Speeches and Presentations - Jean-Claude Ménard

Title Date Published

Enhancement of the Canada Pension Plan - Presentation to the Northwind’s 14th Annual Pension Fund Invitational Forum
Pensions 2017: Redefining the Risk Reward Spectrum

2017-11-02

Canada Pension Plan: Journey from 1997 to 2016 - Presentation to the SOA Annual Meeting & Exhibit, Session: Future of Social Security

2017-10-18

Canadian Retirement Income System: successes and challenges – Presentation at the CIA Annual Meeting

2017-06-22

Canada: Building a Sustainable Pension System, Beijing, China, February 20, 2017

2017-02-21

Actuarial Reports on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2015 – Presentation to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

2017-02-09

Presentation at the SOA Living to 100 International Symposium on the topic of: Mortality Projections for Social Security Programs in Canada. 2017 Living to 100 Symposium, General Session IV, Orlando, FL, 5 January 2017

2017-01-05

Viability of Canadian Retirement Income System: Political Consensus and Sound Actuarial Advice, by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, and Assia Billig, Actuary
Office of the Chief Actuary, Office of the Superintendant of Financial Institutions, Canada,
Panama, Panama, November 16, 2016

2016-11-17

Presentation at the Finance Circle of Quebec - Conference on retirement, institutional investment and personal finances: Canada Pension Plan Enhancement. Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, Office of the Chief Actuary, OSFI, Quebec City, 8 November 2016

2016-11-08

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the 2016 University of Waterloo International Workshop on the Implications of Aging on Asset Values on the topic of “Living to 100 – Would Canada Pension Plan be Sustainable?”

2016-09-20

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the 2016 CPBI Regional Conference Ontario & Québec on the topic of “Enhancing the Canada Pension Plan: Agreement in Principle”

2016-09-13

Remarks by the Chief Actuary of Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard, to the Senate Standing Committee on National Finance

2016-06-13

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Eurostat/ILO/IMF/OECD Workshop on Pensions on the topic of "Communication of Financial Information for the Canada Pension Plan"

2016-03-11

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Financial Management Institute on the topic of "Funding Actuarial Valuations of Public Sector Pension Plans"

For the Public Sector Pension Plans, the Office of the Chief Actuary is responsible for setting assumptions for actuarial reports for funding purposes that are tabled before Parliament and determine the current service cost of the plans. By 2017, this cost will be equally shared by the government and contributors for the federal public servants and members of Parliament.

2014-11-25

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the International Social Security Association International Research Conference on the topic of "Pillar integration, basic protection and replacement rates in four modern multi pillar pension systems – case of Canada"

"In Canada the first two pillars are successful in providing basic retirement protection. The role of the third pillar is to provide adequate retirement income and diversify the sources of retirement income."

2014-11-04

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Society of Actuaries’ Annual Meeting on the topic of "Living to 100…will the Canada Pension Plan be sustainable?"

"While an increasing number of Canadians are reaching the age of 100, Canadians, on average, are not expected to live that long. The most recent CPP Actuarial Report cautions that if life expectancies continue to increase at the current rate, especially for ages 75 to 89, it could put additional pressure on the minimum contribution rate causing the rate to increase above 9.9%."

2014-10-27

Remarks by the Chief Actuary of Canada, Jean-Claude Ménard, to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Public Accounts

2014-05-28

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board on the topic of "Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2012", 12 February 2014.

"With the legislated contribution rate of 9.9%, contributions are more than sufficient to cover expenditures over the period 2013 to 2022."

2014-02-12

Presentation by Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary, at the Society of Actuaries' Living to 100 International Symposium on the topic of “Mortality Projections of Public Pension Plans in Canada and its financial implications”, 10 January 2014, Orlando, FL, USA.

“Over the next half century, Canadian life expectancy at age 65 is projected to increase by 3 years to reach 25 years. It means that half of Canadian retirees are expected to live past age 90.”

2014-01-10

Presentation by the Chief Actuary at the ISSA World Social Security Forum 2013 on the topic of “Proactive and preventive approaches across all risks: Supporting sustainability”, 11 November 2013, Doha, Qatar.

