Corporate Names, Registered Names and Trade Names

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: AdvisoryFootnote 1
  • Category: Regulatory & Legislative
  • Issued: November 2002
  • Revised: June 2004
  • No: 2002-01-R1

Introduction:

This Advisory provides an overview of the factors OSFI considers as part of its assessment of whether:

  1. the corporate name of a bank, a federally incorporated insurance, trust or loan company, cooperative credit association, fraternal benefit society, bank or insurance holding company (a federally incorporated entity (FIE)) is permitted;

  2. the Superintendent should direct a FIE or an authorized foreign bank (AFB) not to use a particular trade name to carry on business or identify itself; and

  3. the registered name of an AFB, a foreign insurance company (FIC) or a foreign fraternal benefit society (FFBS) is permitted.

In this Advisory,

“FRE”

means “federally-regulated entity”: a FIE, an AFB, a FIC or a FFBS;

“corporate name”

means the name set out in the letters patent incorporating the FIE;

“registered name”

means, in respect of an AFB, the name of the AFB and, where applicable, the name under which it is permitted to carry on business in Canada, as set out in the order made under subsection 524(1) or 528(1) of the Bank Act; and, in respect of a FIC or a FFBS, the name under which the FIC or FFBS is to insure in Canada risks as set out in the order made under subsection 573(1) of the Insurance Companies Act; and

“trade name”

means, in respect of a FIE, a name other than its corporate name; and, in respect of an AFB, a name other than its registered name.

Legislative References:

  • Sections 40, 42(3), 42(4), 255, 530, 531, 533, 693, 696(4), 696(5) and 832 of the Bank Act
  • Sections 41, 44(3), 44(4) and 260 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act
  • Sections 42, 44(3), 44(4), 278, 575, 578(2), 730, 733(4), 733(5) and 880 of the Insurance Companies Act
  • Sections 35, 38(3), 38(4) and 250 of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act

Interpretation:

The legislative provisions referenced above:

  1. list circumstances where a corporate name, registered name or trade name is prohibited;

  2. set out requirements with respect to the name that a FRE must use in all contracts, invoices, premium notices, applications for policies, policies, negotiable instruments and other documents evidencing rights or obligations of the FRE with respect to other parties; and

  3. authorize the Superintendent to direct a FIE or an AFB not to use a trade name if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the trade name is a prohibited name.

These legislative provisions do not provide guidance on the factors that the Superintendent may take into account in determining whether a corporate name, registered name or trade name will be prohibited.

OSFI generally considers the following factors when interpreting the legislative provisions that set out when a corporate name, registered name or trade name would be prohibited.

A. The name is prohibited by an Act of Parliament

In making such a determination, the Superintendent would consider whether a corporate name, registered name or trade name is prohibited by other legislation such as, for example, sections 21 and 22 of the Canada Business Corporations Regulations, 2001.

B. The name is deceptively misdescriptive

  1. In making such a determination, the Superintendent would consider whether the corporate name, registered name or trade name would likely mislead a person with respect to:Footnote 2

    1. the business, products or services of the FRE: the name should not suggest that the FRE is engaging in a business or offering a product or service that the FRE is precluded from engaging in or offering;

    2. the conditions under which the products or services will be produced or supplied, or the persons to be employed in the production or supply of the products or services: the name should not imply relationships or affiliations that do not exist; and

    3. the place of origin of the products or services: the name should not suggest that the FRE carries on business in a location where it is not authorized to do so.

  2. With respect to the use of a trade name, the Superintendent would also consider whether the trade name would suggest or appear to suggest to a person that the entity with which the person is, or would be, dealing is distinct from the FIE or the AFB. OSFI expects the FIE or AFB to ensure that a person is made aware of the fact that the person is, or would be, dealing with it. FIEs and AFBs are reminded of their obligation to set out their name in legible characters in (as applicable) all contracts, invoices, premium notices, applications for policies, policies, negotiable instruments and other documents evidencing rights or obligations with respect to other parties that are issued or made by or on behalf of the FIE or AFB.Footnote 3

  3. With respect to a registered name that is different from the name under which an AFB, a FIC or a FFBS was incorporated, the Superintendent would also consider whether the registered name would suggest or appear to suggest to a person that the entity with which the person is, or would be, dealing is distinct from the AFB, FIC or FFBS. OSFI expects the AFB, FIC or FFBS to ensure that a person is made aware of the fact that the person is, or would be, dealing with the AFB, FIC or FFBS. These entities are reminded of their obligation to set out their registered name in legible characters in (as applicable) all contracts, invoices, premium notices, applications for policies, policies, negotiable instruments and other documents evidencing rights or obligations with respect to other parties that are issued or made by or on behalf of the AFB, FIC or FFBS.Footnote 4

C. The name is substantially the same or confusingly similar

  1. There are generally two types of confusion that could arise with respect to a corporate name, registered name or trade name:

    1. entity A could be confused with entity B in the sense of being the other entity, even though it is not; or

    2. entity A could be viewed as being associated with entity B, even though it is not.

