LICAT Webcast Information Session

From 1:30 – 2:30 PM (EDT) on Thursday, September 15, 2016, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) will be holding a webcast information session on the final Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT) guideline.

The final LICAT guideline will be released on September 12, 2016.

Effective January 1, 2018, the LICAT will replace the current life insurance capital test, the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements (MCCSR), in place since 1992. OSFI developed the LICAT to better align capital and risk measures with the economic realities of the life insurance business. The LICAT takes into account lessons learned from the financial crisis, recent developments in financial reporting standards, actuarial standards, economic and financial practice, and advancements in international standards.

During the webcast information session, a presentation will be given that provides an overview of the final LICAT guideline and a summary of changes made since the release of the draft LICAT guideline in March 2016. An opportunity to ask questions on the LICAT will immediately follow the presentation.

Click here to register for the LICAT Information Session webcast, delivered in ENGLISH.

For more information on the LICAT, please visit the OSFI website.

The FRENCH Information Session will be occurring the same day at 10:30 AM.

Séance d’information sur le TSAV diffusée sur le Web

Le jeudi 15 septembre 2016, de 10 h 30 à 11 h 30 (HAE), le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) diffusera sur le Web une séance d’information sur le projet de ligne directrice Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance-vie (TSAV).

La version définitive de la ligne directrice sur le TSAV sera publiée le 12 septembre 2016.

Elle remplacera, le 1er janvier 2018, la ligne directrice Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l’excédent, qui était en place depuis 1992. Le BSIF a mis au point la ligne directrice sur le TSAV pour améliorer la corrélation entre les mesures de gestion du risque et la réalité économique à laquelle font face les sociétés d’assurance-vie. Le TSAV tient compte des renseignements que nous avons tirés de la crise financière, de l’évolution récente des normes de déclaration financière, des normes actuarielles, des pratiques économiques et financières et des progrès au chapitre des normes internationales.

L’émission Web donnera un aperçu de la version définitive de la ligne directrice sur le TSAV et un condensé des changements apportés depuis la version à l’étude du projet de ligne directrice sur le TSAV, publiée en mars 2016. La séance se terminera par une période de questions.

Pour s’inscrire à la version FRANÇAISE de la séance d’information sur le TSAV diffusée sur le Web, cliquer ici.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le TSAV, veuillez consulter le site Web du BSIF.

La version ANGLAISE de la séance d’information sera diffusée la même journée, à 13 h 30.