OSFI Seeks Comments on Revisions to the Vested Asset Regime for Foreign Insurance Branches

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: March 29, 2021
  • To: Foreign Insurance Branches and Trustees

Background

In November 2019, following a review of the responsibilities and general operating activities of the Securities Administration and Approvals Reporting Unit (SAAR), OSFI announced the first in a series of steps to modernize and improve its Securities Administration regime and processes. This letter introduces proposed procedural updates to branch requirements intended to reduce administrative requirements on a risk-adjusted basis and ensure OSFI is efficiently collecting the information it needs.

Proposed Amendments

The Insurance Companies Act requires foreign companies to maintain in Canada an adequate margin of assets in respect of its insurance business in Canada. These assets must be vested in trust in a Canadian financial institution. The vested assets provide assurance that the foreign company is able to meet its obligations to Canadian policyholders. The Standard Trust Agreement (STA) is the agreement that establishes the account to hold such assets, and the contractual means for OSFI to obtain information from the Canadian trustee in respect of such assets. The STA consists of two forms:

  • Form 541 - The Standard Form Trust Agreement
  • Form 542 - The Terms and Conditions of the Standard Form Trust Agreement

Form 542 includes three Schedules:

  • Schedule A - A list of assets that foreign insurance branches can vest without pre-approval from OSFI
  • Schedule B - Monthly Reporting Requirements for trustees holding assets for foreign insurance branches
  • Schedule C - Annual Declaration for trustees holding assets for foreign insurance branches

Amendment 1

OSFI proposes to revise Schedule A to better reflect its risk tolerance for certain asset classes. The proposed list will include investment grade debt and securities from the United States. OSFI expects insurance branches will only request to vest assets outside of this list in exceptional circumstances.

PROPOSED SCHEDULE A
ASSETS VESTED IN TRUST

Eligibility Criteria

In addition to any requirements or restrictions included in Part XIII of the Insurance Companies Act, the assets vested in trust must be included in the List of Permitted Assets and meet all of the following criteria:

  1. The assets may include cash or assets in which the insurance branch may invest its funds pursuant to the branch’s investment and lending policies, standards and procedures.
  2. The assets must be free of all liens, charges and encumbrances and may not be used for securities lending purposes.
  3. The assets vested in trust, other than cash and obligations of the Government of Canada, must be liquid tradable securities deposited with the Canadian Depository for Securities Ltd. (CDS).
  4. The assets must be payable in Canadian or United States dollars.

List of Permitted Assets

  1. Cash denominated in Canadian dollars or United States dollars
  2. Investment gradeFootnote 1 bonds, notes and other obligations of the following entities:
    1. The Government of Canada;
    2. Canadian provincial and territorial governments;
    3. Agents of the Canadian Government or a Canadian provincial or territorial government whose debts are, by virtue of their enabling legislation, direct obligations of the Crown in right of such federal, provincial or territorial government;
    4. Federally guaranteed obligations issued directly by the United States government;
    5. Canadian Corporations;
    6. United States Corporations.
  3. Common equities and preferred shares of the following entities:
    1. Canadian Corporations listed on the S&P/TSX Composite Index;
    2. United States Corporations listed on the S&P 500 Index or the Nasdaq Composite Index.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

To be considered an investment grade issue, the debt must be rated at 'BBB' or higher by Standard and Poor's or ‘Baa3’ or higher by Moody's

Return to footnote 1

Amendment 2

Requests to vest non-preapproved assets to, or release assets from, trust accounts must be accompanied by OSFI Form 298. In conjunction with the revision of the Schedule A list of assets, OSFI is proposing to revise Form 298 to better capture information Supervisors require. A draft of the revised Form is attached.

Amendment 3

Trustees that hold assets in trust for foreign insurance branches are required to, on or before the fifteenth of each month, file with the Superintendent a statement of assets held along with their respective market values. OSFI intends to standardize this process by requiring all filings be submitted via OSFI’s Regulatory Reporting System (RRS). A sample of this format is attached. Roll out of this feature is still under development and will not commence until later this year.

Consultation

Stakeholders are invited to provide comments on the above proposals by email at SAAR@OSFI-BSIF.gc.ca by April 23, 2021. OSFI expects to publish its final amendments and implementation schedule in spring 2021.

Le BSIF sollicite des commentaires sur la révision du régime des actifs placés en fiducie des succursales de sociétés d’assurance étrangères

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 29 mars 2021
  • Destinataires : Succursales des sociétés d’assurance étrangères et fiduciaires

Contexte

En novembre 2019, après examen des responsabilités et des activités opérationnelles générales de la Sous-section de l’administration des valeurs mobilières et de la reddition de comptes sur les approbations (SSAVMRCA), le BSIF a annoncé la première d’une série de mesures visant à moderniser et à améliorer le régime d’administration des valeurs mobilières et les processus connexes. Voici des propositions de mise à jour procédurale des exigences administratives auxquelles sont assujetties les succursales ayant pour objet de réduire lesdites exigences en fonction du risque et de voir à ce que le BSIF recueille efficacement l’information dont il a besoin.

