OSFI Releases a Draft Guideline on Total Loss Absorbing Capacity for Canada’s Domestic Systemically Important Banks

News Release

For Immediate Release

OTTAWA ─ June 16, 2017 ─ Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) today released for comment a draft guideline on Total Loss Absorbing Capacity (TLAC). OSFI’s draft guideline will apply to Canada’s Domestic Systemically Important Banks (D-SIBs) as part of the Federal Government’s Bank Recapitalization (Bail-in) Regime. OSFI is issuing its draft TLAC guideline in conjunction with the pre-publication of certain bail-in regulations by the Department of Finance.

In November 2015, the Financial Stability Board finalized the international TLAC standard for all Global Systemically Important Banks (G-SIBs). The TLAC framework, which Canada is extending to its six largest banks, is designed to ensure that a systemically important bank has sufficient loss absorbing capacity to support its recapitalization in the unlikely event of its failure. The framework would facilitate an orderly resolution of a bank to allow it to remain open and operating without requiring public funds or threatening financial stability.

Under the Bank Act, OSFI is responsible for setting, monitoring and enforcing the TLAC requirements for Canada’s six largest banks. Canadian D-SIBs will have until November 1, 2021, to meet the TLAC requirements.

The regulatory capital adjustments for the treatment of TLAC holdings are being implemented through revisions to OSFI’s Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) guideline. The draft changes will align OSFI’s expectations with the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision’s standard on the regulatory capital treatment of banks’ holdings of TLAC instruments. OSFI is proposing to extend the Basel III standard to the TLAC holdings issued by Canadian D-SIBs. These changes will be effective in 2018.

Together with the Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) guideline and the Leverage Requirements guideline, the proposed TLAC guideline will provide OSFI with a robust framework to assess a D-SIB’s minimum capacity to absorb losses.

Quote

“This framework will ensure a non-viable D-SIB has sufficient loss absorbing capacity to support its recapitalization. As a result, it will contribute to financial stability and market confidence, and minimize taxpayers’ exposure to loss,” said Carolyn Rogers, Assistant Superintendent, Regulation Sector.

Quick Facts

  • OSFI’s draft TLAC guideline is consistent with the Financial Stability Board’s TLAC standard for global systemically important banks, but is tailored to the Canadian context.
  • Public disclosure of D-SIBs’ TLAC ratios will begin for the fiscal quarter commencing on November 1, 2018, but D-SIBs will have until November 1, 2021, to fully meet the TLAC requirements.
  • The deadline for submitting comments on the draft TLAC guideline is July 17, 2017. OSFI will release the final TLAC guideline later this year.
  • The deadline for submitting comments on the revisions to the CAR guideline is July 17, 2017.

Associated Links

TLAC Requirement

CAR Revisions

About OSFI

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) is an independent agency of the Government of Canada, established in 1987, to protect depositors, policyholders, financial institution creditors and pension plan members, while allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Media Contact

Annik Faucher
OSFI – Public Affairs
annik.faucher@osfi­bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Le BSIF annonce la publication d’un nouveau projet de ligne directrice, Normes sur la capacité totale d’absorption des pertes, à l’intention des banques canadiennes d’importance systémique

Communiqué de presse

Pour diffusion immédiate


OTTAWA ─ 16 juin 2017 ─ Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières du Canada

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) publie aujourd’hui à des fins de commentaires son projet de ligne directrice Normes sur la capacité totale d’absorption des pertes (normes TLACNote de bas de page 1). Ce projet de ligne directrice s’adresse aux banques canadiennes d’importance systémique (BISi) et s’inscrit parmi les mesures de recapitalisation interne des banques de l’administration publique fédérale. La publication des normes TLAC coïncide avec celle d’autres mesures sur la recapitalisation provenant du ministère des Finances.

En novembre 2015, le Conseil de stabilité financière parachevait une norme internationale TLAC à l’intention des BISm. Le cadre TLAC, que le Canada appliquera aux six plus grandes banques de son territoire, vise à s’assurer que les banques d’importance systémique disposent d’une capacité d’absorption suffisante pour assurer leur recapitalisation en cas, quoique peu probable, de faillite. Il facilitera aussi la résolution ordonnée des activités de la banque, ce qui lui permettra de poursuivre ses activités sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’investir des fonds publics ou que la situation ne risque de perturber la stabilité financière.

Aux termes de la Loi sur les banques, il incombe au BSIF d’établir, de surveiller et d’appliquer les normes TLAC auxquelles doivent satisfaire les six plus grandes banques canadiennes. Les BISi canadiennes auront jusqu’au 1er novembre 2021 pour s’y conformer.

Les ajustements des fonds propres réglementaires aux fins du TLAC sont mis en œuvre en modifiant la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres (NFP) du BSIF. Ces révisions permettront d’établir une corrélation entre les attentes du BSIF et la norme du Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire qui porte sur le traitement réglementaire des fonds propres aux fins des participations en instruments de TLAC des banques. Le BSIF propose d’étendre le traitement prévu par Bâle III aux participations en instruments de TLAC émises par les BISi canadiennes. Ces changements entreront en vigueur en 2018.

Conjugué aux Normes de fonds propres (NFP) et à la ligne directrice Exigences de levier, le projet de ligne directrice Normes TLAC dotera le BSIF d’un cadre d’évaluation rigoureuse de capacité minimale des BISi d’absorber les pertes.

Citation

« Ce cadre permettra de veiller à ce que les BISi non viables détiennent un montant interne suffisant pour absorber les pertes et assurer leur recapitalisation, ce qui contribuera à la stabilité financière, renouvellera la confiance sur les marchés et réduira l’exposition des contribuables aux pertes », a dit Carolyn Rogers, surintendante auxiliaire du Secteur de la réglementation.

Faits en bref

  • Le projet de ligne directrice du BSIF sur les normes TLAC respecte la norme TLAC du Conseil de stabilité financière visant les banques d’importances systémique mondiale, tout en étant adapté au contexte canadien.
  • Les BISi devront divulguer publiquement leurs ratios TLAC à compter du trimestre commençant le 1er novembre 2018, mais auront jusqu’au 1er novembre 2021 pour satisfaire aux normes TLAC dans leur intégralité.
  • Les intéressés ont jusqu’au 17 juillet 2017 pour soumettre leurs commentaires relatifs au projet de ligne directrice sur les normes TLAC. Le BSIF publiera la version finale au cours de l’année.
  • Les intéressés ont jusqu’au 17 juillet 2017 pour soumettre leurs commentaires relatifs aux révisions apportées à la ligne directrice Normes de fonds propres.

Documents connexes

Normes TLAC

Révisions apportées aux NFP

Le Bureau

Constitué en 1987, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui protège les droits des déposants, des souscripteurs, des créanciers d’institutions financières et des participants de régimes de retraite, tout en tenant compte de la nécessité, pour les institutions financières, de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

Relations de presse

Annik Faucher
Affaires publiques, BSIF
annik.faucher@osfi-bsif.gc.ca
613-949-8401

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Du sigle anglais Total Loss Absorbing Capacity adopté à l’échelle internationale pour désigner ce dispositif.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1