Section II: Expenditure Overview

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

 

Actual Expenditures

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)

2015–16
Main Estimates
2015–16
Planned Spending
2015–16
Total Authorities
Available for UseFootnote 1
2015–16
Actual Spending
(authorities used)Footnote 2
Difference
(actual minus planned)
147,934,112 147,934,112 214,680,883 144,218,577 (3,715,535)

Human Resources (Full-Time Equivalents [FTEs])

2015–16
Planned
2015–16
Actual
2015–16
Difference
(actual minus planned)
718 666 (52)

Budgetary Performance Summary

Budgetary Performance Summary for Program(s) and Internal Services (dollars)

Strategic Outcome(s), Program(s) and Internal Services 2015–16
Main Estimates
2015–16
Planned Spending
2016–17
Planned Spending
2017–18 Planned Spending 2015–16 Total Authorities Available for Use 2015–16
Actual Spending (authorities used)
2014–15
Actual Spending (authorities used)
2013–14
Actual Spending (authorities used)
Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Financial Institutions  78,956,478  78,956,478  80,602,151  82,220,312  78,956,478  76,831,313  79,674,770 75,599,505
Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Private Pension Plans  4,105,818  4,105,818  4,178,274  4,259,335  4,105,818  3,984,053  3,944,690 4,342,314
Subtotal  83,062,296  83,062,296  84,780,425  86,479,647  83,062,296  80,815,366  83,619,460 79,941,819
Actuarial Valuation and Advisory Services  6,130,074  6,130,074  5,710,390  5,778,758  6,130,074  5,443,559  5,092,171 5,209,861
Subtotal  6,130,074  6,130,074  5,710,390  5,778,758  6,130,074  5,443,559   5,092,171 5,209,861
Internal Services Subtotal  58,741,742  58,741,742  59,213,140  58,249,273  58,741,742  57,959,652  57,597,243 65,650,453
Total 147,934,112  147,934,112 149,703,955 150,507,678  147,934,112  144,218,577  146,308,874 150,802,133

OSFI’s 2015-16 actual expenditures were $3.7 million or 2.5% lower than planned due to a higher number of vacant positions and longer periods than anticipated to staff them. OSFI’s total expendituresFootnote 3 in the next two years are expected to remain relatively stable, increasing slightly for normal economic and merit adjustments in accordance with collective agreements.

Fluctuations between 2013-14 and 2017-18 are largely due to non-recurring costs. At the program level, the significant changes are as follows:

  • Year-over-year spending in the Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Financial Institutions program decreased by 3.6% in 2015-16, largely due to a greater number of vacant positions and a one-time payment related to the Government of Canada’s move to an employee compensation model of “pay in arrears” that occurred in 2014-15. Spending in this program is expected to increase by 4.9% in 2016-17 as vacant positions are staffed.
  • Spending in the Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Private Pension Plans program decreased by 9.2% in 2014-15 due to vacant positions and legal fees incurred in 2013-14. Staffing levels are expected to return to full complement in 2016-17.
  • Spending in the Actuarial Valuation and Advisory Services decreased by 2.3% in 2014-15 due to the triennial Canada Pension Plan peer review that occurred in 2013-14. Spending in 2015-16 increased by 6.9% with the filling of approved vacant positions and new positions to address incremental work related to actuarial valuations. Expenditures in 2016-17 include costs for the triennial Canada Pension Plan review.
  • Spending in Internal Services decreased by 12.3% in 2014-15 as a result of non-recurring costs in 2013-14 related to the curtailment of severance benefit plans for unionized employees, investments in OSFI’s Information and Technology Renewal Program, which was completed in 2014-15, and the settlement of a pay equity claim dating from 1987 to 1997 that was previously provisioned for but paid out in 2013-14. The reduction of 1.6% in 2017-18 relates to lower than planned spending on facilities and information technology initiatives. Footnote 4  

Departmental Spending Trend

Departmental Spending Trend

The graph above represents OSFI’s actual and planned spending from 2013-14 to 2018-19. Statutory expenditures, which are recovered from respendable revenueFootnote 5, represent 99.4% of total expenditures. The remaining 0.6% of OSFI’s spending is funded from a Parliamentary appropriation for actuarial services related to federal public sector pension and benefit plans.

