of four per cent of a bank's total assets.

We are now taking a hard look at this limit and we are doing so in the context of our expectations on the banks’ overall management of asset encumbrance.

Any revisions that we might make to our approach must encourage banks to maintain enough unencumbered, high-quality assets when times are good to be able to meet both higher collateral requirements, and broader funding needs, if times turn sour.

Introduction

Good morning.

I know that many of you in this room have travelled a long way to be here today. I would like to welcome you to the beautiful city of Vancouver, a place where I spent some happy years at the beginning of my career.

My thanks also go to the European Covered Bond Council for inviting me here to share a regulator’s perspective on the issuance of covered bonds. As Canada’s prudential financial regulator, our mandate is to protect the interests of the banks’ depositors and other creditors, while allowing banks to compete effectively and take reasonable risks.

One way that we at the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, or OSFI, fulfil this mandate is to ensure that the banking system is operating on a stable footing, and can remain resilient in times of stress.

Today, I am going to look at the Canadian covered bond market through that lens.

Covered bonds in Canada — their contribution to financial stability

The global financial crisis taught us many lessons, one of them was the importance for banks to have a wide range of funding sources so that they can remain viable in times of stress.

Covered bonds are debt securities issued by a financial institution that are collateralized against a pool of assets designed to cover claims should an issuer fail.

As opposed to asset-backed securities that are created in a securitization and are no longer ‘on the books’, covered bonds continue as obligations of the issuer.

This means the investor has recourse against both the issuer and the pool of cover asset, often known as ‘dual recourse’.

Issuing covered bonds can significantly diversify a bank’s sources of funding, as these instruments differ from both bank senior debt and securitized assets in ways that can be quite important to investors.

The fact that covered bonds offer dual recourse makes them attractive to investors seeking triple-A rated assets, an investor base that few banks can reach with senior debt.

Moreover, Canada has recently put into place a Bank Recapitalization Regime, more commonly known as ‘bail-in’, that provides authorities with a tool that can quickly convert a failing systemically important bank’s senior unsecured debt into common shares.

Under the new bail-in regulations, pubished earlier today by the Department of Finance, an increasing amount of senior debt issued by Canada’s largest banks will be subject to bail-in, further highlighting the differences between covered bonds and senior debt.

While securitized assets are not subject to bail-in, they still differ from covered bonds in significant ways. Covered bonds not only offer dual recourse, they also avoid the incentive problems that can arise when banks originate assets in order to sell them on to investors.

All of this means that covered bond issuance can help diversify a bank’s funding sources, making the bank more resilient in times of stress.

The significance of a legislative framework

Canadian banks only began issuing covered bonds in 2007, and in a short period they have become a valuable funding source for lenders. Since issuing the first Canadian covered bond, total issuance has exceeded $200 billion and the level of outstanding debt has been steadily increasing.

Initially, Canadian covered bond issuance was undertaken using a contractual framework. In the aftermath of the global financial crisis, the Government of Canada determined that a legislative framework would be superior to the contractual approach.

Providing a legislative framework would further diversify the investor pool as some investors choose, or are required to hold only those covered bonds issued under a legislative regime. Moreover, there was a risk that relying on an untested contractual approach would make it less likely that funding would be available when most needed, in times of stress.

The Canadian legal framework increased resilience by providing statutory protection for investors, enhancing disclosure requirements, and prescribing both eligible issuers and cover pool collateral. Under this framework, the national housing agency, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, takes the lead role in administering the framework and maintaining a covered bond registry.

So, where does OSFI fit in? We at OSFI support the integrity of the covered bond framework in three ways:

  1. As I noted earlier, a major part of our mandate is to protect the interests of depositors and other creditors to banks, so we keep a close eye on the safety and soundness of the banks that issue Canadian covered bonds.
  2. We set a limit for issuance of covered bonds by each bank to ensure that the financial stability benefits of covered bonds are not dissipated by excessive issuance.
  3. We play a role in ensuring the soundness of the cover assets themselves.