“Intergenerational equity and sustainability discussions should go further than pension systems only. Equity and sustainability need to be considered within a broader framework encompassing, among other factors, spending on education and health and the national debt that will be left to future generations.” 

2013-11-18

Remarks to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates, Ottawa, Ontario, June 18, 2013.

Review of Statutory Programs-Public Service Pension Plan

2013-06-18

Presentation to the BC Public Sector Pension Conference on the topic "Setting Assumptions for Funding Actuarial Valuations", on 25 April 2013, Victoria, British-Columbia.

"Retirement is expensive and could become even more expensive in the future with improved longevity and uncertain future global economic growth."

2013-04-26

Presentation to the International Social Security Association Technical Seminar on "Proactive and Preventive Approaches in Social Security - Supporting Sustainability" on 24 February 2013 in Muscat, Oman, on the topic of “Intergenerational Balance of the Canadian Retirement Income System”.

"The diversification of the Canadian retirement income system, through its mix of public and private pensions and different financing approaches, allows for periodical corrections of the emerging intergenerational imbalances."

2013-02-25

Remarks to Standing Senate Committee on National Finance, related to the study of Bill C-46 – An Act to amend the Members of Parliament Retiring Allowances Act, Ottawa, Ontario, Tuesday, October 30, 2012.

2012-10-30

Opening Remarks to the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) Seminar on Demographic, Economic and Investment Perspectives (Years 2012 to 2050), Ottawa, Ontario, 28 September 2012.

2012-09-28

Remarks to the Opening Ceremony of the 17th International Conference of Social Security Actuaries and Statisticians, ISSA, Berlin, Germany, 30 May 2012.

“The concept of sustainability is a multifaceted one: it encompasses, in particular, financial, intergenerational and political aspects.”

2012-05-30

Presentation, at the Pension, Benefits and Social Security Colloquium, on the topic of “Pension reform in Canada”, 27 September 2011, Edinburgh, U.K.

“According to international organizations, the Canadian retirement income system based on a mix of public and private pensions is an effective way to provide for retirement income needs.”

2011-09-27

Presentation, at the Pension, Benefits and Social Security Colloquium, on the topic of “Getting the balance of state and private provisions right”, 26 September 2011, Edinburgh, U.K.

“No matter if it is a fully funded or a PayGo plan, no matter if it is a DB or a DC solution, no matter if it is a national public scheme or a private pension plan, the fact is that increased longevity will continue to put pressure on the financing of pension plans.”

2011-09-26

Presentation, at the Pension, Benefits and Social Security Colloquium, on the topic of “Guidelines for social security actuaries”, 26 September 2011, Edinburgh, U.K.

“The actuarial guidelines are not only important to standardize the way actuaries do their work, but they are also very important to better serve the public. To make adequate and timely decisions on any social security schemes, political reviews should be aligned with frequent actuarial reporting.”

2011-09-26

Presentation at the colloquium on Issues for Public Retirement Systems, on the topic of “Issues and Reforms”, 10 May 2011, Sherbrooke, Canada.

“What is generally agreed upon is that retirement income security is a shared responsibility between the government, society, employers and individuals. What is difficult to determine is what the different levels of responsibility are or should be, how they interact or should interact with each other, and based on that, the optimal means of improving retirement income adequacy.”

2011-05-10

Presentation to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, on the topic of the "25th Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2009", 8 February 2011, Toronto, Canada.

"Overall, the results confirm that the current legislated rate of 9.9% is sufficient to sustain the Plan over the long term, with assets projected to accumulate to $275 billion by the year 2020".

2011-02-08

Presentation to the Society of Actuaries (SOA)’s Living to 100 International Symposium, on the topic of "Mortality projections for Social Security Programs in Canada and its implications", 7 January 2011, Orlando, United States.”

2011-01-07

Remarks to the World Social Security Forum, December 1st, 2010, Cape Town, South Africa (PDF, 133 kB) - ARCHIVED

Adapting social security to demographic changes to make it sustainable

“To share the risks associated with living longer, it is necessary to resolve sometimes conflicting objectives: protecting seniors from poverty, preserving the sustainability of social security systems and avoiding substantial intergenerational transfers.”
Video of Jean-Claude Ménard highlighting the work and findings of the Technical Commission on Statistical, Actuarial and Financial Studies during the past triennium, 2008-2010

2010-12-01

Presentation to the Society of Actuaries (SOA) Annual Meeting, on the topic of "Actuarial Valuation of the Canada Pension Plan – Modeling Uncertainty and Properly Disclosing the Results", 20 October 2010, New York, New York.