Expenditures by Vote

For information on OSFI’s organizational voted and statutory expenditures, consult the Public Accounts of Canada 2016.

Alignment of Spending With the Whole-of-Government Framework

Alignment of 2015-16 Actual Spending With the Whole-of-Government Framework (dollars)

Program Spending Area Government of Canada Outcome 2015–16
Actual Spending
1.1  Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Financial Institutions Economic Affairs Strong economic growth 76,831,313
1.2 Regulation and Supervision of Federally Regulated Private Pension Plans Economic Affairs Income security and employment for Canadians 3,984,053
2.1 Actuarial Valuation and Advisory Services Economic Affairs Income security and employment for Canadians 5,443,559

 

Total Spending by Spending Area (dollars)

Spending Area Total Planned Spending Total Actual Spending
Economic Affairs 89,192,370 86,258,925
Social Affairs 0 0
International Affairs 0 0
Government Affairs 0 0

Financial Statements and Financial Statements Highlights

Financial Statements
The financial statements are included in the 2015-16 Annual Report available on OSFI’s website.

Financial Statements Highlights
Over the course of 2015-16, OSFI continued to operate on a full accrual accounting basis, in accordance with International Financial Reporting Standards.

The tables below provide highlights from OSFI’s Statement of Operations and Statement of Financial Position, as presented in its audited financial statements.  As such, there are differences between these tables and those presented in other sections of the Departmental Performance Report, which are prepared on the appropriation (i.e., modified cash) basis of accounting, in accordance with the Guide to the Preparation of Part III of the 2015-16 Estimates. Typically the differences stem from the accounting treatment of capital expenditures and accounts receivable.

Condensed Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2016 (dollars)
Financial Information 2015–16
Planned
Results
2015-16
Actual
2014–15
Actual
Difference (2015–16 actual minus 2015–16 planned) Difference (2015–16 actual minus 2014–15 actual)
Total expenses 150,000,000 143,534,744 144,810,235 (6,465,256) (1,275,491)
Total revenues 149,054,942 142,589,686 143,865,177 (6,465,256) (1,275,491)
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers (945,058) (945,058) (945,058) 0 0

OSFI’s Future-Oriented Statement of Operations is available on OSFI’s website.

OSFI is funded mainly through asset-based, premium-based or membership-based assessments on the financial institutions and private pension plans that it regulates and supervises, and a user-pay program for selected services. OSFI also receives revenues for cost-recovered services and a small parliamentary appropriation for actuarial services relating to public sector employee pension and insurance plans. Overall, on an accrual basis of accounting, OSFI recovered all its expenses for the year.

Revenue by Type 

Total expenses were $143.6 million, a $1.3 million or 0.9% decrease from the previous year, and $6.5 million lower than planned. The year-over-year decrease was primarily attributable to lower professional services costs due to the completion in 2014-15 of OSFI’s Information and Technology Renewal Program.  These were partially offset by an increase in office rental costs as a result of additional space to accommodate the previous year’s growth in staff and normal annual escalation of existing lease rates.

Expenses by Type 
Condensed Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31, 2016 (dollars)
Financial Information 2015–16 2014–15 Difference
(2015–16 minus
2014–15)
Total net liabilities 45,986,000 46,683,000 (697,000)
Total net financial assets 50,974,000 51,752,000 (778,000)
Departmental net debt 4,988,000 5,069,000 (81,000)
Total non-financial assets 20,000,000 19,919,000 81,000
Departmental net financial position 24,988,000 24,988,000 0

Total net financial assets at the end of 2015-16 were $51.0 million, a decrease of $0.8 million from the previous year. A decrease in trade and other receivables, driven by lower user fees and charges related to financial institutions assigned a stage rating, was partly offset by an increase in the Cash Entitlement account, which represents the amount that OSFI is entitled to withdraw from the Consolidated Revenue Fund without further authority.

Financial Asset by Type 

Total net liabilities were $46.0 million at the end of 2015-16, which was $0.7 million lower than the previous year. The reduction was driven by a decrease in unearned base assessments, which represent the difference between billed estimates and actual costs incurred for the year, and a decrease in the severance liability as a result of payments to eligible departing employees. These were partly offset by an increase in accrued salaries and benefits, mainly for the estimated  economic adjustments for fiscal year 2015-2016 that  are expected to become payable once new collective agreements for that year are reached with OSFI’s two unions.

