Reinsurance with a Related Party

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Index DA No: 21
  • Category: Deemed Approval
  • Revised: December 2013

Legislative Authorities

  • Sections 523 and 597 of the Insurance Companies Act (ICA)

Information Requirements

Reinsurance Risk Management Policy (RRMP)

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. confirmation that the applicant’s board of directors (Board) or chief agent, as applicable, has reviewed and approved the applicant’s RRMP in accordance with OSFI’s Guideline B-3: Sound Reinsurance Practices and Procedures (Guideline B-3); and
  2. details regarding the due diligence carried out by the applicant in respect of the related party with which the applicant proposes to cause itself to be reinsuredFootnote 1 (Reinsurer), including a confirmation that the due diligence performed complies with Guideline B-3,  and where applicable, the applicant’s RRMP.

Proposed Reinsurer

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. the name of the Reinsurer;
  2. an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that the Reinsurer is a related partyFootnote 2 of the applicant, accompanied by a current organization chart (with percentages owned) of the applicant and Reinsurer’s corporate group;
  3. a summary of the financial services and other key activities carried on by the Reinsurer, including a list of jurisdictions in which the Reinsurer operates and the nature and degree of regulatory oversight applicable to its financial services activities in its home jurisdiction;Footnote 3
  4. the name and contact information of an individual from the Reinsurer’s home regulator that is familiar with the Reinsurer’s activities;
  5. a copy of the most recent:
    1. annual report of the Reinsurer,
    2. report of the examination in respect of the Reinsurer issued by the Reinsurer’s home regulator, if available, or confirmation that the Reinsurer’s home regulator reports favourably on the Reinsurer, and
    3. report on the Reinsurer issued by a recognized credit rating agency, if available;
  6. for each of the most recent three years, copies of the Reinsurer’s:
    1. annual regulatory filings in the form submitted to the insurance regulatory and/or supervisory authorities in the Reinsurer’s home jurisdiction, and
    2. financial statements (balance sheet, income statement, statement of changes in shareholders’ equity);Footnote 4
  7. confirmation that the Reinsurer meets the minimum capital requirements in its home jurisdiction;
  8. details of whether the Reinsurer has been the subject of any criminal proceedings or administrative sanctions; and
  9. a description of any material direct insurance, reinsurance, retrocession or other business arrangements between the Reinsurer and any entities or persons that are affiliated with, or are related parties of, the Reinsurer.

Proposed Reinsurance Arrangement

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. a description of the applicant’s objective in seeking to enter into the proposed reinsurance arrangement with the Reinsurer, including details regarding the benefits that are expected to accrue to the applicant as a result of the proposed reinsurance arrangement;
  2. a draft copy of each reinsurance contract that the applicant and Reinsurer intend to enter into, accompanied by a description of:
    1. the risks that the applicant proposes to reinsure with the Reinsurer,
    2. the type and duration of the proposed reinsurance contract(s) with the Reinsurer,
    3. the annual total estimated premiums and/or commissions to be ceded by the applicant to the Reinsurer in respect of each reinsurance contract, including the percentage it represents of the applicant’s gross written premiums,
    4. the choice of governing law and the manner in which the parties intend to resolve any disputes,
    5. the manner in which the parties intend to offset their accounts, and
    6. the measures to be taken in the event of an insolvency of either party;Footnote 5
  3. a description in table format of the applicant’s entire reinsurance program, including the proposed reinsurance arrangement with the Reinsurer, that at a minimum sets out the following information in respect of each reinsurance contract:
    1. the name of the reinsurer,
    2. nature of the reinsurance coverage,
    3. cessions and premiums,
    4. retention and deductible,
    5. attachment point(s),
    6. types of limits (expressed in ratios or absolute amounts), and
    7. reinstatements;
  4. a confirmation as to whether the applicant intends to claim capital credits (in the case of a company), or asset credits (in the case of a foreign company), in respect of its reinsurance arrangement with the Reinsurer;
  5. where the applicant intends to participate in multi-party reinsurance arrangements with the Reinsurer involving the applicant’s corporate group (e.g., global treaties), a description of the settlement of accounts processes relative to those reinsurance arrangements;
  6. confirmations from a senior officerFootnote 6 or the chief agent of the applicant that all reinsurance contracts between the applicant and the Reinsurer will:
    1. conform with Guideline B-3 and the applicant’s RRMP,
    2. be entered into, renewed, modified or, where applicable, commuted (or otherwise terminated), on terms and conditions at least as favourable to the applicant as market terms and conditions, including the basis on which this assessment is to be made,
    3. effect a risk transfer and be accounted for in the appropriate manner, and
    4. not result in the Reinsurer insuring in Canada a risk;Footnote 7 and
  7. where the applicant is a foreign company (i.e., a branch), confirmation that the claims payments by the Reinsurer are to be made in Canada to the chief agent.