2010-10-20

Presentation to the 2010 Society of Actuaries Annual Meeting and Exhibit on the topic of the Role of the Chief Actuary, 19 October 2010, New York.

2010-10-19

Opening remarks to the Technical Seminar of the International Social Security Association (ISSA) Technical Commission on Statistical, Actuarial and Financial Studies: “Sustainable Financing and Extension of Social Security Coverage”, 27 April 2010, Montevideo, Uruguay.

2010-04-27

Presentation to the 2009 Federal/Provincial Pensions Conference on "The actuarial reports of the Pension Plans for the Public Service, Canadian Forces and Royal Canadian Mounted Police as at 31 March 2008", Ottawa, 23 November 2009.

2009-12-14

Remarks to the House of Commons Standing Committee on the Status of Women, on the topic of: Women and Pension Security, Ottawa, Ontario.

2009-11-03

Presentation to the International Social Security Association Technical Seminar on Pensions: “Which retirement systems and which reforms for which pension?”, Paris, France, on the topic of “International Survey on Self-Adjustment Mechanisms and the long-term sustainability of Canada Pension Plan".

2009-10-01

Opening remarks to the 16th International Conference of Social Security Actuaries and Statisticians of the International Social Security Association (ISSA) 16-18 September 2009, Ottawa, Canada.

2009-09-16

Presentation to the HRSDC Knowledge Talks series, on the topic of 'The post-turmoil financial sustainability of the Canada Pension Plan', Ottawa, 15 September 2009.

2009-09-15

Remarks to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance on the topic of: Measures to Enhance Credit Availability and the Stability of the Canadian Financial System, Ottawa, Ontario, 28 April 2009.

2009-04-28

Presentation to the Technical Seminar of the International Social Security Association (ISSA) in collaboration with the Social Security Department of the International Labour Organization, in Geneva, Switzerland, 24 April 2009, on the topic of 'Social Security in Times of Crisis: Impact, Challenges and Responses'.

2009-04-24

A presentation – Changing Signals in Social Insurance and Beyond? at the Defining the Characteristics of the 21st Century Retirement System Symposium, as part of the Society of Actuary's strategic project, Retirement 20/20, Washington, D.C., November 17-18, 2008.

2009-02-10

Presentation to the Technical Seminar of the International Social Security Association (ISSA) Technical Commission on Statistical, Actuarial and Financial Studies, in Limassol, Cyprus, 30 October 2008, on the topic of 'Optimal financing of social security pension schemes.'

2008-10-30

Presentation to the Canadian Institute of Actuaries, Québec City, Quebec, 20 June 2008.

2008-06-20

"Main findings of the 23rd Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2006 and its independent peer review process", presentation to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board on June 16, 2008.

2008-06-17

Presentation to the 33rd Annual Conference of ASDEQ, Gatineau, Quebec, 15 May 2008.

2008-05-16

Presentation to the Joint Colloquium of the IACA, PBSS and IAAHS Sections of the International Actuarial Association on the topic of "Actuarial and Investment Management Issues for the CPP", Boston, United States, 5 May 2008.

2008-05-05

Presentation to the International Research Symposium on the topic of: Mortality projections for Social Security Programs in Canada and its implications, Orlando, United States, Tuesday, 8 January 2008

2008-01-08

Presentation: The benefit picture: current and future pressures, to the C.D. Howe Institute, Policy Conference - Canada Pension Plan Reforms Ten Years After: Lessons and Prospects, Toronto, Ontario 10 December 2007

2007-12-10

Remarks to the Senate Standing Committee on National Finance on the topic of: the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), Ottawa, Ontario, December 4, 2007

2007-12-04

Presentation: A Comparative Study of Demographic and Economic Assumptions Used for Actuarial Valuations of Social Security Schemes, to the World Social Security Forum, 29th ISSA General Assembly, Moscow, Russia, 12 September 2007

2007-09-12

Presentation: Mortality Projections for Social Security Programs in Canada and the United States,  to the 15th International Conference of Social Security, Actuaries and Statisticians of ISSA, Helsinki, Finland, 24 May 2007

2007-05-24

A presentation to the European Institute at the Sovereign Funds Roundtable conference in London, England, 8 May 2007.

