Public Consultation - Revised Guideline B-20 Residential Mortgage Insurance Underwriting Practices and Procedures

Document Properties

  • Type of Publication: Letter
  • Date: July 6, 2017
  • Reference: Guideline for Banks / T&L / CRA / Life / P&C
  • To: Federally-Regulated Financial Institutions (FRFIs)

In July 2016, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) issued a letter to the industry entitled Reinforcing Prudent Residential Mortgage Risk Management.  The letter also indicated that OSFI would review Guideline B-20.

Today, OSFI is issuing for comment a revised version of Guideline B-20. Comments on the proposed guideline can be e-mailed to B.20@osfi-bsif.gc.ca by August 17, 2017. A non-attributed summary of comments received, along with OSFI’s responses, will be posted on OSFI’s website when the final version of the guideline is released. 

The final guideline will be issued in autumn 2017, and will come into effect shortly thereafter.  Once the changes to Guideline B-20 are finalized, OSFI intends to make consequential amendments to Guideline B-21 – Residential Mortgage Insurance Underwriting Practices and Procedures.

Yours truly,

 

Carolyn Rogers
Assistant Superintendent
Regulation Sector

Consultation publique – Révision de la ligne directrice B-20, Pratiques et procédures de souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels

Propriétés du document

  • Type de publication : Lettre
  • Date : Le 6 juillet 2017
  • Référence : Ligne directrice à l’intention des banques, SFP, ACD, SAV, SAM
  • Destinataires : Institutions financières fédérales (IFF)

En juillet 2016, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a publié une lettre intitulée Renforcer le cadre de gestion prudente des risques associés à la souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels dans laquelle il annonçait son intention de réviser la ligne directrice B-20.

Aujourd’hui, le BSIF présente la nouvelle version à l’étude de sa ligne directrice B-20 et vous invite à lui transmettre vos observations par courriel à B.20@osfi-bsif.gc.ca. Vous avez jusqu’au 17 août 2017 pour le faire. Les commentaires reçus seront affichés sous forme de condensé, sans mention de l’auteur, sur le site Web du BSIF lors de la parution de la version définitive de la ligne directrice.

La version définitive sera publiée à l’automne 2017 et entrera en vigueur peu de temps après. Le BSIF compte également modifier la ligne directrice B-21, Pratiques et procédures de souscription d’assurance hypothécaire résidentielle, en conséquence.

Cordialement,

 

Carolyn Rogers, surintendante auxiliaire
Secteur de la réglementation