Remarks by Jeremy Rudin, Superintendent, to the Life Insurance Invitational Forum, Cambridge, Ontario, November 13, 2014

Navigating a brave new world: Prudential regulation and Canada’s life insurance industry

Quote

Looking ahead, we will continue to navigate by relying on the four compass points I outlined today: responsible risk management, consultation, domestic and international standards, and flexibility.

PLEASE CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

The theme for this conference is: confronting a brave new world. This is a reference, I am sure, to the changes that have affected the life insurance industry since the global financial crisis. While many think of that crisis as a banking crisis, the implications for the life insurance industry have also been far-reaching. Why?

One reason is that we all have a better appreciation for just how volatile asset values can be and how difficult they are to predict. Before the crisis, we all looked at the very long horizons of life insurance liabilities to take comfort in using long-term historical averages of asset returns as predictors. Our new appreciation of the potential fragility of this approach has had a profound impact on how regulators and companies look at the risks facing the life insurance industry.

Another reason for the impact of the global financial crisis on insurance regulation, of course, is AIG. While it was not AIG’s traditional insurance activities that led it to the brink of failure, AIG used its position as a highly rated insurance company as its entrée into much riskier businesses.

The third reason is that the financial crisis reinforced the notion that the financial services industry and the public are partners. This partnership arises because the efficient and uninterrupted provision of financial services is essential to economic growth. When that is threatened, the public (through its government) is likely to feel compelled to intervene to support the industry. As a result, the public has strong reasons to seek to prevent any such disruption.

This applies to insurance services as well as to banking. We can see this in the reaction to insurance company failures in Canada and other countries. Insurance company failures often lead to stronger regulation in a way that failures outside of the financial services industry do not.

In Canada, the Office of the Superintendent of Insurance was established in the late 1800s in response to problems experienced in the industry. The Office of the Inspector General of Banks was not established until 1925, after the failure of Home Bank. As late as 1974, the total staff complement of the Inspector General was only four people while the Office of the Superintendent of Insurance was considerably larger.

Fortunately, Canada has not experienced a major life insurance failure for 20 years. But we all know that concerns about the viability of Confederation Life forced the government and the industry to intervene.

Looking abroad, we see that the failure of HIH Insurance in Australia 13 years ago still casts a long shadow over Australia’s financial sector and its reputation. Losses were over $5 billion. Regulation and supervision of insurance companies in Australia intensified as a result.

So, how are we going to navigate this brave new world? For OSFI, I see four compass points that will help us chart our way:

  1. First, responsible risk management;
  2. Second, consultation: with you as well as with other regulators;
  3. Third: standards in regulation and supervision, internationally and domestically; and
  4. Fourth, flexibility in adapting global rules to the Canadian reality.

Risk management

Let’s start with the “true north” of our regulatory framework: responsible risk management by Canada’s financial institutions, including insurance companies.

In this context, the term “responsible risk management” carries a double meaning. First, at OSFI we like to emphasize that it is the boards and management of financial institutions, and only they, who are responsible for taking risks and for managing risks. At the same time, our regulation and supervision is aimed at ensuring that risk taking remains responsible rather than excessive. And the yardstick that we use to determine the dividing line between “responsible” and “excessive” is the public interest.

To achieve this balance between the roles of insurers and OSFI:

  1. First, we set expectations for financial institutions, in other words, we issue guidance; and
  2. Second, we monitor closely how individual financial institutions adhere to that guidance, in other words, our supervisory work.

One of the things that we expect is that your boards and management will have a very thorough understanding of the interrelationships between your company’s risk profiles and future capital needs.

A very relevant, and quite recent example is our guidance about Own Risk and Solvency Assessments, or ORSA. We at OSFI, like other prudential regulators of insurers around the world, have raised our expectations about insurers’ own assessments of their risks and capital needs.

I should emphasize that in the phrase “Own Risk and Solvency Assessment” the word “Own” modifies “Assessment”. (I will admit that this wasn’t clear to me the first time I heard this phrase.) We expect each institution’s ORSA to reflect the board’s and management’s assessment of the risks, not our assessment, and not the external auditor’s assessment. As such, each insurance company is required by OSFI to present its ORSA to its board or chief agent every year.

