Guide to the Pooled Registered Pension Plan Annual Information Return (RC368)

1. General

The purpose of this Guide is to assist administrators of Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs) subject to the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act (PRPP Act) and the Income Tax Act (ITA) in completing the joint Pooled Registered Pension Plan Annual Information Return (PRPP AIR) that is required to be filed with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) and the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA).

The Guide does not supersede the PRPP Act or the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Regulations (the PRPP Regulations), the ITA or the Income Tax Regulations.

2. Who Must File

The administrator of a PRPP, or its agent, subject to the PRPP Act and the ITA must file the PRPP AIR.

3. Filing Requirements

The administrator of a PRPP shall file a PRPP AIR with the Superintendent annually within four months after the end of the year to which the document relates as directed by the Superintendent.  For terminated PRPPs, an administrator is required to file a PRPP AIR while there are any assets remaining in the pension fund. For OSFI, the administrator of a PRPP shall file its PRPP AIR through the Bank of Canada’s Regulatory Reporting System (RRS).

4. Requirements Related to Electronic Filing

  • Plan administrators of PRPPs are required to file their PRPP AIRs through RRS.  For details on how to file using RRS, consult the Documents folder in RRS under Training and Support and the Manage Financial Returns User Guide and other training material available on OSFI’s website.
  • All values reported in the PRPP AIR must be expressed in dollars (not thousands of dollars).
  • The PRPP AIR must be uploaded as a PDF document with any additional required pages included in the file.

5. Annual Information Return (AIR)

Section 1 – Plan Information

Provide both CRA and OSFI registration numbers.

Name of Authorized Officer

This field indicates the name of the contact person with the authority to file on behalf of the PRPP.

Number of months in this reporting period

This number indicates the number of months the report represents.  Partial months, such as when a PRPP is not registered on the first or last day of a month, should be considered a whole month.

Section 2 – Financial Data for the Plan Year

  • Market value of assets at prior plan year-end: This amount should match the amount indicated in the ‘Market value of assets at current plan year-end’ on the prior year’s PRPP AIR.
  • Employer contributions: Total dollar amount of the contributions made by all participating employers during the plan year.  This includes employer contributions receivable at year end.
  • Member Contributions: Total dollar amount of contributions made by all members during the plan year.  This includes employee contributions receivable at year end.
  • Amount transferred to the plan from an RPP, SPP, DPSP, RRSP, RRIF or other pension plan: Where a PRPP allows for members to transfer funds into the PRPP, the total amounts transferred in for a plan year should be entered here.  Definitions:
    • RPP: Registered Pension Plan
    • SPP: Simplified Pension Plan
    • DPSP: Deferred Profit Sharing Plan
    • RRSP: Registered Retirement Savings Plan
    • RRIF: Registered Retirement Income Fund
    • Other Pension Plan: For example, another PRPP
  • Total increase due to investments: This amount should equal the sum of the values reported in the investment income, Net gains (losses) on investments – realized, and Net gains (losses) on investments – unrealized lines.
    • Investment income: Investment income is defined as interest, dividends, rents and sums earned on investments other than by an increase in their value, whether or not the income has been realized. For example, the yield realized when treasury bonds are cashed in and income generated by securities loans should be reported on this line.
    • Net gains (losses) on investments – realized: Realized gains or (losses) on investments, which are to be shown on this line, are amounts gained (or lost) following an investment transaction. They are to be measured from the fair value at the most recent PRPP financial statement date. These amounts are also referred to as realized fair value.
    • Net gains (losses) on investments – unrealized: Unrealized gains (or losses) on investments, which are to be reported on this line, are amounts gained (or lost) following a change in the fair value of investments or an adjustment following a change in the way they were valued. Unrealized gains (or losses) are to be measured from the fair value at the most recent PRPP financial statement date. These amounts are also called unrealized fair value.
  • Amount used to purchase annuities: This amount represents the total dollar value of money transferred out of the plan in order to purchase annuities for members who have elected to purchase an annuity as per Section 54 of the PRPP Act.
  • Amount transferred from the plan to another PRPP, pension plan or retirement savings plan: Section 54 of the PRPP Act provides options for the transfer of funds from the PRPP.  Definitions:
    • LRSP: Locked-in Retirement Savings Plan
    • RLISP: Restricted Locked–in Savings Plan
    • RLIF: Restricted Life Income Fund
    • LIF: Life Income Fund
    • Other RPP: Registered Pension Plan
    • Other Pension Plan: For example, another PRPP
  • Amount of variable payments: Section 48 of the PRPP Act provides that a PRPP may offer a variable payment option to members where certain conditions, as set out by the PRPP Regulations, are met.  List the total value of variable payments made from the plan during the plan year in this section.
  • Other distributions paid from the plan: This includes other payments out of the plan not covered by the other categories, such as small balance unlocking, non-residency or disability.
  • Total fees/expenses paid from plan (not included in Management Expense Ratio): This includes any any fees, levies or other charges that are triggered by the actions of a member.
  • Market value of assets at current plan year-end (Amount should be equal to the sum of lines (i) through (v) less the sum of lines (vi) through (x) and should equal the amount reported in the auditor’s report): This amount should be used in Section 2, line (i) of the following year’s PRPP AIR.

