Fulfilling OSFI's oversight role: Avoiding obstacles and overlap through thoughtful coordination – Remarks by Superintendent Jeremy Rudin to the Cercle Finance du Québec, Québec City, Québec, February 27, 2018

Quote

Each regulatory body overseeing the Canadian financial system — whether federal or provincial — has its own role to play. Like a group of skiers going down the same run at the same time, we share a similar trajectory, but each regulatory body draws its own path, according to its distinct mandate.

Introduction

Thank you, Clément, and thank you to the Cercle Finance du Québec for inviting me to speak to you today.

A visit to Québec City is always a treat for me, especially at this time of the year. The summer certainly has its charms, but in my opinion, winter is when La Vieille Capitale truly sparkles. For me, a visit to your beautiful part of the country is not complete without some downhill skiing.

And when I think of all the efforts that must be made to ski successfully, I cannot help but make a few parallels with the efforts necessary to succeed as a financial regulator and supervisor.

Maintaining a stable stance — balancing a twofold mandate

Let’s start with balance.

Anyone who has ever taken a ski lesson remembers being told by their instructor that everything is a matter of balance, and for good reason. Without being in balance, staying upright is a challenge.

The legislation that governs OSFI establishes a clear mandate for the organization, one that requires us to balance two complementary elements. First, OSFI is to regulate and supervise financial institutions to protect the interests of depositors, policyholders and other creditors. Second, and simultaneously, OSFI is to be mindful of the importance of allowing financial institutions to compete and take reasonable risks.

Our Act makes this very clear. It is not simply a suggestion that OSFI balance these two aspects of its mandate — it is a requirement. The Act states that regulation and supervision must be carried out with regard for the fact that the provision of financial services requires risk taking, and that risk taking can lead to failures.

OSFI's challenge then is to restrain excessive risk taking, as was seen in some countries during the financial crisis, while encouraging institutions to take reasonable risks so as to provide consumers and businesses with financial services at competitive prices. We believe that the best way to achieve this balance is to use principles-based regulation whenever practicable.

We set high-level principles and then provide boards and senior management with the flexibility to apply those principles in a way that is best suited to their particular financial institution. Of course, our approach also includes some rules: “bright lines” that institutions are not allowed to cross, mainly in the areas of capital and liquidity requirements. But we favour using principles over rules whenever possible.

While a principles-based approach may appear to be aimed at making life easier for financial institutions, it is anything but. To adhere to principles-based regulatory measures, the institutions must put considerable thought into how best to apply these principles, and to create their own tailor-made approach.

Administering principles-based regulation is also a challenge for the supervisor. Canadian financial institutions vary considerably in terms of their size, complexity, risk profile and business models. This means that OSFI must work hard to determine whether the way in which each financial institution proposes to apply our principles in fact meets the objectives.

Sharing the slopes – working with our regulatory partners

This brings me to the second element of my skiing analogy — sharing the slopes.

Ski hills can get crowded and experienced skiers know they have to be mindful of everyone else on the hill.

Each regulatory body overseeing the Canadian financial system — whether federal or provincial — has its own role to play. Like a group of skiers going down the same run at the same time, we share a similar trajectory, but each regulatory body draws its own path, according to its distinct mandate. To avoid collisions and to ensure an incident-free run, it’s necessary to maintain a safe distance, and to respect each other's territory. But how is this to be done?

If you look around the world, you will see two contrasting approaches for structuring the oversight of financial services. One approach is to have a single authority responsible for overseeing all aspects of the financial services industry — this is the model used in Japan, Switzerland and Sweden. As you know, that is also the model used here in Québec for financial services that fall within the province’s jurisdiction.

The other approach is to have a number of organizations, each with a focused mandate overseeing specific aspects of the financial services industry. This is the model used in Australia, and in the European Union. This is also the path that the Government of Canada has chosen to take by creating a few agencies to regulate and supervise the delivery of federal financial services. The guiding principle underlying this approach is for each organization to have clear authorities and responsibilities with as little overlap as possible.

The structure of our federal system has been revamped several times since the creation of OSFI some 30 years ago, each time in order to strengthen this principle.  When it was created, for example, OSFI had a mandate not only for prudential supervision, but also to administer the laws and regulations governing the interactions between banks and consumers.

In 2001, a new federal organization was created, the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, and the government put that agency in charge of those responsibilities. That is, the federal government replaced one organization with a mixed mandate by two organizations, each with a well-targeted and distinct mandate.