Liabilities by type 

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The difference between Total Authorities Available for Use and Planned Spending represents an available statutory contingency, duly reported in Public Accounts, which is not part of planned spending.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The majority of OSFI’s expenditures are recovered via respendable revenue. In order to provide an accurate representation of OSFI’s spending, amounts shown reflect gross expenditures.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The cost of new enabling technology to support OSFI’s updated supervisory methodology and processes has not yet been determined and will be reflected in future budgetary estimates.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

As noted for total expenditures above, the cost of new enabling technology to support OSFI’s updated supervisory methodology and processes has not yet been determined and will be reflected in future budgetary estimates.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

OSFI is funded mainly through asset-based, premium-based or membership-based assessments on the financial institutions and private pension plans that OSFI regulates and supervises, cost-recovered services, and a user-pay program for selected services.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

 

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Section II : Vue d’ensemble des dépenses

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante

 

Dépenses réelles

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)

Budget principal des dépenses
2015‑2016
Dépenses prévues
2015‑2016
Autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées
2015‑2016Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)Note de bas de page 2
2015‑2016
Écart (réelles moins prévues)
147 934 112 147 934 112 214 680 883 144 218 577 (3 715 535)

Ressources humaines (équivalents à temps plein [ETP])

Prévu
2015‑2016
Réel
2015‑2016
Écart
(réel moins prévu)
2015‑2016
718 666 (52)

Sommaire du rendement budgétaire

Sommaire du rendement budgétaire des programmes et des services internes (en dollars)

Programmes et services internes Budget principal des dépenses
2015‑2016
Dépenses prévues
2015‑2016
Dépenses prévues
2016‑2017
Dépenses prévues
2017‑2018
Autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées
2015‑2016
Dépenses réelles (autorisations utilisées)
2015‑2016
Dépenses réelles (autorisations utilisées)
2014‑2015
Dépenses réelles (autorisations utilisées)
2013‑2014
Réglementation et surveillance des institutions financières fédérales 78 956 478 78 956 478 80 602 151 82 220 312 78 956 478 76 831 313 79 674 770 75 599 505
Réglementation et surveillance des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux 4 105 818 4 105 818 4 178 274 4 259 335 4 105 818 3 984 053 3 944 690 4 342 314
Total partiel 83 062 296 83 062 296 84 780 425 86 479 647 83 062 296 80 815 366 83 619 460 79 941 819
Évaluation actuarielle et services consultatifs 6 130 074 6 130 074 5 710 390 5 778 758 6 130 074 5 443 559 5 092 171 5 209 861
Total partiel 6 130 074 6 130 074 5 710 390 5 778 758 6 130 074 5 443 559 5 092 171 5 209 861
Services internes – Total partiel 58 741 742 58 741 742 59 213 140 58 249 273 58 741 742 57 959 652 57 597 243 65 650 453
Total 147 934 112 147 934 112 149 703 955 150 507 678 147 934 112 144 218 577 146 308 874 150 802 133

En 2015‑2016, les dépenses réelles du BSIF totalisaient 3,7 millions de dollars ou 2,5 % de moins que prévu en raison d’un plus grand nombre de postes vacants et des délais plus longs que prévu pour les pourvoir. Les dépenses globalesNote de bas de page 3 du BSIF devraient être plutôt stables au cours des deux prochaines années, progressant légèrement en raison des augmentations au mérite et des hausses salariales normales prévues dans les conventions collectives.

Les fluctuations observées entre 2013‑2014 et 2017‑2018 sont surtout attribuables à des coûts non récurrents. Pour ce qui est des programmes, les variations importantes sont les suivantes.