Section 3 – Plan Membership (by location at the end of the plan year)

This section is used to provide information on membership by sex, location and jurisdiction.  Members are to be reported by province of employment.  Males and females are reported separately for Statistics Canada purposes.  Some PRPPs registered under the PRPP Act include members whose work is not in included employment.  Federal members are members that are employed in included employment, which is defined under section 2(1) of the PRPP Act.

Member
Any employee of a participating employer that is part of a class of employee for which the PRPP is offered is considered a member unless they have opted out of the PRPP under section 41(5) or who object to becoming members of the plan because of their religious beliefs.

Total Column
Total number of PRPP members by location. The number of plan members, both male and female, working in each individual province is to be entered by province under the “Total” column.  This includes both federal and provincial members.

Number in Included Employment Column
Total number of Federal members by location.  The number of plan members, both male and female, employed in included employment is to be entered by province under the “Included Employment” column.

Section 4 – Investment Options – Financial Data

For each investment option, provide the information requested.  For additional investment options, please include a summary sheet.  Summary sheets may be attached separately to the end of the document, if space is needed.  Information should be provided separately for each default target date / balanced fund.

Default Contribution Rate: Provide the default contribution rate set by the plan for a member that does not set their contribution rate.

Cost: Cost refers to the fees, levies or other charges that reduce a member’s return on investment other than those triggered by the member’s actions for this investment option, and should be reported as a percentage.  This amount should reflect all costs and reflect the low cost requirement in section 26 of the PRPP Act and section 20 of the PRPP Regulations.

Annual rate of return (net of expenses):  This amount, expressed as a percentage, is the rate of return after all expenses have been deducted.

Investments Held (top 10):  This list should include the top ten investments held in the investment option expressed by percentage.

Asset Allocation: Represented in % form, the sum of all asset classes should total 100%.

Section 5 – Other Plan Information

This section includes attestations of compliance and other information.

Designated pooled pension plan
If the plan meets one of the following conditions stated in 147.5(1) of the ITA, it would be considered a designated pooled pension plan. The conditions are:

  • the plan has fewer than 10 participating employers;
  • the fair market value of the property held by members employed by one participating employer exceeds 50% of the fair market value of the plan;
  • more than 50% of the members of the plan are employed by one participating employer; or
  • participation of one or more employers occurs primarily to avoid the application of the previous conditions.

Does the plan comply with the 10% rule, the 30% rule, and related party transaction rules described in sections 9, 10, and 12 of the PRPP Regulations respectively?