An ORSA is a forward-looking process consistent with an insurance firm’s strategic and business plans. It explores and assesses potential threats to capital and solvency positions. Your ORSA will provide senior management’s view on risk assessment, risk management and planning to your board or chief agent.

In Guideline E-19 issued in January this year, OSFI outlined its expectations with regard to an insurer’s ORSA. ORSAs are relatively new in Canada. But most components of the ORSA process – such as dynamic capital adequacy testing, sound governance and risk management – should be familiar to Canadian insurers.

We have asked to see the ORSAs as they are approved. One reason is so that we can compile a list of “best practices” for the industry as a whole.

So far, OSFI has received a handful of ORSAs, mostly from smaller, less-complex life insurers. Some insurers already had sophisticated perspectives based on their own, solid risk-assessment practices. Others have made do with a feed-in to their parent company’s ORSA.

Finally, there is a group (hopefully, very small) that is still coming to grips with the ORSA process. Some companies find the emerging-risk piece is a struggle. Thinking about “unknown unknowns” is hard, by definition.

Company management can start by asking that very good question, “What keeps us awake at night?” This can be formalized into a robust emerging-risk process.

In the same vein, a company’s board should question that process until it evolves to the point of helping the directors to sleep at night.

Consultation

The second compass point, consultation, is at the foundation of our work. In my first few months as Superintendent, I have devoted considerable time to meeting with, and listening to leaders across the financial sector, including the insurance industry.

These conversations have been very helpful in allowing me to understand your issues and perspectives. I know that regular consultation with you is baked into OSFI’s regulatory and supervisory processes, as it should be.

You will recall that OSFI had extensive discussions with key stakeholders in the industry to develop the Life Insurance Regulatory Framework, released in 2012.

I am happy to report that the implementation of the framework – or “road map”, as we call it – is on track. The recent Quantitative Impact Studies have shed light on where it is advisable to calibrate changes to the Minimum Continuing Capital and Surplus Requirements – the MCCSR. In 2015, we anticipate more definitive consultation with industry on further changes to the MCCSR; these are planned for implementation in 2018.

We are also consulting with you in the international arena. We have a Canadian, Frank Swedlove of the CLHIA, who recently completed his term as inaugural chair of the Global Federation of Insurance Associations. The federation is deeply engaged with the International Association of Insurance Supervisors – the IAIS, of which OSFI is a member.

OSFI has been promoting reforms in the organization. We are happy to see the IAIS adopting the practices and governance structure of other bodies that support the Financial Stability Board. The IAIS is improving its planning, organizational efficiency, focus, and governance. It is developing a formal, robust and transparent process to streamline stakeholder consultations. Given the extremely important assignments the IAIS has undertaken for the FSB, this is good news.

As part of these reforms, the Observer category at the IAIS is being eliminated. I know that some insurers are concerned that this reform will reduce transparency at the IAIS.

I certainly agree that the IAIS needs to keep a window open for the industry to contribute to its deliberations. I am very supportive of the new IAIS consultative mechanism. It is similar to OSFI’s own approach to consultations, so I am confident it will be satisfactory.

Given this new consultative approach, I support the elimination of the Observer category. My view is that closed-door deliberations are an important part of international co-operation and standard setting among regulators. Based on my experience in other areas of international financial system issues, it is hard to see how the IAIS has managed without having this option.     

Standards

Let’s move to the third compass point that guides our direction – the evolving domestic and international standards for each pillar of the financial sector.

OSFI continues to work with the IAIS in establishing international standards, particularly where this engagement is of clear benefit to Canada. The IAIS has become very successful in bringing jurisdictions together to achieve consensus.

One of the first post-crisis tasks given to the IAIS by the Financial Stability Board was to identify global systemically important insurers, or G-SIIs. As you know, there are no Canadian insurers on the 2014 list of G-SIIs.

A second task was to set international minimum standards that would apply to G-SIIs: the Basic Capital Requirement (BCR) and the associated Higher Loss Absorbency requirement. The IAIS has published two consultation papers on the BCR to date.

As we have no companies on the G-SII list, the IAIS Basic Capital Requirement and the Higher Loss Absorbency requirement will not directly apply to any Canadian companies, as it stands now.

In the longer term, the IAIS will develop group-wide insurance capital standards for internationally active insurers, much like the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision has done for internationally active banks.

