Deferral of IFRS 9 Application for Federally Regulated Life Insurers

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Advisory
  • Category: Accounting
  • Date: March 2017

I. Introduction

The legislation governing federally regulated life insurers stipulates that “financial statements shall, except as otherwise specified by the Superintendent, be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, the primary source of which is the Handbook of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants”Footnote 1,Footnote 2. Generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) for life insurers is effectively International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) as issued by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). Through its authority, OSFI may specify additional accounting guidance or additional disclosure, or require that a specific accounting option within an applicable accounting standard be followed. OSFI makes these specifications in rare situations where there is a strong prudential need for additional accounting guidance. 

With the publication in September 2016 of the IASB approvedFootnote 3 amendment, Applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts, companies were given an option of exercising a temporary exemption from applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments if their activities are predominately connected with insurance.

The IASB amendment is subject to The Canadian Accounting Standards Board’s (Canadian AcSB) defined due process to incorporate into the Chartered Professional Accountants (CPA) Canada Handbook-Accounting any new standards or amendments when issued by the IASB.  As such, the amendment to IFRS 4 requires approval by the Canadian AcSB for incorporation into the CPA Canada Handbook - Accounting.

OSFI considered the costs and benefits of the temporary exemption and found a strong prudential need for additional accounting guidance for life insurers.    

II. IFRS 9 Financial Instruments

The IASB finalised the IFRS 9 Financial Instruments Standard in July 2014.  While OSFI supports the improved standard over the existing IAS 39 Financial Instruments Standard, OSFI also finds that a deferral of IFRS 9 for life insurers is needed given the 2018 introduction of OSFI’s new Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test (LICAT).  Thus, OSFI expects life insurers to defer the application of IFRS 9 until the expected effective date of the IASB new Insurance Contracts Standard of January 1, 2021Footnote 4.  This allows life insurers to adopt both IFRS 9 and the new Insurance Contracts Standard simultaneously.

III. Application of IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts for Life Insurers

OSFI expects life insurers whose activities are predominantly connected with insurance as described by the IASB’s amendment Applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts dated September 2016to apply the temporary exemption from IFRS 9 in annual periods beginning before January 1, 2021. OSFI will provide an exception to this Advisory where a federally regulated life insurer itself or its federally regulated parent does not meet the predominance test as described in the amendment to IFRS 4. For example, an exception to this Advisory will be applied if the federally regulated life insurer is a subsidiary of a federally regulated deposit taking institution (DTI)Footnote 5 such as a bank who would not meet the predominance test. The entities that defer the application of IFRS 9 will continue to apply the existing IAS 39 Financial Instruments Standard.

OSFI understands that the financial reporting practices in this Advisory will not impair a federally regulated life insurer or an insurance holding company’s ability to obtain an audit opinion that states that the financial statements are in accordance with Canadian GAAP, the primary source of which is the CPA Canada Handbook - Accounting. 

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Subsections 331(4) and 887(4) of the Insurance Companies Act (ICA).

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

As of November 1, 2013, the Handbook of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants was renamed to Chartered Professional Accountants Canada Handbook - Accounting.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

International Accounting Standards Board September 12, 2016 decision summary

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

OSFI will not issue any additional guidance that narrows the range of practice for P&C Companies including mortgage insurers.

Return to footnote 4

Footnote 5

For the purposes of this Advisory, a DTI refers to banks, foreign bank branches, bank holding companies, federally regulated trust companies, federally regulated loan companies, cooperative credit associations, and cooperative retail associations.

Return to footnote 5

Report de l’entrée en vigueur de la norme IFRS 9 à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie fédérales

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Préavis
  • Catégorie : Comptabilité
  • Date : Mars 2017

I. Introduction

La loi qui régit les sociétés d’assurances fédérales prévoit que « [sauf] spécification contraire du surintendant, les rapports et états financiers [d’une société d’assurances] sont établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus et principalement ceux qui sont énoncés dans le Manuel de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés (ICCA) »Note de bas de page 1, Note de bas de page 2. Les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCGR) auxquels doivent souscrire les assureurs-vie canadiens sont en fait les Normes internationales d’information financière (IFRS) du conseil international des normes comptables (IASB). Le BSIF a le pouvoir d’exiger l’application de normes comptables additionnelles ou la communication d’informations supplémentaires, ou encore d’imposer une option particulière faisant partie d’une norme comptable en vigueur. Il n’exerce ce pouvoir qu’en de rares cas, lorsque l’imposition de règles comptables supplémentaires lui semble tout à fait indiquée, par mesure de prudence. 