  • The administrator of a PRPP must not, directly or indirectly,
    • invest more than 10% of the total market value of the funds in a members account in, or
    • lend more than 10% of the total market value of the funds in a member’s account to any one person, associated person or affiliated corporations, subject to the exceptions in subsection 9(2) and 9(3) of the PRPP Regulations.
  • The administrator of a PRPP must not, directly or indirectly, invest the assets of the PRPP in the securities of a corporation to which are attached more than 30% of the votes that may be cast to elect the directors of the corporation.
  • Subject to the exceptions and non-applications noted in sections 13 and 14 of the PRPP Regulations,
    • the administrator of a PRPP must not, directly or indirectly  lend funds in a member’s account to a related party, or invest those funds in the securities of a related party, or enter into a transaction with a related party on behalf of the PRPP.
    • during the period of 12 months after the day on which a person ceases to be a related party of a PRPP, the administrator of the PRPP must not, directly or indirectly, lend funds in a member’s account to that person, or invest those funds in the securities of that person, or enter into a transaction with that person on behalf of the PRPP.

Compliance with low cost requirement
The low cost requirement is described in section 26 of the PRPP Act and section 20 of the PRPP Regulations.

Compliance with the prohibition on offering inducements
With the exception of those listed in section 19 of the PRPP Regulations, PRPP administrators cannot give, offer or agree to give or offer to an employer an inducement to enter into a contract in respect of a PRPP.  This prohibition is described in section 24 of the PRPP Act.

Number of members that contributed to the plan during the year
This number may be different than the number reported in Section 3 given that Section 3 only reflects the membership at the end of the plan year.  Do not include members that have set their contribution rate to 0 (zero) for the entire year.

How many members contributed to the plan during the year, but are not employed with an employer participating in the plan?
This section captures members that have entered into a contract with the administrator as an individual.  These members would be considered to fall under provincial jurisdiction.

Have you attached a copy of the auditor’s report?
OSFI expects the auditor’s report required in Subsection 27(j) of the PRPP Regulations to be filed on the financial statements of the PRPP, which must be prepared in accordance with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles.

List of employers who are participating in the plan at year-end: 
The business name, number and their contributory status is required to be filled out in this section.  Please attach a separate list if required.

Section 6 – Certification

An authorized officer must certify this document prior to filing.  This officer need not be the same one referred to in Section 1; however, they must have the authority to file on behalf of the PRPP administrator.


For further information, please visit the OSFI website or contact us at:

Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
255 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H2
Telephone: 613-991-0609
E-mail: ReturnsAdmin@osfi-bsif.gc.ca

Guide de production de la Déclaration de renseignements annuelle concernant un régime de pension agréé collectif (RC368)

1. Généralités 

Ce guide a pour but d’aider les administrateurs de régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) assujettis à la Loi sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (Loi sur les RPAC) et à la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (LIR) à produire la déclaration de renseignements annuelle d’un régime de pension agréé collectif (DRA RPAC) auprès du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC).

Le guide ne se substitue pas à la Loi sur les RPAC ni au Règlement sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs (Règlement sur les RPAC), à la LIR et au Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu.

2. Personnes visées par l’exigence de production

L’administrateur d’un RPAC, ou son agent, assujetti à la Loi sur les RPAC et à la LIR est tenu de produire la DRA RPAC.

3. Exigence de production

L’administrateur d’un RPAC doit produire la DRA RPAC auprès du surintendant dans les quatre mois suivant la fin de l’année à laquelle le document se rapporte, comme l’exige le surintendant.  Dans le cas d’un RPAC ayant cessé ses activités, l’administrateur doit produire la DRA RPAC tant qu’il subsiste des actifs dans la caisse de retraite. Les DRA RPAC doivent obligatoirement être transmises au BSIF au moyen du Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR).

4. Exigences de production sur support électronique

  • Les administrateurs de RPAC sont tenus de produire leur DRA RPAC au moyen du SDR. On trouvera des précisions à ce sujet dans le dossier Documents dans le SDR, sous Formation et soutien, ainsi que dans le guide d’utilisation des relevés financiers et les autres documents didactiques sur le site Web du BSIF.
  • Tous les montants déclarés dans la DRA RPAC doivent être exprimés en dollars (et non en milliers de dollars).
  • La DRA RPAC doit être produite en format PDF et accompagnée, s’il y a lieu, des autres pages requises.

5. Déclaration de renseignements annuelle (DRA) 

Section 1 – Renseignements concernant le régime

Inscrire le numéro d’agrément de l’ARC et celui du BSIF.