I am sometimes asked whether we even need an international capital standard for the insurance sector. I certainly think it would be an important step forward. In particular, it will allow us at OSFI to benchmark much more easily our approach against what others are doing internationally.

Assuming that this capital standard garners widespread support among regulators worldwide, we expect to apply it to all federally regulated insurers that are internationally active. Just as we do with banks, we would carefully calibrate any international standard to fit the Canadian situation. I will elaborate on this in a few minutes when I discuss the fourth compass point: flexibility in Canadian regulation.

On the domestic front, I welcome recent developments at the Canadian Actuarial Standards Board. I am speaking about their new actuarial standards to address one of our shared concerns: the impact of prolonged low-interest rates on your investments and your long-term guarantees to policyholders.

Through the Board’s revised standards for life insurer valuations, the impact of low-interest rates on your business will be more transparent. This is all to the good. OSFI will continue to monitor the implementation of these standards by life insurers.     

Flexibility in Canadian regulation

And so we come to our fourth compass point: flexibility in fixing Canada’s regulatory position.

International agreements on minimum norms are the best way for us to be able to impose prudent standards on our globally active financial institutions, without impeding their ability to compete with foreign institutions. That alone is a strong argument in favour of adhering to these agreements, and being seen to do so.

That said, OSFI looks carefully at the Canadian situation and Canadian needs before deciding how, and how closely, to adhere to each international standard.

At times, we have chosen to impose standards above the international minimums. In principle, this can put our internationally active institutions at something of a competitive disadvantage. That can be the unintended, yet justifiable consequence of doing what is necessary to protect financial stability in Canada.

For example, the decision of my OSFI predecessors to go well beyond the Basel I and II capital requirements for banks helped Canada to come through the global crisis relatively unharmed.

If we at OSFI think that the eventual international capital standard for insurance companies is too low for Canadian purposes, we will set a higher bar. My successors may have cause to thank me for doing so, just as I am grateful to my predecessors who set a higher bar for banks.

On the other hand, when we judge that there is little or no value in exceeding an international minimum, we stay quite close to our agreements with global counterparts. Sometimes, that means bucking the trend, as with our decisions on preferred share issues and leverage limits for banks.

I would like to touch on one issue in particular where flexibility may be in order. As you know, the insurance contracts project of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) will have a significant impact on the industry.

The IASB has been listening to representations from industry and the regulatory community. We expect the IASB to issue their final guidance sometime in 2015.

We are all keenly aware that the proposed standards will impact the financial reporting of long-term insurance businesses, such as Canadian life insurance products.

Our first choice is always to closely align the regulatory capital requirement valuation basis with financial reporting. This reduces the compliance burden and makes it easier for counterparties and analysts to understand these often-complicated calculations.

That said, the most important consideration is that the capital requirements have to work as intended. So if we judge that maintaining a tight link between the accounting rules and the regulatory capital framework valuation basis would lead to too much volatility in the capital requirements, we will adjust the capital rules accordingly. You will find a more detailed explanation of this approach in the “road map” document from 2012.

Conclusion

To conclude, OSFI, the financial industry and global regulators have travelled a long and sometimes foggy road together since the financial crisis.

We all know that Canada weathered the global financial crisis relatively well. I believe that this is in great part due to the prudent management of our financial institutions.

I think that the actions of my skilled and dedicated colleagues at OSFI also played an important part.  

Looking ahead, we will continue to navigate by relying on the four compass points I outlined today:

  1. responsible risk management,
  2. consultation,
  3. domestic and international standards, and
  4. flexibility.

Thank you.

Communication de Jeremy Rudin, Surintendant, lors du Forum sur invitation du secteur de l’assurance-vie, Cambridge (Ontario), le 13 novembre 2014

Apprivoiser le meilleur des mondes : la réglementation prudentielle et le secteur canadien de l’assurance-vie

Extrait

À l’avenir, nous poursuivrons notre chemin en gardant le cap sur les quatre principes dont j’ai parlé aujourd’hui : la gestion responsable des risques, la consultation, les normes nationales et internationales, et la souplesse.

L’énoncé fait foi

Cette année, la conférence a pour thème Confronting a Brave New World (apprivoiser le meilleur des mondes). Je suis persuadé que ce thème a été choisi pour évoquer les changements qui ont secoué le secteur des assurances depuis la crise financière mondiale. Nous sommes nombreux à penser que cette crise était une affaire de banques, mais elle a aussi eu de vastes répercussions sur le secteur de l’assurance-vie. Je m’explique.