Administrative Guidance

  1. Applicants are to refer to the November 8, 2013, letter from Deputy Superintendent Mark Zelmer to all federally regulated insurers regarding transitional matters relative to approvals of the Superintendent under sections 523 and 597 of the ICA given prior to December 31, 2013.
  2. This Transaction Instruction sets out the information requirements and administrative guidance in respect of applications for the approval of the Superintendent under sections 523 and 597 of the ICA.  Please note that this Transaction Instruction, and the approval to which it relates, do not limit, modify or supplant any of OSFI’s expectations regarding sound reinsurance practices and procedures as set out in Guideline B-3.
  3. If granted, the approval of the Superintendent relates to the applicant’s intention to cause itself to be reinsured by a specific Reinsurer through one or more reinsurance contracts on an ongoing basis, rather than in respect of a particular reinsurance contract.  Where an applicant intends to cause itself to be reinsured by multiple Reinsurers, applications must be submitted in respect of each Reinsurer.  Additionally, the applicant must demonstrate that it has a real intention to cause itself to be reinsured by the Reinsurer, as opposed to a mere possibility or vague intention of causing itself to be reinsured by the Reinsurer at some point in the future.
  4. Please note that this approval, if granted by the Superintendent, is only in respect of the applicant’s intention to cause itself to be reinsured by the Reinsurer and does not relate to any other transactions between the applicant and the Reinsurer that may be captured by the self-dealing restriction set out in the ICA.
  5. OSFI expects that the applicant’s reinsurance arrangement with the proposed Reinsurer must not be carried out to provide financial support to the Reinsurer, or to “bail out” a Reinsurer, in financial difficulty.  In addition, the ICA generally requires that all transactions with related parties be carried out on terms and conditions at least as favourable to the applicant as market terms and conditions.  OSFI may, if it has reason to doubt the accuracy of the assessment of this requirement, commission, at the applicant’s expense, an independent evaluation.
  6. For the purposes of sections 523 and 597 of the ICA, OSFI is of the view that a cedant causes itself to be reinsured on the day that the cedant and the reinsurer(s) become contractually obligated to act in accordance with, or entitled to benefit from, a reinsurance arrangement.
  7. Please note that the applicant will be required to provide OSFI with specific information, on an annual basis, about the applicant’s reinsurance arrangement with the Reinsurer if this approval is granted (Annual Information).  The required Annual Information will typically include the following:
    1. an analysis in support of the applicant’s conclusion that the Reinsurer continues to be a related party of the applicant, accompanied by a current organization chart (with percentages owned) of the applicant and Reinsurer’s corporate group;Footnote 8
    2. confirmations from a senior officer or the chief agent of the applicant that each reinsurance contract between the applicant and the Reinsurer:
      1. conformed with Guideline B-3 and the applicant’s RRMP,
      2. was entered into, renewed, modified or, where applicable, commuted (or otherwise terminated), on terms and conditions at least as favourable to the applicant as market terms and conditions, including the basis on which this assessment was made,
      3. effected a risk transfer and was accounted for in the appropriate manner, and
      4. did not result in the Reinsurer insuring in Canada a risk;
    3. a copy of the annual reinsurance declarationFootnote 9 of a senior officer or the chief agent of the applicant;
    4. details regarding:
      1. any relevant changes made to the applicant’s RRMP,
      2. any changes made to the Reinsurer’s legal name,
      3. the due diligence performed by the applicant in respect of the continuing suitability of the Reinsurer, including reference to Guideline B-3 and the applicant’s RRMP,
      4. the type and duration of the reinsurance contracts entered into, renewed, and/or modified with the Reinsurer, and
      5. any reinsurance contracts that were commuted or otherwise terminated with the Reinsurer; and
    5. where the applicant is a foreign company (i.e., a branch), a confirmation that all claims payments by the Reinsurer were made in Canada to the chief agent.
  8. OSFI expects applicants to provide all of the required Annual Information in a single submission to OSFI’s Insurance Approvals group.
  9. While approvals of this type will typically be granted for an indefinite term, applicants should note that the approval will generally be revoked by the Superintendent where the applicant has not been a party to a reinsurance contract with the Reinsurer for more than one year.
  10. OSFI expects all applicants to promptly advise their OSFI Relationship Manager and OSFI’s Securities Administration Unit regarding any changes to the legal name of any Reinsurer following the granting of this approval by the Superintendent.
  11. Requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document are not subject to a service charge.Footnote 10