Nom du signataire autorisé

Nom de la personne‑ressource autorisée à produire la DRA RPAC au nom du RPAC.

Nombre de mois visés par cette déclaration

Nombre de mois sur lequel porte le rapport. Les mois partiels, par exemple lorsque le RPAC n’est pas agréé le premier jour ou le dernier jour d’un mois, doivent être considérés comme des mois complets.

Section 2 – Données financières du régime pour son exercice financier

  • Valeur marchande de l’actif à la fin du dernier exercice financier du régime : Doit être égal au montant qui figure à la case « Valeur marchande de l’actif à la fin de cet exercice financier du régime » de la précédente DRA RPAC.
  • Somme des cotisations versées par les employeurs : Somme totale des cotisations versées durant l’exercice par l’ensemble des employeurs participants, ce qui inclut les cotisations à recevoir des employeurs à la fin de l’exercice.
  • Somme des cotisations versées par les participants : Somme totale des cotisations versées durant l’exercice par l’ensemble des participants, ce qui inclut les cotisations à recevoir des employés à la fin de l’exercice.
  • Somme des montants transférés d’un RPA, RPS, RPDB, REER, FERR ou autre régime de pension : Lorsque le RPAC permet aux participants d’y transférer des fonds, le total des fonds transférés au cours de l’exercice doit être inscrit ici. Définitions :
    • RPA : Régime de pension agréé
    • RPS : Régime de pension simplifié
    • RPDB : Régime de participation différée aux bénéfices
    • REER : Régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite
    • FERR : Fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite
    • Autre régime de pension : Par exemple, un autre RPAC
  • Somme des revenus de placement réalisés : Doit être égal à la somme des montants déclarés aux lignes Revenus de placement, Revenus nets (pertes) sur les placements – réalisés et Revenus nets (pertes) sur les placements – non réalisés.
    • Revenus de placement : Le revenu de placement s'entend des intérêts, des dividendes, des loyers et des sommes générées par les placements autrement qu'en raison de leur appréciation, réalisé ou non. Déclarer ici, par exemple, le rendement réalisé au moment de l'encaissement d'obligations du Trésor et le revenu tiré des prêts de titres.
    • Revenus nets (pertes) sur les placements – réalisés : Les gains (ou pertes) réalisés sur les placements, à déclarer ici, correspondent aux montants gagnés (ou perdus) par suite d'une opération de placement. Ils sont calculés à leur juste valeur à la date de production des plus récents états financiers, appelés donc aussi la « juste valeur réalisée ».
    • Revenus nets (pertes) sur les placements – non réalisés : Le montant des gains (ou des pertes) non réalisés sur les placements, à déclarer ici, correspond aux montants gagnés (ou perdus) par suite d'une fluctuation de la juste valeur des placements ou de la façon de les évaluer. Ce montant est calculé à sa juste valeur à la date de production des plus récents états financiers, appelé donc aussi la « juste valeur non réalisée ».
  • Somme des montants utilisés pour l’achat de rentes : Somme totale que les participants qui ont choisi cette option ont retirée du régime pour acheter des rentes, comme l’autorise l’article 54 de la Loi sur les RPAC.
  •  Somme des montants transférés du régime à un autre RPAC, régime de pension ou régime d’épargne-retraite : L’article 54 de la Loi sur les RPAC prévoit des options pour le transfert de fonds du RPAC. Définitions :
    • RERI : Régime d’épargne-retraite immobilisé
    • REIR : Régime d’épargne immobilisé restreint
    • FRVR : Fonds de revenu viager restreint
    • FRV : Fonds de revenu viager
    • Autre RPA : Régime de pension agréé
    • Autre régime de pension : Par exemple, un autre RPAC
  • Somme des montants des paiements variables : Selon l’article 48 de la Loi sur les RPAC, un RPAC peut permettre aux participants de choisir de recevoir des paiements variables lorsque certaines conditions, prévues par le Règlement sur les RPAC, sont réunies. Indiquer ici la somme totale des paiements variables versés du régime au cours de l’exercice.
  • Autres sommes des montants versés du régime : Somme des autres paiements versés du régime qui n’appartiennent pas aux autres catégories, par exemple ceux versés suite au déblocage d’un solde minime ou au déblocage des fonds dans le cas de non-résidents ou pour cause d’invalidité.
  • Somme des frais/dépenses payés du régime (non inclus dans le RFG) : Frais, prélèvements ou autres dépenses découlant des décisions prises par les participants.
  • Valeur marchande de l’actif à la fin de cet exercice financier du régime (doit être égale à la somme des montants inscrits aux lignes (i) à (v) moins la somme des montants inscrits aux lignes (vi) à (x), et doit correspondre au montant déclaré dans le rapport du vérificateur) : Ce montant doit figurer à la ligne (i) de la section 2 de la DRA RPAC de l’exercice suivant.