2007-05-08

A presentation to the SEDAP Conference “Private Pensions and Income Security in Old Age: An Uncertain Future”, McMaster University, Hamilton, November 16, 2006.

2006-11-16

A presentation - The Canadian Retirement Income System – a Society Perspective at the Building the Foundation for New Retirement Systems Symposium, as part of the Society of Actuary's strategic project, Retirement 20/20, Washington, D.C., September 28-29, 2006.

2006-09-28

"Issues Being Addressed in the 22nd Actuarial Report on the Canada Pension Plan as at 31 December 2006", presentation to the Board of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board on June 5, 2006.

2006-06-28

Is There an Optimal Level of Pre-Funding? -- Optimal Funding of the Canada Pension Plan. Presentation at the 28th International Congress of Actuaries, Paris, May 29, 2006.

2006-05-30

Presentations given by Sari Harrel, Actuarial Officer and Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary of the Office of the Chief Actuary at the Fertility Symposium at the Society of Actuaries Annual Meeting, November 14-15, 2005.

2005-12-05

Presentation to the Financial Management Institute of Canada - Ottawa.

2005-11-29

Remarks to the Northwind Professional Institute on the Canadian Response to the Evolution of the Retirement Security Net - Langdon Hall, Cambridge.

2005-10-28

Remarks to the Standing Committee on Banking, Trade and Commerce - Ottawa.

2005-10-20

Presentation to the "Public Service Pension Advisory Committee".

2005-06-06

Presentation to the “National Academy of Social Insurance Seminar" - Washington.

2005-05-19

Opening statement to the Standing Committee on Finance - Ottawa.

2005-05-12

Presentation to the Conference Board of Canada Pensions Summit.

2005-04-04

Presentation to the 2nd CLC National Pension Conference.

2004-10-21

Presentation to the 28th ISSA General Assembly - Beijing.

2004-10-05

Global Aging and its Impact on Financial Markets.

2003-10-17

Mortality of Canada Pension Plan and Old Age Security Beneficiaries: Implications for Public Pensions, including an international comparison.

2003-10-07

Canada Pension Plan Actuarial Adjustment Factors.

2003-06-19

Mortality of Canada Pension Plan and Old Age Security Beneficiaries: Implications for Public Pensions.

2003-05-31

Global Aging and its Impact on Financial Markets.

2003-04-09

Better financed pension plans in a well-balanced system.

2002-09-23

Disability Insurance - Actuarial methods and applications.

2001-09-23

Discours et exposés - Jean-Claude Ménard

Titre Date de publication

Bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada – Communication présentée dans le cadre du 14e Forum annuel sur invitation de de Northwind portant sur les caisses de retraite
Pensions 2017: Redéfinir l’éventail risque-rendement

2017-11-02

Régime de pensions du Canada : de 1997 à 2016 – Présentation à l’Assemblée annuelle de la Society of Actuaries, Séance : L’avenir de la sécurité sociale

2017-10-18

Le système canadien de revenu de retraite : succès et défis – Présentation à l’assemblée annuelle de l’ICA

2017-06-22

Canada : construire un système de retraite durable, Beijing, Chine, 20 février 2017

2017-02-21

Rapports actuariels du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2015 – Présentation au conseil d’administration de l’Office d’investissement du RPC

2017-02-09

Présentation portant sur les projections de la mortalité des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada, à l’occasion du Symposium international Living to 100 de la SOA. Session générale IV, Orlando, Floride, le 5 janvier 2017

2017-01-05

Viabilité du système canadien de revenu de retraite: consensus politique et conseils actuariels solides par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, et Assia Billig, actuaire
Bureau de l’actuaire en chef,
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada, Panama, 16 novembre 2016

2016-11-17

Exposé au Cercle Finance du Québec - Colloque retraite, investissement institutionnel et finances personnelles : Bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada Jean‑Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, Bureau de l’actuaire en chef, BSIF, Québec, 8 novembre 2016