I will take a few moments to elaborate on each of these three elements.

Supervision of covered bond issuers

The first element is the broad supervision of the issuers.

This is important because, as you know, the first recourse of the holder of a covered bond is to the issuing institution.

Currently, there are seven covered bond issuers in Canada. Six of these are our largest banks, the Domestic Systemically Important Banks, or D-SIBs, all of which are subject to OSFI supervision. 

The seventh issuer is the Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec, which is the largest deposit-taking cooperative in Canada, supervised by Québec’s regulator, the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF). Like the issuing banks, this cooperative has been designated as a systemically important financial institution by the AMF.

These issuers are subject to more intense supervisory scrutiny, higher capital requirements, stricter recovery and resolution planning requirements, and enhanced disclosure requirements.

The standards we set for our respective issuers are comparable enough to create a level playing field. 

A prudential limit for issuance of covered bonds

Let us turn now to the second element — the prudential limit on the amount of covered bonds each bank can issue.

We have already discussed how covered bonds can contribute to financial stability; but this benefit can be undermined if the issuer sells too many covered bonds.

Consider, for example, what would happen during a significant economic downturn. The issuer could be obliged to replenish the collateral needed to support its existing covered bonds, diminishing the unencumbered assets ultimately backing the obligations to unsecured creditors.

Taken to an extreme, this could impede the issuer’s ability to roll over its unsecured debt, further aggravating the stresses on the institution.

In order to ensure that the financial stability benefits of covered bonds are not dissipated by excessive issuance, OSFI has applied a cap on issuance of four per cent of a bank’s total assets.

We are now taking a hard look at this limit and we are doing so in the context of our expectations on the banks’ overall management of asset encumbrance.

Any revisions that we might make to our approach must encourage banks to maintain enough unencumbered, high-quality assets when times are good to be able to meet both higher collateral requirements, and broader funding needs, if times turn sour.

Details on our thinking and proposed changes to our covered bond limit will emerge later this year when we begin a public consultation process, as we do whenever we revise our guidance.

The collateral — OSFI keeps a close eye on residential mortgage loans

This brings me to the third element — the cover pool assets and our role in supervising the underwriting standards used by issuing banks. 

The eligible collateral for Canadian covered bonds is restricted to residential mortgage loans that are not insured against default. These are mortgages for homes on which the borrower has made a down payment of at least 20 per cent.

Residential mortgage lending represents a material portion of the activities at many federally regulated lenders. This importance is reflected in the fact that residential mortgage loans are the only credit products subject to specific OSFI guidance.

In 2012, we first released our dedicated mortgage underwriting guidance, known as Guideline B-20, which sets out clear principles for lenders to follow when underwriting residential mortgage loans. The baseline principles in B-20 emphasize the need for clear underwriting policies, a rigorous assessment of a borrower’s income and capacity to repay their mortgage loan, and a thorough valuation of the underlying property.

Recently, we saw a need to reinforce our expectations and adapt our standards to new developments and risks arising in the marketplace. We were particularly focused on the vulnerabilities stemming from historically high house prices, historically low mortgage rates, and the attendant risk of lender complacency when times are good.

We have strengthened our mortgage underwriting guideline and intensified our supervisory scrutiny in this area.

We are looking for clear evidence that lenders are:

  • taking necessary steps to validate that borrowers can meet their debt obligations through a range of economic conditions, including higher interest rates;
  • ensuring borrowers have a cushion to absorb changes to their cash flow;
  • relying less on collateral values in the underwriting process and more on borrower income in markets where housing prices have risen rapidly or where prices are high relative to incomes; and
  • holding more capital for mortgages to borrowers who have higher risk characteristics.

Some of the changes we recently introduced through our guidance apply only in markets where housing prices are elevated, while others apply nationwide.

For example, to target regions where housing prices are elevated, OSFI introduced additional capital requirements for loans made against properties in those regions.

However, our more rigorous requirements for income verification apply equally across the country.

Why? Because borrowers who cannot repay their mortgages pose the same risk to their lender when their property is in a market where prices are stable as it does in a market where prices are rising.