A second example: at the time of OSFI's creation, there was some overlap between the supervisory responsibilities of OSFI and those of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, or CDIC.

In 2005, this overlap was eliminated and several supervisory functions that were once shared were consolidated within OSFI. Since then, CDIC has concentrated on the provision of deposit insurance and as the resolution authority for banks.

Moreover, for many years, OSFI shared responsibility with provincial authorities for the supervision of the credit union centrals in some provinces. In 2015, the Government of Canada withdrew from joint supervision, so that provinces would be solely responsible for the regulation and supervision of provincial credit union systems.

Avoiding overlap and duplication is a principle that continues to guide our relationship with provincial agencies. And when you stay in your own lane and you do not encroach on your neighbour's territory, you can share the same slope, collision-free.

This policy allows us to work closely with our provincial counterparts without overlap or duplication. For example, Desjardins Group is regulated by the Autorité des marchés financiers here in Québec, yet we supervise four of Desjardins’ subsidiaries that are incorporated under federal legislation: Zag Bank, Certas General Insurance, Certas Home and Auto Insurance Company, and The Personal.

In these cases, we engage with provincial authorities about current and emerging issues such as changes to accounting standards, the evolution of financial practices, and developments in relevant legislation. I want to make it clear here that there is no interference in our respective supervisory roles. We also work with our provincial counterparts on issues of mutual interest.

In my opinion, the best example of this practice is the development of the new capital regime for life insurance companies, the Life Insurance Capital Adequacy Test Guideline, or LICAT, which is the result of close cooperation between OSFI and its key partner, the AMF. The level of cooperation between our two agencies resulted in a close alignment of our capital frameworks — an outcome that will undoubtedly be appreciated by the life insurance industry in Canada.

Our two organizations are also in the same place with respect to the supervision of mortgage underwriting activities. As you undoubtedly know, the AMF recently announced an update to its mortgage lending guideline, just as we did last fall with revisions to our guideline B-20. It is a pleasure for us to have worked alongside the AMF, who is a leader in defining clear and up-to-date expectations about mortgage underwriting standards.

These examples show that it is possible to work closely together while still remaining in our own lanes.
To continue with my analogy, when the ski slopes are too crowded, we risk bumping into each other. This can happen, for example, in the regulation of derivatives.

The financial crisis demonstrated significant shortcomings in the regulation and supervision of derivative instruments. Since then, we have been working with the provincial securities regulators, including the AMF, to try to address those gaps without overlapping our respective regimes. We have been able to do this in other areas and I hope and expect we will achieve the same outcome for derivatives.

Conclusion

I hope this brief overview provides you with some context for the discussion to follow. I think Clément has some questions for me, so let’s get started.

Remplir le mandat de supervision du BSIF : Éviter les obstacles et le chevauchement grâce à une coordination bien orchestrée – Communication de Jeremy Rudin, surintendant, au Cercle Finance du Québec, Québec (Québec), le 27 février 2018

Extrait

Chaque instance de réglementation qui supervise le système financier canadien - qu’elle soit fédérale ou provinciale - a un rôle distinct. Tout comme les nombreux skieurs qui descendent la pente en même temps, nous partageons la même trajectoire, mais chaque instance de réglementation trace sa propre voie en fonction du mandat qui lui est donné.

Introduction

Merci Clément.

Je remercie aussi le Cercle finance du Québec de m’avoir invité à vous dire quelques mots aujourd’hui.

C'est toujours un grand plaisir pour moi de visiter Québec, surtout en cette période de l’année. L’été a ses charmes, bien sûr, mais à mon avis, c’est en hiver que la vieille capitale brille le plus. Pour moi, une visite dans votre beau coin de pays doit s’accompagner de quelques descentes en ski alpin.

Et quand je pense à tous les efforts qu’il faut mettre pour réussir une descente en ski, je ne peux m’empêcher de faire un parallèle avec les efforts nécessaires pour réussir en tant qu’instance de réglementation et de surveillance financières.

Concilier les deux volets de notre mandat – une question d’équilibre

Commençons par l’équilibre.

Ceux qui ont déjà pris des leçons de ski se rappelleront sans doute s’être fait répéter par leur moniteur que tout est une question d’équilibre. Et pour une bonne raison. Sans équilibre, se tenir à la verticale constitue tout un défi.

Les mesures législatives qui nous régissent au BSIF sont très claires quant à notre mandat, qui doit parvenir à conserver un équilibre en conciliant deux volets complémentaires.