2016-11-08

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à la Conférence Internationale de 2016 de l’Université de Waterloo sur l’impact de la démographie sur la valeur des actifs intitulée « Vivre jusqu’à 100 ans – Le Régime de pensions du Canada serait-il viable? »

2016-09-20

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à la conférence régionale 2016 de l’ICRA Québec et Ontario intitulée « Bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada : un accord de principe »

2016-09-13

Allocution de Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à l’intention des membres du Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales

2016-06-13

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à l'atelier Eurostat/OIT/FMI/OCDE sur les pensions intitulée « Communication de l'information financière du Régime de pensions du Canada »

2016-03-11

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à l’Institut de la gestion financière du Canada portant sur les « Évaluations actuarielles de capitalisation des régimes de retraite du secteur public  »

« Le bureau de l’actuaire en chef est chargé d’élaborer des hypothèses aux fins de la préparation des rapports actuariels de capitalisation sur les régimes de retraite du secteur public. Ces rapports actuariels sont déposés au Parlement et incluent le calcul du coût du service courant. D’ici 2017, le coût du service courant pour les employés de la fonction publique fédérale et les parlementaires sera partagé en parts égales entre le gouvernement et les cotisants. »

2014-11-25

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à la Conférence internationale de recherche de l’Association international de la sécurité sociale portant sur les « Intégration des piliers, protection de base et taux de remplacement dans les quatre régimes de retraite modernes à plusieurs piliers – au Canada »

« Au Canada, les deux premiers piliers protègent efficacement la retraite. Le troisième pilier a pour rôle de garantir un revenu de retraite suffisant et d’en diversifier les sources »

2014-11-04

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, à l’Assemblée annuelle de la Society of Actuaries portant sur les « Vivre jusqu'à 100 ans… le Régime de pensions du Canada sera-t-il viable? »

« Bien que de plus en plus de Canadiens deviennent centenaires, généralement les Canadiens ne vivent pas si longtemps. Le Rapport actuariel le plus récent sur le RPC indique que si les dernières améliorations de l'espérance de vie se poursuivent au rythme actuel, surtout aux âges 75 à 89, cela pourrait faire augmenter le taux minimal de cotisation au-delà de 9,9 %. »

2014-10-27

Allocution de Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, devant le Comité permanent des comptes publics

2014-05-28

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, au conseil d'administration de l’Office d’investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada portant sur le «26e rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2012», 12 février 2014.

« En appliquant le taux de cotisation de 9,9 % prévu par la loi, les cotisations projetées sont plus que suffisantes pour couvrir les dépenses de la période de 2013 à 2022. »

2014-02-14

Présentation par Jean-Claude Ménard, actuaire en chef, au Symposium international « Living to 100 » de la Society of Actuaries portant sur les «Projections de la mortalité dans le cadre des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada et les implications financières », 10 janvier 2014, Orlando, FL, États-Unis.

« L’espérance de vie canadienne à 65 ans augmentera de 3 années pour atteindre 25 ans d’ici les 50 prochaines années, ce qui indique que la moitié des retraités canadiens dépasseront l’âge de 90 ans. »
2014-01-10

Présentation par l’Actuaire en chef au Forum mondial de la sécurité sociale de l’AISS 2013 portant sur les « Démarches proactives et préventives à l’égard de tous les risques : Soutenir la viabilité », 11 novembre 2013, Doha, Qatar.

« Les discussions au sujet de la viabilité et de l'équité intergénérationnelle doivent aller au-delà des systèmes de retraite. L'équité et la viabilité doivent être considérés dans un cadre élargi, englobant,  parmi de nombreux autres facteurs, les dépenses en éducation et en santé et la dette nationale transmise aux générations futures. »

2013-11-18

Allocution devant les membres du Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes, Ottawa (Ontario)

2013-06-18

Exposé présenté dans le cadre de la conférence sur les pensions du secteur public du la Colombie-Britannique portant sur l’« Élaboration des hypothèses des évaluations actuarielles de capitalisation» le 25 avril 2013 à Victoria, Colombie-Britannique.