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Please see paragraph 6 of Administrative Guidance below regarding OSFI’s views as to when a cedant causes itself to be reinsured for the purposes of sections 523 and 597 of the ICA.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

All references in this Transaction Instruction to the term “related party” means a related party as defined by section 518 and subsection 597(2) of the ICA.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The information provided in respect of item 5 must, at a minimum, address prudential supervision and regulation.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

In this regard, the applicant is expected to provide a comparison between the accounting standards used to complete the Reinsurer’s financial statements and Canadian generally accepted accounting principles, where applicable.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Please see principle 4 of Guideline B-3 for further details of OSFI’s expectations in this regard.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

In this Transaction Instruction, a “senior officer” means the chief executive officer or a person that reports to the chief executive officer or the Board.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

In this regard, please see OSFI’s Advisory 2007-01-R1 (Insurance in Canada of Risks).

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

As this approval is only required in relation to reinsurance with a related party that is not also a federally regulated insurer, the approval and its conditions will no longer be in effect if the Reinsurer ceases to be a related party of the applicant.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Please see the Guideline Administration section of Guideline B-3 for further details regarding the annual reinsurance declaration.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Réassurance avec apparenté

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Index PA No : 21
  • Catégorie : Présomption d'agrément
  • Révision : décembre 2013

Fondement législatif

  • Articles 523 et 597 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA)

Exigences en matière d’information

Politique de gestion du risque de réassurance (PGRR)

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. des précisions concernant le niveau d’examen et d’approbation requis en ce qui concerne la PGRR du demandeur (p. ex., le conseil d’administration, le comité du conseil ou la haute direction), d’après les politiques du demandeur, de même que des éléments prouvant que la PGRR a été approuvée au niveau qui convient (p. ex., des extraits pertinents du procès-verbal de la réunion au cours de laquelle la PGRR a été approuvée);
  2. des précisions concernant la diligence raisonnable dont fait preuve le demandeur à l’égard de l’apparenté avec lequel il propose de se réassurernote 1 (le réassureur), notamment une confirmation que la diligence raisonnable appliquée est conforme à la ligne directrice B-3, et le cas échéant, à la PGRR du demandeur.