  2. In assessing whether a corporate name, registered name or trade name would be confusingly similar to the name of an existing entity (i.e., an existing trade-mark or trade name, an existing corporate name of a body corporate, or the known name under or by which any entity carries on business or is identified), OSFI will consider the following factors:

    1. the degree of resemblance in appearance or sound between the name and the name of an existing entity;

    2. if there are one or more common or similar elements between the name and the name of an existing entity, the extent to which this is likely to lead to confusion having regard to the following factors:

      1. whether the existing entity has developed a distinctive brand in terms of the common element,
      2. how long the existing entity has used the similar name,
      3. the existing entity’s operating status (i.e., inactive or no longer undertaking new business), and
      4. how descriptive the common or similar elements are of the function, quality or other characteristics of the business or activities of each of the FRE and the existing entity;
    3. if there are one or more distinct elements between a corporate name, registered name or trade name and the name of an existing entity, the extent to which this is likely to reduce or eliminate confusion (i.e., how would these elements, alone or together with any of the common or similar elements, describe any specific function, quality or characteristic of the current or proposed business or activities of the FRE, or the FRE’s corporate relationship with other entities);

    4. other factors that may likely cause, reduce or eliminate confusion:

      1. the nature of the products or services offered by the FRE versus those associated with an existing entity, including the likelihood of any competition between the FRE and the existing entity,
      2. the territory in which the FRE operates or will operate versus the territory of operation of an existing entity, taking into consideration existing licences or statutory limitations of operation; and
      3. the nature and extent of the distribution channels and the target market(s) of the FRE versus those used by an existing entity, including an assessment of the current and potential customers of both the FRE and the existing entity.

D. The name is reserved for an FIE

A name that is reserved is considered prohibited. FREs seeking to determine whether a name is reserved should contact OSFI. For guidance on the nature of information to be provided in support of an application to reserve a name, FIEs should refer to Instruction Guide – Regulatory Approval and to Transaction Instruction A No. 20 – Name Reservation.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Advisories describe how OSFI administers and interprets provisions of existing legislation, regulations or guidelines, or provide OSFI's position regarding certain policy issues. Advisories are not law; readers should refer to the relevant provisions of the legislation, regulation or guideline, including any amendments that came into effect subsequent to the Advisory's publication, when considering the relevancy of the Advisory.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

It should be noted that these factors are similar to those set out in paragraphs 32(a), (b) and (c) of the Canada Business Corporations Regulations, 2001.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

See section 255, 531 or 832 of the Bank Act, section 260 of the Trust and Loan Companies Act, section 278 or 880 of the Insurance Companies Act, or section 250 of the Cooperative Credit Associations Act.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

See section 531 of the Bank Act or subsection 578(2) of the Insurance Companies Act.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Dénominations sociales, noms autorisés et noms commerciaux

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : PréavisNote de bas de page 1
  • Catégorie : Réglementation et législation
  • Date : novembre 2002
  • Révisé : juin 2004
  • No : 2002-01-R1

Introduction :

Le présent préavis fournit un aperçu des facteurs que le BSIF considère comme faisant partie de son évaluation à savoir si :

  1. la dénomination sociale d’une banque ou autre entité constituée sous une loi fédérale régissant les institutions financières (ECF), à savoir, une société d’assurances, de fiducie ou de prêt, une association coopérative de crédit, une société de secours mutuels, une société de portefeuille bancaire ou d’assurances est autorisée;

  2. le surintendant doit ordonner à une ECF ou une banque étrangère autorisée (BEA) de ne pas utiliser un nom commercial particulier pour exercer ses activités ou s’identifier;

  3. le nom autorisé d’une BEA, d’une société d’assurances étrangère (SAE) ou d’une société de secours mutuels étrangère (SSME) est autorisé.

