Guideline E-22 Margin Requirements for Non-Centrally Cleared Derivatives

Under OSFI Guideline E-22, Margin Requirements for Non-Centrally Cleared Derivatives, most Federally Regulated Financial Institutions meeting the definition of a covered entity (“Covered FRFIs”) are subject to the mandatory exchange of variation margin beginning on March 1, 2017.

OSFI is aware of the transitional measures taken in other major jurisdictions in order to avoid causing substantial disruptions to the derivatives market. Given the global nature of this market, OSFI recognizes that a harmonized implementation of the variation margin requirements would be helpful in ensuring a level playing field and a stable derivatives market for Canadian FRFIs.

Therefore, OSFI will provide some relief to FRFIs with respect to the mandatory exchange of variation margin that begins on March 1. For FRFIs transacting with counterparties that do not present a significant exposure to them, OSFI now expects those FRFIs to meet the variation margin requirements by no later than September 1, 2017.

Ligne directrice E-22, Exigences de marge pour les dérivés non compensés centralement

Aux termes de la ligne directrice E-22 du BSIF, Exigences de marge pour les dérivés non compensés centralement, la plupart des institutions financières fédérales qui satisfont à la définition d’une institution financière visée (IFF visées) devront souscrire aux exigences pour marge de variation à compter du 1er mars 2017.

Le BSIF sait que d’autres grandes instances de réglementation ont mis en place diverses mesures de transition dans le but d’éviter de perturber le marché des instruments dérivés. Compte tenu de la nature mondiale de ce marché, nous estimons qu’une application uniforme des exigences pour marge de variation contribuerait à offrir des conditions équitables et un marché des instruments dérivés stable pour les institutions financières canadiennes.

Par conséquent, le BSIF a décidé d’assouplir ses attentes en ce qui a trait à la date d’entrée en vigueur obligatoire de l’adoption de la marge de variation. Ainsi, les IFF dont les contreparties ne posent aucun risque significatif auront jusqu’au 1er septembre 2017, sans exception, pour souscrire à cette exigence.