Similarly, our requirement that debt service limits be applied using a “stressed” interest rate applies nationwide. Because when interest rates rise, they will rise exactly the same amount from coast to coast to coast. Borrowers in the town of Val d’Or, Québec will be affected by rising interest rates just as much as borrowers in the city of Vancouver, British Columbia.

Conclusion

Let me recap. We at OSFI see the contribution that covered bonds can make to the overall stability of the banking system.

We will continue to support the integrity of the Canadian covered bonds framework by:

  • keeping a close eye on the safety and soundness of the banks that issue covered bonds in Canada;
  • ensuring that a prudential limit for issuance of covered bonds prevents excessive issuance and so safeguards the resiliency of banks in times of stress; and
  • ensuring the soundness of cover assets through the close supervisory scrutiny of mortgage underwriting standards in Canada.

The record of stability at Canadian banks has been a source of pride for the financial industry and Canadians more generally.

We at OSFI will continue to work hard to ensure that Canadians can have confidence in their financial system.  

Thank you for your time and I look forward to your questions.

Obligations sécurisées au Canada : le rôle du BSIF à l’appui de l’intégrité du cadre — Communication de Jeremy Rudin, surintendant, au conseil européen des obligations sécurisées*, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, le 18 avril 2018

Extrait

Pour éviter que les avantages sur le plan de la stabilité financière des obligations sécurisées ne soient dilués par une émission excessive, le BSIF a imposé un plafond qui correspond à 4 % des actifs totaux de la banque.

Nous examinons maintenant cette limite en fonction de nos attentes relatives à la gestion générale des actifs grevés par les banques.

Si nous révisions notre approche, ce serait pour inciter les banques à conserver suffisamment d’actifs de haute qualité en période de prospérité afin d’être en mesure de satisfaire à des exigences accrues en ce qui touche les biens donnés en nantissement et de répondre à des besoins plus élevés en capitaux si les marchés tournaient mal.

Introduction

Bonjour.

Je sais que plusieurs d’entre vous ont parcouru une grande distance pour être des nôtres aujourd’hui. J’aimerais donc vous souhaiter personnellement la bienvenue dans la magnifique ville de Vancouver, où j’ai passé de belles années au début de ma carrière.

En tant que spécialistes des obligations sécurisées, je suis certain que vous vous sentez en terrain connu ici à Vancouver … après tout au moins la moitié des conversations entourant Vancouver ont trait à l’immobilier.

Je tiens aussi à remercier le conseil européen des obligations sécurisées de m’avoir invité à exposer le point de vue d’une instance de réglementation concernant l’émission d’obligations sécurisées.

À titre d’organisme de réglementation prudentielle du secteur bancaire canadien, il nous incombe de protéger les intérêts des déposants et autres créanciers des institutions bancaires en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour celles-ci, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Un des objectifs que le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières, ou BSIF, s’est donné pour remplir cette mission consiste à veiller à ce que le système bancaire puisse prendre appui sur des bases solides et soit en mesure de surmonter les périodes de crise.  

Aujourd’hui, c’est sous cet angle que j’aborderai le dossier du marché des obligations sécurisées.

Les obligations sécurisées au Canada et leur contribution à la stabilité financière

Nous avons tiré de nombreuses leçons de la crise financière mondiale, l’une d’entre elles étant l’importance pour les banques de pouvoir compter sur un éventail de sources de financement pour assurer leur viabilité en période de crise.

Les obligations sécurisées sont des titres de créance émis par une institution financière qui sont garantis par un panier d’actifs afin de couvrir les obligations advenant sa faillite.

Contrairement aux titres adossés à des actifs qui sont créés dans le cadre d’une titrisation et qui ne figurent pas au bilan, les obligations sécurisées demeurent des obligations de l’émetteur.

Cela signifie qu’un investisseur a un recours à l’égard de l’émetteur ainsi qu’à l’égard du panier d’actifs sécurisés. Il a donc ce qu’on appelle un double recours.

