2014 Speeches

Speaker Title Date Published
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Financial Management Institute on the topic of "Funding Actuarial Valuations of Public Sector Pension Plans"

For the Public Sector Pension Plans, the Office of the Chief Actuary is responsible for setting assumptions for actuarial reports for funding purposes that are tabled before Parliament and determine the current service cost of the plans. By 2017, this cost will be equally shared by the government and contributors for the federal public servants and members of Parliament.

2014-11-25
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the ISSA International Research Conference on the topic of "Pillar integration, basic protection and replacement rates in four modern multi pillar pension systems – case of Canada"

"In Canada the first two pillars are successful in providing basic retirement protection. The role of the third pillar is to provide adequate retirement income and diversify the sources of retirement income."

2014-11-04
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Society of Actuaries’ Annual Meeting on the topic of “Living to 100…will the Canada Pension Plan be sustainable?”

"While an increasing number of Canadians are reaching the age of 100, Canadians, on average, are not expected to live that long. The most recent CPP Actuarial Report cautions that if life expectancies continue to increase at the current rate, especially for ages 75 to 89, it could put additional pressure on the minimum contribution rate causing the rate to increase above 9.9%."

2014-10-27
Jean-Claude Ménard

Remarks by the Chief Actuary of Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard, to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Public Accounts

2014-05-28
Assia Billig

Presentation by Assia Billig, Actuary, at the 30th International Congress of Actuaries on the topic of "Why actuaries are interested in demographic issues and why others should listen to them", 31 March 2014, Washington, USA.

“The actuarial profession possesses a profound understanding of demographic risks in the modern world and their implications on the most vulnerable: the old, the sick, the disabled, the unemployed or the one who suffers the loss of a family member.”

2014-05-26
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board on the topic of "Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2012", 12 February 2014.

"With the legislated contribution rate of 9.9%, contributions are more than sufficient to cover expenditures over the period 2013 to 2022."

2014-02-12
Jean-Claude Ménard

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Society of Actuaries' Living to 100 International Symposium on the topic of “Mortality Projections of Public Pension Plans in Canada and its financial implications”, 10 January 2014, Orlando, FL, USA.

“Over the next half century, Canadian life expectancy at age 65 is projected to increase by 3 years to reach 25 years. It means that half of Canadian retirees are expected to live past age 90.”

2014-01-10

Discours 2014

Conférencier / Conférencière Titre Date affichée
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à l’Institut de la gestion financière du Canada portant sur les « Évaluations actuarielles de capitalisation des régimes de retraite du secteur public »

Le bureau de l’actuaire en chef est chargé d’élaborer des hypothèses aux fins de la préparation des rapports actuariels de capitalisation sur les régimes de retraite du secteur public. Ces rapports actuariels sont déposés au Parlement et incluent le calcul du coût du service courant. D’ici 2017, le coût du service courant pour les employés de la fonction publique fédérale et les parlementaires sera partagé en parts égales entre le gouvernement et les cotisants.

2014-11-25
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à la Conférence internationale de recherche de l’AISS portant sur les « Intégration des piliers, protection de base et taux de remplacement dans les quatre régimes de retraite modernes à plusieurs piliers – au Canada »

« Au Canada, les deux premiers piliers protègent efficacement la retraite. Le troisième pilier a pour rôle de garantir un revenu de retraite suffisant et d’en diversifier les sources. »

2014-11-04
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à l’Assemblée annuelle de la Society of Actuaries portant sur « Vivre jusqu’à 100 ans… le Régime de pensions du Canada sera-t-il viable? »

« Bien que de plus en plus de Canadiens deviennent centenaires, généralement les Canadiens ne vivent pas si longtemps. Le Rapport actuariel le plus récent sur le RPC indique que si les dernières améliorations de l’espérance de vie se poursuivent au rythme actuel, surtout aux âges 75 à 89, cela pourrait faire augmenter le taux minimal de cotisation au-delà de 9,9 %. »

2014-10-27
Jean-Claude Ménard

Allocution de Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, devant le Comité permanent des comptes publics

2014-05-28
Assia Billig

Présentation par Assia Billig, actuaire, au 30e Congrès international des actuaires portant sur le «Pourquoi les actuaires s’intéressent aux questions démographiques et pourquoi il faut les écouter», 31 mars 2014, Washington, États-Unis.

« La profession actuarielle est caractérisée par une profonde compréhension des risques démographiques du monde moderne ainsi que leurs implications sur les plus vulnérables, en l’occurrence les personnes âgées, les malades, les chômeurs ou les personnes qui perdent un membre de leur famille.»

2014-05-26
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, au conseil d'administration de l’Office d’investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada portant sur le «26e rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2012», 12 février 2014.

« En appliquant le taux de cotisation de 9,9 % prévu par la loi, les cotisations projetées sont plus que suffisantes pour couvrir les dépenses de la période de 2013 à 2022. »

2014-02-14
Jean-Claude Ménard

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, au Symposium international « Living to 100 » de la Society of Actuaries portant sur les «Projections de la mortalité dans le cadre des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada et les implications financières », 10 janvier 2014, Orlando, FL, États-Unis.

« L’espérance de vie canadienne à 65 ans augmentera de 3 années pour atteindre 25 ans d’ici les 50 prochaines années, ce qui indique que la moitié des retraités canadiens dépasseront l’âge de 90 ans. »
2014-01-10