Section 3 – Participants au régime (par endroit à la fin de l’exercice financier du régime)

Cette section sert à recueillir des renseignements sur le sexe, le lieu et la province d’emploi des participants. Statistique Canada demande que le nombre de femmes et d’hommes soit indiqué séparément. Certains RPAC agréés en vertu de la Loi sur les RPAC couvrent des participants qui n’occupent pas un emploi inclus. Les participants fédéraux sont ceux qui occupent un emploi inclus, selon la définition prévue au paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur les RPAC.

Participant
Tous les employés d’un employeur participant qui font partie d’une catégorie d’employés à laquelle le RPAC est offert sont considérés comme étant des participants, sauf lorsqu’ils ont choisi de mettre fin à leur participation en vertu du paragraphe 41(5) ou qu’ils ont renoncé à participer en raison de leurs croyances religieuses.

Colonne du total
Nombre total de participants au RPAC, selon le lieu d’emploi. Dans la colonne « Total », il faut inscrire le nombre de participants, hommes et femmes, qui travaillent dans chaque province, ce qui inclut les participants fédéraux et les participants provinciaux.

Colonne du nombre inclus dans les emplois inclus
Nombre total de participants fédéraux, selon le lieu d’emploi. Dans la colonne « Nombre inclus dans les emplois inclus », il faut inscrire, pour chaque province, le nombre de participants, hommes et femmes, qui occupent un emploi inclus.

Section 4 – Options de placement – Données financières

Pour chaque option de placement, veuillez fournir les renseignements demandés. Pour déclarer plus d’options de placement, veuillez joindre une feuille récapitulative. Si vous avez besoin de plus d’espace, vous pouvez joindre à la fin du document des feuilles récapitulatives. Les renseignements doivent être fournis séparément pour chaque fonds axé sur une date cible / fonds équilibré.

Taux de cotisation par défaut : Taux de cotisation par défaut s’appliquant aux participants qui ne choisissent pas eux-mêmes leur taux de cotisation.

Coûts: Frais, prélèvements et autres dépenses, exprimés sous forme de pourcentage, qui viennent réduire le rendement des placements – à l’exception des coûts découlant des décisions prises par les participants. Ce montant doit tenir compte de la totalité des coûts et de l’exigence du faible coût prévue à l’article 26 de la Loi sur les RPAC et à l’article 20 du Règlement sur les RPAC.

Taux de rendement annuel (après déduction des frais) : Montant exprimé sous forme de pourcentage; représente le taux de rendement après déduction de l’ensemble des dépenses.

Placements détenus (10 actifs principaux) : Doit rendre compte des dix principaux placements détenus, exprimés sous forme de pourcentage, relativement à l’option considérée.

Répartition de l’actif: Exprimée sous forme de pourcentage, la somme de toutes les catégories doit être égale à 100 %.

Section 5 – Autres renseignements concernant le régime

Cette section rend notamment compte des attestations de conformité.

