CONTINUATION OF A BODY CORPORATE

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Revised: April 2009
  • Index A No: 13
  • Category: Non Deemed Approval

Legislative Authorities

Information Requirements

  1. The criteria that an applicant must meet to continue under the BA, TLCA or ICA, as well as the information to be submitted in support of such an application, are substantially the same as the criteria and information required for incorporation. Therefore, in addition to the information requirements listed below, an applicant must meet the criteria and submit the relevant information found in the Guide for Incorporating Banks and Federally Regulated Trust and Loan Companies or the Guide for Incorporating Federally Regulated Insurance Companies;

  2. a certified copy of the special resolution authorizing the body corporate to apply for letters patent of continuance;

  3. a draft OSFI-57, Return of Corporate Information;

  4. for a body corporate incorporated otherwise than by or under an Act of Parliament, evidence that it is authorized by the laws of the jurisdiction where it is incorporated to apply for letters patent of continuance; and

  5. a copy of the audited financial statements and statutory financial statements (if applicable) of the body corporate for the past three years including actuarial reports (if applicable).

Administrative Guidance

  1. Evidence of authorization to continue as a federally regulated financial institution may take the form of a private member’s bill, an approval by a Minister in the jurisdiction where the body corporate is incorporated, or any other form as prescribed by the jurisdiction.

  2. OSFI would normally schedule an examination of the books and records of the body corporate upon receipt of confirmation that an examination has been authorized by the jurisdiction of its incorporation.

  3. Where an applicant wishes to continue under the CCAA, it will be necessary to contact OSFI to discuss additional information requirements.

  4. An applicant should review the transitional provisions referred to in section 39 of the BA, section 37 of the TLCA, section 38 of the ICA or section 31.7 of the CCAA and advise OSFI of any approvals that may be required.

  5. An application under this legislative authority is subject to a user pay fee as set out in the Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

PROROGATION D’UNE PERSONNE MORALE

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Révisé : avril 2009
  • Index No : 13
  • Catégorie : Sans présomption d'agrément

Fondement législatif

Exigences en matière d’information

  1. Les critères que doit respecter une société requérante en matière de prorogation en vertu de la LBA, de la LSFP ou de la LSA, de même que l’information à fournir pour appuyer la demande, sont sensiblement les mêmes que les critères et l’information exigés aux fins de constitution. Par conséquent, outre les exigences en matière d’information énumérées cidessous, la société requérante doit satisfaire aux critères et déposer les renseignements pertinents énoncés dans le Guide de constitution d’une banque ou d’une société de fiducie et de prêt fédérale ou dans le Guide de constitution de sociétés d’assurance fédérales;

  2. un exemplaire authentifié de la résolution extraordinaire autorisant la personne morale à demander la prorogation de ses lettres patentes;

  3. une ébauche du BSIF-57, Relevé des données sur la société;

  4. dans le cas d’une personne morale non constituée sous le régime d’une loi fédérale, une preuve qu’elle est autorisée par les lois du territoire de sa constitution à demander des lettres patentes de prorogation;

  5. une copie des états financiers vérifiés et des états financiers réglementaires (le cas échéant) de la personne morale au cours des trois dernières années, y compris des rapports actuariels (le cas échéant).

Directives administratives

  1. La preuve de l’autorisation de la prorogation des activités à titre d’institution financière fédérale peut prendre la forme d’un projet de loi privé, de l’agrément d’un ministre du territoire de constitution de la personne morale ou de toute autre forme prévue par ledit territoire.

  2. Le BSIF prévoit habituellement l’inspection des dossiers de la personne morale dès qu’il reçoit confirmation qu’une inspection a été autorisée par les autorités du territoire où la personne morale a été constituée.

  3. Si la société requérante désire continuer d’exercer son activité en vertu de la LACC, elle doit communiquer avec le BSIF pour discuter des exigences supplémentaires en matière d’information.

  4. La société requérante doit examiner les dispositions transitoires énoncées à l’article 39 de la LBA, à l’article 37 de la LSFP, à l’article 38 de la LSA ou à l’article 31.7 de la LACC et informer le BSIF des autorisations requises.

  5. Une demande en vertu des présentes est assujettie à un droit d’utilisateur dont le montant est fixé en vertu du Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Les exigences en matière d’information et les directives administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles ont été élaborées à partir de la vaste expérience du BSIF au chapitre de l’évaluation des demandes. Les demandeurs qui auront fourni toute l'information et tous les documents nécessaires pourront s'attendre à ce que leurs demandes soient évaluées plus rapidement. Selon les circonstances, le BSIF peut exiger des renseignements supplémentaires, prendre en compte d’autres questions, imposer des conditions ou exiger des engagements.