En émettant des obligations sécurisées, la banque diversifie grandement ses sources de financement étant donné que ce type d’obligation diffère des créances prioritaires et des actifs titrisés de façons qui peuvent revêtir beaucoup d’importance aux yeux des investisseurs.

Les investisseurs à la recherche d’actifs triple A sont fort intéressés par les obligations sécurisées étant donné le double recours qu’elles offrent. C’est un bassin d’investisseurs qui peut être difficile à attirer avec des créances prioritaires.

De même, l’administration fédérale a récemment mis sur pied un régime de recapitalisation interne des banques, qui la dotera d’un outil permettant de convertir rapidement en actions ordinaires les créances prioritaires non garanties d’une banque en faillite.

Ce nouveau régime, qui vient d’être publié par le ministère des Finances aujourd’hui même, assujettira un plus grand nombre de créances prioritaires émises par les grandes banques canadiennes à la recapitalisation interne, faisant d’autant plus ressortir les différences entre les obligations sécurisées et les créances prioritaires.

Bien que les actifs titrisés ne soient pas assujettis au régime de recapitalisation interne, ils diffèrent tout de même considérablement des obligations sécurisées. D’abord, comme je l’ai dit, les obligations sécurisées offrent un double recours, mais elles permettent également d’éviter les problèmes des incitatifs qui peuvent survenir lorsque les banques émettent des actifs en vue de les vendre à des investisseurs.

Tous ces facteurs conjugués font de l’émission d’obligations sécurisées une façon pour les banques de diversifier leurs sources de financement, les aidant à conserver leur résilience en période de crise.

L’importance de l’établissement d’un cadre législatif

Les banques canadiennes ont commencé à émettre des obligations sécurisées en 2007, mais même en ce cours laps de temps, les obligations sécurisées sont devenues une source précieuse de financement pour les prêteurs canadiens. Depuis la première émission d’une obligation sécurisée, les prêteurs en ont émis pour 200 milliards de dollars et l’encours de la dette continue de grimper.

Au départ, l’émission d’obligations sécurisées au Canada était régie par un cadre contractuel. Puis, dans la foulée de la crise financière mondiale, le gouvernement du Canada s’est rendu compte qu’un cadre législatif serait préférable à une approche contractuelle.

L’établissement d’un cadre législatif diversifierait encore davantage le bassin d’investisseurs étant donné que certains d’entre eux choisissent, ou même sont tenus, de ne détenir que des obligations sécurisées émises dans le cadre d’un régime législatif. De surcroît, le fait de s’en remettre à une approche contractuelle qui n’a pas été éprouvée pouvait réduire la probabilité que le financement puisse être remis en temps dans les moments de grand besoin, soit en période de crise.

Le cadre juridique canadien accroît la résilience en offrant une protection légale aux investisseurs, en imposant des exigences accrues de divulgation et en définissant les critères d’admissibilité des émetteurs et ce qu’est un panier de sûretés. Aux termes de ce cadre, il incombe à l’organisme national responsable du logement, la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, d’en assurer l’application et de tenir un registre des obligations sécurisées.

Alors, quel est le rôle du BSIF, demanderez-vous. Le BSIF contribue à préserver l’intégrité du cadre régissant les obligations sécurisées de trois façons :

  1. Comme je l’ai mentionné plus tôt, une grande partie de notre mandat consiste à protéger les intérêts des déposants et autres créanciers des banques. Pour ce faire, nous accordons beaucoup d’intérêt à la sécurité et à la stabilité des banques émettrices d’obligations sécurisées au Canada.
  2. Nous fixons un plafond quant au volume d’obligations sécurisées qu’une banque peut émettre pour veiller à ce que les avantages sur le plan de la stabilité financière des obligations sécurisées ne soient pas dissipés par une émission excessive.
  3. Nous apportons notre concours pour veiller à la stabilité des actifs du panier de sûretés en tant que tel.

J’aborderai maintenant chacun de ces trois volets plus en détail.