En l’espèce, nous comprenons mieux maintenant à quel point la valeur des actifs peut être volatile et combien elle est difficile à prédire. Avant la crise, nous nous reportions tous à la très longue durée des passifs des polices d’assurance-vie et nous n’hésitions pas à utiliser comme prédicteurs les moyennes historiques à long terme du rendement des actifs. Notre nouvelle vision de la fragilité potentielle de cette approche a profondément marqué la façon dont les régulateurs et les sociétés envisagent les risques qui pèsent sur le secteur de l’assurance-vie.

Le cas de la société AIG est, bien entendu, une autre raison qui explique l’effet de la crise financière mondiale sur la réglementation des assurances. Même si ce ne sont pas ses activités d’assurance conventionnelles qui l’ont menée au bord de la faillite, AIG a misé sur sa cote très élevée pour se livrer à des activités beaucoup plus risquées.

Enfin, la crise financière a renforcé la notion du partenariat entre le secteur des services financiers et le public. Ce partenariat est né du fait qu’il est essentiel pour la croissance économique d’offrir des services financiers avec efficience et sans interruption. Quand cette situation est menacée, il est probable que le public (par l’entremise de l’État) sera motivé à intervenir en faveur du secteur d’activité. Le public a donc de fortes raisons de chercher à éviter des perturbations de cette nature.

Ce raisonnement s’applique autant aux services d’assurances qu’aux services bancaires. C’est ce que révèle la réaction à la faillite de sociétés d’assurances au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Quand une société d’assurances sombre, il s’ensuit un resserrement de la réglementation souvent plus rigoureux que celui qu’aurait provoqué une faillite survenue hors du giron des services financiers.

Au Canada, le Bureau du surintendant des assurances a été mis sur pied à la fin du XIXe siècle en réponse aux problèmes qui touchaient ce secteur d’activité. Le Bureau de l’inspecteur général des banques ne verra le jour que bien des années plus tard, en 1925, à la suite de la faillite de la Home Bank. Jusqu’en 1974, l’effectif de l’inspecteur comptait en tout et partout quatre personnes, alors que celui du Bureau du surintendant des assurances était considérablement plus nombreux.

Heureusement, le Canada n’a connu aucune faillite de grande société d’assurance-vie depuis 20 ans. Cependant, nous savons tous que les inquiétudes au sujet de la viabilité de La Confédération, Compagnie d’Assurance-Vie ont forcé le gouvernement et le secteur à intervenir.

À l’étranger, nous constatons que la faillite de HIH Insurance en Australie il y a treize ans fait toujours planer une ombre sur le secteur financier australien et sa réputation. Les pertes occasionnées à ce moment se sont chiffrées à plus de cinq milliards de dollars, et il en a résulté le resserrement de la réglementation et de la surveillance des sociétés d’assurances dans ce pays.

Comment donc allons-nous apprivoiser le meilleur des mondes? À mon avis, le BSIF aura avantage à garder le cap sur quatre principes :

  1. Premièrement, la gestion responsable des risques.
  2. Deuxièmement, la consultation auprès de vous et des autres instances de contrôle.
  3. Troisièmement, la normalisation de la réglementation et de la surveillance, sur les scènes tant internationale que nationale.
  4. Quatrièmement, la souplesse pour adapter les règles mondiales à la réalité canadienne.

Gestion des risques

Commençons par le « nord vrai » de notre cadre de réglementation : la gestion responsable des risques par les institutions financières canadiennes, notamment les sociétés d’assurances.

Dans ce contexte, l’expression « gestion responsable des risques » a un double sens. Au BSIF, nous insistons pour dire que ce sont le conseil d’administration et la direction des institutions financières, et eux seuls, qui sont responsables de prendre des risques et de les gérer. En même temps, nos activités de réglementation et de surveillance visent à garantir que la prise de risques demeure responsable plutôt qu’excessive. Et l’instrument de mesure à l’aune duquel nous traçons la ligne entre « responsable » et « excessive », c’est l’intérêt public.