« La retraite est chose coûteuse, et elle pourrait le devenir encore plus à l’avenir sous l’effet de l’amélioration de la longévité et du caractère incertain des perspectives de croissance de l’économie mondiale. »

2013-04-26

Exposé présenté dans le cadre du Séminaire technique sur les pensions de l’Association internationale de la sécurité sociale sur les « Démarches proactives et préventives dans la sécurité sociale - Soutenir la viabilité » le 24 février 2013 à Muscat, Sultanat d’Oman, portant sur « L’équilibre intergénérationnel du système canadien de revenu de retraite ».

2013-02-25

Allocution à l’intention du Comité permanent des finances nationales présenté dans le cadre de l’étude du projet de loi C-46, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les allocations de retraite des parlementaires, à Ottawa, Ontario, le mardi 30 octobre, 2012.

2012-10-30

Allocution d’ouverture prononcée devant le Colloque du Régime des pensions du Canada (RPC) sur les perspectives démographiques, économiques et d’investissement pour le Canada (Années 2012 à 2050), Ottawa, Ontario, 28 septembre 2012.

2012-09-28

Allocution prononcée durant la Cérémonie d’ouverture de la 17e Conférence internationale des actuaires et statisticiens de la sécurité sociale, AISS, Berlin, Allemagne. Le 30 mai 2012

« La viabilité est un concept aux dimensions multiples qui a notamment d’importantes ramifications financières, intergénérationnelles et politiques. »

2012-05-30

Présentation au colloque sur les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sécurité sociale, portant sur « La réforme des pensions au Canada », 27 septembre 2011, Édimbourg, R.-U.

« Au Canada, le système de sécurité du revenu à la retraite fondé sur la juxtaposition de régimes de retraite privés et publics constitue, selon des organismes internationaux, un moyen efficace de répondre aux besoins en matière de revenu de retraite. »

2011-09-27

Présentation au colloque sur les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sécurité sociale, portant sur « Atteindre l’équilibre optimal entre les dispositions publiques et privées », 26 septembre 2011, Édimbourg, R.-U.

« Qu’un régime soit entièrement capitalisé ou financé par répartition, à prestations déterminées ou à cotisations déterminées, qu’il s’agisse d’un régime de pensions national ou d’un régime de retraite privé, l’augmentation de la longévité continuera inéluctablement de faire peser des pressions sur son financement. »

2011-09-26

Présentation au colloque sur les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sécurité sociale, portant sur les « Lignes directrices à l’intention des actuaires de la sécurité sociale », 26 septembre 2011, Édimbourg, R.-U.

« Les lignes directrices actuarielles sont importantes non seulement pour uniformiser la façon dont les actuaires font leur travail, mais elles sont aussi très importantes pour mieux servir le public. Pour prendre des décisions convenables et opportunes en lien avec tout programme de sécurité sociale, les examens politiques doivent être liés à des rapports actuariels fréquents. »

2011-09-26

Présentation au colloque « Enjeux des régimes publics de retraite », portant sur les « Enjeux et réformes nécessaire », 10 mai 2011, Sherbrooke, Canada.

« On s'entend généralement pour dire que la sécurité du revenu à la retraite relève conjointement du gouvernement, de la société, des employeurs et des individus. Le plus difficile est de déterminer ce que sont ou devraient être les différents paliers de responsabilités, comment ils interagissent entre eux ou devraient le faire et, enfin, quels sont les meilleurs moyens d'améliorer le niveau adéquat du revenu à la retraite. »

2011-05-10

Présentation au conseil d’administration de l’Office d’investissement du Régime de Pensions du Canada, portant sur le « 25e rapport actuariel du Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2009 », 8 février 2011, Toronto, Canada.

« Dans l'ensemble, les résultats confirment que le taux actuel prévu par la loi de 9.9 % est suffisant pour assurer la viabilité à long terme du Régime et cumuler un actif de 275 milliards de dollars d'ici à 2020. »

2011-02-25

Présentation au Symposium international « Living to 100 » de la Society of Actuaries (SOA), portant sur les « Projections de la mortalité dans le cadre des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada et leurs implications », 7 janvier 2011, Orlando, États-Unis».

