Opinion of the United Kingdom Government Actuary's Department (GAD) on 27th CPP Report Peer Review

Finlaison House
15-17 Furnival Street
London
EC4A 1AB
T 0207 7211 3498
E matt.gurden@gad.gov.uk
www.gov.uk/gad


Jean-Claude Ménard
Chief Actuary, Office of the Chief Actuary
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions
255 Albert Street, 10th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H2
Canada

3 April 2017

Dear Jean-Claude

The Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) commissioned an external peer review of its 27th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) as at 31 December 2015 (AR27). The peer review is intended to ensure that the OCA is providing sound and relevant actuarial advice to Members of the Canadian Parliament and to the Canadian population.

In January 2016 the OCA asked the Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) of the United Kingdom to:

  1. Select on the basis of the comparative qualifications of the applicants the independent Canadian actuaries who will perform the peer review, and
  2. Provide an opinion on the work done by the reviewers once the peer review is completed.

The request for GAD to provide an opinion of the review is to further increase the credibility of the peer review.

1. GAD’s role

  • 1.1
    GAD fulfilled the first part of the OCA’s request, advising on the selection of the independent Canadian actuaries, in August 2016. GAD received seven applications directly from individuals wishing to be appointed as peer reviewers and assessed their applications using weighted selection criteria. These criteria included the level of experience of the applicants in social insurance, pensions and investment and risk management, as well as the applicants’ qualifications and status within the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and previous experience as a CPP reviewer. GAD provided the Chief Actuary with a schedule setting out the results of our assessment, with a ranking of the seven candidates. The Chief Actuary successfully entered into an agreement with three of the highest ranking candidates to undertake the peer review.
  • 1.2
    This letter addresses the second part of the OCA’s request, providing our comments and opinion on the work done by the peer reviewers as detailed in the report, “Review of the 27th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan” (‘the Peer Review’) prepared by Robert L Brown, Mark W Campbell and Pierre Plamondon, dated 7 March 2017.

2. Peer Review Terms of Reference

  • 2.1
    The terms of reference for the Peer Review were:

    The Canadian peer reviewers will review the work of the Chief Actuary in completing the 27th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31
    December 2015 and, following the review, provide a report to the Chief Actuary and the United Kingdom Government Actuary’s Department (GAD). GAD will then provide its opinion of the peer review to the Chief Actuary.

    The review report should contain opinions on the following questions:

    1. Is the professional experience of the Chief Actuary and his staff who worked on the report adequate for carrying out the work required?
    2. Has the work been completed in compliance with the relevant professional standards of practice and statutory requirements?
    3. Did the Chief Actuary have access to the information required to perform the valuation, and were relevant tests and analysis on the data completed as might be expected?
    4. Were the actuarial methods and assumptions used in completing the report reasonable?
    5. Does the 27th Report fairly communicate the results of the work performed by the Chief Actuary and his staff?

    In providing opinions on the questions listed above, the Canadian peer reviewers will also provide such recommendations as the peer reviewers deem appropriate with respect to future actuarial reports on the Canada Pension Plan prepared by the Office of the Chief Actuary.

3. Summary of the Peer Review

  • 3.1
    The approach taken to the Peer Review would appear appropriate and reasonable, and sufficiently detailed, given the terms of reference for the Peer Review. However, the Peer Review mentions an updated edition of AR27 (with minor revisions) being received on 13 February 2017, very close to the end of the Peer Review process. It would be helpful for the Peer Review to include a comment, and to confirm that, the minor revisions did not have a material impact on the outcome of the Peer Review, if indeed this was the case.
  • 3.2
    The Peer Review addressed all of the items listed in the terms of reference and the peer reviewers were able to answer all five of the questions in the affirmative, except commenting that a forthcoming actuarial study on the Actuarial Adjustment Factors included in AR27 should also have been included in AR27 (see paragraph 4.5 below). We note that the three peer reviewers reached agreement on all of the opinions and recommendations set out in the report.
  • 3.3
    The report is very clear about the remit of the peer reviewers, noting that their focus was on the actuarial work done with reference to the data used, the major methodology issues, the key actuarial assumptions and the quality of the reporting. It highlights that the peer review does not provide a detailed audit of the data nor verification of the accuracy of the model. Similarly, the peer reviewers have not made a detailed evaluation of the appropriateness of the response of the Chief Actuary to the findings of the prior actuarial review panel.
  • 3.4
    In the report, the peer reviewers acknowledge the difficulties in determining “best- estimate” assumptions, given that many of the assumptions are not amenable to precise prediction. They note that determining a best-estimate assumption is not based on absolute science and the most that can be achieved is to arrive at an estimate that is “reasonable”, or at least “not unreasonable”.
  • 3.5
    In the executive summary, the peer reviewers have complimented the Chief Actuary and his staff on their competence, commitment and professionalism, mentioning that they were unfailingly helpful in clarifying issues and in providing additional information. The peer reviewers have offered eleven recommendations which they considered would enhance future actuarial reports.