Modifications proposées

La Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances exige que les sociétés d’assurance étrangères maintiennent au Canada un excédent suffisant de leur actif à l’égard de leurs opérations d’assurance au Canada. Les actifs doivent être placés en fiducie auprès d’une institution financière canadienne. Les actifs placés en fiducie fournissent l’assurance que la société étrangère est en mesure de faire honneur à ses obligations envers les souscripteurs canadiens. L’Acte de fiducie type est une entente qui établit le compte dans lequel seront placés ces actifs et définit les moyens contractuels permettant au BSIF d’obtenir de l’information sur ces actifs auprès du fiduciaire canadien. L’Acte de fiducie type est constitué de deux formulaires :

Le formulaire 542 comprend trois annexes :

  • Annexe A – Liste des éléments d’actif que les succursales des sociétés d’assurance étrangères peuvent placer en fiducie sans approbation préalable du BSIF
  • Annexe B – Déclaration mensuelle obligatoire des fiduciaires qui détiennent des éléments d’actif pour des succursales des sociétés d’assurance étrangères
  • Annexe C – Déclaration annuelle des fiduciaires qui détiennent des actifs pour des succursales des sociétés d’assurance étrangères

Première modification

Le BSIF propose de modifier l’Annexe A afin de mieux y refléter sa tolérance au risque pour certaines catégories d’actifs. Dans la liste proposée, il y aura notamment des titres de créance et des valeurs mobilières de bonne qualité des États‑Unis. Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les succursales des sociétés d’assurance demandent de placer en fiducie des éléments d’actif ne figurant pas dans cette liste uniquement dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

PROJET D’ANNEXE A
ÉLÉMENTS D’ACTIF PLACÉS EN FIDUCIE

Critères d’admissibilité

En plus d’être assujettis aux exigences ou aux restrictions énoncées à la partie XIII de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances, les éléments d’actif placés en fiducie doivent figurer dans la liste des éléments d’actif autorisés et respecter tous les critères suivants :

  1. Les éléments d’actif désignent le numéraire ou les titres dans lesquels la succursale de la société d’assurance peut investir ses fonds conformément à ses politiques, normes et procédures de placement et de prêt.
  2. Les éléments d’actif ne doivent être grevés d’aucun privilège, droit ou charge ni être utilisés aux fins de prêt de valeurs mobilières.
  3. Les éléments d’actif placés en fiducie, autres que les liquidités et les obligations du gouvernement du Canada, doivent être des valeurs mobilières négociables et liquides déposées auprès de La Caisse canadienne de dépôt de valeurs limitée (CDS).
  4. Les éléments d’actif doivent être libellés en dollars canadiens ou américains.

Liste des éléments d’actif autorisés

  1. Numéraire libellé en dollars canadiens ou américains
  2. Obligations, billets et autres obligations de bonne qualitéNote de bas de page 1 des entités suivantes :
    1. le gouvernement du Canada;
    2. les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires du Canada;
    3. les mandataires du gouvernement du Canada et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux dont les dettes constituent, conformément à leurs lois habilitantes, des obligations directes de la Couronne d’un tel gouvernement fédéral ou provincial;
    4. les obligations fédérales garanties émises directement par le gouvernement des États-Unis;
    5. les sociétés canadiennes;
    6. les sociétés américaines.
  3. Actions ordinaires et actions privilégiées des entités suivantes :
    1. les sociétés canadiennes faisant partie de l’indice composé S&P/TSX;
    2. les sociétés américaines faisant partie du S&P 500 ou de l’indice Nasdaq Composite.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Pour être considéré comme une obligation de bonne qualité, le titre de créance doit être coté « BBB » ou plus par Standard & Poor’s ou « Baa3 » ou plus par Moody’s.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Deuxième modification

Demandes de placement en fiducie des actifs n’ayant pas fait l’objet d’une approbation préalable ou de libération d’actifs placés en fiducie, comptes de fiducie nécessitant l’approbation du BSIF – Formulaire 298. En parallèle à la révision de l’Annexe A, soit de la liste des actifs, le BSIF propose de réviser le formulaire 298 afin de mieux recueillir l’information dont les surveillants ont besoin. Une version provisoire du formulaire révisé est jointe à la présente.

Troisième modification

Les fiduciaires qui détiennent des actifs en fiducie pour des succursales des sociétés d’assurance étrangères sont tenus de déposer, auprès du surintendant, le ou avant le 15e jour de chaque mois, un état des actifs détenus accompagnés de leur valeur marchande respective. Le BSIF a l’intention d’uniformiser ce processus en exigeant que toutes les déclarations soient produites via le Système de déclaration réglementaire (SDR) du BSIF. Un modèle est joint à la présente. Cette fonction est en cours de développement et elle ne sera mise en place que plus tard cette année.

Consultations

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires sur ces propositions au SAAR@OSFI-BSIF.gc.ca, d’ici le le 23 avril 2021. Le BSIF prévoit publier les modifications définitives et le calendrier de mise en œuvre au printemps 2021.