Superintendent’s Message

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

 
Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent, OSFI 

The year under review was notable for the continuing low interest rate environment globally, growing levels of household debt in Canada, and unsettled international markets. In 2015-16, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) undertook a number of initiatives to address growing risks in these areas, and others, in order to further strengthen Canada’s system of financial regulation and supervision.

In August 2015, OSFI issued a draft Operational Risk Management guideline for public consultation. The guideline recognizes that regulated entities will have different operational risk management practices depending on such factors as their size, ownership structure, complexity of operations and risk profile. This principles-based approach to regulation gives Canadian financial institutions some flexibility in how they manage their risks, supporting effective competition.

In March 2016, OSFI issued the draft Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT). The LICAT is the culmination of over a decade of work undertaken to replace the current Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements guideline, which has been in place since 1992. The draft guideline takes into account the current economic realities of the life insurance business, recent developments in actuarial and financial reporting standards as well as economic and financial practices, and international trends in solvency frameworks. OSFI will be receiving input from the industry over the summer months and expects to be able to release the guideline in final form in the fall of 2016.

The year under review saw OSFI’s continuing collaboration with our federal financial regulatory partners. During the year, I chaired four meetings of the Financial Institutions Supervisory Committee (FISC) composed of the Governor of the Bank of Canada, the Deputy Minister of Finance, the chair of the board of directors of Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Commissioner of the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. Bi-laterally, we worked with the Bank of Canada to conduct macro stress-tests and with Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation and the Department of Finance on a bail-in regime. Our strong relationships with our FISC partners continued to support Canada’s robust financial system.      

Internally, our focus continued to be on supporting a high-performing workforce. In this area, we developed a cyber security strategy and action plan, which will be implemented in the coming years. We also began migrating content into a new documents and record management system, which will ensure employees have access to the information they need when they need it. Our intranet was upgraded so that all employees can be kept informed in a timely manner of corporate news as well as well as the initiatives being worked on by their colleagues across the office.

I continue to be impressed by the sustained dedication of my OSFI colleagues. Their professionalism, knowledge and integrity greatly contribute to our collective success as Canada’s financial services regulator and supervisor.

 

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Message du surintendant

Page Précédente | Table des matières | Page Suivante

 
Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent, OSFI 

L’année à l’étude a été marquée par la faiblesse persistante des taux d’intérêt aux quatre coins du globe, par l’endettement croissant des ménages au Canada et par l’instabilité des marchés de produits de base. En 2015-2016, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a pris diverses mesures afin de parer aux risques en devenir à l’égard de ces trois constats, ainsi qu’à d’autres risques, l’objectif étant de renforcer encore davantage son dispositif de réglementation et de surveillance prudentielles.

En août 2015, le BSIF a soumis à consultation publique un projet de ligne directrice intitulé Gestion du risque opérationnel, qui tient compte du fait que les pratiques des entités réglementées en la matière peuvent varier en fonction de facteurs tels que leur taille, leur capital social, la complexité de leurs activités et leur profil de risque. Cette méthode de réglementation fondée sur des principes laisse aux institutions financières canadiennes une certaine marge de manœuvre dans le choix des méthodes à employer pour gérer le risque, favorisant ainsi la libre concurrence.

En mars 2016, il a publié le projet de ligne directrice intitulé Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV). Le TSAV constitue l’aboutissement de plus d’une dizaine d’années de travail visant à remplacer la ligne directrice intitulée Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l’excédent, qui est en place depuis 1992. Le projet de ligne directrice tient compte de la réalité économique actuelle du secteur de l’assurance-vie, des dernières normes actuarielles ou d’information financière et des nouvelles pratiques économiques ou financières, ainsi que des tendances mondiales dans l’adoption de dispositifs de contrôle de la solvabilité.

Au cours de l’année à l’étude, le BSIF a poursuivi sa collaboration avec ses partenaires fédéraux de la réglementation financière. J’ai présidé quatre réunions du Comité de surveillance des institutions financières (CSIF), qui se compose du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, du sous-ministre des Finances, du premier dirigeant de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada et du commissaire de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. De manière bilatérale, le BSIF a travaillé avec la Banque du Canada à la réalisation de simulations de crise macroéconomique et avec la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada et le ministère des Finances à la création d’un régime de recapitalisation interne.

À ce titre, nous avons créé un plan d’action et une stratégie en matière de cybersécurité que nous mettrons en œuvre au cours des années qui viennent. Nous avons aussi amorcé la migration de contenu dans un nouveau système de gestion des documents, qui permettra aux employés d’avoir accès en temps voulu à l’information dont ils ont besoin. Par ailleurs, notre intranet a fait l’objet d’une mise à niveau afin que l’ensemble des employés soit rapidement informé des nouvelles concernant l’entreprise, et des projets dans lesquels les collègues de travail s’investissent.

Je suis toujours aussi touché par le dévouement indéfectible dont font preuve mes collègues du BSIF. Leur savoir, leur intégrité et leur professionnalisme sont les leviers de notre réussite collective à titre d’organisme de réglementation et de surveillance des services financiers au Canada.