4. GAD’s opinion on the peer reviewers’ work and report

  • 4.1
    There is nothing in the Peer Review that gives us any cause for concern or indicates that the peer reviewers have not carried out a sufficiently thorough review of AR27. We consider that the opinions of the peer reviewers adequately cover all the main issues and that it is reasonable, based on the contents of their report, for them to answer in the affirmative all five of the questions listed in the terms of reference, noting the one exception applying to the provision of an actuarial study supporting the calculation of the Actuarial Adjustment Factors.
  • 4.2
    We are also content that the terms of reference of the Peer Review are sufficient to enable the peer reviewers to address all of the relevant issues they need to in order to perform detailed review of the actuarial work underlying the AR27 and the contents of the AR27 itself.
  • 4.3
    We have not carried out an independent assessment of the eleven recommendations made by the peer reviewers and therefore do not specifically agree or disagree with any of them. Generally, the nature and scope of the recommendations made by the reviewers appear to be reasonable.
  • 4.4
    Many of the recommendations and comments in the Peer Review deal with assumptions and the sensitivity tests. In practice, each review should build on previous reviews and the processes will evolve in line with changes in reporting requirements, greater sophistication and expertise in investment and risk modelling and the nature and range of tests that can be applied, and also changes in the circumstances of the fund.
  • 4.5
    We have the following specific comments to make on the Peer Review:
    • Sensitivity Tests: We note the peer reviewers agree that sensitivity tests are a valuable tool giving the reader information that may be used to understand the financial impact of the choice of assumptions. They have suggested in section
      5.4.7 the OCA consider introducing more “subjectivity while striving for greater comparability” in the tests and we are not sure in this context what this would mean and how it might better inform the reader regarding the risks underlying the choice of assumptions or the circumstances that could result in the plan
      becoming unsustainable. Further, the peer reviewers also note in the same section that the approach to the individual sensitivity tests show variations with roughly equal plausibility with the possible exception of mortality.
      Going forward, we suggest the OCA discuss with the peer reviewers how their comments could be incorporated into the sensitivity tests to be included in future actuarial reports to better inform users of the report regarding the inherent risks in the assumptions being made.
    • Actuarial Balance Sheets: Recommendation 7 deals with the section of AR27 on actuarial balance sheets. We suggest the OCA discuss with the peer reviewers in more detail the intention of recommendation 7.
  • 4.6
    We have noted the reviewers’ comments on question 2 of the Terms of Reference that in order to comply with professional requirements, an actuarial study is required to be published to support the calculated Actuarial Adjustment Factors included in AR27. We have discussed this issue with the OCA and it is their intention to publish a study later in 2017. Although the Actuarial Adjustment Factors may have little impact on the long term sustainability of the CPP, we recommend that a supporting actuarial study is included in any future report that includes a review of the factors. It should be noted that we have not reviewed Appendix F of AR27 which specifically comments on the Actuarial Adjustment Factors.
  • 4.7
    Finally, we also note the Peer Review went beyond the scope of its Terms of
    Reference to discuss AR28, although these comments may well be helpful.

I hope that you find these comments helpful. Please contact me if you would like to discuss them further.

Yours sincerely

Matt Gurden FIA Signature

Matt Gurden FIA
Chief Actuary, Advice to Government

Opinion du Government Actuary's Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni sur la revue par les pairs du 27ième rapport actuariel du RPC

Finlaison House
15-17 Furnival Street
London
EC4A 1AB
T 0207 7211 3498
E matt.gurden@gad.gov.uk
www.gov.uk/gad


Jean-Claude Ménard
Actuaire en chef, Bureau de l’actuaire en chef
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières
10e étage, Immeuble Carré Kent
255, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H2
Canada

Le 3 avril 2017

Monsieur :

Le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) a demandé un examen externe par les pairs de son 27e Rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2015 (RA27). L’examen par les pairs vise à obtenir l’assurance que le BAC fournit une opinion actuarielle pertinente et de qualité aux membres du Parlement canadien et à la population canadienne.

En janvier 2016, le BAC a demandé au Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni de :

  1. sélectionner les actuaires canadiens indépendants qui formeront le comité d’examen externe sur la base des compétences des candidatures reçues;
  2. fournir une opinion sur le travail effectué par le comité d’examen une fois l’évaluation complétée.

L’opinion du GAD sur l’examen externe est demandée pour augmenter le niveau de crédibilité de l’examen externe.

