2011 Speeches

Speaker Title Date Published
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation on the topic of “Pension reform in Canada”, 27 September 2011, Edinburgh, U.K.

“According to international organizations, the Canadian retirement income system based on a mix of public and private pensions is an effective way to provide for retirement income needs.”

2011-09-27
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation at the Pension, Benefits and Social Security Colloquium, on the topic of “Getting the balance of state and private provisions right”, 26 September 2011, Edinburgh, U.K.

“No matter if it is a fully funded or a PayGo plan, no matter if it is a DB or a DC solution, no matter if it is a national public scheme or a private pension plan, the fact is that increased longevity will continue to put pressure on the financing of pension plans.”

2011-09-26
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation at the Pension, Benefits and Social Security Colloquium, on the topic of “Guidelines for social security actuaries”, 26 September 2011, Edinburgh, U.K.

“The actuarial guidelines are not only important to standardize the way actuaries do their work, but they are also very important to better serve the public. To make adequate and timely decisions on any social security schemes, political reviews should be aligned with frequent actuarial reporting.”

2011-09-26
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation at the colloquium on Issues for Public Retirement Systems, on the topic of “Issues and Reforms”, 10 May 2011, Sherbrooke, Canada.

“What is generally agreed upon is that retirement income security is a shared responsibility between the government, society, employers and individuals. What is difficult to determine is what the different levels of responsibility are or should be, how they interact or should interact with each other, and based on that, the optimal means of improving retirement income adequacy.”

2011-05-10
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, on the topic of the "25th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2009", 8 February 2011, Toronto, Canada.

"Overall, the results confirm that the current legislated rate of 9.9% is sufficient to sustain the Plan over the long term, with assets projected to accumulate to $275 billion by the year 2020".

2011-02-08
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation to the Society of Actuaries (SOA)’s Living to 100 International Symposium, on the topic of "Mortality projections for Social Security Programs in Canada and its implications", 7 January 2011, Orlando, United States.”

2011-01-07

Discours 2011

Conférencier / Conférencière Titre Date de publication
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation au colloque sur les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sécurité sociale, portant sur « La réforme des pensions au Canada », 27 septembre 2011, Édimbourg, R.-U.

« Au Canada, le système de sécurité du revenu à la retraite fondé sur la juxtaposition de régimes de retraite privés et publics constitue, selon des organismes internationaux, un moyen efficace de répondre aux besoins en matière de revenu de retraite. »

2011-09-27
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation au colloque sur les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sécurité sociale, portant sur « Atteindre l’équilibre optimal entre les dispositions publiques et privées », 26 septembre 2011, Édimbourg, R.-U.

« Qu’un régime soit entièrement capitalisé ou financé par répartition, à prestations déterminées ou à cotisations déterminées, qu’il s’agisse d’un régime de pensions national ou d’un régime de retraite privé, l’augmentation de la longévité continuera inéluctablement de faire peser des pressions sur son financement. »

2011-09-26
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation au colloque sur les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sécurité sociale, portant sur les « Lignes directrices à l’intention des actuaires de la sécurité sociale », 26 septembre 2011, Édimbourg, R.-U.

« Les lignes directrices actuarielles sont importantes non seulement pour uniformiser la façon dont les actuaires font leur travail, mais elles sont aussi très importantes pour mieux servir le public. Pour prendre des décisions convenables et opportunes en lien avec tout programme de sécurité sociale, les examens politiques doivent être liés à des rapports actuariels fréquents. »

2011-09-26
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation au colloque « Enjeux des régimes publics de retraite », portant sur les « Enjeux et réformes nécessaire », 10 mai 2011, Sherbrooke, Canada.

« On s'entend généralement pour dire que la sécurité du revenu à la retraite relève conjointement du gouvernement, de la société, des employeurs et des individus. Le plus difficile est de déterminer ce que sont ou devraient être les différents paliers de responsabilités, comment ils interagissent entre eux ou devraient le faire et, enfin, quels sont les meilleurs moyens d'améliorer le niveau adéquat du revenu à la retraite. »

2011-05-10
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation au conseil d’administration de l’Office d’investissement du Régime de Pensions du Canada, portant sur le « 25e rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2009 », 8 février 2011, Toronto, Canada.

« Dans l'ensemble, les résultats confirment que le taux actuel prévu par la loi de 9.9 % est suffisant pour assurer la viabilité à long terme du Régime et cumuler un actif de 275 milliards de dollars d'ici à 2020. »

2011-02-25
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation au Symposium international « Living to 100 » de la Society of Actuaries (SOA), portant sur les « Projections de la mortalité dans le cadre des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada et leurs implications », 7 janvier 2011, Orlando, États-Unis».

2011-01-07