2011-01-07

Allocution au Forum mondial de la sécurité sociale, 1er décembre 2010, Le Cap, Afrique du Sud (PDF, 125 ko) - DOCUMENT ARCHIVÉ

Adapter la sécurité sociale aux changements démographiques de manière durable

Video de Jean-Claude Ménard faisant le point sur les travaux et les conclusions de la Commission technique des études statistiques, actuarielles et financières au cours des trois dernières années, de 2008 à 2010.

2010-12-01

Présentation à l'Assemblée annuelle de la Society of Actuaries (SOA), portant sur l'« Évaluation actuarielle du Régime de pensions du Canada – Modéliser l'incertitude et présenter adéquatement les résultats », 20 octobre 2010, New York, New York.

2010-10-20

Exposé sur le rôle de l’actuaire en chef, lors de l’assemblée annuelle de la Society of Actuaries, le 19 octobre 2010, à New York.

2010-10-19

Allocution à la Séance d’ouverture du Séminaire technique de la Commission technique des études statistiques, actuarielles et financières de l’Association internationale de la sécurité sociale (AISS) : « Financement viable et extension de la couverture de la sécurité sociale », 27 avril 2010, Montevideo, Uruguay.

2010-04-27

Exposé à la conférence Fédérale/Provinciale sur les Pensions 2009 portant sur "Les rapports actuariels des régimes de retraite de la fonction publique, des Forces canadiennes et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada", Ottawa, 23 Novembre 2009

2009-12-14

Allocution en marge des travaux du comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur la condition féminine ayant pour thème les femmes et les régimes de retraite, Ottawa (Ontario).

2009-11-03

Exposé dans le cadre du Séminaire technique sur les pensions de l’Association internationale de la sécurité sociale « Quels systèmes de retraite et quelles réformes pour quel niveau de pension? », Paris, France, portant sur « Enquête internationale sur les mécanismes d'auto-ajustement et viabilité financière à long terme du Régime de Pensions du Canada ».

2009-10-01

Allocution à la Séance d’ouverture de la 16ième Conférence internationale des actuaires et statisticiens de la sécurité sociale de l’Association internationale de la sécurité sociale (AISS) 16 au 18 Septembre 2009, Ottawa, Canada.

2009-09-16

Exposé lors de la série du Savoir Actif de RHDCC portant sur « La viabilité financière du Régime de pensions du Canada après la tourmente », Ottawa, 15 septembre 2009.

2009-09-15

Allocution à l'intention du Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes au sujet de Mesures à prendre pour améliorer l'accès au crédit et la stabilité du système financier canadien, Ottawa (Ontario), 28 avril 2009.

2009-04-28

Exposé dans le cadre du Séminaire technique de la l'Association internationale de la sécurité sociale (AISS) en collaboration avec le Département de la sécurité sociale de l’Organisation internationale du Travail, à Genève, Suisse, le 24 avril 2009, portant sur la Sécurité sociale en temps de crise: Impact, enjeux et réponses.

2009-04-24

Une présentation, Modifier les indicateurs de l’assurance sociale, et davantage? au Colloque intitulé « Définition des caractéristiques du système de retraite du XXIe siècle », un projet stratégique de la 'Society of Actuaries, Retirement 20/20', Washington, D.C., les 17 et 18 novembre 2008.

2009-02-10

Exposé dans le cadre du Séminaire technique de la Commission technique des études statistiques, actuarielles et financières de l'Association internationale de la sécurité sociale (AISS), à Limassol, Chypre, le 30 octobre 2008, portant sur le financement optimal des régimes de pensions de sécurité sociale.

2008-10-30

Exposé à l’Institut canadien des actuaires à Québec, Québec, le 20 juin 2008.

2008-06-20

"Principales observations du 23e rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2006 et son examen par des pairs indépendants", présentation au Conseil d'administration de l'Office d'investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada, le 16 juin 2008.

2008-06-17

Exposé au 33e congrès annuel de l'ASDEQ à Gatineau, Québec, le 15 mai 2008.

2008-05-16

Présentation au colloque conjoint de l'AIAC, PBSS et SSAAI sections de l'Association Actuarielle Internationale sur le thème de "l'actuariat et des questions de gestion des placements pour le RPC", Boston, États-Unis, 5 Mai 2008.