1. Rôle du GAD

  • 1.1
    Le GAD a rempli la première partie de la demande formulée par le BAC en faisant une recommandation sur la sélection des actuaires canadiens indépendants en août 2016. Le GAD a reçu sept candidatures d’individus souhaitant faire partie du comité d’examen externe et les a évaluées en se basant sur des critères de sélection pondérés couvrant l’expérience dans les domaines de l’assurance sociale, des pensions et des politiques d’investissement et gestion des risques, ainsi que leurs compétences, leur statut auprès de l’Institut canadien des actuaires et leur expérience à titre d’examinateur du RPC. Le GAD a soumis à l’actuaire en chef un document indiquant les résultats de son évaluation et le classement des sept candidats. L’actuaire en chef a ensuite conclu une entente avec trois candidats parmi les mieux notés et leur a confié l’exécution de l’examen par les pairs.
  • 1.2
    Cette lettre donne suite au second volet de la demande faite par le BAC, et contient nos commentaires et opinions sur le travail effectué par les examinateurs externes contenu dans le rapport intitulé Examen du 27e Rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada (l’« examen par les pairs ») daté du 7 mars 2017 et préparé par MM. Robert L. Brown, Mark W. Campbell et Pierre Plamondon.

2. Cadre de référence de l’examen par les pairs

  • 2.1
    Le cadre de référence de l’examen par les pairs était le suivant :

    Les actuaires canadiens qui effectueront l’examen par les pairs évalueront les travaux effectués par l’actuaire en chef dans le cadre du 27e Rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2015 et après cet examen, remettront un rapport à l’actuaire en chef et au Government Actuary’s Department (GAD) du Royaume-Uni.

    Le rapport d’examen doit contenir des opinions concernant les questions suivantes :

    1. L’expérience professionnelle de l’actuaire en chef et de ses collaborateurs qui ont participé à la préparation du rapport est-elle suffisante pour exécuter les travaux exigés?
    2. Les travaux ont-ils été effectués en conformité avec les normes de pratique professionnelles et exigences réglementaires pertinentes?
    3. L’actuaire en chef a-t-il eu accès aux renseignements nécessaires pour exécuter l’évaluation et les tests et analyses pertinents ont-ils été exécutés sur les données comme l’on pourrait s’y attendre?
    4. Les méthodes et hypothèses actuarielles utilisées pour préparer le rapport sont-elles raisonnables?
    5. Le 27e Rapport communique-t-il équitablement les résultats des travaux exécutés par l’actuaire en chef et ses collaborateurs?

    En donnant leur opinion sur les questions susmentionnées, les examinateurs fourniront également les recommandations qu’ils estiment pertinentes au sujet des rapports actuariels futurs que préparera le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef relativement au Régime de pensions du Canada.

3. Résumé de l’examen par les pairs

  • 3.1
    La démarche de l’examen par les pairs semble appropriée et raisonnable compte tenu du cadre de référence. Par contre, l’examen fait allusion à une version mise à jour du RA27 (comportant de légères révisions) reçue le 13 février 2017, soit presque à la fin de l’exercice. Il serait utile que l’examen par les pairs renferme un commentaire à ce sujet et confirme, le cas échéant, que cette nouvelle version avec révisions mineures, n’a pas eu d’incidence importante sur les résultats de l’examen.
  • 3.2
    L’examen par les pairs a abordé tous les points mentionnés dans le cadre de référence, et les examinateurs ont pu répondre affirmativement aux cinq questions. Ils ont toutefois indiqué qu’une étude actuarielle en préparation sur les facteurs d’ajustement actuariel utilisés dans le RA27 aurait également dû être incluse dans le RA27 (voir le paragraphe 4.5 ci-après). Nous constatons que les trois examinateurs s’entendent sur toutes les opinions et recommandations formulées dans le rapport.
  • 3.3
    Le rapport énonce très clairement le cadre de référence du groupe de pairs, soulignant que ce dernier s’est penché sur les travaux actuariels effectués à propos des données utilisées, les principales méthodes employées, les principales hypothèses actuarielles et la qualité du rapport. Il précise que l’examen par les pairs ne fournit ni un audit détaillé des données, ni une vérification de l’exactitude du modèle. De même, les examinateurs n’ont pas évalué en détail la justesse de la réponse de l’actuaire du chef aux constatations du groupe d’examen actuariel précédent.
  • 3.4
    Dans le rapport, les examinateurs reconnaissent la difficulté de déterminer les hypothèses de meilleure estimation, puisque plusieurs hypothèses ne peuvent être prédites de façon précise. Ils mentionnent que déterminer les hypothèses de meilleure estimation n’est pas une science absolue et que le mieux qui peut être fait est d’arriver à un estimé « raisonnable », ou du moins « non déraisonnable ».
  • 3.5
    Dans le sommaire, les examinateurs ont fait l’éloge de l’actuaire en chef et de ses collaborateurs à propos de leurs compétences, leur engagement et leur professionnalisme, en mentionnant qu’ils ont été très serviables pour clarifier certains points et pour fournir de l’information supplémentaire. Les examinateurs externes ont offert onze recommandations qui, de leur avis, contribueraient à améliorer les rapports actuariels ultérieurs.

