COVID-19 Measures – FAQs for Federally Regulated Private Pension Plans

OSFI has communicated changes to its expectations throughout the COVID-19 pandemic and has now revised its FAQs to those that remain relevant. OSFI's actions to protect pension plan members, former members and other beneficiaries from issues stemming from COVID-19 will continue through monitoring of the economic environment and taking action if and when required.

Have a question that is not addressed in these (or other) FAQs? Please send your question to information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Questions and Answers

2020 Funding Relief

  1. What relief is provided by the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020?

    Under the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985, solvency special payments must be made at least monthly and are due 30 days after the period in respect of which the payment is being made. For example, a solvency special payment for March 2020 is due by April 30, 2020.

    As announced by the Department of Finance, the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 (the Relief Regulations) establish a moratorium that effectively applies to certain solvency special payments that become due during the period beginning on April 1, 2020 and ending on December 30, 2020.

    • The amounts of any solvency special payments that become due from April 1, 2020 to May 26, 2020 (i.e. the day before the coming-into-force date of the Relief Regulations, which is May 27, 2020), unless related to a plan year that ended before April 27, 2020, are to be reduced to zero and will not become due after December 30, 2020 once the moratorium is lifted.
    • From May 27, 2020 until December 30, 2020, the amounts of any solvency special payments that become due are to be reduced to zero and will not become due after December 30, 2020 once the moratorium is lifted.
    • The amounts of any solvency special payments that become due and are made from April 1st until May 27th may be deducted from the plan's required current service (or normal cost) contributions and/or going concern special payments in the period beginning on May 27, 2020 and ending on December 30, 2020.

    Current service contributions and going concern special payments must continue to be made.

    Other than for a negotiated contribution plan, employers continue to be required to fully fund any solvency deficit in the event of a plan termination.

  2. Does a plan administrator have to notify OSFI that they will not be making solvency special payments as permitted by the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020?

    No.

  3. How does the moratorium apply to solvency special payments made after March 31, 2020 and before the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 were in force?

    Under the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 (the Relief Regulations), the amounts of any solvency special payments that become due and are made after March 31, 2020, until the coming-into-force date (May 27, 2020), can be deducted from the plan's required current service (or normal cost) contributions and/or going concern special payments in the period beginning on May 27, 2020 and ending on December 30, 2020.

    The Relief Regulations also provide that interest is not payable on any unpaid solvency special payment instalments that became due between March 31, 2020 and May 27, 2020.

  4. Do the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 affect all federally regulated pension plans?

    The Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 (the Relief Regulations) apply to all defined benefit plans registered or filed for registration under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 that have a solvency deficiency to be funded during the period from April 1, 2020 to December 30, 2020.

    The Relief Regulations do not apply to defined contribution plans.

  5. How does the moratorium apply to letters of credit?

    If an employer has already obtained letters of credit to cover solvency special payments for all of 2020, the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 allow the employer to reduce the face value of the letters of credit, provided that, after the reduction, the letters of credit are sufficient to cover the 2020 solvency special payments not subject to the moratorium.

  6. Can an employer choose to continue to make solvency payments during the moratorium?

    Yes. Employers may continue to make solvency special payments during the moratorium.

    As solvency special payment requirements are determined on an average solvency ratio basis, plans with a solvency ratio of 1.0 or greater should contact the Canada Revenue Agency before making solvency special payments during the moratorium, as there may be tax implications.

  7. If an employer continues to make some or all of their solvency special payments, can these payments be considered 'additional payments' under subsection 9(6) of the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 and applied towards future solvency special payments?

    The Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 (the Relief Regulations) provide a moratorium on the amounts of any solvency special payments due from April to December 2020. The Relief Regulations specify that solvency special payments made during the moratorium are not considered to be 'additional payments' under subsection 9(6) of the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985 unless the payments are in excess of the solvency special payments that would have been required, but for the Relief Regulations.

  8. Do the solvency special payments subject to the moratorium need to be remitted to the fund later?

    The Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 do not set out a separate amortization schedule for the solvency special payments that were foregone during the moratorium. At the end of the moratorium, if there are no further changes to the Pension Benefits Standards Regulations, 1985, plans will be subject to the normal funding rules, which provide that any solvency deficiency is to be amortized at least through monthly instalments over a five year period.

  9. Do the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 impose restrictions on plan amendments?

    The Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 (the Relief Regulations) place restrictions on certain types of plan amendments in order to ensure that the amendment does not negatively impact a plan's solvency position and/or improve benefits while reduced funding requirements are in place, unless the plan is well funded on a solvency basis after the plan amendment.

    The Relief Regulations provide that, unless authorized by OSFI, any plan amendment would be void, or in Quebec, null if

    • the amendment would reduce the solvency ratio of the pension plan and the solvency ratio would be below 1.05 once the amendment is made; or
    • if the solvency ratio of the pension plan is below 1.05 and the amendment would increase pension benefits or pension benefit credits.
  10. To the extent that OSFI permits commuted value transfers, does the moratorium apply to transfer deficiency "top-up" payments by the employer?