Surveillance des émetteurs d’obligations sécurisées

J’ai d’abord parlé de la surveillance générale des émetteurs.

Ce volet est important parce que, comme vous le savez, le premier recours du détenteur d’une obligation sécurisée est à l’égard de l’émetteur.

Présentement, le Canada compte sept institutions émettrices d’obligations sécurisées et six d’entre elles figurent parmi les grandes banques canadiennes que nous appelons des banques d’importance systémique intérieure, aussi BISi, et qui sont toutes assujetties à la surveillance du BSIF.

La septième institution émettrice est la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec – la plus grande coopérative financière de dépôt au Canada – et elle est assujettie à la surveillance de notre homologue québécois, l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF). À l’instar des banques émettrices, la Fédération a été désignée institution financière d’importance systémique intérieure par son organisme de réglementation.

Ces émetteurs font l’objet d’une surveillance plus serrée et doivent respecter des normes de fonds propres plus rigoureuses, des exigences en matière de planification des mesures de redressement et de résolution plus contraignantes et des exigences accrues de divulgation.

Les normes que chacune des instances de réglementation fixent et auxquelles doivent souscrire les émetteurs relevant de leur compétence sont suffisamment semblables pour créer un marché où les institutions peuvent se faire concurrence.

Une limite prudentielle à l’émission d’obligations sécurisées

Penchons-nous maintenant sur le deuxième élément : la limite prudentielle du montant d’obligations sécurisées que peut émettre une banque.

Nous avons déjà parlé des façons dont les obligations sécurisées peuvent contribuer à la stabilité financière, mais cet avantage peut aussi être miné si une institution émet un trop grand nombre d’obligations sécurisées.

Pensons, par exemple, à ce qui arriverait advenant un ralentissement économique. L’institution émettrice devrait renflouer la réserve de sûretés auxquelles sont adossées les obligations sécurisées qu’elle a émises, réduisant ainsi les actifs non grevés adossant ces obligations envers des créanciers non garantis.

Portée à l’extrême, cette situation pourrait empêcher l’émetteur de reconduire ses créances non garanties, exacerbant les pressions auxquelles fait face l’institution.

Pour éviter que les avantages sur le plan de la stabilité financière des obligations sécurisées ne soient dilués par une émission excessive, le BSIF a imposé un plafond qui correspond à 4 % des actifs totaux de la banque.

Nous procédons présentement à l’examen de cette limite en fonction de nos attentes relatives à la gestion générale des actifs grevés par les banques.

Si nous révisions notre approche, ce serait pour inciter les banques à conserver suffisamment d’actifs de haute qualité en période de prospérité afin d’être en mesure de satisfaire à des exigences accrues en ce qui touche les biens donnés en nantissement et de répondre à des besoins plus élevés en capitaux si les marchés tournaient mal.

Nous exposerons notre démarche et les changements que nous proposons d’apporter aux limites visant l’émission d’obligations sécurisées plus tard cette année, lorsque nous entamerons un processus de consultation publique, comme nous le faisons chaque fois que nous révisons nos consignes.

Les sûretés : le BSIF surveille de près le marché des prêts hypothécaires résidentiels

Cela m’amène maintenant à parler du troisième volet : les actifs du panier de sûretés et notre rôle à titre de surveillant des normes de souscription qu’appliquent les banques émettrices. 

Les sûretés admissibles pour garantir des obligations sécurisées canadiennes se limitent aux prêts hypothécaires résidentiels qui ne sont pas garantis en cas de défaut — ce qui correspond aux prêts hypothécaires résidentiels accordés aux emprunteurs qui ont versé une mise de fonds d’au moins 20 %.

Les prêts hypothécaires résidentiels sont le principal volet d’activité de nombreux prêteurs fédéraux. L’importance de cet axe d’affaires se traduit par le fait que ce type de prêts est le seul produit de crédit assujetti à des consignes du BSIF propres à ce secteur.