Dans le présent préavis,

« ERF » s’entend d’une « entité réglementée au fédéral » :

une ECF, une BEA, une SAE ou une SSME;

« dénomination sociale »

s’entend de la dénomination sociale mentionnée dans les lettres patentes d’une ECF;

« nom autorisé »

s’entend, dans le cas d’une BEA, du nom de cette BEA et, le cas échéant, du nom sous lequel elle est autorisée à exercer ses activités au Canada aux termes de l’ordonnance délivrée en vertu du paragraphe 524(1) ou 528(1) de la Loi sur les banques; dans le cas d’une SAE ou d’une SSME, du nom sous lequel cette SAE ou cette SSME est autorisée à garantir au Canada des risques en vertu du paragraphe 573(1) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances;

« nom commercial »

s’entend, dans le cas d’une ECF, d’un nom, autre que sa dénomination sociale; dans le cas d’une BEA, d’un nom autre que son nom autorisé.

Fondement législatif :

  • Articles 40, 42(3), 42(4), 255, 530, 531, 533, 693, 696(4), 696(5) et 832 de la Loi sur les banques
  • Articles 41, 44(3), 44(4) et 260 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt
  • Articles 42, 44(3), 44(4), 278, 575, 578(2), 730, 733(4), 733(5) et 880 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances
  • Articles 35, 38(3), 38(4) et 250 de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit

Interprétation :

Les dispositions législatives précitées :

  1. énumèrent les circonstances dans lesquelles une dénomination sociale, un nom autorisé ou un nom commercial sont prohibés;

  2. définissent les exigences relatives au nom qu’une ERF doit utiliser sur tous les contrats, factures, avis de prime, demandes de police, polices, effets négociables et autres documents énonçant ses droits ou obligations à l’égard des tiers;

  3. autorisent le surintendant à ordonner à une ECF ou une BEA de ne pas utiliser un nom commercial particulier s’il est d’avis que ce nom est un nom prohibé.

Ces dispositions législatives ne fournissent pas d’indication quant aux facteurs que le surintendant peut prendre en compte au moment de déterminer si une dénomination sociale, un nom autorisé ou un nom commercial est prohibé.

Dans son interprétation des dispositions de la loi pour déterminer si une dénomination sociale, un nom autorisé ou un nom commercial est prohibé, le BSIF tient notamment compte des facteurs suivants :

A. La loi fédérale interdit l’utilisation du nom

Pour déterminer si un nom est interdit, le surintendant vérifie si la dénomination sociale, le nom autorisé ou le nom commercial est interdit en vertu des dispositions d’une autre loi, par exemple les articles 21 et 22 du Règlement sur les sociétés par actions de régime fédéral(2001).

B. Le nom constitue une description fausse ou trompeuse

  1. Pour déterminer cette question le surintendant prend en compte si la dénomination sociale, le nom autorisé ou le nom commercial risque d’induire une personne en erreur en ce qui a trait aux points suivants :Note de bas de page 2

    1. les activités, les produits ou les services offerts par l’ERF : le nom ne doit pas suggérer que l’ERF exerce des activités ou offre un produit ou un service qu’elle n’est pas autorisée à exercer ou à offrir;

    2. les conditions en vertu desquelles les produits ou les services sont fournis, ou les personnes employées pour offrir les produits ou les services : le nom ne doit pas suggérer un lien ou une affiliation qui n’existe pas;

    3. le lieu d’origine des produits ou des services : le nom ne doit pas suggérer que l’ERF exerce des activités dans un endroit où elle n’est pas autorisée à le faire.

  2. En ce qui a trait à l’utilisation d’un nom commercial, le surintendant détermine également si le nom pourrait donner à penser à une personne qu’elle traite ou s’apprête à traiter avec une entité distincte de l’ECF ou de la BEA. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que l’ECF ou la BEA veille à ce que la personne soit informée qu’elle traite ou s’apprête à traiter avec l’ECF ou la BEA. On rappelle aux ECFs et BEAs que leur nom doit figurer lisiblement sur (selon le cas) tous les contrats, factures, avis de prime, demandes de police, polices, effets négociables et autres documents établis par elles ou en leur nom, qui constituent des droits ou obligations à l’égard des tiers.Note de bas de page 3

  3. En ce qui a trait aux BEA, aux SAE et aux SSME dont le nom autorisé diffère de la désignation sous laquelle elles ont été constituées, le surintendant détermine également si le nom autorisé pourrait donner à penser à une personne qu’elle traite ou s’apprête à traiter avec une entité distincte de la BEA, de la SAE ou de la SSME. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que la BEA, la SAE et la SSME veille à ce que la personne soit informée qu’elle traite ou s’apprête à traiter avec la BEA, la SAE ou la SSME. On rappelle à ces entités que leur nom doit figurer lisiblement sur (selon le cas) tous les contrats, factures, avis de prime, demandes de police, polices, effets négociables et autres documents établis par elles ou en leur nom, qui constituent des droits ou obligations à l’égard des tiers.Note de bas de page 4

C. Le nom est pratiquement identique ou similaire au point de prêter à confusion

  1. En règle générale, deux types de confusion sont susceptibles de se produire à l’égard d’une dénomination sociale, d’un nom autorisé ou d’un nom commercial :

    1. l’entité A pourrait être confondue avec l’entité B et ce, même si elles sont différentes, ou

    2. l’entité A pourrait être perçue comme étant liée à l’entité B, même si elle ne l’est pas.