Régime de pension collectif désigné

Si le régime remplit l’une des conditions suivantes prévues au paragraphe 147.5(1) de la LIR, il est considéré comme étant un régime de pension collectif désigné :

  • le régime compte moins de dix employeurs participants;
  • la juste valeur marchande des biens détenus par les participants au régime qui sont au service d’un employeur participant donné excède 50 % de la juste valeur marchande des biens détenus dans le cadre du régime;
  • plus de 50 % des participants au régime sont au service d’un employeur participant donné; 
  • la participation au régime d’un ou de plusieurs employeurs participants a principalement pour but d’éviter l’application des conditions précédentes.

Le régime respecte-t-il la règle des 10 %, la règle des 30 % et les règles de transaction avec un apparenté qui sont énoncées respectivement aux articles 9, 10 et 12 du Règlement sur les RPAC?

  • L’administrateur d’un RPAC ne peut, directement ou indirectement,
    • effectuer des placements totalisant plus de 10 % de la valeur marchande totale des fonds détenus dans le compte d’un participant auprès de, ou
    • prêter une somme totalisant plus de 10 % de la valeur marchande totale des fonds détenus dans le compte d’un participant à, une personne, une personne associée ou des personnes morales faisant partie du même groupe, sous réserve des exceptions prévues aux paragraphes 9(2) et 9(3) du Règlement sur les RPAC.
  • L’administrateur d’un RPAC ne peut, directement ou indirectement, investir l’actif du RPAC dans les valeurs mobilières d’une personne morale comportant plus de 30 % des droits de vote requis pour élire les administrateurs de cette personne morale.
  • Sous réserve des exceptions prévues aux articles 13 et 14 du Règlement sur les RPAC,
    • l’administrateur d’un RPAC ne peut, directement ou indirectement, prêter les fonds détenus dans le compte d’un participant à un apparenté ou les investir dans les valeurs mobilières de celui-ci, ni prendre part à une transaction avec un apparenté pour le compte du RPAC.
    • l’administrateur d’un RPAC ne peut, directement ou indirectement, dans les douze mois suivant la date où une personne cesse d’être apparentée, prêter les fonds détenus dans le compte d’un participant à cette personne ou les investir dans les valeurs mobilières de celle-ci, ni prendre part à une transaction avec cette personne pour le compte du RPAC.

Respect de l’exigence du faible coût
Cette exigence est prévue à l’article 26 de la Loi sur les RPAC et à l’article 20 du Règlement sur les RPAC.

Respect de l’interdiction d’offrir des incitatifs 
À l’exception de ceux prévus à l’article 19 du Règlement sur les RPAC, l’administrateur ne peut donner, offrir ou convenir de donner ou d’offrir à un employeur un incitatif pour l’amener à conclure un contrat en vue de lui offrir un RPAC. Cette interdiction fait l’objet de l’article 24 de la Loi sur les RPAC.

Nombre de participants qui ont cotisé au régime au cours de l’année
Ce nombre peut différer de celui déclaré à la section 3, car ce dernier tient uniquement compte de l’effectif en fin d’année. Ne pas inclure les participants qui ont fixé leur taux de cotisation à 0 (zéro) pour l’ensemble de l’année.

Combien de participants ont cotisé au régime au cours de l’année, sans lien avec un employeur participant?
Cette section prend en compte le nombre de participants qui ont conclu un contrat avec l’administrateur en tant que particulier. Ces participants seraient considérés comme étant soumis à la législation provinciale.

Avez-vous joint une copie du rapport du vérificateur?
Le BSIF s’attend à ce que le rapport du vérificateur, exigé au paragraphe 27(j) du Règlement sur les RPAC, porte sur les états financiers du RPAC et soit préparé conformément  aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada.

Liste des employeurs qui participent au régime en date de la fin de l’exercice financier du régime 
Doivent figurer sur cette liste le nom et le numéro des entreprises et leur statut contributif. Veuillez joindre une autre feuille au besoin.

Section 6 – Attestation

Un signataire autorisé doit approuver ce document avant de le produire. Il peut s’agir d’une autre personne que celle mentionnée à la section 1; toutefois, cette personne doit être autorisée à produire le document au nom de l’administrateur du RPAC.


Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web du BSIF ou communiquer avec nous :

Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
255, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H2
Téléphone: 613-991-0609
Courriel: ReturnsAdmin@osfi-bsif.gc.ca