    No. In accordance with section 8 of the Directives of the Superintendent, employers must still remit a "top-up" payment to the fund (i.e. the amount of the transfer deficiency) if the plan transfers a member's full commuted value.

  11. Would a "catch-up" payment that would normally be made with the filing of a more recent actuarial report be part of the moratorium?

    When a more recent actuarial report is filed with OSFI and the solvency deficiency to be amortized has increased relative to the previous report, a "catch-up" payment (i.e. amount equal to the difference between the new and the previous solvency special payments, plus interest) is normally made in respect of months that have elapsed in the plan year prior to filing the report.

    Under the Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020, a catch-up payment that would normally be made between the coming-into-force date (May 27, 2020) and December 30, 2020 is considered part of a solvency special payment instalment and therefore is not required to be paid.

  12. Are there additional disclosure requirements for annual member and former member statements?

    Yes. The Solvency Special Payments Relief Regulations, 2020 (the Relief Regulations) set out that, for plan years in which the moratorium applies, plan administrators must provide information on the amounts of solvency special payments that were made during the plan year, and the amounts of solvency special payments that would have been required, but for the Relief Regulations.

Mesures en réaction à la COVID-19 – FAQ à l’intention des régimes de retraite privés fédéraux

Le BSIF communique périodiquement les changements à ses attentes pendant la pandémie; il a donc mis à jour ses foires aux questions. Il remplit son mandat de protéger les droits et les intérêts des participants, anciens participants et autres bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite par la surveillance de la conjoncture économique et la prise de toute mesure d’intervention nécessaire.

Si votre question ne figure pas dans cette FAQ (ou les autres FAQ), prière d’écrire à l’adresse information@osfi-bsif.gc.ca.

Foire aux questions

Allègement de la capitalisation (2020)

  1. Quelles mesures d'allègement le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) prévoit‑il?

    En vertu du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension, des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité doivent être effectués au moins chaque mois et sont exigibles 30 jours suivant la fin de la période à l'égard de laquelle le paiement est fait. Par exemple, un paiement spécial de solvabilité pour le mois de mars 2020 est exigible au plus tard le 30 avril 2020.

    Comme l'a annoncé le ministère des Finances, le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) (le Règlement sur l'allègement) établit un moratoire qui s'applique à certains paiements spéciaux de solvabilité qui deviennent exigibles entre le 1er avril et le 30 décembre 2020.

    • Le montant de tout paiement spécial de solvabilité qui devient exigible entre le 1er avril et le 26 mai 2020 (soit le jour précédant l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement sur l'allègement, le 27 mai 2020), à moins qu'il ne se rapporte à un exercice du régime qui s'est terminé avant le 27 avril 2020, sera réduit à zéro et ne deviendra pas exigible après le 30 décembre 2020, lorsque le moratoire prendra fin.
    • Entre le 27 mai et le 30 décembre 2020, le montant de tout paiement spécial de solvabilité qui devient exigible sera réduit à zéro et ne deviendra pas exigible après le 30 décembre 2020, lorsque le moratoire prendra fin.
    • Le montant de tout paiement spécial de solvabilité qui devient exigible et qui est effectué entre le 1er avril et le 27 mai 2020 pourra être déduit des cotisations pour service courant et/ou des paiements spéciaux de continuité exigibles du régime entre le 27 mai et le 30 décembre 2020.

    Les cotisations pour service courant et les paiements spéciaux de continuité doivent continuer d'être versés.

    Autre que pour un régime à cotisations négociées, l'employeur demeure tenu de capitaliser entièrement tout déficit de solvabilité en cas de cessation du régime.

  2. L'administrateur de régime doit-il informer le BSIF qu'il n'effectuera pas de paiements spéciaux de solvabilité comme le permet le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020)?

    Non.

  3. Comment le moratoire s'applique‑t‑il aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité effectués après le 31 mars 2020 et avant l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020)?

    En vertu du Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) (le Règlement sur l'allègement), le montant de tout paiement spécial de solvabilité qui devient exigible et qui est effectué après le 31 mars 2020 et jusqu'à la date d'entrée en vigueur (le 27 mai 2020) peut être déduit des cotisations pour service courant et/ou des paiements spéciaux de continuité exigibles du régime entre le 27 mai et le 30 décembre 2020.

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement prévoit en outre qu'aucun intérêt n'est payable sur les acomptes au titre des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité en souffrance qui sont devenus exigibles entre le 31 mars et le 27 mai 2020.

  4. Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) affecte‑t‑il tous les régimes de pension fédéraux?

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) (le Règlement sur l'allègement) s'applique à tous les régimes à prestations déterminées agréés ou déposés aux fins d'agrément en vertu de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pensionqui affichent un déficit de solvabilité à capitaliser entre le 1er avril et le 30 décembre 2020.

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement ne vise pas les régimes à cotisations déterminées.

  5. Comment le moratoire s'applique‑t‑il aux lettres de crédit?

    Si un employeur a déjà obtenu des lettres de crédit afin de couvrir des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité pour toute l'année 2020, le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) permet à l'employeur de réduire la valeur nominale des lettres de crédit à condition que la valeur réduite des lettres de crédit suffise à couvrir les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité pour 2020 qui ne sont pas visés par le moratoire.

  6. L'employeur peut-il choisir de continuer d'effectuer des paiements de solvabilité pendant le moratoire?

    Oui. L'employeur peut continuer d'effectuer des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité pendant la durée du moratoire.

    Puisque les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité sont déterminés sur la base du ratio de solvabilité moyen, les régimes dont le ratio de solvabilité est égal ou supérieur à 1,0 devraient communiquer avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada avant d'effectuer des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité pendant le moratoire puisqu'il pourrait y avoir des conséquences fiscales.

  7. Si un employeur continue de verser une partie ou la totalité de ses paiements spéciaux de solvabilité, ces derniers peuvent‑ils être considérés comme des « paiements additionnels » en vertu du paragraphe 9(6) du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension et appliqués à de futurs paiements spéciaux de solvabilité?

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) (le Règlement sur l'allègement) prévoit un moratoire sur le montant de tout paiement spécial de solvabilité exigible entre avril et décembre 2020. Il précise que les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité effectués pendant la durée du moratoire ne sont pas considérés comme des « paiements additionnels » en vertu du paragraphe 9(6) du Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension à moins que ces paiements ne soient en excédent des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité qui, n'eût été le Règlement sur l'allègement, auraient été requis.

  8. Les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité visés par le moratoire devront‑ils être versés à la caisse de retraite ultérieurement?

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) n'établit pas de calendrier distinct d'amortissement pour les paiements spéciaux de solvabilité auxquels il a été renoncé au cours du moratoire. À la fin de celui-ci, si aucune autre modification n'est apportée au Règlement de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension, les régimes seront assujettis aux règles de capitalisation habituelles, en vertu desquelles tout déficit de solvabilité doit être amorti au moyen de paiements au moins mensuels sur une période d'au plus cinq ans.

  9. Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) impose‑t‑il des restrictions visant les modifications des régimes?

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) (le Règlement sur l'allègement) impose des restrictions à certains types de modifications des régimes pour éviter que ces dernières n'aient d'incidence négative sur la solvabilité du régime et/ou ne bonifient les prestations pendant la période d'assouplissement des exigences de capitalisation, à moins que le régime ne soit bien capitalisé sur une base de solvabilité une fois la modification apportée.

    Le Règlement sur l'allègement prévoit qu'à défaut de l'autorisation du BSIF, toute modification est nulle si

    • elle a pour effet de réduire le ratio de solvabilité du régime et de l'établir, une fois la modification apportée, en deçà de 1,05, ou
    • si le ratio de solvabilité du régime est inférieur à 1,05 et que la modification a pour effet d'augmenter les prestations de pension ou les droits à pension.
  10. Dans la mesure où le BSIF autorise le transfert des valeurs de rachat, le moratoire s'applique‑t‑il aux paiements supplémentaires au titre de déficits de transfert effectués par l'employeur?

    Non. Conformément à l'article 8 des Directives du surintendant, l'employeur doit quand même verser à la caisse un paiement supplémentaire (c.‑à‑d. le montant du déficit de transfert) si le régime transfère le montant intégral de la valeur de rachat du participant.

  11. Un paiement de rattrapage qui accompagnerait normalement le dépôt d'un rapport actuariel plus récent serait‑il visé par le moratoire?

    Lorsqu'un rapport actuariel plus récent est soumis au BSIF et que le déficit de solvabilité à amortir a augmenté par rapport au rapport actuariel précédent, un paiement de rattrapage (c.‑à‑d. un montant égal à la différence entre les nouveaux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité et les anciens, plus des intérêts) est normalement effectué au titre des mois de l'exercice du régime qui se sont écoulés depuis le dépôt du rapport.

    En vertu du Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020), un paiement de rattrapage qui serait normalement versé entre la date d'entrée en vigueur (le 27 mai 2020) et le 30 décembre 2020 est considéré comme faisant partie d'un acompte au titre des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité et n'a donc pas à être effectué.

  12. D'autres exigences de déclaration s'appliquent‑elles au relevé annuel des participants et des anciens participants?

    Oui. Le Règlement sur l'allègement relatif aux paiements spéciaux de solvabilité (2020) (le Règlement sur l'allègement) prévoit que, pour les exercices du régime au cours desquels le moratoire est en vigueur, les administrateurs de régime doivent fournir des renseignements au sujet des montants des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité qui ont été effectués au cours de l'exercice du régime, ainsi que des montants des paiements spéciaux de solvabilité qui, n'eût été le Règlement sur l'allègement, auraient été requis.