4. Opinion du GAD à propos du travail effectué par les examinateurs et de leur rapport

  • 4.1
    Nous n’avons relevé dans l’examen par les pairs aucun élément inquiétant ou indiquant que le travail des examinateurs n’a pas été suffisamment exhaustif lors de la revue du RA27. À notre avis, les opinions des examinateurs couvrent adéquatement toutes les grandes questions et, vu la teneur de leur rapport, il était raisonnable qu’ils répondent par l’affirmative aux cinq questions soulevées dans le cadre de référence, sauf en ce qui touche la production d’une étude actuarielle à l’appui du calcul des facteurs d’ajustement actuariels.
  • 4.2
    Le GAD estime que le mandat de l’examen par les pairs permettait aux examinateurs d’aborder toutes les questions pertinentes à traiter pour examiner en détail les travaux actuariels qui sous-tendent le RA27 et le contenu de ce dernier.
  • 4.3
    Nous n’avons pas évalué à titre indépendant les onze recommandations formulées par les examinateurs; par conséquent, nous n’approuvons ni ne désapprouvons aucune d’elles. Dans l’ensemble, la nature et la portée des recommandations des examinateurs semblent raisonnables.
  • 4.3
    Bon nombre des recommandations et commentaires formulés dans le rapport traitent des hypothèses et des tests de sensibilité. En fait, chaque examen devrait s’appuyer sur les examens précédents et les processus évolueront parallèlement aux changements apportés aux exigences redditionnelles, aux progrès de la technicité et de l’expertise de la modélisation des placements et des risques, aux changements de la nature et de la gamme des tests applicables, et aux circonstances changeantes du fonds.
  • 4.3
    Nous formulons les commentaires spécifiques suivants à propos de l’examen par les pairs :
    • Tests de sensibilité : Nous constatons que les examinateurs conviennent que les tests de sensibilité sont utiles et qu’ils fournissent au lecteur des renseignements permettant de comprendre l’impact financier du choix des hypothèses. À la section 5.4.7, ils suggèrent au BAC de songer à « rétablir davantage de subjectivité tout en cherchant à accroître la comparabilité » des tests. Nous ne savons trop ce que cela signifierait dans ce contexte et en quoi cela pourraient mieux informer le lecteur au sujet des risques qui sous-tendent le choix des hypothèses ou les circonstances qui pourraient mettre un terme à la viabilité du régime. Les examinateurs soulignent en outre dans cette section que l’approche à l’égard de chaque test de sensibilité présente des variations à peu près équiprobables à l’exception, peut-être, de la mortalité.
      Nous suggérons que le BAC discute avec les examinateurs pour déterminer comment leurs commentaires pourraient être intégrés aux tests de sensibilité qui feront partie des prochains rapports actuariels pour mieux renseigner les utilisateurs de ces rapports au sujet des risques inhérents aux hypothèses qui sont formulées.
    • Bilans actuariels : La recommandation 7 porte sur la section du RA27 traitant des bilans actuariels. Nous suggérons au BAC de discuter de cette recommandation de plus près avec les examinateurs.
  • 4.6
    Nous avons noté les commentaires des examinateurs au sujet de la question 2 du cadre de référence à l’effet que, pour respecter les exigences professionnelles, une étude actuarielle doit être publiée pour étayer le calcul des facteurs d’ajustement actuariels figurant dans le RA27. Nous avons abordé cette question avec le BAC, et ce dernier entend publier une étude plus tard en 2017. Même si les facteurs d’ajustement actuariels peuvent n’avoir que peu d’incidence sur la viabilité à long terme du RPC, nous recommandons que les rapports ultérieurs qui renfermeront un examen des facteurs soient supportés d’une étude actuarielle. Soulignons que nous n’avons pas examiné l’annexe F du RA27, qui traite expressément des facteurs d’ajustement actuariels.
  • 4.7
    Enfin, nous constatons que l’examen par les pairs déborde de son cadre de référence et aborde le RA28, encore que ces commentaires pourraient être utiles.

J’espère que les observations qui précèdent vous seront utiles. Si vous souhaitez en discuter plus en détail, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi.

Cordialement,

L’actuaire en chef,
Conseils au gouvernement,

Signature de Matt Gurden FIA 

Matt Gurden FIA