Primo : réglementer et surveiller les institutions financières pour protéger les intérêts des déposants, des souscripteurs de police d’assurance et les autres créanciers…

Secondo : ... tout en reconnaissant qu’il est important de permettre aux institutions financières de faire face à la concurrence et de prendre des risques raisonnables.

La Loi sur le BSIF est très claire à ce sujet. La conciliation des deux aspects de notre mandat n’est pas qu’un vœu pieux, c’est un devoir. La Loi prévoit que la réglementation et la supervision des institutions financières doivent s’effectuer en tenant compte du fait qu’on ne peut offrir des services financiers sans prendre de risque, et que prendre des risques peut entraîner la faillite.

Le défi du BSIF vise donc à limiter la prise de risques excessifs, comme on l’a vu dans quelques pays lors de la crise financière, tout en encourageant les institutions à prendre des risques raisonnables afin d’offrir aux consommateurs et aux entreprises des services à un prix concurrentiel. Nous croyons que la meilleure façon d’y arriver est de fonder notre réglementation sur des principes chaque fois qu’on le peut.

On fixe de grands principes et on laisse aux conseils d’administration et aux cadres dirigeants le soin de les appliquer à la façon qui convient le mieux à leur institution financière. Bien entendu, notre approche comprend aussi quelques règles, des « balises » que doivent respecter les institutions financières et qui prennent notamment la forme de normes de fonds propres et de liquidité. Cela dit, autant que possible, nous préférons utiliser une approche fondée sur les principes plutôt que sur les règles.

Bien qu’une approche axée sur les principes puisse donner l’impression de vouloir simplifier les choses pour les institutions financières, dans les faits, il en va souvent autrement. Pour adhérer aux mesures réglementaires basées sur des principes, l’institution doit réfléchir très sérieusement à la meilleure façon d’appliquer ces principes et concevoir elle-même une approche taillée sur mesure.

L’administration de règlements fondés sur des principes n’est pas non plus de tout repos pour l’instance de surveillance. Les institutions financières canadiennes varient considérablement en termes de taille, de profil de risque, de modèle d’affaires et de niveau de complexité. Cela signifie que le BSIF doit travailler fort afin de déterminer si la façon dont chaque institution financière propose d’appliquer nos principes convient aux objectifs.

Se partager les pentes – collaborer avec nos partenaires en réglementation

Ce qui m’amène au deuxième volet de mon analogie avec le ski alpin : se partager les pentes.

Les pentes de ski sont parfois très achalandées et le skieur expérimenté sait qu’il doit être conscient de tous les gens qui sont autour de lui.

Chaque instance de réglementation qui supervise le système financier canadien — qu’elle soit fédérale ou provinciale — a un rôle distinct. Tout comme les nombreux skieurs qui descendent la pente en même temps, nous partageons la même trajectoire, mais chaque instance de réglementation trace sa propre voie en fonction du mandat qui lui est donné.

Pour éviter les collisions et les incidents de parcours, il faut garder une distance sécuritaire et respecter le territoire de chacun. Mais comment y arriver?

Nous voyons présentement à l’échelle mondiale deux approches en ce qui a trait à la structuration des activités de supervision des services financiers. La première approche consiste à confier le travail à un organisme unique qui sera responsable de la supervision de tous les aspects des services financiers - c’est la formule qu’ont adoptée le Japon, la Suisse et la Suède, par exemple. Comme vous le savez, c’est aussi la formule utilisée ici au Québec, pour les services financiers de compétence provinciale.

L’autre approche consiste à conjuguer les efforts de quelques organismes, chacun doté d’un mandat ciblant un aspect précis de la prestation des services financiers. C’est l’approche qu’ont, par exemple, retenue l’Australie et l’Union européenne. C’est également la voie qu’a choisie le gouvernement du Canada, en créant divers organismes chargés de réglementer et de surveiller la prestation des services financiers de ressort fédéral. Le principe directeur derrière cette approche veut que chacun de ces organismes soit investi de pouvoirs – et de devoirs – clairement établis, qui chevauchent le moins possible le domaine de compétence du voisin.

La structure du régime fédéral a été remaniée à plusieurs reprises depuis la création du BSIF il y a une trentaine d’année, chaque fois, dans le but de renforcer ce principe. Par exemple, lorsqu’il a été créé, le BSIF avait pour mandat non seulement le contrôle prudentiel, mais aussi la supervision de l’application des lois et des règlements qui encadraient les transactions entre les banques et leurs consommateurs.