  2. Dans son évaluation pour déterminer si la dénomination sociale, le nom autorisé ou le nom commercial d’une entité est similaire à la dénomination ou au nom d’une entité existante (c.-à-d. une marque ou un nom de commerce existant, une dénomination sociale existante d’une personne morale, ou un nom sous lequel une entité exerce ses activités ou est reconnue) au point de porter à confusion, le BSIF prend en compte les facteurs suivants :

    1. le degré de ressemblance visuelle ou phonétique entre le nom proposé et le nom d’une entité existante;

    2. dans les cas où il y a un ou plusieurs éléments communs ou similaires entre le nom proposé et le nom d’une entité existante, la mesure dans laquelle que cette situation serait susceptible d’entraîner une confusion, à savoir :

      1. si l’entité existante a mis au point une marque distincte basée sur l’élément commun,
      2. la durée pendant laquelle l’entité existante a utilisé un nom similaire,
      3. la situation opérationnelle de l’entité existante (c.-à-d., si elle est inactive ou si elle ne conclut plus de nouvelles affaires), et
      4. dans quelle mesure les éléments communs ou similaires décrivent une fonction, une qualité ou toute autre caractéristique des activités respectives de l’ERF et de l’entité existante;
    3. s’il y a un ou plusieurs éléments qui distinguent la dénomination sociale, le nom autorisé ou le nom commercial proposé et le nom d’une entité existante, la mesure dans laquelle les différences sont susceptibles de réduire ou d’éliminer la confusion (c.-à-d. comment les éléments différents, seuls ou jumelés avec un quelconque élément commun ou similaire, décrivent une fonction, qualité ou caractéristique particulière des activités actuelles ou proposées de l’ERF, ou les liens entre l’ERF et les entités qui sont du même groupe qu’elle);

    4. les autres facteurs susceptibles d’entraîner, de réduire ou d’éliminer la confusion :

      1. la nature des produits ou des services offerts par l’ERF par rapport à ceux associés à une entité existante dont la dénomination sociale est similaire, y compris la probabilité d’une concurrence entre l’ERF et l’entité existante;
      2. le territoire dans lequel l’ERF exerce ou exercera ses activités par rapport au territoire où l’entité existante exerce les siennes, compte tenu des licences ou des restrictions imposées par les lois afférentes aux activités; et
    5. la nature et la portée des circuits de distribution et des marchés cibles de l’ERF par rapport à ceux de l’entité existante, y compris une évaluation de la clientèle actuelle et éventuelle de l’ERF et de l’entité existante.

D. Le nom est réservé

Un nom réservé est réputé être prohibé. Les ERF qui désirent s’enquérir de la disponibilité d’un nom doivent s’adresser au BSIF. Pour obtenir des précisions au sujet des renseignements à fournir à l’appui d’une demande de réservation de dénomination, veuillez consulter le Guide d’instruction sur la procédure d’agrément et le document d’orientation no 20.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les préavis exposent la façon dont le BSIF administre et interprète les lois, règlements ou lignes directrices en vigueur, ou bien fournissent des précisions sur la position du BSIF concernant certaines questions de politique. Ces préavis n’ont pas force de loi. Le lecteur doit se reporter aux dispositions pertinentes de la loi, du règlement ou de la ligne directrice applicable, ainsi qu’aux modifications qui sont entrées en vigueur après la publication du préavis, pour juger de la pertinence du préavis.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Il importe de souligner que ces facteurs sont semblables à ceux qui sont énumérés aux alinéas 32(a), (b) et (c) du Règlement sur les sociétés par actions de régime fédéral (2001).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Voir l’article 255, 531 ou 832 de la Loi sur les banques, l’article 260 de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, l’article 278 ou 880 de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, ou l’article 250 de la Loi sur les associations coopératives de crédit.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Voir l’article 531 de la Loi sur les banques ou le paragraphe 578(2) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4