NAME RESERVATION

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Transaction Instructions
  • Index A No: 20
  • Revised: July 2017

Legislative Authorities

  • Sections 43 and 697 of the Bank Act (BA)
  • Section 45 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act (TLCA)
  • Sections 45 and 734 of the Insurance Companies Act (ICA)Footnote 1
  • Section 39 of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act (CCAA)

Information Requirements

The applicant is generally expected to provide:

  1. its name;

  2. the proposed name to be reserved, in English, French, or both; and

  3. the purpose for reserving the proposed name.

Administrative Guidance

  1. Applicants are reminded that a name reservation only secures the approved name relative to applications submitted to OSFI under the BA, TLCA, ICA and CCAA, as applicable. A name reservation does not address any other requirements that may apply to the applicant’s intended use of that name or its prospective activities in Canada. Accordingly, OSFI recommends that all applicable statutes be reviewed, and the agencies that administer them be consulted, in connection with the name that the applicant is requesting the Superintendent to reserve.

  2. The reservation of a name provides no assurance that the reserved name will be acceptable for the purposes of any future application to OSFI and it does not in itself confer any rights to the reserved name.  Further information on protecting a corporate name can be found on the Industry Canada website at http://www.strategis.ic.gc.ca

  3. An approved name reservation is valid for a period of 90-days. If the applicant’s name has not been approved for use by the Superintendent or Minister, as the case may be, through a subsequent application before the 90-day period expires, the applicant may make a renewed request for a name reservation if the applicant wishes to continue to reserve the name with OSFI.

  4. Requests for approval(s) that are addressed in this document (including renewed requests) are subject to a service charge.Footnote 2 A wire transfer, cheque or draft should be made payable to the “Receiver General for Canada” for the stipulated amount.

The information requirements and administrative guidance are intended to satisfy typical applications. They have been derived from OSFI’s experience in assessing applications. Applicants who provide all information and material requested can generally expect a more timely assessment of their applications. As appropriate to the circumstances, OSFI may request additional information, take into account other matters, impose terms and conditions, or require undertakings.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Note that there is no provision in the ICA allowing foreign insurance companies to make a name reservation.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Please see Charges for Services Provided by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Regulations 2002

Return to footnote 2

RÉSERVATION DE DÉNOMINATION

Propriétés du document

  • Type de Publication : Instructions relatives aux opérations
  • Index A No : 20
  • Révisé : juillet 2017

Fondement législatif

  • Articles 43 et 697 de la Loi sur les banques (LB)
  • Articles 45 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt (LSFP)
  • Articles 45 et 734 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA)Note de bas de page 1
  • Article 39 de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit (LACC)

Exigences en matière d’information

De façon générale, le requérant doit fournir :

  1. sa dénomination;

  2. la dénomination proposée à réserver, en français, en anglais, ou dans les deux langues;

  3. l’objet de la réservation de la dénomination proposée.

Consignes administratives

  1. Le requérant doit se rappeler qu’une réservation de dénomination ne fait que réserver la dénomination approuvée par rapport aux demandes soumises au BSIF en vertu de la LB, de la LSFP, de la LSA et de la LACC, selon le cas. Une réservation de dénomination ne tient pas compte des autres exigences qui pourraient s’appliquer à la façon dont le requérant entend utiliser cette dénomination ou aux activités prévues de celui‑ci au Canada. Le BSIF recommande donc d’examiner toutes les lois pertinentes et de consulter les organismes responsables de les administrer, eu égard à la dénomination que le requérant demande au surintendant de réserver.

  2. La réservation d’une dénomination ne garantit pas que la dénomination réservée soit acceptable aux fins d’une demande future soumise au BSIF, elle ne confère pas en elle‑même de droit à l’égard de la dénomination réservée.  Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la protection des dénominations sociales, consulter le site Web d’Industrie Canada à l’adresse http://www.strategis.ic.gc.ca.

  3. La réservation approuvée d’une dénomination est valide pour une période de 90 jours. Si l’utilisation de la dénomination du requérant n’a pas reçu l’agrément du surintendant ou du ministre, selon le cas, le requérant peut présenter une nouvelle demande de réservation de dénomination s’il souhaite toujours réserver la dénomination auprès du BSIF, en effectuant une autre demande de réservation avant l’expiration de la période de 90 jours.

  4. Les demandes d’agrément(s) visées dans le présent document (y compris les nouvelles demandes de réservation) sont assujetties à des frais de service.Note de bas de page 2 Un télévirement, un chèque ou une traite bancaire au montant requis doit être établi à l’ordre du « Receveur général du Canada ».

Les exigences en matière d’information et les consignes administratives visent à satisfaire à tous les genres de demandes types. Elles reflètent la vaste expérience du BSIF en matière de traitement des demandes. Les requérants qui fournissent tous les renseignements et documents demandés peuvent généralement s’attendre à ce que leur requête soit étudiée plus rapidement. Compte tenu des circonstances, le BSIF peut demander un complément d’information, tenir compte d’autres éléments, imposer des modalités ou exiger des engagements.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Aucune disposition de la LSA ne permet à une société d’assurances étrangère de réserver une dénomination.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Voir le Règlement de 2002 sur les droits à payer pour les services du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2