2008-05-05

Présentation, Symposium international de recherche portant sur le Projections de la mortalité dans le cadre des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada et leur implications, Orlando (États-Unis), le mardi 8 janvier 2008

2008-01-08

Présentation : Portrait des prestations - Pressions actuelles et futures, à l'institut C.D. Howe, La réforme du Régime de pensions du Canada, 10 ans après : leçons et perspectives, Toronto (Ontario), le 10 décembre 2007

2007-12-10

Allocution au Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales portant sur le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), Ottawa (Ontario), le mardi 4 décembre 2007

2007-12-04

Présentation : Comparaison des hypothèses démographiques et économiques établies lors de l'analyse actuarielle des régimes de sécurité sociale au Forum Mondial de la Sécurité Sociale, 29e Assemblée Générale de l'AISS, Moscou, Russie, le 12 septembre 2007

2007-09-12

Présentation : Projections de la mortalité dans le cadre des programmes de sécurité sociale au Canada et aux États-Unis à la 15e conférence annuelle des actuaires et statisticiens de la sécurité sociale de l'AISS, Helsinki, Finlande, 24 mai 2007

2007-05-24

Une présentation à l'European Institute', 'Sovereign Funds Rountable' à Londres, Angleterre, 8 mai 2007.

2007-05-08

Une présentation dans le cadre de la conférence du SEDAP. Les régimes de retraite privés et de sécurité du revenu à la retraite sont-ils promis à un avenir incertain? Université McMaster, Hamilton (Ontario), le 16 novembre 2006

2006-11-16

Une présentation, Le système canadien de revenu de retraite – le point de vue de la société au Colloque intitulé « Building the Foundation for New Retirement Systems », un projet stratégique de la 'Society of Actuaries, Retirement 20/20', Washington, D.C., les 28 et 29 septembre 2006.

2006-09-28

"Enjeux du 22e rapport actuariel sur le Régime de pensions du Canada au 31 décembre 2006", présentation au Conseil d'administration de l'Office d'investissement du Régime de pensions du Canada, le 5 juin 2006.

2006-06-28

Y a-t-il un niveau optimal de pré-capitalisation? - Capitalisation optimale du Régime de pensions du Canada. Présentation au 28e Congrès international des actuaires à Paris, le 29 mai 2006.

2006-05-30

Présentations au symposium sur la fécondité lors de l'assemblée annuelle de la Society of Actuaries, les 14 et 15 novembre 2005.

2005-12-05

Présentation devant l’Institut de gestion financière, Ottawa (Ontario)

2005-11-29

Allocution devant le Northwind Professional Institute sur la réponse du Canada à l’évolution du filet de sécurité à la retraite, au Langdon Hall - Cambridge (Ontario)

2005-10-28

Allocution devant le Comité permanent des banques et du commerce, Ottawa (Ontario)

2005-10-20

Présentation au Comité consultatif sur la Loi sur la pension de la fonction publique.

2005-06-06

Présentation au séminaire de la "National Academy of Social Insurance", Washington, DC.

2005-05-19

Allocution d'ouverture devant le Comité permanent des finances, Ottawa (Ontario)

2005-05-12

Présentation dans le cadre du sommet du Conference Board du Canada sur les pensions.

2005-04-04

Présentation à la 2ième Conférence nationale sur les pensions du Congrès du travail du Canada.

2004-10-21

Présentation à la 28ième Assemblée Générale de l'AISS - Beijing, Chine

2004-10-05

Le vieillissement global à l'échelle mondiale et ses répercussions sur les marchés financiers

2003-10-17

La mortalité chez les bénéficiaires du Régime de pensions du Canada et de la Sécurité de la vieillesse : Les répercussions pour les pensions publiques incluant une comparaison internationale.

2003-10-07

Facteurs d'ajustement actuariels du Régime de pensions du Canada

2003-06-19

La mortalité chez les bénéficiaires du Régime de pensions du Canada et de la Sécurité de la vieillesse : Les répercussions pour les pensions publiques.

2003-05-31

Le vieillissement global à l'échelle mondiale et ses répercussions sur les marchés financiers

2003-04-09

Des régimes de retraite mieux financés dans un système équilibré

2002-09-23

Assurance invalidité - méthodes actuarielles et applications

2001-09-23