  • Les dépenses annuelles relatives au programme Réglementation et surveillance des institutions financières fédérales ont baissé de 3,6 % en 2015‑2016, en raison surtout du nombre plus élevé de postes vacants et d’un paiement unique lié à l’adoption, en 2014‑2015 par le gouvernement du Canada, d’un régime de paie en arrérages. En 2016‑2017, les dépenses au titre de ce programme devraient augmenter de 4,9 % au fur et à mesure que les postes vacants sont pourvus.
  • Les dépenses relatives au programme Réglementation et surveillance des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux ont diminué de 9,2 % en 2014‑2015 en raison des postes vacants et des frais juridiques engagés en 2013‑2014. Les niveaux de dotation devraient permettre de compléter l’effectif en 2016‑2017.
  • Les dépenses relatives au programme Évaluations actuarielles et services-conseils ont diminué de 2,3 % en 2014-2015 en raison du contrôle triennal par les pairs du Régime de pensions du Canada, qui a eu lieu en 2013-2014. En 2015‑2016, les dépenses se sont accrues de 6,9 %, les postes vacants ayant été pourvus et de nouveaux postes ayant été créés pour tenir compte des travaux supplémentaires générés par les évaluations actuarielles. Les dépenses en 2016-2017 tiennent compte du coût du contrôle triennal.
  • En 2014-2015, les dépenses relatives aux services internes ont baissé de 12,3 % à cause des paiements non récurrents effectués en 2013-2014 découlant de la réduction des indemnités de départ des employés syndiqués, des sommes investies dans le programme de renouvellement de la technologie de l’information du BSIF, qui a été achevé en 2014‑2015, et du règlement, en 2013-2014, d’une réclamation relative à l’équité salariale portant sur la période 1987-1997 et pour laquelle une provision avait déjà été constituée. La réduction de 1,6 % en 2017‑2018 est associée à des dépenses moins élevées que prévu au titre des initiatives sur les locaux et la technologie de l’informationNote de bas de page 4.

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère 

Le graphique ci-dessus représente les dépenses réelles et prévues du BSIF de 2013-2014 à 2018-2019. Les postes législatifs, qui sont recouvrés à partir des revenus disponiblesNote de bas de page 5, représentent 99,4 % des dépenses totales. Le solde (0,6 %) est financé à même des crédits parlementaires au titre des services actuariels se rapportant aux régimes de retraite et aux régimes d’assurance des employés du secteur public.

Dépenses par crédit voté

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les crédits organisationnels et(ou) dépenses législatives du BSIF, veuillez consulter les Comptes publics du Canada 2016.

Harmonisation des dépenses avec le cadre pangouvernemental

Harmonisation des dépenses réelles pour 2015‑2016 avec le Cadre pangouvernemental (en dollars)

Programme Secteur de dépenses Résultat du gouvernement du Canada Dépenses réelles 2015‑2016
1.1 Réglementation et surveillance des institutions financières fédérales Affaires économiques Croissance économique forte 76 831 313
1.2 Réglementation et surveillance des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux Affaires économiques Sécurité du revenu et de l’emploi pour les Canadiens 3 984 053
2.1 Évaluations actuarielles et services-conseils Affaires économiques Sécurité du revenu et de l’emploi pour les Canadiens 5 443 559

Total des dépenses par secteur de dépenses (en dollars)

Secteur de dépenses Total des dépenses prévues Total des dépenses réelles
Affaires économiques 89 192 370 86 258 925
Affaires sociales 0 0
Affaires internationales 0 0
Affaires gouvernementales 0 0

États financiers et faits saillants des états financiers

États financiers
Les états financiers figurent dans le rapport annuel 2015‑2016 affiché sur le site Web du BSIF.

Faits saillants des états financiers

En 2015‑2016, le BSIF a continué d’appliquer la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale, conformément aux Normes internationales d’information financière.

Les tableaux qui suivent présentent les faits saillants de l’état des opérations et de l’état de la situation financière du BSIF tels qu’ils sont présentés dans ses états financiers audités. Il y a donc des différences entre ces tableaux et ceux figurant ailleurs dans le présent rapport, lesquels sont établis selon la comptabilité par crédit (version modifiée de la comptabilité de caisse), conformément au Guide de préparation de la partie III du Budget des dépenses 2015‑2016. Les différences découlent le plus souvent du traitement comptable des immobilisations et des comptes à recevoir.

État condensé des opérations (non audité)
pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016
(dollars)

Information financière Résultats prévus
2015‑2016
Réels
2015‑2016
Réels
2014‑2015
Écart (réels
2015‑2016
moins prévus
2015‑2016)
Écart (réels
2015‑2016
moins réels
2014‑2015)
Total des charges 150 000 000 143 534 744 144 810 235 (6 465 256) (1 275 491)
Total des revenus 149 054 942 142 589 686 143 865 177 (6 465 256) (1 275 491)
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement (945 058) (945 058) (945 058) 0 0

Les états financiers prospectifs sont disponible sur le site web du BSIF.

