OSFI is reinforcing its expectations for residential mortgage underwriting practices through revisions to Guideline B-20

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA - July 6, 2017 - Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

In July 2016, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) issued a public letter that reinforced its expectations for residential mortgage underwriting in federally regulated financial institutions and advised the industry that it would be increasing its supervisory intensity in this area. At that time, OSFI also indicated that it would review Guideline B-20 – Residential Mortgage Underwriting Practices and Procedures.

Today, OSFI is releasing draft changes to Guideline B-20 for public consultation. The changes align language throughout the guideline with OSFI’s July 2016 letter and clarify and strengthen expectations in a number of specific areas, including;

  • Requiring a qualifying stress test for all uninsured mortgages;
  • Requiring that Loan-to-Value (LTV) measurements remain dynamic and adjust for local market conditions where they are used as a risk control, such as for qualifying borrowers;
  • Expressly prohibiting co-lending arrangements that are designed, or appear to be designed to circumvent regulatory requirements.

OSFI is inviting feedback through written submissions from interested stakeholders and the wider public before finalizing Guideline B-20. Comments should be submitted to OSFI by email at B.20@osfi-bsif.gc.ca by August 17, 2017. Following a review of the submissions, OSFI will finalize the guideline and set an effective date for later in 2017.  

Quote

“The draft changes to Guideline B-20 released today are consistent with messages that OSFI has been delivering through public statements and in direct conversations with federally regulated financial institutions through our supervisory work,” said Carolyn Rogers, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector.

Associated Links

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact:
Sylviane Desparois
OSFI – Public Affairs
sylviane.desparois@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-990-8670

Le BSIF resserre ses attentes en matière de souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels dans sa ligne directrice B-20 révisée

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate

OTTAWA ─ Le 6 juillet 2017 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières

En juillet 2016, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) publiait une lettre dans laquelle il annonçait le resserrement de ses attentes relatives à la souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels à l’égard des institutions financières fédérales et l’intensification de sa surveillance dans ce secteur. Il mentionnait également qu’il allait revoir la ligne directrice B-20, Pratiques et procédures de souscription de prêts hypothécaires résidentiels.

Aujourd’hui, le BSIF publie la nouvelle version de cette ligne directrice B-20 à des fins de consultation publique. Dans cette nouvelle version, qui a été harmonisée avec le libellé de la lettre de juillet 2016, le BSIF clarifie ses attentes rehaussées à différents égards, notamment :

  • l’obligation d’effectuer une simulation de crise afin d’établir l’admissibilité à tout prêt hypothécaire non assuré;
  • l’exigence selon laquelle les mesures du ratio prêt-valeur (RPV) doivent demeurer dynamiques et être adaptées à la conjoncture du marché local lorsqu’elles servent de mesure de contrôle du risque, comme c’est le cas lors de la détermination de l’admissibilité des emprunteurs;
  • l’interdiction expresse de conclure des accords de prêts conjoints dans le but, réel ou apparent, de contourner les exigences réglementaires.

Avant de parachever la ligne directrice B-20, le BSIF invite les parties intéressées et le public à lui faire part de leurs commentaires, par courriel (B.20@osfi-bsif.gc.ca), d’ici le 17 août 2017. Après examen des observations reçues, le BSIF rédigera la version définitive de la ligne directrice, puis fixera le moment de son entrée en vigueur à une date ultérieure en 2017.

Citation

« Les modifications à la ligne directrice B-20 publiées aujourd’hui cadrent avec les messages véhiculés par le BSIF dans ses avis publics et les conversations directes qu’il a eues avec les institutions financières fédérales dans le cadre de ses travaux de surveillance », précise Carolyn Rogers, surintendante auxiliaire, Secteur de la réglementation.

Documents connexes

Le Bureau

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui a été fondé en 1987. Il a pour mandat de protéger les déposants, les souscripteurs, les créanciers des institutions financières et les participants de régimes de retraite, tout en permettant aux institutions financières de se mesurer à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse :

Sylviane Desparois
BSIF Affaires publiques  
sylviane.desparois@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-990-8670