Pour atteindre cet équilibre entre le rôle des assureurs et celui du BSIF, nous procédons comme il suit :

  1. Premièrement, nous définissons les attentes auxquelles les institutions financières doivent répondre; autrement dit, nous diffusons des consignes.
  2. Deuxièmement, nous contrôlons de près le degré de respect des consignes par chacune des institutions financières; voilà qui décrit nos travaux de surveillance.

Nous nous attendons notamment à ce que les membres du conseil d’administration et de la direction saisissent clairement le rapport réciproque entre le profil de risque de la société et ses besoins futurs en capital.

Nos récentes consignes sur l’évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité, ou dispositif ORSA, illustrent très bien cette position. Le BSIF, à l’instar d’autres régulateurs prudentiels de par le monde, a haussé ses attentes à l’égard de l’évaluation interne par les assureurs de leurs risques et de leurs besoins en capital.

Je tiens à préciser que, dans l’expression « évaluation interne des risques et de la solvabilité », le mot « interne » modifie « évaluation ». (Je dois admettre que ce n’était pas clair la première fois que j’ai entendu cette expression.) Nous nous attendons à ce que le dispositif ORSA témoigne de l’évaluation des risques que font le conseil d’administration et la direction, et non de la nôtre ou de celle de l’auditeur externe. Le BSIF oblige donc chaque société d’assurances à présenter les résultats de son dispositif ORSA à son conseil d’administration ou à son agent principal, et ce, tous les ans.

Le dispositif ORSA est un processus prospectif qui est conforme au plan d’activités et au plan stratégique d’une société d’assurances. Il sert à explorer et à évaluer les menaces potentielles aux positions en matière de capital et de solvabilité. Il informe le conseil d’administration ou l’agent principal de la vision qu’a la haute direction de l’évaluation des risques, de leur gestion et de la planification.

Dans sa ligne directrice E-19 publiée en janvier dernier, le BSIF fait part de ses attentes en ce qui concerne le dispositif ORSA d’un assureur. Le dispositif en soi est relativement nouveau au Canada, mais les assureurs canadiens devraient en connaître la plupart des composantes – par exemple l’essai dynamique de la suffisance du capital, la saine gouvernance et la gestion des risques.

Nous avons demandé de voir les dispositifs ORSA une fois approuvés dans le but, notamment, de dresser une liste des pratiques exemplaires au profit de l’ensemble du secteur.

Jusqu’ici, nous n’en n’avons reçu que quelques-uns provenant, pour la plupart, de petites sociétés d’assurance-vie moins complexes. Certains assureurs bénéficiaient déjà de perspectives évoluées fondées sur leurs propres pratiques rigoureuses d’évaluation des risques. D’autres ont participé à l’exercice ORSA de leur société mère.

Enfin, un groupe (très peu nombreux, j’espère) en est toujours à faire ses premières armes avec le dispositif ORSA. Certaines sociétés luttent avec le risque émergent. Il est difficile de réfléchir aux « inconnus de l’inconnu », par définition.

Les cadres des sociétés peuvent, dans un premier temps, réfléchir à ce qui les tient réveillés la nuit. Cela peut se traduire officiellement par un robuste processus en matière de risques nouveaux.

Dans le même ordre d’idées, le conseil d’administration devrait remettre ce processus en question jusqu’à ce qu’il évolue au point d’aider les administrateurs à retrouver le sommeil.

Consultation

Le deuxième cap que nous visons, la consultation, est au cœur de notre travail. Pendant mes premiers mois au poste de surintendant, j’ai passé beaucoup de temps à recueillir les propos de dirigeants du secteur financier, dont ceux de sociétés d’assurances.

Ces entretiens m’ont grandement aidé à comprendre vos enjeux et vos points de vue. Je sais que la consultation périodique auprès de vous est intégrée aux processus de réglementation et de surveillance du BSIF, et c’est bien ainsi.

Vous vous souvenez sans doute que le BSIF avait amplement consulté les principaux intervenants du secteur des assurances lorsqu’il a conçu le Cadre de réglementation des sociétés d’assurance-vie, paru en 2012.

C’est avec plaisir que j’annonce que la mise en application du Cadre – ou feuille de route comme nous l’appelons – avance comme prévu. Les récentes études d’impact quantitatives ont permis de mettre en lumière les domaines où il est souhaitable d’apporter des changements au Montant minimal permanent requis pour le capital et l’excédent – le MMPRCE. En 2015, nous prévoyons effectuer une dernière ronde de consultation qui portera, cette fois, sur une vague de changements prévus en 2018.