Réassureur proposé

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. le nom du réassureur;
  2. une analyse pour appuyer sa conclusion à l’effet que le réassureur est un apparenténote 2 du demandeur, à laquelle est joint un organigramme à jour (avec pourcentages de propriété) du demandeur, du réassureur et de toutes les sociétés de leur groupe;
  3. un résumé des services financiers offerts et des autres activités importantes menées par le réassureur, y compris une liste des territoires dans lesquels le réassureur exerce ses activités et la nature du régime réglementaire de surveillance et le degré de surveillance dont fait preuve ses services financiers dans son pays d’attache;note 3
  4. le nom et les coordonnées d’une personne-ressource de l’organisme de réglementation du pays d’attache du réassureur qui est au courant des activités de celui-ci;
  5. une copie du plus récent :
    1. rapport annuel du réassureur,
    2. rapport d’examen à l’égard du réassureur émanant de l’organisme de réglementation du pays d’attache du réassureur, si disponible, ou une confirmation de cet organisme d’une opinion favorable à l’égard du demandeur,
    3. rapport sur le réassureur préparé par une agence de notation reconnue, si disponible;
  6. pour chacune des trois dernières années, une copie :
    1. des relevés réglementaires annuels du réassureur dans la forme soumise à l’organisme de réglementation et(ou) aux autorités de surveillance du secteur des assurances du pays d’attache du réassureur,
    2. des états financiers du réassureur (bilan, état des résultats, état des fluctuations de l’avoir des actionnaires);note 4
  7. une confirmation à l’effet que le réassureur rencontre les exigences minimales de capital requis dans son pays d’attache;
  8. des détails à savoir si le réassureur a déjà fait l’objet d’une poursuite criminelle ou de sanctions administratives;
  9. une description de toutes les conventions importantes d’assurance directe, de réassurance et de rétrocession et des autres conventions commerciales importantes entre le réassureur et les entités ou personnes qui lui sont affiliées ou apparentées.

Convention de réassurance proposée

De façon générale, le demandeur doit fournir :

  1. une description de l’objectif visé par le demandeur quand il cherche à conclure la convention de réassurance proposée avec le réassureur, y compris des détails sur les avantages que le demandeur devrait en retirer;
  2. une version provisoire de chaque contrat de réassurance que le demandeur et le réassureur ont l’intention de conclure et une description de ce qui suit :
    1. les risques que le demandeur propose de réassurer avec le réassureur,
    2. le type et la durée du contrat (des contrats) de réassurance proposé(s) avec le réassureur,
    3. le total annuel estimatif des primes et(ou) des commissions que le demandeur cédera au réassureur à l’égard de chaque contrat de réassurance, y compris le pourcentage des primes souscrites brutes du demandeur que cela représente,
    4. le choix de la loi applicable et la façon dont les parties ont l’intention de régler les différends,
    5. la façon dont les parties prévoient de compenser leurs comptes,
    6. les mesures à prendre en cas d’insolvabilité de l’une ou l’autre des parties;note 5
  3. une description sous forme de tableau de l’ensemble du programme de réassurance du demandeur, notamment la convention de réassurance proposé avec le réassureur, qui renferme à tout le moins l’information suivante concernant chaque contrat de réassurance : 
    1. le nom du réassureur,
    2. la nature de la protection de réassurance,
    3. les cessions et les primes,
    4. les rétentions et la franchise,
    5. le point (les points) de prise d’effet,
    6. les types de limites (exprimés en ratios ou en montants absolus),
    7. les rétablissements;
  4. une confirmation à l’effet que le demandeur a l’intention de réclamer des crédits sur le capital (dans le cas d’une société) ou des crédits sur l’actif (dans le cas d’une société étrangère) en ce qui concerne sa convention de réassurance avec le réassureur;
  5. lorsque le demandeur a l’intention de participer à des conventions de réassurance avec le réassureur auxquelles d’autres sociétés de leur groupe participeront (p. ex., conventions mondiales), une description des processus relatifs au règlement des comptes par rapport à ces conventions;
  6. une confirmation de la part d’un cadre dirigeantnote 6 ou de l’agent principal du demandeur à l’effet que tous les contrats de réassurance que le demandeur conclura avec le réassureur : 
    1. seront conformes à la ligne directrice B-3 et à la PGRR du demandeur, 
    2. seront conclus, renouvelés, modifiés ou, s’il y a lieu, rachetés ou autrement annulés, conformément à des conditions au moins aussi favorables pour le demandeur que celles du marché, y compris le fondement sur lequel cette évaluation sera faite,
    3. transféreront les risques et seront comptabilisés de manière appropriée,
    4. n’auront pas pour effet de faire en sorte que le réassureur garantisse au Canada des risques;note 7
  7. si le demandeur est une société étrangère (c.-à-d., une succursale), une confirmation à l’effet que les paiements des sinistres par le réassureur seront versés au Canada à l’agent principal.