La publication, en septembre 2016, de la modification approuvéeNote de bas de page 3 par l’IASB, Applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts (en anglais seulement), permet aux sociétés qui le désirent de se soustraire provisoirement à l’obligation de souscrire à la norme IFRS 9, Instruments financiers, à condition que l’essentiel de leurs activités ait trait aux assurances.

La modification approuvée par l’IASB devra être soumise au processus établi et bien défini du Conseil des normes comptables (CNC), lequel doit remanier le Manuel de CPA Canada de façon à refléter toute nouvelle norme ou modification approuvée par l’IASB. Ainsi, le CNC du Canada devra approuver la modification apportée à la norme IFRS 4 avant qu’elle ne se reflète dans le Manuel de CPA – Comptabilité.

Compte tenu du coût et des avantages d’une exemption provisoire, le BSIF estime tout indiqué, par mesure de prudence, de formuler d’autres consignes à l’intention des sociétés d’assurance-vie.

II. IFRS 9, Instruments financiers

L’IASB a finalisé la norme IFRS 9 Instruments financiers, en juillet 2014. Bien que le BSIF soit en faveur de remplacer la norme IAS 39, Instruments financiers, présentement en vigueur, par la norme améliorée, il croit nécessaire d’en remettre l’entrée en vigueur à plus tard compte tenu du fait que les sociétés d’assurance-vie devront commencer à souscrire à sa ligne directrice sur le Test de suffisance du capital (TSAV) en 2018. Par conséquent, il s’attend à ce que les assureurs-vie ne souscrivent à la norme IFRS 9 que le 1er janvier 2021Note de bas de page 4, soit la date d’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle norme Contrats d’assurance de l’IASB. Ainsi, les assureurs‑vie pourront souscrire simultanément à la norme IFRS 9 et à la nouvelle norme sur les contrats d’assurance.

III. Application de la norme IFRS 9, Instruments financiers, et de la norme IFRS 4, Contrats d’assurance, aux sociétés d’assurance-vie

Le BSIF s’attend à ce que les sociétés d’assurance-vie dont l’essentiel des activités a trait aux assurances (tel que décrit dans les modifications compilées dans le document de l’IASB Applying IFRS 9 Financial Instruments with IFRS 4 Insurance Contracts, publié en septembre 2016) appliquent cette exemption temporaire à la norme IFRS 9 aux exercices annuels débutant avant le 1er janvier 2021. Le BSIF permettra aux sociétés d’assurance-vie fédérales de se soustraire au présent préavis à condition qu’elles, ou leur société mère fédérale, échouent le test de prépondérance décrit dans les modifications de la norme IFRS 4. Par exemple, une société d’assurance-vie fédérale qui est en fait une filiale d’une institution de dépôts fédérale (ID), telle qu’une banque qui échouerait au test de prépondérance, serait dispensée de souscrire au présent préavis.Note de bas de page 5  Les entités qui reporteront l’application de la norme IFRS 9 devront continuer de souscrire à la norme IAS 39, Instruments financiers.

Le BSIF croit que les pratiques en matière de communication d’information financière qui se trouvent dans le présent préavis ne nuiront pas à la capacité d’une société d’assurance-vie ou d’une société de portefeuille d’assurances fédérale d’obtenir une opinion d’audit attestant de la conformité de ses états financiers aux PCGR du Canada, dont la principale source est le Manuel de CPA Canada – Comptabilité. 

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Paragraphes 331(4) et 887(4) de la Loi sur les sociétés d’assurances (LSA)

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le 1er novembre 2013, le Manuel de l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés est devenu le Manuel de CPA Canada – Comptabilité.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Résumé des décisions du Conseil des normes comptables internationales prises le 12 septembre 2016

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Le BSIF n’émettra aucune autre consigne qui réduirait l’étendue des activités des sociétés d’assurances multirisques, et notamment les sociétés d’assurance hypothécaire.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Aux fins du présent avis, le terme institution de dépôts englobe les banques, les succursales de banque étrangère, les sociétés de portefeuille bancaire, les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt fédérales, associations coopératives de crédit fédérales, les associations coopératives de crédit et les associations coopératives de détail.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5