Nous vous consultons également sur la scène internationale. Un Canadien, Frank Swedlove de l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes, vient tout juste de terminer son mandat de premier président de la Fédération mondiale des associations d’assurance. La Fédération est profondément engagée auprès de l’Association internationale des contrôleurs d’assurance, l’AICA, dont le BSIF est membre.

Le BSIF fait la promotion de mesures de réforme au sein de l’AICA. Nous constatons avec plaisir qu’elle adopte les pratiques et la structure de gouvernance d’autres organismes qui appuient le Conseil de stabilité financière. L’AICA renforce son processus de planification, son efficience organisationnelle, son champ d’action et sa gouvernance. Elle élabore actuellement un processus officiel, robuste et transparent pour simplifier la consultation des intervenants. Compte tenu des dossiers extrêmement importants dont l’AICA s’est occupée pour le CSF, c’est une bonne nouvelle.

Au nombre de ces mesures de réforme, mentionnons l’élimination de la catégorie d’observateur à l’AICA. Je sais que certains assureurs craignent que cette mesure ait pour effet de réduire la transparence de l’organisme.

Je suis tout à fait d’accord pour dire que l’AICA doit continuer de permettre au secteur de contribuer à ses délibérations. J’appuie sans retenue le nouveau mécanisme de consultation de l’Association. Il ressemble à celui du BSIF, et je suis donc persuadé qu’il sera satisfaisant.

Compte tenu de ce nouveau mécanisme de consultation, je souscris à l’idée de supprimer la catégorie d’observateur. À mon avis, les délibérations en privé sont un volet important de la coopération et de la normalisation entre les organismes de réglementation. D’après mon expérience d’autres dossiers touchant le système financier international, j’ai de la difficulté à imaginer comment l’AICA a pu évoluer sans avoir accès à cette option.

Normes

Passons au troisième cap de notre parcours – les normes nationales et internationales qui évoluent pour chaque pilier du secteur financier.

Le BSIF continue de collaborer avec l’AICA pour instaurer des normes internationales, en particulier quand cela est clairement avantageux pour le Canada. L’AICA est devenue maître dans l’art de dégager un consensus parmi les diverses instances.

Après la crise, l’une des premières tâches que le Conseil de stabilité financière a confiées à l’AICA a été de recenser les assureurs d’importance systémique mondiale, ou AISM. Comme vous le savez, aucune société canadienne d’assurances ne figure sur la liste des AISM de 2014.

La deuxième tâche qui lui a été confiée a été d’établir des normes minimales internationales qui s’appliqueraient aux AISM : l’Exigence en capital de base et l’exigence connexe de capacité accrue d’absorption des pertes. L’AICA a publié jusqu’à présent deux documents de consultation sur l’exigence en capital de base.

Étant donné qu’aucune société canadienne ne figure sur la liste des AISM, l’exigence en capital de base et l’exigence de capacité accrue d’absorption des pertes de l’AICA ne s’appliqueront pas directement aux sociétés canadiennes pour le moment.

À plus long terme, l’AICA formulera des normes en matière de capital d’assurance qui s’appliqueront à l’ensemble du groupe pour les assureurs actifs sur la scène internationale, tout comme l’a fait le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire pour les banques exerçant des activités à l’échelon international.

On me demande même parfois si le secteur des assurances a besoin d’une norme internationale en matière de capital. Il va de soi que je pense que ce serait un pas en avant important. En particulier, le BSIF pourra se fonder sur une telle norme pour comparer plus facilement son approche à ce qui se fait ailleurs.

Si les régulateurs de par le monde souscrivent en grand nombre à cette norme de capital, nous entendons l’appliquer aux assureurs fédéraux qui mènent des activités à l’étranger. Tout comme nous le faisons avec les banques, nous nous efforcerions d’adapter avec soin toute norme internationale à la situation canadienne. J’expliquerai ce point plus en détail dans quelques minutes quand je traiterai du quatrième cap que nous visons, soit la souplesse dans la réglementation canadienne.

Sur la scène nationale, je salue les nouveaux développements au Conseil des normes actuarielles du Canada. Je parle de ses nouvelles normes actuarielles portant sur l’une de nos préoccupations communes, soit l’effet de la faiblesse soutenue des taux d’intérêt sur vos placements et vos garanties à long terme auprès des souscripteurs.