En 2012, nous avons publié un document d’orientation portant exclusivement sur la souscription de prêts hypothécaires, notre ligne directrice B-20, dans laquelle nous exposons des principes clairs auxquels doivent adhérer les prêteurs souscrivant des prêts hypothécaires résidentiels. Les principes fondamentaux de la ligne directrice B-20 insistent sur la clarté des politiques de souscription, la rigueur de l’évaluation du revenu et de la capacité de rembourser de l’emprunteur ainsi que la minutie de l’évaluation du bien immobilier auquel le prêt est adossé.

Dernièrement, nous avons perçu le besoin de resserrer nos attentes et d’adapter nos normes à l’évolution des marchés et aux nouveaux risques auxquels ils sont exposés. Nous avons surtout ciblé les vulnérabilités découlant du prix élevé de l’immobilier, de la faiblesse historique des taux hypothécaires et du risque de laisser-aller de la part des prêteurs quand les circonstances sont favorables.

Nous avons donc resserré les exigences de notre ligne directrice sur les normes de souscription de prêts hypothécaires et intensifié nos efforts de surveillance à cet égard.

Nous cherchons des preuves concluantes que les prêteurs souscrivent aux principes suivants :

  • prendre les mesures nécessaires pour confirmer que les emprunteurs peuvent s’acquitter de leur dette en ayant recours à diverses conditions économiques, dont la hausse des taux d’intérêt;
  • s’assurer que les emprunteurs ont un coussin financier pour atténuer les effets d’un changement dans leurs flux de trésorerie;
  • s’en remettre moins aux valeurs de nantissement dans le processus de souscription et davantage au revenu de l’emprunteur dans les régions où le prix de l’immobilier a grimpé rapidement ou encore là où les prix sont élevés en comparaison au revenu;
  • conserver davantage de fonds propres pour les emprunteurs qui présentent plus de caractéristiques de risque.

Certaines des révisions apportées récemment à nos consignes ne visent que les marchés où le prix de l’immobilier est élevé, alors que d’autres s’appliquent à l’échelle du pays.

Par exemple, pour agir dans les marchés où le prix de l’immobilier est élevé, le BSIF a imposé des normes accrues de fonds propres à l’égard des prêts adossés à des biens immobiliers se trouvant dans ces régions.

Certaines exigences s’appliquent plutôt à l’ensemble du pays, comme la vérification rigoureuse du revenu.

Pourquoi? Parce que les emprunteurs qui ne peuvent s’acquitter de leur dette posent le même risque au prêteur, que le bien immobilier se trouve dans un marché où les prix sont stables ou dans un marché haussier.

De la même façon, notre exigence voulant que les limites de couverture de la dette soient appliquées au moyen de taux d’intérêt simulés s’applique à l’échelle du pays parce qu’une hausse des taux d’intérêt est la même sur l’ensemble du territoire. Ainsi, l’emprunteur se trouve à Val‑d’Or, au Québec, serait affecté par une hausse des taux d’intérêt au même titre que l’emprunteur qui se trouve à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Conclusion

Bref, le BSIF reconnaît la contribution des obligations sécurisées à la stabilité générale du système bancaire.

Notre appui à l’intégrité du cadre des obligations sécurisées canadien s’effectue en trois temps :

  • surveiller de près la sûreté et la stabilité des banques émettrices d’obligations sécurisées;
  • veiller à ce qu’une limite prudentielle à l’égard de l’émission d’obligations sécurisées empêche l’émission excessive et ainsi contribuer à la résilience des banques en période de crise;
  • veiller à la stabilité des obligations sécurisées grâce à une surveillance étroite des normes de souscription de prêts hypothécaires au Canada.

La stabilité manifeste des banques canadiennes est depuis longtemps une source de fierté pour le secteur financier dans son ensemble et les Canadiens à l’échelle du pays.

Au BSIF, nous poursuivrons sans relâche nos efforts afin de nous assurer que les Canadiens puissent avoir confiance dans leur système financier.

Je vous remercie de votre attention. C'est avec plaisir que je répondrai maintenant à vos questions.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

European Covered Bond Council

*