En 2001, le gouvernement a confié ces fonctions à un nouvel organisme fédéral : l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada. En d’autres mots, le gouvernement fédéral a remplacé un organisme qui avait un mandat mixte par deux organismes, chacun avec un mandat bien ciblé.

Pour vous donner un deuxième exemple, à la création du BSIF, les fonctions du BSIF et celles de la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada se recoupaient à certains égards. En 2005, le gouvernement a mis fin à ce chevauchement. Nombre des fonctions de surveillance jusque-là exercées « en couple » si je puis dire, ont été confiées uniquement au BSIF. Depuis ce temps, la SADC se concentre sur la prestation d'assurances de dépôt et ses responsabilités comme autorité de résolution bancaire.

De plus, le BSIF a surveillé les centrales de coopératives de crédit de certaines provinces en collaboration avec les instances provinciales pendant plusieurs années. En 2015, le gouvernement du Canada s’est retiré du régime de surveillance mixte, laissant aux provinces seules le soin d’encadrer les activités de leurs centrales de coopératives.

Éviter le chevauchement et le dédoublement des fonctions est un principe qui continue à guider nos rapports avec les organismes provinciaux. Et lorsqu’on n’empiète pas sur le territoire du voisin, on peut partager la même pente de ski, chacun dans sa voie.

Cette politique nous permet de travailler en étroite collaboration avec nos homologues provinciaux sans pour autant chevaucher ou dédoubler les fonctions. C’est le cas, par exemple, du Mouvement Desjardins, que réglemente l’Autorité des marchés financiers, ici, au Québec, alors que le BSIF surveille quatre filiales du Mouvement qui ont été constituées sous le régime d’une loi fédérale : la Banque Zag, les compagnies d’assurances Certas Direct et Certas Home and Auto Insurance, et la société d’assurances La Personnelle.

Lorsqu’une telle circonstance se produit, le BSIF s’entretient avec ses homologues provinciaux des grands dossiers de l’heure et de ceux en émergence comme, par exemple, la révision des normes comptables, l’évolution des pratiques financières et la législation pertinente. Je tiens à préciser ici qu’il n’y a aucune interférence de nos rôles respectifs en matière de surveillance. Il nous arrive aussi de collaborer avec nos homologues provinciaux dans des dossiers d’intérêt commun.

Le meilleur exemple à mon avis est l’élaboration du nouveau régime de capital à l’intention des sociétés d’assurances-vie, le Test de suffisance du capital des sociétés d’assurance vie, qui est le fruit d’une collaboration assidue entre le BSIF et son partenaire clé, l’AMF.  Un tel niveau de coopération a permis d’harmoniser nos cadres de capital respectifs — une mesure que le secteur canadien de l’assurance-vie appréciera certainement.

Nos deux organismes partagent aussi le même point de vue en ce qui concerne la surveillance des activités de souscription de prêts hypothécaires. Comme vous le savez sans doute, l’AMF a récemment annoncé une mise à jour de sa ligne directrice sur l’octroi des prêts hypothécaires, tout comme nous l’avons fait au BSIF l’automne dernier avec la dernière mouture de B-20. C'est un plaisir pour nous d’avoir travaillé aux côtés de l’AMF, un leader en ce qui a trait à la définition d'attentes claires qui reflètent la réalité à l’égard de la souscription de prêts hypothécaires.

Ces exemples démontrent qu’il est possible de travailler en étroite collaboration, tout en restant dans sa propre voie.

Cependant, pour reprendre mon analogie, vous l’aurez compris, quand les pentes de ski sont trop achalandées, il y a toujours un risque d’accrochage. C’est ce qui peut se produire, par exemple, dans le dossier de la réglementation des activités liées aux instruments dérivés.

La crise financière a mis au jour des lacunes importantes dans le domaine de la réglementation et de la supervision des instruments dérivés. Depuis la crise, nous travaillons avec nos homologues provinciaux, dont l’AMF, afin de répondre à ce besoin sans empiéter sur nos domaines de compétence respectifs. Nous y sommes parvenus dans d’autres dossiers et j’espère bien, en fait, je m’attends à ce que nous puissions aussi y arriver dans le dossier des instruments dérivés.

Conclusion

J’espère que ce court exposé aura préparé le terrain pour la discussion qui s’en vient. Je pense que Clément a maintenant quelques questions pour moi. Alors commençons.