Ses activités sont principalement financées par des cotisations que lui versent les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite privés qu'il réglemente et surveille en fonction de leur actif, de leurs revenus-primes ou selon le nombre de leurs participants, et par un programme de l'utilisateur-payeur à l'égard de certains services. Le BSIF perçoit aussi des revenus en contrepartie des services à coût recouvré et de très modestes crédits parlementaires pour les services actuariels se rapportant aux régimes de pension et d’assurance des employés du secteur public. Au total, selon la comptabilité d’exercice, le BSIF a recouvré la totalité de ses dépenses de l’année.

Revenue by Type 

Les charges ont totalisé 143,6 millions de dollars, une baisse de 1,3 million, ou 0,9 %, par rapport à l’année précédente, mais 6,5 millions de moins que prévu. La baisse d’une année à l’autre était surtout attribuable au coût moins élevé des services professionnels, le Programme de renouvellement de la technologie de l’information du BSIF ayant pris fin en 2014‑2015. Ce recul a été compensé en partie par une augmentation des frais de location en raison de l’espace supplémentaire
nécessaire pour loger les nouveaux employés et de la hausse annuelle courante des loyers.

Expenses by Type 

État condensé de la situation financière (non audité)
Au 31 mars 2016 (en dollars)

Information financière 2015–2016 2014–2015 Écart
(2015-2016 moins
2014–2015)
Total des passifs nets 45 986 000 46 683 000 (697 000)
Total des actifs financiers nets 50 974 000 51 752 000 (778 000)
Dette nette du ministère 4 988 000 5 069 000 (81 000)
Total des actifs non financiers 20 000 000 19 919 000 81 000
Situation financière nette du ministère 24 988 000 24 988 000 0

Les actifs financiers nets à la fin de 2015‑2016 totalisaient 51,0 millions de dollars, soit 0,8 million de moins que l’année précédente. Un recul des créances clients et autres débiteurs, sous l’effet des droits d’utilisateur et des frais relatifs aux institutions financières cotées moins élevés, a été en partie neutralisé par une hausse du compte des liquidités disponibles, lesquelles représentent le montant que le BSIF peut retirer du Trésor sans autre autorisation.

Financial Asset by Type 

Le passif net total se chiffrait à 46,0 millions de dollars à la fin de 2015‑2016, soit 0,7 million de moins que l’année précédente. La baisse est attribuable à un recul des cotisations de base à recevoir, soit l’écart entre les cotisations estimées facturées et les coûts réels engagés pour l’année, et à une réduction du passif associé aux indemnités de départ, les montants ayant été versés aux employés admissibles qui quittent. Ces mouvements ont été en partie compensés par une augmentation des salaires et avantages sociaux à payer, principalement pour les ajustements économiques estimatifs de l’exercice 2015‑2016 qui devraient être payables une fois les nouvelles conventions collectives pour cette année-là conclues avec les deux syndicats du BSIF.

Liabilities by type 

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La différence entre les autorisations totales disponibles et les dépenses prévues représente une éventualité statutaire disponible, dûment déclarée dans les Comptes publics, qui ne fait pas partie des dépenses prévues.

Retour note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le BSIF recouvre la plupart de ses dépenses à même les revenus disponibles. Afin d’être fidèle à la réalité, les montants ci-dessous correspondent à la valeur brute de ses dépenses.

Retour note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Le coût des nouvelles technologies qui supporteront les méthodes et les processus de surveillance actualisés n’a pas encore été calculé et sera pris en compte dans les prochaines estimations budgétaires.

Retour note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Ainsi que signalé dans le paragraphe à propos des dépenses totales ci‑dessus, le coût des nouvelles technologies qui supporteront les méthodes et les processus de surveillance actualisés n’a pas encore été calculé et sera pris en compte dans les prochaines estimations budgétaires.

Retour note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Les fonds du BSIF proviennent essentiellement des cotisations que lui versent les institutions financières et les régimes de retraite privés qu’il réglemente et surveille, et dont le montant est déterminé en fonction de leur actif, de leurs revenus-primes ou selon le nombre de leurs participants, d’une formule de recouvrement des coûts et d’un programme d’utilisateur-payeur au titre de certains services.

Retour note de bas de page 5

 

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante