Proposed changes to Instruction Guide – Authorization of Amendments Reducing Benefits in Defined Benefit Pension Plans

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Memo
  • Date: May 23, 2019
  • To: Administrators of pension plans with defined benefit provisions registered or filed for registration under the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 and their consultants

OSFI is issuing proposed revisions to the Instruction Guide for Authorization of Amendments Reducing Benefits in Defined Benefit Pension Plans (the Instruction Guide). The Instruction Guide, which was last issued in 2012, sets out the factors along with the specific requirements that OSFI generally considers when reviewing an application seeking the Superintendent's authorization for an amendment with respect to paragraph 10.1(2)(a) of the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985. 

There are no significant policy changes and the revisions to the Instruction Guide and accompanying form provide further details regarding OSFI’s current expectations for applications for authorization of a reducing amendment. The revisions include more details regarding the required information to be filed when the application affects benefits that are subject to provincial pension legislation or involves a negotiated contribution plan. Additional details were also added to the Instruction Guide to assist administrators or their consultants in determining if an amendment would reduce an accrued benefit.  The revised Instruction Guide is being issued in draft form so that stakeholders have the opportunity to provide input on these changes.

Questions and comments concerning these changes or any of OSFI’s other requirements or expectations set out in the Instruction Guide may be sent to Claire Ezzeddin, Manager of the Approvals Team in the Private Pension Plans Division, by email at Claire.ezzeddin@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. A non-attributed summary of comments received along with OSFI’s responses will be posted on OSFI’s website when the final version of the Instruction Guide is released. Comments should be provided no later than September 30, 2019.

Any application for an authorization of an amendment that reduces benefits should be submitted using the revised Instruction Guide and accompanying form in their draft versions until replaced by finalized versions.

Tamara DeMos
Managing Director
Private Pension Plans Division

Projet de révision du guide d’instructions - demande de modification visant à réduire les prestations versées par les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées

  • Type de publication : Note d’information
  • Date : Le 23 mai 2019
  • Destinataires : Administrateurs de régimes de retraite assortis de dispositions relatives à des prestations déterminées et agréés au titre de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension (LNPP) ou faisant l’objet d’une telle demande d’agrément, et leurs experts-conseils

Le BSIF propose une version révisée de son guide d’instructions sur la présentation de demande de modifications visant à réduire les prestations versées par les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées (le guide d’instructions). Le guide d’instructions, dont la version antérieure a été publiée en 2012, énonce les facteurs et les exigences particulières dont le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) tient habituellement compte lorsqu’il examine une demande d’autorisation du surintendant soumise en vertu de l’alinéa 10.1(2)(a) de la LNPP.

Le BSIF n’a apporté aucune modification importante à sa politique, et les révisions apportées à son guide d’instructions et au formulaire qui l’accompagne visent plutôt à donner des précisions en ce qui a trait aux attentes du BSIF concernant les demandes d’autorisation de modification réductrice. Par exemple, le BSIF a étoffé la section sur l’information à présenter dans la demande lorsqu’elle touche à des prestations assujetties à une loi provinciale ou à un régime à cotisations négociées. Il offre aussi plus de détails sur la manière dont l’administrateur ou son expert‑conseil doit déterminer si une modification réduirait les prestations accumulées. La nouvelle version à l’étude du guide d’instructions révisé est publiée à l’intention des professionnels du secteur pour qu’ils puissent la commenter.

Vous êtes invité à envoyer vos questions et commentaires au sujet des modifications proposées ou d’autres exigences ou attentes énoncées dans le guide d’instructions à Claire Ezzeddin, gestionnaire, Approbations, Division des régimes de retraite privés, à Claire.ezzeddin@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Le BSIF affichera sur son site Web un condensé des commentaires reçus, sans mention de leur auteur, et de ses réponses une fois la version finale du guide d’instructions publiée. Prière d’envoyer vos commentaires d’ici le 30 septembre 2019.

L’administrateur qui souhaite déposer une demande d’autorisation de modification réductrice doit se servir des versions à l’étude du guide d’instructions révisé et du formulaire qui l’accompagne jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient remplacées par leurs versions finales.

Tamara DeMos, directrice générale
Division des régimes de retraite privés