Directives administratives

  1. Le demandeur est prié de prendre connaissance de la note d’information du surintendant adjoint Mark Zelmer, datée du 8 novembre 2013, au sujet des mesures de transition visant les agréments délivrés par le surintendant avant le 31 décembre 2013 aux termes des articles 523 et 597 de la LSA.
  2. La présente instruction relative aux opérations énonce les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives en ce qui a trait aux demandes d’agrément du surintendant aux termes des articles 523 et 597 de la LSA. Il convient de souligner que la présente instruction relative aux opérations et l’agrément sur lequel elle porte ne limitent, modifient ou remplacent pas les attentes du BSIF concernant les saines pratiques et procédures de réassurance énoncées dans la ligne directrice B-3.
  3. S’il est accordé, l’agrément du surintendant porte sur l’intention du demandeur de se réassurer auprès d’un réassureur en particulier au moyen d’au moins un contrat de réassurance sur une base continue plutôt qu’à l’égard d’un contrat de réassurance en particulier. Si le demandeur a l’intention de se réassurer auprès de multiples réassureurs apparentés, des demandes doivent être soumises à l’égard de chaque réassureur. En outre, le demandeur doit prouver qu’il a vraiment l’intention de se réassurer auprès du réassureur et non pas qu’il est possible ou qu’il a vaguement l’intention de le faire à un certain moment.
  4. Il convient de souligner que cet agrément, s’il est accordé par le surintendant, ne porte que sur l’intention du demandeur de se réassurer auprès du réassureur et non sur toute autre opération entre le demandeur et le réassureur qui pourrait être assujettie aux autres opérations avec apparentés mentionnées dans la LSA.
  5. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la convention de réassurance entre le demandeur et le réassureur proposé ne soit pas exécutée de façon à fournir un soutien financier au réassureur ou à renflouer un réassureur en difficulté financière. En outre, la LSA stipule que toutes les opérations avec apparentés doivent être exécutées dans des conditions au moins aussi favorables que celles du marché. Le BSIF peut, s’il a des motifs de douter de l’observation de ce critère, demander une évaluation indépendante aux frais du demandeur.
  6. Aux fins des articles 523 et 597 de la LSA, le BSIF estime qu’une cédante fait réassurer les risques qu’elle a acceptés le jour où la cédante et le réassureur (les réassureurs) sont tenus d’agir conformément à une convention de réassurance ou deviennent admissibles à en tirer profit.
  7. Si sa demande est agréée, le demandeur devra produire annuellement auprès du BSIF des renseignements spécifiques au sujet de sa réassurance auprès du réassureur (la déclaration annuelle). En règle générale, la déclaration annuelle comprend ce qui suit : 
    1. une analyse pour appuyer la conclusion du demandeur à l’effet que le réassureur demeure un apparenté du demandeur, à laquelle est joint un organigramme à jour (avec pourcentages de propriété) du demandeur, du réassureur et de toutes les sociétés de leur groupe,note 8
    2. une confirmation de la part d’un cadre dirigeant ou de l’agent principal à l’effet que chaque convention de réassurance entre le demandeur et le réassureur :
      1. était conforme à la ligne directrice B-3 et à la PGRR du demandeur,
      2. a été conclue, renouvelée, modifiée ou, s’il y a lieu, transférée ou autrement annulée dans des conditions au moins aussi favorables pour le demandeur que celles du marché, y compris le fondement sur lequel cette évaluation a été faite,
      3. a transféré les risques et a été comptabilisée de manière appropriée,
      4. n’a pas eu pour effet de faire en sorte que le réassureur garantisse au Canada des risques;
    3. une copie de la déclaration annuelle sur la réassurancenote 9 d’un cadre dirigeant ou de l’agent principal du demandeur;
    4. des précisions concernant :
      1. tout changement pertinent apporté à la PGRR du demandeur,
      2. tout changement apporté à la raison sociale du réassureur,
      3. la diligence raisonnable appliquée par le demandeur à l’égard de la pertinence soutenue du réassureur, y compris un renvoi à la ligne directrice B-3 et à la PGRR du demandeur,
      4. le type et la durée des contrats de réassurance conclus, renouvelés et(ou) modifiés avec le réassureur,
      5. tous les contrats de réassurance rachetés ou autrement annulés avec le réassureur;
    5. si le demandeur est une société étrangère (c.-à-d., une succursale), une confirmation à l’effet que les paiements des sinistres par le réassureur ont été versés au Canada à l’agent principal.
  8. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les demandeurs présentent dans un seul document toute l’information requise dans la déclaration annuelle au groupe responsable des approbations dans le secteur des assurances du BSIF.
  9. Même si les agréments de ce type seront habituellement accordés pour une période indéterminée, les demandeurs doivent prendre note qu’en règle générale, un agrément sera révoqué par le surintendant si le demandeur n’a pas été partie à un contrat de réassurance avec le réassureur depuis plus d’un an.
  10. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les demandeurs mettent rapidement au courant leur gestionnaire des relations et la Sous-section de l’administration des valeurs mobilières du BSIF de toute modification apportée à la raison sociale du réassureur après que le surintendant ait accordé cet agrément.
  11. Aucun droit n’est exigé en contrepartie de cet agrément.note 10

