Summary of remarks by Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent of Financial Institutions, to KPMG’s 27th Annual Insurance Conference

Jeremy Rudin
Superintendent
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

Toronto, ON
December 6, 2018

On December 6, 2018, Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent, spoke in front of an audience of over 400 insurance industry professionals at the KPMG's 27th Annual Insurance Conference in Toronto, Ontario.

During the fireside chat with Chris Cornell, Mr. Rudin spoke about what the insurance industry and OSFI are doing to address emerging risks and prepare for the future.

Mr. Rudin highlighted a few key areas that have captured the attention of the insurance industry and regulators:

  • The impacts of climate change entails physical, liability and investment risks for insurers. The velocity of these risks is increasing and companies with large or long-term exposures need to understand the risks that they are taking on now may change in the future.   
  • Innovation in FinTech presents opportunities for insurers that have not been available before. With these new opportunities, attention must be paid to the new risks that may come along with them.
  • In a fast moving world knowing where responsibility lies is an important decision-making element. OSFI's revised approach to corporate governance will make it easier for boards to concentrate on what matters.

Mr. Rudin also acknowledged the pending decision of the International Accounting Standards Board to delay implementation of IFRS 17 by one year until January 1, 2022. He underlined the importance for insurers to continue work towards implementation and not lose sight of work that needs to be done to support a smooth transition to the new standard.

Quote

"In pursuit of OSFI's mandate we need to supervise insurance companies to verify that are able to navigate through a range of severe yet plausible events while continuing to provide financial services to Canadians and maintaining public confidence. Continued consultation and transparency with the Industry is the best way to meet future challenges now."

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Résumé de la communication de Jeremy Rudin, surintendant des institutions financières – 27e Conférence annuelle de KPMG sur l’assurance

Jeremy Rudin
Surintendant
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

Toronto (Ontario)
6 décembre 2018

Le 6 décembre 2018, M. Jeremy Rudin, surintendant, s'est adressé à quelque 400 professionnels du domaine de l'assurance réunis dans le cadre de la 27e Conférence annuelle de KPMG sur l'assurance à Toronto, Ontario.

Prenant part à une causerie au coin du feu avec Chris Cornell, M. Rudin a fait le point sur les mesures que le secteur de l'assurance et le BSIF prennent pour relever les défis qui s'annoncent en termes de risques et pour se préparer à ce que l'avenir nous réserve.

M. Rudin a abordé les grands dossiers auxquels le secteur de l'assurance et le BSIF s'intéressent particulièrement, à savoir :

  • Les conséquences des changements climatiques entraînent des risques physiques, en responsabilité civile et liés aux investissement. La vélocité de ces risques s'accroît et les assureurs qui s'exposent à des risques considérables ou à long terme doivent savoir que les risques qu'ils assument aujourd'hui pourraient prendre une toute autre dimension demain.  
  • Les innovations dans le domaine de la technologie de l'assurance sont porteuses de possibilités jamais vues. Les assureurs devront cependant se méfier des risques qui pourraient en découler.
  • Compte tenu du tourbillon dans lequel nous vivons, il est d'autant plus important de savoir à qui incombent les responsabilités – c'est là un élément primordial du processus décisionnel. La nouvelle approche du BSIF en matière de gouvernance d'entreprise permettra aux conseils d'administration de se consacrer à ce qui compte vraiment.

M. Rudin a aussi reconnu que le Conseil des normes comptables internationales pourrait repousser d'un an, c'est-à-dire au 1er janvier 2022, la date d'entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 17. Il a cependant pressé les assureurs de poursuivre les préparatifs et de ne pas perdre de vue tout le travail qu'ils devront faire pour assurer une transition harmonieuse au nouveau régime.

Citation

« Dans la poursuite de son mandat, le BSIF s'emploie à surveiller les sociétés d'assurance pour s'assurer qu'elles sont capable de composer avec une foule d'événements graves mais plausibles tout en continuant d'offrir des services financiers aux Canadiens et de conserver la confiance du public. Les consultations et la transparence demeurent nos meilleures alliées pour relever aujourd'hui les défis de demain. »

Le BSIF

Constitué en 1987, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant dont la mission consiste à protéger, d'une part, les droits des déposants, souscripteurs et créanciers des institutions financières en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour celles-ci, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.  

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
BSIF – Affaires publiques
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401