Grâce à la version révisée des normes du Conseil portant sur les évaluations des assureurs-vie, l’impact de la faiblesse des taux d’intérêt sur vos activités sera davantage transparent. Et c’est pour le mieux. Le BSIF continuera de surveiller la mise en œuvre de ces normes.

Souplesse de la réglementation canadienne

Et nous voilà arrivés au quatrième cap de notre itinéraire, c’est-à-dire la souplesse pour établir la position du Canada en matière de réglementation.

Les ententes internationales sur les normes minimales sont pour nous la meilleure façon d’imposer des normes de prudence à nos institutions financières actives sur la scène internationale sans nuire à leur capacité de concurrencer les institutions étrangères. Cela en soi plaide éloquemment en faveur d’adhérer à ces ententes et de donner l’image de le faire.

Cela dit, le BSIF suit de près la situation canadienne et les besoins des Canadiens avant de décider comment, et dans quelle mesure, souscrire à chaque norme internationale.

Nous avons parfois choisi d’imposer des normes supérieures aux normes minimales internationales.

En principe, cette façon de faire risque en quelque sorte de désavantager nos institutions qui rivalisent avec des concurrents étrangers, une conséquence non voulue, et pourtant justifiable, de faire ce qui est nécessaire pour protéger la stabilité financière au Canada.

Par exemple, la décision prise par mes prédécesseurs du BSIF d’aller bien au-delà des exigences en capital de Bâle I et de Bâle II pour les banques a aidé le Canada à traverser la crise mondiale relativement indemne.

Si le BSIF estime que l’éventuelle norme internationale en matière de capital pour les sociétés d’assurances n’est pas assez élevée aux fins du Canada, il relèvera la barre. Mes successeurs auront peut-être à me remercier de l’avoir fait, tout comme je rends grâce à mes prédécesseurs d’avoir imposé une norme plus élevée aux banques.

Par contre, si nous jugeons qu’il est peu utile ou alors inutile d’excéder une norme minimale internationale, nous respectons d’assez près ce que nous avons convenu avec nos homologues.

Cela veut dire parfois naviguer à contre-courant, ce que nous avons fait, par exemple, lorsque nous avons pris des décisions sur l’émission d’actions privilégiées et les limites au ratio de levier pour les banques.

Je souhaite signaler un point en particulier qui appellerait peut-être de la souplesse. Comme vous le savez, le projet des contrats d’assurance du Conseil des normes comptables internationales (CNCI) aura un impact appréciable sur le secteur.

Le CNCI a tenu compte des observations faites par les représentants du secteur et la collectivité de la réglementation. Nous nous attendons à ce qu’il publie la version définitive de sa directive en 2015.

Nous sommes parfaitement conscients que les normes proposées influeront sur la production de rapports financiers à propos des polices d’assurance à long terme, notamment les produits d’assurance-vie canadiens.

Nous nous efforçons toujours d’abord de faire concorder la base d’évaluation selon les exigences en capital et la comptabilité publique. Cette démarche permet de diminuer le fardeau de la conformité et aide les contreparties et les analystes à comprendre des calculs souvent compliqués.

Cela dit, il est primordial que les exigences en matière de capital requis donnent les résultats escomptés. Ainsi, s’il est à prévoir que le maintien d’un lien étroit entre les règles comptables et la base d’évaluation selon le cadre de capital réglementaire se soldera par des exigences trop volatiles, nous ajusterons les règles en conséquence. Cette approche est expliquée en détail dans la feuille de route que nous avons publiée en 2012.

Conclusion

En guise de conclusion, notons que le BSIF, le secteur financier et les organismes mondiaux de réglementation ont suivi un parcours long et parfois incertain depuis la crise financière.

Nous savons tous que le Canada s’est tiré relativement bien de la crise financière mondiale. Je crois que c’est en grande partie grâce à la gestion prudente de nos institutions financières, et j’estime que les mesures prises par mes collègues compétents et dévoués du BSIF ont aussi joué un rôle important.
À l’avenir, nous poursuivrons notre chemin en gardant le cap sur les quatre principes dont j’ai parlé aujourd’hui.

  1. La gestion responsable des risques
  2. La consultation
  3. Les normes nationales et internationales
  4. La souplesse

Merci.