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui fournissent toute l’information et tous les documents nécessaires peuvent s’attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.

Notes

Note 1

Se reporter au paragraphe 6 des « Directives administratives » ci-après concernant l’opinion du BSIF concernant le moment où une cédante se fait réassurer aux fins des articles 523 et 597 de la LSA.

réintégrer note 1

Note 2

Dans la présente instruction relative aux opérations, tout renvoi au mot « apparenté » s’entend d’un apparenté au sens de l’article 518 et du paragraphe 597(2) de la LSA.

réintégrer note 2

Note 3

L’information fournie à l’égard du point 5 doit, à tout le moins, tenir compte de la surveillance et de la réglementation prudentielles.

réintégrer note 3

Note 4

À cet égard, fournir une comparaison entre les normes comptables utilisées pour préparer les états financiers du réassureur et les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada, s’il y a lieu.

réintégrer note 4

Note 5

Se reporter au principe 4 de la ligne directrice B-3 pour des précisions sur les attentes du BSIF à ce chapitre.

réintégrer note 5

Note 6

Dans la présente instruction relative aux opérations, « cadre dirigeant » s’entend du chef de la direction ou d’une personne qui relève de celui-ci ou du conseil d’administration.

réintégrer note 6

Note 7

À cet égard, se reporter au Préavis no 2007-01-R1 (Garantie au Canada de risques) du BSIF.

réintégrer note 7

Note 8

Veuillez noter que l’agrément et ses conditions cessent d’être en vigueur lorsque le réassureur cesse d’être un apparenté du demandeur.

réintégrer note 8

Note 9

Se reporter à la section portant sur l’administration de la ligne directrice B-3 pour des précisions sur la déclaration annuelle de réassurance.

réintégrer note 9

Note 10

Se reporter au Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

réintégrer note 10